CTNF 18/699,489 CTNF 90499 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mun et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,610,668) in view of Schlenker et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,680,563) . Regarding to claim 1, Mun teaches a display device comprising: a first light-emitting device, a second light-emitting device, and a third light-emitting device (Fig. 10D, elements 115 , column 19, line 9, please also see the attached figure with annotations ); a first color conversion layer overlapping with the first light-emitting device (Fig. 10D, elements 120 , column 19, lines 21-22); a second color conversion layer overlapping with the second light-emitting device (Fig. 10D, elements 130 , column 19, lines 22-23); a first coloring layer overlapping with the third light-emitting device (Fig. 10D, elements 163 , column 19, line 41); and an insulating layer between the first light-emitting device and the second light-emitting device adjacent to each other (Fig. 10D, elements 157 , column 20, line 17), wherein the first to third light-emitting devices each comprise a first light-emitting material emitting blue light (column 8, lines 38-40), wherein the first color conversion layer is configured to convert part of light emitted from the first light-emitting device into red light (column 8, lines 41-42), wherein the second color conversion layer is configured to convert part of light emitted from the second light-emitting device into green light (column 8, lines 43-44), and wherein the first coloring layer is configured to transmit blue light of light emitted from the third light-emitting device (Fig. 10D, no color converter in disposed in the path between third light-emitting device and color layer 163 , thus the blue light of light emitted from the third light-emitting device is transmitted ; column 12, lines 12-13, Fig. 10D and Fig. 1, color layer 163 is on pixel region 10-3 , which displays blue light ). Mun does not disclose light-emitting devices each comprise a second light-emitting material emitting light having a longer wavelength than blue light together with the light-emitting material emitting blue light. Schlenker discloses light-emitting devices comprise a first light-emitting material emitting blue light and a second light-emitting material emitting light having a longer wavelength than blue light (column 11, lines 15-17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mun in view of Schlenker to mix a light-emitting material emitting blue light and a light-emitting material emitting light having a longer wavelength than blue light in order to widen the emitting spectrum, thus to obtain a high display quality. PNG media_image1.png 766 1160 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding to claim 5, Mun teaches a display device comprising: a first light-emitting device, a second light-emitting device, a third light-emitting device (Fig. 10D, elements 115 , column 19, line 9, please also see the attached figure with annotations ), and a light-receiving device (Fig. 10D, element 155 ); a first color conversion layer overlapping with the first light-emitting device (Fig. 10D, elements 120 , column 19, lines 21-22); a second color conversion layer overlapping with the second light-emitting device (Fig. 10D, elements 130 , column 19, lines 22-23); a first coloring layer overlapping with the third light-emitting device (Fig. 10D, elements 163 , column 19, line 41); and an insulating layer between the first light-emitting device and the second light-emitting device adjacent to each other (Fig. 10D, elements 157 , column 20, line 17), wherein the first to third light-emitting devices each comprise a first light-emitting material emitting blue light (column 8, lines 38-40), wherein the first color conversion layer is configured to convert part of light emitted from the first light-emitting device into red light (column 8, lines 41-42), wherein the second color conversion layer is configured to convert part of light emitted from the second light-emitting device into green light (column 8, lines 43-44), and wherein the first coloring layer is configured to transmit blue light of light emitted from the third light-emitting device (Fig. 10D, no color converter in disposed on the path between third light-emitting device and color layer 163 , thus the blue light of light emitted from the third light-emitting device is transmitted ; column 12, lines 12-13, Fig. 10D and Fig. 1, color layer 163 is on pixel region 10-3 , which displays blue light ). Mun does not disclose light-emitting devices each comprise a second light-emitting material emitting light having a longer wavelength than blue light together with the light-emitting material emitting blue light. Schlenker discloses light-emitting devices comprise a first light-emitting material emitting blue light and a second light-emitting material emitting light having a longer wavelength than blue light (column 11, lines 15-17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mun in view of Schlenker to mix light-emitting material emitting blue light and a light-emitting material emitting light having a longer wavelength than blue light in order to widen the emitting spectrum, thus to obtain a high display quality . PNG media_image1.png 766 1160 media_image1.png Greyscale 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mun et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,610,668) in view of Kodama et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2020/0027937) . Regarding to claim 9, Mun teaches a display device comprising: a first light-emitting device, a second light-emitting device, and a third light-emitting device (Fig. 10D, elements 115 , column 19, line 9, please also see the attached figure with annotations ); a first color conversion layer overlapping with the first light-emitting device (Fig. 10D, elements 120 , column 19, lines 21-22); a second color conversion layer overlapping with the second light-emitting device (Fig. 10D, elements 130 , column 19, lines 22-23); a first coloring layer overlapping with the first color conversion layer (Fig. 10D, elements 161 ; column 19, line 41); a second coloring layer overlapping with the second color conversion layer (Fig. 10D, elements 162 ; column 19, line 41); an insulating layer between the first light-emitting device and the second light-emitting device adjacent to each other (Fig. 10D, elements 157 , column 20, line 17), wherein the first to third light-emitting devices each comprise a first light-emitting material emitting blue light (column 8, lines 38-40), wherein the first color conversion layer is configured to convert part of light emitted from the first light-emitting device into red light (column 8, lines 41-42), wherein the second color conversion layer is configured to convert part of light emitted from the second light-emitting device into green light (column 8, lines 43-44), and wherein the first coloring layer is configured to transmit red light of light obtained by conversion by the first color conversion layer (Fig. 10D and Fig. 1, color layer 161 is on pixel region 10-1 , which displays red light ), wherein the second coloring layer is configured to transmit green light of light obtained by conversion by the second color conversion layer (Fig. 10D and Fig. 1, color layer 162 is on pixel region 10-2 , which displays green light ). Mun does not disclose the first coloring layer and the second coloring layer at least partly overlap with each other. Kodama discloses a first coloring layer and a second coloring layer at least partly overlap with each other (Fig. 9, [0094], lines 4-6, first coloring layer 123R and second coloring layer 123G partly overlap with each other ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mun in view of Kodama to configure the first coloring layer and the second coloring layer at least partly overlapping with each other in order to increase sharpness. Regarding to claim 10, Mun teaches a third coloring layer overlapping with the third light-emitting device, wherein the third coloring layer is configured to transmit blue light of light emitted from the third light-emitting device (Fig. 10D, no color converter in disposed on the path between third light-emitting device and color layer 163 , thus the blue light of light emitted from the third light-emitting device is transmitted ; column 12, lines 12-13, Fig. 10D and Fig. 1, color layer 163 is on pixel region 10-3 , which displays blue light ). Kodama discloses the second coloring layer and the third coloring layer at least partly overlap with each other (Fig. 9, the second coloring layer 123G and the third coloring layer 123B overlap with each other ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Mun in view of Kodama to configure the second coloring layer and the third coloring layer at least partly overlap with each other in order to increase sharpness. Regarding to claim 11, Mun discloses the first to third light-emitting layers each comprise the light-emitting material (Fig. 10D). Mun does not disclose details for the light emitting device. Kodama discloses (Fig. 9, [0095]) the first light-emitting device comprises a first pixel electrode (Fig. 9, element 151 in PR pixel ), a first light-emitting layer over the first pixel electrode (Fig. 9, element 150 in PR pixel ), and a common electrode over the first light-emitting layer (Fig. 9, element 153 ), the second light-emitting device comprises a second pixel electrode (Fig. 9, element 151 in PG pixel ), a second light-emitting layer over the second pixel electrode (Fig. 9, element 150 in PG pixel ), and the common electrode over the second light-emitting layer (Fig. 9, element 153 ), the third light-emitting device comprises a third pixel electrode (Fig. 9, element 151 in PB pixel ), a third light-emitting layer over the third pixel electrode (Fig. 9, element 150 in PB pixel ), and the common electrode over the third light-emitting layer (Fig. 9, element 153 ), wherein the first to third pixel electrodes are formed using the same material ([0080], last 4 lines). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Mun in view of Kodama to configure a anode and an emitting layer for each pixel, and a common cathode, in order to provide power and control signals to the emitting devices to operate them. Regarding to claim 12, Kodama discloses the common electrode has both a visible-light-transmitting property and a visible-light-reflecting property (Fig. 9, red, green, and blue, which belong to visible light range are transmitted through the common electrode 153 ; [0082], first 2 lines, silver reflects visible-light ). Regarding to claim 13, Mun teaches a light-blocking layer, wherein the light-blocking layer is between the first light-emitting device and the second light-emitting device, and between the second light-emitting device and the third light-emitting device adjacent to each other, in a plan view (Fig. 10D, elements 157/167 ). Regarding to claim 14, Mun teaches a top surface of the insulating layer has a convex shape (Fig. 10D). Regarding to claim 15, Mun teaches the display device according to claim 1 and at least one of a connector and an integrated circuit (Fig. 2). Regarding to claim 16, Mun teaches the display module according to claim 15; and at least one of a housing, a battery, a camera, a speaker, and a microphone ( a display inherently has a housing. A recitation on intended use is not given a patentable weight ). Regarding to claim 17, Mun teaches the first coloring layer does not overlap with a color conversion layer (Fig. 10D, the first coloring layer 161 does not overlap with color conversion layer 130 ). Regarding to claim 18, Mun teaches the first coloring layer does not overlap with a color conversion layer (Fig. 10D, the first coloring layer 161 does not overlap with color conversion layer 130 ). Regarding to claim 19, Mun teaches the first coloring layer does not overlap with a color conversion layer (Fig. 10D, the first coloring layer 161 does not overlap with color conversion layer 130 ) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mun et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,610,668) and Schlenker et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,680,563), as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Kodama et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2020/0027937) . Regarding to claim 2, Mun teaches a second coloring layer (Fig. 10D, element 161 ) overlapping with the first color conversion layer (Fig. 10D, element 120 ) and a third coloring layer (Fig. 10D, element 162 ) overlapping with the second color conversion layer (Fig. 10D, element 130 ), wherein the second coloring layer is configured to transmit red light of light obtained by conversion by the first color conversion layer (Fig. 10D and Fig. 1, color layer 161 is on pixel region 10-1 , which displays red light ), wherein the third coloring layer is configured to transmit green light of light obtained by conversion by the second color conversion layer (Fig. 10D and Fig. 1, color layer 162 is on pixel region 10-2 , which displays green light ). Mun as modified does not disclose the second coloring layer and the third coloring layer at least partly overlap with each other. Kodama discloses the second coloring layer and the third coloring layer at least partly overlap with each other (Fig. 9, the second coloring layer 123G and the third coloring layer 123B overlap with each other ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Mun in view of Kodama to configure the second coloring layer and the third coloring layer at least partly overlap with each other in order to increase sharpness . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mun et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,610,668) and Schlenker et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,680,563), as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Park et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,963,422) . Regarding to claim 3, Mun discloses the first to third light-emitting layers each comprise the light-emitting material (Fig. 10D). Mun does not disclose details for the light emitting device. Park discloses the first light-emitting device comprises a first pixel electrode (Fig. 2, element 141 in PA1 pixel ), a first light-emitting layer over the first pixel electrode (Fig. 2, element 142 in PA1 pixel ), and a common electrode over the first light-emitting layer (Fig. 2, element 143 ), the second light-emitting device comprises a second pixel electrode (Fig. 2, element 141 in PA2 pixel ), a second light-emitting layer over the second pixel electrode (Fig. 2, element 142 in PA2 pixel ), and the common electrode over the second light-emitting layer (Fig. 2, element 143 ), the third light-emitting device comprises a third pixel electrode (Fig. 2, element 141 in PA3 pixel ), a third light-emitting layer over the third pixel electrode (Fig. 2, element 142 in PA3 pixel )), and the common electrode over the third light-emitting layer (Fig. 2, element 143 ), wherein the first to third pixel electrodes are formed using the same material (column 5, lines 7-10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Mun in view of Park to configure an anode and an emitting layer for each pixel, and a common cathode, in order to provide power and control signals to the emitting devices to operate them. Regarding to claim 4, Park discloses the common electrode has both a visible-light-transmitting property and a visible-light-reflecting property (Fig. 2, red, green, and blue, which belong to visible light range are transmitted through the common electrode 143 ; column 5, lines 41-43, silver reflects visible-light ) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mun et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,610,668) and Schlenker et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,680,563), as applied to claim 5 above, further in view of Kodama et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2020/0027937) . Regarding to claim 6, Mun teaches a second coloring layer (Fig. 10D, element 161 ) overlapping with the first color conversion layer (Fig. 10D, element 120 ) and a third coloring layer (Fig. 10D, element 162 ) overlapping with the second color conversion layer (Fig. 10D, element 130 ), wherein the second coloring layer is configured to transmit red light of light obtained by conversion by the first color conversion layer (Fig. 10D and Fig. 1, color layer 161 is on pixel region 10-1 , which displays red light ), wherein the third coloring layer is configured to transmit green light of light obtained by conversion by the second color conversion layer (Fig. 10D and Fig. 1, color layer 162 is on pixel region 10-2 , which displays green light ). Mun as modified does not disclose the second coloring layer and the third coloring layer at least partly overlap with each other. Kodama discloses the second coloring layer and the third coloring layer at least partly overlap with each other (Fig. 9, the second coloring layer 123G and the third coloring layer 123B overlap with each other ). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Mun in view of Kodama to configure the second coloring layer and the third coloring layer at least partly overlap with each other in order to increase sharpness . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mun et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,610,668) and Schlenker et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,680,563), as applied to claim 5 above, further in view of Park et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,963,422) . Regarding to claim 7, Mun discloses the first to third light-emitting layers each comprise the light-emitting material (Fig. 10D). Mun does not disclose details for the light emitting device. Park discloses the first light-emitting device comprises a first pixel electrode (Fig. 2, element 141 in PA1 pixel ), a first light-emitting layer over the first pixel electrode (Fig. 2, element 142 in PA1 pixel ), and a common electrode over the first light-emitting layer (Fig. 2, element 143 ), the second light-emitting device comprises a second pixel electrode (Fig. 2, element 141 in PA2 pixel ), a second light-emitting layer over the second pixel electrode (Fig. 2, element 142 in PA2 pixel ), and the common electrode over the second light-emitting layer (Fig. 2, element 143 ), the third light-emitting device comprises a third pixel electrode (Fig. 2, element 141 in PA3 pixel ), a third light-emitting layer over the third pixel electrode (Fig. 2, element 142 in PA3 pixel )), and the common electrode over the third light-emitting layer (Fig. 2, element 143 ), wherein the first to third pixel electrodes are formed using the same material (column 5, lines 7-10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Mun in view of Park to configure a anode and an emitting layer for each pixel, and a common cathode, in order to provide power and control signals to the emitting devices to operate them. Regarding to claim 8, Park discloses the common electrode has both a visible-light-transmitting property and a visible-light-reflecting property (Fig. 2, red, green, and blue, which belong to visible light range are transmitted through the common electrode 143 ; column 5, lines 41-43, silver reflects visible-light ). Pertinent Art For the benefits of the Applicant, US-12069928-B2, US-10162259-B2, US-11626453-B2, US-10763399-B2, US-11569306-B2, and US-12154936-B2, are cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. The references fail to disclose the limitation of “each light-emitting device comprise a first light-emitting material emitting blue light and a second light-emitting material emitting light having a longer wavelength than blue light.” Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VU A VU whose telephone number is (571)270-7467. The examiner can normally be reached M-F: 8:00AM - 5:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, CHAD M DICKE can be reached at (571) 270-7996. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /VU A VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/699,489 Page 2 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/699,489 Page 3 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/699,489 Page 4 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/699,489 Page 5 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/699,489 Page 6 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/699,489 Page 8 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/699,489 Page 9 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/699,489 Page 10 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/699,489 Page 11 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/699,489 Page 12 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/699,489 Page 13 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/699,489 Page 14 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/699,489 Page 15 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/699,489 Page 16 Art Unit: 2897