DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed on 1/13/2026, which amended claims 40 and 84. Claims 1-11, 40-41, and 81-87 are currently pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a heating system” in claim 1; “a support structure scanning mechanism” in claim 7; “a heating scanning mechanism” in claim 83; “a support structure scanning mechanism” in claim 86.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 9-11, 40-41, 84, and 87 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vles et al. (US PGPub 2018/0364561, Vles hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Vles discloses a lithographic apparatus (Figs. 1-9, 20, 27-30, paras. [0156], [0169]-[0170], [0196]-[0198], [0283]-[0284], [0342], [0347], lithographic apparatus LA) comprising:
an illumination system configured to condition a radiation beam (Figs. 1, 20, paras. [0156]-[0157], [0164], [0169], [0284], illumination system IL conditions a radiation B);
a support structure constructed to support a reticle and pellicle assembly for receipt of the radiation beam conditioned by the illumination system beam (Figs. 1, 2, 20, paras. [0156]-[0157], [0164], [0169]-[0170], [0172], [0284], [0302], [0342]-[0343], [0346], support structure MT supports a patterning device MA and pellicle assembly 15 comprising a pellicle 19 and pellicle frame 17. The radiation B is incident on the pellicle 19 and patterning device MA);
a substrate table constructed to support a substrate (Figs. 1, 20, paras. [0156], [0165]-[0166], [0344], substrate table WT supports substrate W);
a projection system configured to receive the radiation beam from the reticle and pellicle assembly and to project the radiation beam onto the substrate (Figs. 1, 20, paras. [0156]-[0157], [0164]-[0165], [0169], [0284], [0344], projection system PS projects the radiation beam B from the patterning device MA and the pellicle assembly 15 onto the substrate W); and
a heating system configured to heat a pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly supported by the support structure (Figs. 1-9, 20, 27-30, paras. [0099]-[0103], [0281]-[0282], [0382], [0384]-[0389], [0393]-[0396], [0401]-[0407], [0409]-[0411], [0414]-[0419], [0423], the pellicle assembly 15 with pellicle 19 is locally heated using a laser or resistive heating).
Regarding claim 3, Vles discloses wherein during exposure of the reticle and pellicle assembly supported by the support structure to radiation from the illumination system, the heating system is configured to maintain at least a portion of the pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly above a minimum temperature (Figs. 1-9, 20, 27-30, paras. [0046]-[0050], [0099]-[0103], [0106]-[0107], [0181], [0196]-[0197], [0280]-[0282], [0379], [0382]-[0396], the patterning device MA and pellicle 19 are heated during substrate exposure, and the temperature controlling device increases the temperature of the pellicle greater than a threshold temperature (see at least paras. [0389], [0391]).
Regarding claim 6, Vles discloses wherein the heating system is configured to heat at least a portion of the pellicle surrounding the portion of the pellicle which is currently receiving the radiation beam (Figs. 1-9, 20, 27-30, paras. Figs. 1-9, 20, 27-30, paras. [0046]-[0050], [0099]-[0103], [0106]-[0107], [0181], [0196]-[0197], [0280]-[0282], [0379], [0382]-[0396], the patterning device MA and pellicle 19 are heated during substrate exposure, and a current source connected to a conductive layer of the pellicle heats the pellicle).
Regarding claim 9, Vles discloses wherein the heating system is configured so as to heat the pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly supported by the support structure so that a combined heat load from the heating system and the radiation beam received from the illumination system achieves a target temperature distribution (Figs. 1-9, 20, 27-30, paras. [0046]-[0050], [0099]-[0103], [0106]-[0107], [0181], [0196]-[0197], [0280]-[0282], [0379], [0382]-[0396], the patterning device MA and pellicle 19 are heated during substrate exposure, and the temperature controlling device increases the temperature of the pellicle greater than a threshold temperature).
Regarding claim 10, Vles discloses wherein the heating system is configured to heat substantially an entire membrane of the pellicle (Figs. 1-9, 20, 27-30, paras. [0106]-[0108], [0180], [0237], [0379], [0393]-[0396], [0414], a current source connected to a conductive layer of the pellicle heats the pellicle).
Regarding claim 11, Vles discloses wherein the heating system comprises a radiation source operable to direct radiation at the pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly when supported by the support structure (Figs. 1-9, 20, 27-30, paras. [0099], [0103], [0285], [0387], [0389], [0397], one or more lasers illuminate a pellicle with a laser beam).
Regarding claim 40, Vles discloses a method for using a reticle and pellicle assembly (Figs. 1-9, 20, 27-30, paras. [0156]-[0157], [0164], [0169]-[0170], [0172], [0196]-[0198], [0283]-[0284], [0302], [0342]-[0343], [0346]-[0347], lithographic apparatus LA includes a patterning device MA and a pellicle assembly 15), the method comprising:
illuminating the reticle and pellicle assembly with a radiation beam while supported by a support structure (Figs. 1, 2, 20, paras. [0156]-[0157], [0164], [0169]-[0170], [0172], [0284], [0302], [0342]-[0343], [0346], support structure MT supports a patterning device MA and pellicle assembly 15 comprising a pellicle 19 and pellicle frame 17. The radiation B is incident on the pellicle 19 and patterning device MA), so as to impart the radiation beam with a pattern in its cross-section and forming an image of the reticle on a substrate (Figs. 1-9, 20, 27-30, paras. [0156]-[0157], [0164]-[0165], [0169]-[0170], [0172], [0284], [0302], [0342]-[0344], [0346], the lithographic apparatus LA illuminates patterning device MA and pellicle assembly 15 comprising a pellicle 19 and pellicle frame 17. The radiation B incident on the pellicle 19 and patterning device MA is patterned and projected via projection system PS to form images on the substrate W); and
heating the pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly while supported by the support structure, using a separate heat source (Figs. 1-9, 20, 27-30, paras. [0099]-[0103], [0281]-[0282], [0382], [0384]-[0396], [0401]-[0407], [0409]-[0411], [0414]-[0419], [0423], the pellicle assembly 15 with pellicle 19 is locally heated using resistive heating or radiation).
Regarding claim 41, Vles discloses wherein the heating of the pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly using a separate heat source is such that the pellicle achieves a target temperature distribution (Figs. 1-9, 20, 27-30, paras. [0099]-[0103], [0281]-[0282], [0382], [0384]-[0389], [0393]-[0396], [0401]-[0407], [0409]-[0411], [0414]-[0419], [0423], the temperature controlling device increases the temperature of the pellicle greater than a threshold temperature).
Regarding claim 84, Vles discloses wherein the heating system is configured to supply an electrical current through the pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly when supported by the support structure (Figs. 1-9, 20, 27-30, paras. [0106]-[0108], [0180], [0237], [0281], [0393]-[0396], [0410], [0414], a current source is connected to a conductive layer of the pellicle to generate the current to heat the pellicle 19 on support structure MT in the lithographic apparatus LA).
Regarding claim 87, Vles discloses wherein the heating system is configured to heat the pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly when supported by the support structure in dependence on a determined temperature or temperature profile of at least a portion of the pellicle (Figs. 1-9, 20, 27-30, paras. [0099]-[0103], [0281]-[0282], [0379], [0382], [0384]-[0389], [0393]-[0396], [0401]-[0407], [0409]-[0411], [0414]-[0419], [0423], the temperature controlling device increases the temperature of the pellicle according to a threshold or heating all of the pellicle greater than the ductile to brittle transition temperature).
Claims 40 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Nikipelov et al. (WO2021/037662, Nikipelov hereinafter; cited with an accompanying copy in 4/8/2024 IDS).
Regarding claim 40, Nikipelov discloses a method for using a reticle and pellicle assembly (Figs. 1, 5-7, 9-11, paras. [0146]-[0156], a lithographic system includes a pellicle assembly 15 and patterning device MA), the method comprising:
illuminating the reticle and pellicle assembly with a radiation beam while supported by a support structure (Figs. 1, 5-7, 9-11, paras. [0146]-[0157], [0161]-[0162], [0165]-[0167], support structure MT supports a patterning device MA and pellicle assembly 15 comprising a pellicle 131, 401 supported by frame 610 or structure 120, flexures 402. The radiation B is incident on the pellicle and patterning device MA), so as to impart the radiation beam with a pattern in its cross-section and forming an image of the reticle on a substrate (Figs. 1, 5-7, 9-11, paras. [0146]-[0157], the radiation B incident on the pellicle 19 and patterning device MA is patterned and projected via projection system PS to form images on the substrate W); and
heating the pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly while supported by the support structure, using a separate heat source (Figs. 1, 5-7, 9-11, abstract, paras. [0086]-[0087], [0096], [0098]-[0100], [0166]-[0167], the pellicle is heated by laser beams 510 and 520 or resistive heating using current source 600 while supported by support structure MT (see Figs. 10-11)).
Regarding claim 41, Nikipelov discloses wherein the heating of the pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly using a separate heat source is such that the pellicle achieves a target temperature distribution (Figs. 1, 5-7, 9-11, abstract, paras. [0086]-[0087], [0096], [0098]-[0100], [0166]-[0167], the pellicle is heated by laser beams 510 and 520 to obtain the desired selective heating or resistive heating using current source 600 to provide current to the desired portions of the pellicle membrane to heat portions of the pellicle membrane subject to highest hydrogen ion flux).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vles as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US PGPub 2016/0139501, Kim hereinafter).
Regarding claim 2, Vles discloses controlling the heating system so as to heat a pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly supported by the support structure so as to achieve a target temperature distribution (Figs. 1-9, 20, 27-30, paras. [0046]-[0050], [0099]-[0103], [0106]-[0107], [0181], [0196]-[0197], [0280]-[0282], [0379], [0382]-[0396], the patterning device MA and pellicle 19 are heated during substrate exposure, and the temperature controlling device increases the temperature of the pellicle greater than a threshold temperature), but Vles does not appear to explicitly describe further comprising a controller configured to control the heating system so as to heat a pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly supported by the support structure so as to achieve a target temperature distribution.
Kim discloses a controller configured to control the heating system so as to heat a pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly supported by the support structure so as to achieve a target temperature distribution (Figs. 12 and 16, paras. [0044], [0054], [0057]-[0060], [0072]-[0075], control part 450a, 450c controls the point heating part 442a, 442c, and the plane heating part 444a, 444c to heat the pellicle to the temperatures to treat contaminants).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a controller configured to control the heating system so as to heat a pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly supported by the support structure so as to achieve a target temperature distribution as taught by Kim in the lithographic apparatus as taught by Vles since including a controller configured to control the heating system so as to heat a pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly supported by the support structure so as to achieve a target temperature distribution is commonly used to efficiently treat and repair a contaminated pellicle (Kim, paras. [0003]-[0005], [0075]).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vles as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Nikipelov et al. (WO2021/037662, Nikipelov hereinafter; cited with an accompanying copy in 4/8/2024 IDS).
Regarding claim 4, Vles does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the minimum temperature is a temperature at which a hydrogen etching rate of the pellicle is negligible.
Nikipelov discloses wherein the minimum temperature is a temperature at which a hydrogen etching rate of the pellicle is negligible (Figs. 1, 9-12, abstract, paras. [0069], [0086]-[0092], [0094], [0096], [0166], the pellicle is heated, reducing hydrogen etch rate of the pellicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the minimum temperature is a temperature at which a hydrogen etching rate of the pellicle is negligible as taught by Nikipelov as the temperature in the lithographic apparatus as taught by Vles since including wherein the minimum temperature is a temperature at which a hydrogen etching rate of the pellicle is negligible is commonly used to prevent or reduce damage to the pellicle and to improve the lifespan of the pellicle (Nikipelov, paras. [0014], [0016], [0088], [0095]).
Regarding claim 5, Vles does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the minimum temperature is 800 K or above.
Nikipelov discloses wherein the minimum temperature is 800 K or above (Figs. 1, 9-12, paras. [0019], [0069], [0075], [0086]-[0092], [0094], [0096], [0164]-[0166], the pellicle is heated to above 600°C, or above 800 K).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the minimum temperature is 800 K or above as taught by Nikipelov as the temperature in the lithographic apparatus as taught by Vles since including wherein the minimum temperature is 800 K or above is commonly used to prevent or reduce damage to the pellicle and to improve the lifespan of the pellicle (Nikipelov, paras. [0014], [0016], [0088], [0095]).
Claims 7, 8, and 86 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vles as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wiley et al. (US PGPub 2016/0033860, Wiley hereinafter) and Nikipelov.
Regarding claim 7, although Vles discloses scanning the support structure relative to the radiation beam conditioned by the illumination system so as to move the reticle and pellicle assembly supported by the support structure through the radiation beam (Figs. 1, 5, 20, paras. [0164]-[0167], [0202], [0286], the support structure MT with patterning device MA and pellicle 19 in pellicle assembly 15 is scanned synchronously with the substrate table WT relative to the radiation beam), Vles does not appear to explicitly describe further comprising a support structure scanning mechanism operable to move the support structure relative to the radiation beam conditioned by the illumination system and wherein the heating system is configured to heat at least a portion of the pellicle which is currently receiving the radiation beam.
Wiley discloses a support structure scanning mechanism operable to move the support structure relative to the radiation beam conditioned by the illumination system so as to move the reticle and pellicle assembly supported by the support structure through the radiation beam (Figs. 1-5, 7, paras. [0102]-[0104], [0110]-[0114], [0117], [0130]-[0132], [0140], the first positioner PM scans the support structure MT with mask MA and pellicle 34 on frame relative to the conditioned EUV radiation beam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a support structure scanning mechanism as taught by Wiley in the lithographic apparatus as taught by Vles since including a support structure scanning mechanism operable to move the support structure relative to the radiation beam conditioned by the illumination system so as to move the reticle and pellicle assembly supported by the support structure through the radiation beam is commonly used to accurately position the patterning device in relation to the exposure beam (Wiley, paras. [0102], [0114]).
Vles as modified by Wiley does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the heating system is configured to heat at least a portion of the pellicle which is currently receiving the radiation beam.
Nikipelov discloses further comprising wherein the heating system is configured to heat at least a portion of the pellicle which is currently receiving the radiation beam (Figs. 1, 5, 6, 7, 9-11, paras. [0086]-[0090], [0165]-[0167], the EUV radiation beam illuminates a region of the pellicle corresponding to the extent W_EUV, and the laser beams 510, 520 heat a region of the pellicle corresponding to W_ext.heat including the EUV illuminated region of the pellicle, or current source 600 connect to the pellicle heats the region including the illuminated region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the heating system is configured to heat at least a portion of the pellicle which is currently receiving the radiation beam as taught by Nikipelov in the lithographic apparatus as taught by Vles as modified by Wiley since including wherein the heating system is configured to heat at least a portion of the pellicle which is currently receiving the radiation beam is commonly used to prevent or reduce damage to the pellicle and to improve the lifespan of the pellicle (Nikipelov, paras. [0014], [0016], [0088], [0095]).
Regarding claim 8, Vles as modified by Wiley in view of Nikipelov discloses wherein the heating system is also configured to heat at least a portion of the pellicle surrounding the portion of the pellicle which is currently receiving the radiation beam (Nikipelov, Figs. 1, 5, 6, 7, 9-11, paras. [0086]-[0090], [0165]-[0167], the EUV radiation beam illuminates a region of the pellicle corresponding to the extent W_EUV, and the laser beams 510, 520 heat a region of the pellicle corresponding to W_ext.heat surrounding the EUV illuminated region of the pellicle, or current source 600 connect to the pellicle heats the region surrounding the illuminated region).
Regarding claim 86, Vles discloses scanning the support structure relative to the radiation beam conditioned by the illumination system so as to move the reticle and pellicle assembly when supported by the support structure through the radiation beam (Figs. 1, 5, 20, paras. [0164]-[0167], [0202], [0286], the support structure MT with patterning device MA and pellicle 19 in pellicle assembly 15 is scanned synchronously with the substrate table WT relative to the radiation beam), but Vles does not appear to explicitly describe a support structure scanning mechanism and wherein the heating system is configured to heat a portion of the pellicle which is not currently receiving the radiation beam as the reticle and pellicle assembly supported by the support structure is moved through the radiation beam.
Wiley discloses a support structure scanning mechanism operable to move the support structure relative to the radiation beam conditioned by the illumination system so as to move the reticle and pellicle assembly supported by the support structure through the radiation beam (Figs. 1-5, 7, paras. [0102]-[0104], [0110]-[0114], [0117], [0130]-[0132], [0140], the first positioner PM scans the support structure MT with mask MA and pellicle 34 on frame relative to the conditioned EUV radiation beam).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a support structure scanning mechanism as taught by Wiley in the lithographic apparatus as taught by Vles since including a support structure scanning mechanism operable to move the support structure relative to the radiation beam conditioned by the illumination system so as to move the reticle and pellicle assembly supported by the support structure through the radiation beam is commonly used to accurately position the patterning device in relation to the exposure beam (Wiley, paras. [0102], [0114]).
Vles as modified by Wiley does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the heating system is configured to heat a portion of the pellicle which is not currently receiving the radiation beam as the reticle and pellicle assembly supported by the support structure is moved through the radiation beam.
Nikipelov discloses further comprising wherein the heating system is configured to heat a portion of the pellicle which is not currently receiving the radiation beam as the reticle and pellicle assembly supported by the support structure is moved through the radiation beam (Figs. 1, 5, 6, 7, 9-11, paras. [0086]-[0090], [0165]-[0167], the EUV radiation beam illuminates a region of the pellicle corresponding to the extent W_EUV, and the laser beams 510, 520 heat a region of the pellicle corresponding to W_ext.heat surrounding the EUV illuminated region of the pellicle, or current source 600 connect to the pellicle heats the region surrounding the illuminated region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the heating system is configured to heat a portion of the pellicle which is not currently receiving the radiation beam as the reticle and pellicle assembly supported by the support structure is moved through the radiation beam as taught by Nikipelov in the lithographic apparatus as taught by Vles as modified by Wiley since including wherein the heating system is configured to heat a portion of the pellicle which is not currently receiving the radiation beam as the reticle and pellicle assembly supported by the support structure is moved through the radiation beam is commonly used to prevent or reduce damage to the pellicle and to improve the lifespan of the pellicle (Nikipelov, paras. [0014], [0016], [0088], [0095]).
Claims 81 and 82 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vles as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Klingbeil et al. (US PGPub 2006/0243300, Klingbeil hereinafter).
Regarding claim 81, although Vles discloses the radiation source operable to direct radiation at the pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly when supported by the support structure (Figs. 1-9, 20, 27-30, paras. [0099], [0103], [0285], [0387], [0389], [0397], one or more lasers illuminate a pellicle supported by support structure MT with a laser beam), Vles does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the radiation source is configured to direct electrons.
Klingbeil discloses wherein the radiation source is configured to direct electrons so as to be incident on the surface when supported by the support structure (Figs. 2, 5, paras. [0018]-[0019], [0040], the heating unit includes a variable adjustable electron beam surface held by a chuck).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the radiation source is configured to direct electrons so as to be incident on the surface when supported by the support structure as taught by Klingbeil as the radiation source to direct radiation on the pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly in the lithographic apparatus as taught by Vles since including wherein the radiation source is configured to direct electrons so as to be incident on the pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly when supported by the support structure is commonly used to efficiently remove crystal contaminants from a surface (Klingbeil, para. [0018]).
Regarding claim 82, Vles as modified by Klingbeil discloses further comprising electron optics arranged to receive an electron beam from an electron source and to distribute the electron beam over a surface of the pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly when supported by the support structure (Vles, Figs. 1-9, 20, 27-30, paras. [0099], [0103], [0285], [0387], [0389], [0397], one or more lasers illuminate a pellicle supported by support structure MT with a laser beam, and as modified by Klingbeil, Figs. 2, 5, paras. [0018]-[0019], [0040], the heating unit includes a variable adjustable electron beam controlled supplying voltage to the emission source and deflecting units to distribute the electrons over the surface held by the chuck (Fig. 5 depicting “deflecting units,” see MPEP 2125)).
Claim 83 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vles as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Brouns et al. (US PGPub 2018/0314150, Brouns hereinafter).
Regarding claim 83, although Vles discloses the radiation source and the support structure such that the radiation emitted by the radiation source can be directed at the pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly when supported by the support structure (Figs. 1-9, 20, 27-30, paras. [0099], [0103], [0285], [0387], [0389], [0397], one or more lasers illuminate a pellicle supported by support structure MT with a laser beam), Vles does not appear to explicitly describe further comprising a heating scanning mechanism configured to provide relative movement between the radiation source and the support structure such that radiation emitted by the radiation source can be directed at a range of different parts of the pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly when supported by the support structure
Brouns discloses further comprising a heating scanning mechanism configured to provide relative movement between the radiation source and the support structure such that radiation emitted by the radiation source can be directed at a range of different parts of the pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly when supported by the support structure (Figs. 1, 2, 5, paras. [0062]-[0065], [0205], a source of heat is scanned over the pellicle in the mask assembly in the lithographic apparatus to heat different areas of the pellicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a heating scanning mechanism configured to provide relative movement between the radiation source and the support structure such that radiation emitted by the radiation source can be directed at a range of different parts of the pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly when supported by the support structure as taught by Brouns in the lithographic apparatus as taught by Vles since including a heating scanning mechanism configured to provide relative movement between the radiation source and the support structure such that radiation emitted by the radiation source can be directed at a range of different parts of the pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly when supported by the support structure is commonly used to identify localized hotspots of the pellicle to identify regions at increased risk of failure (Brouns, para. [0205]).
Claim 85 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vles as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US PGPub 2012/0219654, Kim 654 hereinafter).
Regarding claim 85, although Vles discloses wherein the heating system is configured to provide a laser beam to the pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly when supported by the support structure (Figs. 1-9, 20, 27-30, paras. [0099], [0103], [0285], [0387], [0389], [0397], one or more lasers illuminate a pellicle with a laser beam), Vles does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the heating system is configured to provide pulsed heating to the pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly when supported by the support structure.
Kim 654 discloses wherein the heating system is configured to provide pulsed heating when supported by the support structure (Figs. 3 and 6-8, paras. [0036]-[0037], [0040]-[0041], the laser supply unit 200 irradiates a pulsed laser beam to heat the substrate supported by a stage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the heating system is configured to provide pulsed heating when supported by the support structure as taught by Kim 654 for the pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly when supported by the support structure in the lithographic apparatus as taught by Vles since including wherein the heating system is configured to provide pulsed heating to the pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly when supported by the support structure is commonly used to provide heating while limiting thermal damage to the heated surfaces (Kim 654, para. [0007]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 1/13/2026, with respect to the objection to claim 84 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendment to the claim. The objection to claim 84 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 1/13/2026, with respect to the objection to the drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the drawings has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 1/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues on pages 6-7 that Vles fails to describe “a heating system configured to heat a pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly supported by the support structure” as recited in claim 1 and as similarly recited in claim 40. The Applicant alleges the Office Action fails to identify the heating system that is configured to heat a pellicle supported by the support structure MT in Vles. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Vles does disclose a support structure constructed to support a reticle and pellicle assembly for receipt of the radiation beam conditioned by the illumination system beam (Figs. 1, 2, 20, paras. [0156]-[0157], [0164], [0169]-[0170], [0172], [0284], [0302], [0342]-[0343], [0346], support structure MT supports a patterning device MA and pellicle assembly 15 comprising a pellicle 19 and pellicle frame 17. The radiation B is incident on the pellicle 19 and patterning device MA), and a heating system configured to heat a pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly supported by the support structure (Figs. 1-9, 20, 27-30, paras. [0099]-[0103], [0281]-[0282], [0382], [0384]-[0389], [0393]-[0396], [0401]-[0407], [0409]-[0411], [0414]-[0419], [0423], the pellicle assembly 15 with pellicle 19 is locally heated using a laser or resistive heating). The claim language recites “a heating system configured to heat a pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly supported by the support structure.” This language, as recited, does not require the pellicle to be supported by the support structure while being heated by the heating system under the broadest reasonable interpretation. However, Vles does disclose heating the pellicle while the pellicle and pellicle assembly are supported by the support structure. Para. [0389] states, “a pellicle may be continuously heated whilst in operation in a lithographic apparatus,” para. [0406] describes, “[p]rior to unloading the patterning device and pellicle assembly from the lithographic apparatus, the heaters 501 may be turned on in order to heat the pellicle frame 17,” and para. [0414] states, “[p]rior to loading and/or unloading a patterning device and pellicle assembly to and/or from a lithographic apparatus, the tension in the pellicle 19 may be increased.” Para. [0414] further describes that the pellicle is heated in order to increase the tension by passing an electrical current through the electrically conductive layer of the pellicle or by exposing the pellicle to radiation. That is, Vles discloses the pellicle is heated during operation in the lithographic apparatus when the substrate is exposed to the projected radiation patterned by the patterning device protected by the pellicle (see Figs. 1-2, 20, paras. [0164]-[0166], [0389]) and discloses the pellicle is heated before unloading from support structure in the lithography apparatus (see Figs. 1-2, 20, paras. [0164]-[0166], [0406], [0414]). Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive, and the claims remain rejected.
The Applicant argues on page 11 that none of the claims should be interpreted as invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation. The Applicant contends the claims do not recite the word “means” and the identified terms have known structural definitions. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 recites “a heating system configured to heat a pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly supported by the support structure” in lines 8-9, claim 7 recites “a support structure scanning mechanism operable to move the support structure relative to the radiation beam conditioned by the illumination system so as to move the reticle and pellicle assembly supported by the support structure though the radiation beam” in lines 2-4, claim 83 recites “a heating scanning system mechanism configured to provide relative movement between the radiation source and the support structure such that radiation emitted by the radiation source can be directed at a range of different parts of the pellicle of the reticle and pellicle assembly when supported by the support structure” in lines 2-5, and claim 86 recites “a support structure scanning mechanism configured to move the support structure relative to the radiation beam conditioned by the illumination system so as to move the reticle and pellicle assembly when supported by the support structure through the radiation beam” in lines 2-5. Although the limitations “a heating system,” “a support structure scanning mechanism,” “a heating scanning mechanism,” and “a support structure scanning mechanism” do not use the term “means,” the terms “system” and “mechanism” are also generic placeholders that do not have a sufficiently definite meaning as the names for structures that perform the functions, and the Applicant does not provide specific arguments or evidence that one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood these terms to have sufficiently definite meanings as the names for structures. See MPEP 2181, subsection I(A). Additionally, the system and mechanisms are modified by functional language and are not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. See MPEP 2181, subsections I(B) and I(C). Therefore, the identified claim limitations meet the 3-prong analysis and are interpreted as invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Applicant’s arguments on this point have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882