Detailed Action
This office action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 04/08/26. Claims 25-35 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 05/03/24, 05/08/24, 06/04/24, 02/10/25, 07/23/25, 01/29/26, and 04/24/26 have been received and are being considered.
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §102
Claims 25-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Chaji (KR 20200034931 A).
Regarding claim 25, Chaji discloses (paragraph [0030] - paragraph [0048]; figures 3a-f; paragraph [0071]; figure 11): a receptor substrate (1108 with reference to 376) on which a plurality of objects (1102, 1104, 1106) to be transferred onto another substrate (390, 490, 590) by using a stamper (see "force element" in §71 as used for "pick and place" transfer) are disposed, the receptor substrate comprising: a plurality of sections in each of which a group of the objects to be transferred that are to be simultaneously transferred in a single transfer operation of the stamper are disposed (see fig. 11); and
a non-disposed region (indicated by pitches x4, y2 in fig. 11), in which the objects to be transferred are not disposed, at an outside of the section (see flg. 11), wherein each of the plurality of sections is surrounded by the non-disposed region (see fig. 11), and wherein a width (x4, y2) of the non-disposed region sandwiched between two sections adjacent to each other in one adjacent direction among the plurality of section is greater than the distance (x1, x2, x3, y1) between the objects to be transferred which are adjacent to each other in the adjacent direction in each of the two sections adjacent to each other, the width of the non-disposed region sandwiched between two sections adjacent each other being a width in the adjacent direction (see fig. 11).
Regarding claim 26, Chaji discloses the receptor substrate according to claim 25, wherein the objects to be transferred are micro LEDs or semiconductor chips (see description disclosing microLED’s).
Regarding claim 27, Chaji discloses a method for manufacturing a receptor substrate on which a plurality of objects to be transferred onto another substrate by using a stamper are disposed(paragraph [0030] - paragraph [0048]; figures 3a-f; paragraph [0071]; figure 11), the method comprising:
a step of providing a donor substrate (1108 with reference to 376)including the objects to be transferred (390, 490, 590), and a receptor precursor substrate (1108), and a step of obtaining a receptor substrate by transferring the objects to be transferred from the donor substrate onto the receptor precursor substrate by laser lift-off,1 wherein in the step of obtaining the receptor substrate, the objects to be transferred are transferred by the laser lift-off such that a plurality of sections in each of which a group of the objects to be transferred that are to be simultaneously transferred in a single transfer operation of the stamper disposed are formed (see fig 5d),2 and
a non-disposed region (indicated by pitches x4, y2 in fig. 11)in which the objects to be transferred are not disposed is formed at an outside of the section(indicated by pitches x4, y2 in fig. 11), and each of the plurality of sections is surrounded by the non-disposed region on the receptor precursor substrate (see fig 11), and such that a width of the non-disposed region (x4, y2) sandwiched between two sections adjacent to each other in one adjacent direction among the plurality of section is greater than the distance between the objects to be transferred (x1, x2, x3, y1)which are adjacent to each other in the adjacent direction in each of the two sections adjacent to each other (see fig 11), the width of the non- disposed region sandwiched between two sections adjacent each other being a with in the adjacent direction (see fig 11).
Regarding claim 28, Chaji discloses a method for transferring a plurality of objects to be transferred from the receptor substrate according to claim 25 onto another substrate by using a stamper, the method comprising: a stamping step of transferring the group of the objects to be transferred from at least one of the plurality of sections in the receptor substrate onto the another substrate simultaneously by using the stamper in a single transfer operation in each of the sections.3
Regarding claim 29, Chaji discloses a method for manufacturing an LED panel, the method comprising: a step of providing the receptor substrate according to claim 25 (see rejection of claim 25), in which the objects to be transferred are micro LEDs (see description of Chaji disclosing microLED’s); a step of providing an LED panel substrate; and a step of transferring the micro LEDs, which are in the group of the objects to be transferred, from at least one of the plurality of sections in the receptor substrate onto the LED panel substrate simultaneously by using a stamper in a single transfer operation in each of the sections.4
Regarding claim 30, Chaji discloses the receptor substrate according to claim 25, wherein the width of the non-disposed region is 10 pm or more and 50 mm or less. 5
Regarding claim 31, Chaji discloses the receptor substrate according to claim 25, wherein the width of the non-disposed region is 0.025 times or more and 0.1 times or less of the plurality of each of the sections.6
Regarding claim 32, Chaji discloses the receptor substrate according to claim 26, wherein the objects to be transferred is the micro LED, and the width of the non-disposed region is two times or more and 100 times or less of a shortest distance among the LEDs.7
Regarding claim 33, Chaji discloses the method for manufacturing a receptor substrate according to claim 27, the width of the non-disposed region is 10 pm or more and 50 mm or less in the step of obtaining the receptor substrate. 8
Regarding claim 34, Chaji discloses the method for manufacturing a receptor substrate according to claim 27, wherein the width of the non-disposed region is 0.025 times or more and 0.1 times or less of the plurality of each of the sections in the step of obtaining the receptor substrate. 9
Regarding claim 35, Chaji discloses the method for manufacturing a receptor substrate according to claim 27, wherein the objects to be transferred is the micro LED, and the width of the non-disposed region is two times or more and 100 times or less of a shortest distance among the LEDs in the step of obtaining the receptor substrate. 10
Conclusion
/EDWARD CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893
1 Chaji discloses Lift off can be done by laser. For example, only the device is scanned by laser. In one embodiment, a mask with an opening for the device can be used only behind the donor substrate 510 to block lasers from other areas.
2Chaji discloses, at fig. 5D shows an example of transferring a device to a receiver substrate 590. Here, the micro device is bonded to the pad 582 or placed in a predefined area free of any pad. The pressure force or separation force can release the anchor by breaking the anchor. In another case, temperature may be used to release the anchor. The viscosity of the layer between the lift off of the micro device and the donor substrate 510 can be increased to act as an anchor by controlling the temperature. 5E shows the device after being transferred to the receiver substrate 590, and shows possible release points 598-2 at the anchor. The anchor can also be directly connected to the donor substrate 510 or indirectly through another layer.
3 Chaji discloses micro devices on the substrate can be selectively wetted with an adhesive, covered with bonding alloys, or an extra structure can be placed at the assigned location. In the stamping process, a separate cartridge, printing, or other process can be used. In one embodiment, the selected micro device on the cartridge can be moved closer to the receiver substrate to enhance selective transport. I
4 Chaji discloses micro LEDs, organic LEDs, sensors, solid state devices, integrated circuits, micro electromechanical systems (MEMS), and / or other electronic components. Other embodiments relate to patterning and placement of a micro device to a pixel array to optimize micro device use in a selective transfer process. The system or receiver substrates 390, 490 and 590 may be components of a display, such as a drive circuit backplane, in an example of an optical micro device, such as a printed circuit board (PCB), thin film transistor backplane, integrated circuit board, or LED It is not limited to this. Patterning of the micro device donor substrate and receiver substrate includes pick and place with different mechanisms (eg, electrostatic transfer head, elastomer transfer head), or direct transfer mechanisms such as dual function pads, etc. It can be used in combination with different transport techniques
5 Chaji discloses the cartridge 376 is 1 × 1 cm .sup.2 with a 5 micrometer device pitch, and the receiver substrate 390 (eg, a display) has a 50 micrometer pixel pitch, then the cartridge 376 is At the same time, it may be a typical 200x200 (40,000) pixel. However, if the cartridge 376 is stretched to 2 × 2 cm .sup.2 with a 10 micrometer device pitch
6 Ibid, disclosing relationship between device pitch and pixel pitch being 0.1.
7 Chaji, in figs 17a/b and the accompanying description discloses the distance X3, Y3 between the cartridges (1790) can be a multiple of the width X1, X2 or the length Y1, Y2 of the cartridges (1790). The distance can be a function of steps moved in different directions. For example, X3=KX1+HX2, where K is a step of movement (directly or indirectly) to the left and H is a step of movement (directly or indirectly) to the right to fill the receiver substrate (390, 490, 590 or 1590). The same can be used for the distance Y3 between the cartridges (1790) and the lengths Y1 and Y2. As illustrated in FIG. 17A, the cartridges (1790) can be aligned in one direction or both directions. In another example illustrated in FIG. 17B, the cartridges (1790) are not aligned in at least one direction. Each cartridge (1790) can have independent control for applying pressure and temperature toward the receiver substrate (390, 490, 590 or 1590). Other arrangements are also possible depending on the direction of movement between the receiver substrate (390, 490, 590 or 1590) and the cartridge (1790)
8 Chaji discloses the cartridge 376 is 1 × 1 cm .sup.2 with a 5 micrometer device pitch, and the receiver substrate 390 (e.g., a display) has a 50 micrometer pixel pitch, then the cartridge 376 is At the same time, it may be a typical 200x200 (40,000) pixel. However, if the cartridge 376 is stretched to 2 × 2 cm .sup.2 with a 10 micrometer device pitch
9 Ibid, disclosing relationship between device pitch and pixel pitch being 0.1.
10 Chaji, in figs 17a/b and the accompanying description discloses the distance X3, Y3 between the cartridges (1790) can be a multiple of the width X1, X2 or the length Y1, Y2 of the cartridges (1790). The distance can be a function of steps moved in different directions. For example, X3=KX1+HX2, where K is a step of movement (directly or indirectly) to the left and H is a step of movement (directly or indirectly) to the right to fill the receiver substrate (390, 490, 590 or 1590). The same can be used for the distance Y3 between the cartridges (1790) and the lengths Y1 and Y2. As illustrated in FIG. 17A, the cartridges (1790) can be aligned in one direction or both directions. In another example illustrated in FIG. 17B, the cartridges (1790) are not aligned in at least one direction. Each cartridge (1790) can have independent control for applying pressure and temperature toward the receiver substrate (390, 490, 590 or 1590). Other arrangements are also possible depending on the direction of movement between the receiver substrate (390, 490, 590 or 1590) and the cartridge (1790)