DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8, lines 3 and 4, the metes and bounds of “relatively large size” is unclear.
Claim 8, lines 4 and 5, the metes and bounds of “relatively small size” is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (KR 10-2004-0093518 A) in view of Noda et al. (JP 2020-042926 A).
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 1:
Regarding claim 1, Sun teaches a first plate (26 or 27); a second plate (28 or 29) provided under the first plate (26 or 27); and a heater (heating wire 30) provided between the first and second plates. (See Figs. 2-8; Paragraph 0017)
The difference between Sun and claim 1 is that the heater being a planar heater in the form of a planar surface and comprises a heating pattern corresponding to an area of the planar surface is not discussed.
Regarding the heater being a planar heater in the form of a planar surface and comprises a heating pattern corresponding to an area of the planar surface (Claim 1), Noda et al. teach a planar heater (10) having a structure in which a planar heating element (3) includes a base layer (31), an electrode part (32) and a heating layer (33), and a base material (5) stacked by means of an adhesive layer (4). (Paragraphs 0072, Figs. 1, 5, 7)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 2:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the planar heater comprises a first film; a second film provided under the first film and a heating pattern formed on at least one of the first and second films and provided between the first and second films.
Regarding claim 2, Noda et al. teach the planar heater comprises a first film; a second film provided under the first film and a heating pattern formed on at least one of the first and second films and provided between the first and second films. (Paragraphs 0072, Figs. 1, 5, 7)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 3:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the heating pattern is formed corresponding to an area of a planar surface of at least one of the first and second films.
Regarding claim 3, Noda et al. teach the heating pattern is formed corresponding to an area of a planar surface of at least one of the first and second films. (Paragraphs 0072, Figs. 1, 5, 7)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 10:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the susceptor comprises a heater seating recess provided in at least one of the first and second plates.
Regarding claim 10, Sun teaches a heater seating recess provided in at least one of the first and second plates. (See Fig. 2)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Noda et al. is that it allows for utilizing a heater having PTC characteristics without pinholes. (Abstract; Paragraph 0002)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Sun by utilizing the features of Noda et al. because it allows for utilizing a heater having PTC characteristics without pinholes.
Claim(s) 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Noda et al. as applied to claims 1-3, 10 above, and further in view of Kim (KR 10-2011-0101365 A).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 4:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the planar heater comprises: at least one post hole; and a terminal portion provided at a side of the planar heater.
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches a post hole formed at a thick film heater (14) and a heater power line connected to thereto through the inside of a shaft (16). (Paragraphs 0042, 0057)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 5:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the planar heater is divided, wherein the divided planar heater is disposed so that the terminal portion of the planar heater corresponds to a hollow shaft of the second plate.
Noda et al. teach a divided planar heater. (See Noda et al. discussed above) Kim teach the heater power line is connected through the inside of the a shaft. (See Kim discussed above)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 6:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein at least one of the first and second plates comprises a post and a remaining one of the first and second plates comprises a post insertion portion, wherein the first and second plates are joined by welding an insertion area where the post is inserted into the post insertion portion.
Sun teaches a support pin (31) penetrating an upper plate (27) and a lower plate (29) and a support pin hole (32). (Paragraph 0017, Figs. 2-8) Kim teaches as post hole formed at the thick film heater (14) corresponding to a post insertion part of the lower plate (12) and a post of the upper plate (11)(Figs. 2, 3) and respective members are stacked, pressed and bonded by welding. (Paragraphs 0042, 0043)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 7:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the planar heater comprises at least one post hole corresponding to the post and the post insertion portion, and the susceptor comprises a lift pin hole provided in a welding area corresponding to the post hole, the post, and the post insertion portion.
Regarding claim 7, Kim teach at least one post hole corresponding to the post and the post insertion portion. (See Kim Figs. 2, 3) Sun teaches a susceptor comprising a lift pin hole. (See Sun discussed above Fig. 2) Kim teaches that all members of a susceptor can be stacked and pressed and bonded by welding. (Paragraphs 0042, 0043)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 8:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the at least one post hole comprises a plurality of post holes, wherein a portion of the post holes has a relatively large size and a remaining portion of the post holes has a relatively small size, and the lift pin hole is provided in the post hole having the large size.
Kim teach at least one post hole comprises a plurality of post holes. (See Fig. 2)
Sun teaches a lift pin holes with lift pins. (See Fig. 3)
With regarding to the hole sizes the change in hole sizes for the various holes can be selectable as changes in shape and size have been held to be obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 – IV Changes in Size, Shape, or Sequence of Adding Ingredients.
DEPENDENT CLAIM 9:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the second plate comprises a hollow shaft extending from a center thereof toward a floor surface, wherein the planar heater is disposed so that the terminal portion corresponds to the hollow shaft.
Sun teaches wherein a central support part (34) is coupled to the lower plate so as to supply power to the heating wire (30) and support a heater assembly, and an electric wire (36)is arranged inside the central support part (34) so as to supply power to the heating wire (30). (Paragraph 0017, Figs. 2 and 8)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Kim is that it allows for easily replacing the heater chuck. (See Abstract)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Kim because it allows for easily replacing the heater chuck.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (KR 10-2004-0093518 A) in view of Kim (KR 10-2011-0101365 A).
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 11:
Regarding claim 11, Sun teaches a susceptor (15) provided by joining a first plate and a second plate together (weld 35), wherein at least one of the first and second plates comprises a post (31) and a remaining one of the first and second plates comprises a post insertion portion, wherein an internal space in which a heater (30) is provided is provided inside a border portion of the at least one of the first and second plates, and the post is provided in the internal space,
wherein border portions of the first and second plates are welded (weld 35) and integrated together. (Paragraph 0017, 0020, Figs. 2-8)
The difference between Sun and claim 11 is that an insertion area where the insertion portion where the post is inserted into the post insertion portion is welded.
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches an insertion area where the insertion portion where the post is inserted into the post insertion portion is welded. Specifically Kim teaches a heating damper (13), the thick film heater (14), and a heat-insulating plate (15) are stacked between the upper plate (11) and lower plate (12), the post of the upper plate (11) is inserted into the post insertion part of the lower plate (12) so as to be coupled thereto (Figs. 2, 3) and respective members are stacked, pressed and finally bonded by E-beam welding or brazing welding. (Paragraphs 0042, 0043)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Kim is that it allows for easily replacing the heater chuck. (See Abstract)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Sun by utilizing the features of Kim because it allows for easily replacing the heater chuck.
Claim(s) 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Kim as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Noda et al. (JP 2020-042926 A).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 13:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the heater is provided as a planar heater, wherein the planar heater comprises: a first film; a second film provided under the first film; and a heating pattern formed on at least one of the first and second films and provided between the first and second films, wherein the heating pattern is formed corresponding to an area of a planar surface of at least one of the first and second films.
Noda et al. teach the planar heater comprises a first film; a second film provided under the first film and a heating pattern formed on at least one of the first and second films and provided between the first and second films, wherein the heating pattern is formed corresponding to an area of a planar surface of at least one of the first and second films. (Paragraphs 0072, Figs. 1, 5, 7)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 14:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the planar heater comprises: at least one post hole; and a terminal portion provided at a side of the planar heater.
Kim teaches a post hole formed at a thick film heater (14) and a heater power line connected to thereto through the inside of a shaft (16). (Paragraphs 0042, 0057)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 15:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the post hole corresponds to the post provided in the at least one of the first and second plates and the post insertion portion provided in the remaining one of the first and second plates, and the susceptor comprises a lift pin hole provided in a welding area corresponding to the post hole, the post, and the post insertion portion.
Sun teaches a support pin (31) penetrating an upper plate (27) and a lower plate (29) and a support pin hole (32). (Paragraph 0017, Figs. 2-8) Kim teaches as post hole formed at the thick film heater (14) corresponding to a post insertion part of the lower plate (12) and a post of the upper plate (11)(Figs. 2, 3) and respective members are stacked, pressed and bonded by welding. (Paragraphs 0042, 0043)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 16:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the second plate comprises a hollow shaft extending from a center thereof toward a floor surface, wherein the planar heater is disposed so that the terminal portion corresponds to the hollow shaft.
Sun teaches wherein a central support part (34) is coupled to the lower plate so as to supply power to the heating wire (30) and support a heater assembly, and an electric wire (36)is arranged inside the central support part (34) so as to supply power to the heating wire (30). (Paragraph 0017, Figs. 2 and 8)
The motivation for utilizing the features of is that it allows for utilizing a heater having PTC characteristics without pinholes. (Abstract; Paragraph 0002)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Noda et al. because it allows for utilizing a heater having PTC characteristics without pinholes.
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Kim as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (KR 10-2007-0106169).
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the insertion area is welded by friction stir welding.
Regarding claim 12, Lee et al. teach utilizing friction stir welding to join pieces of a susceptor. (See Abstract)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Lee et al. is that it allows for more easily joining pieces cleanly. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Lee et al. because it allows for more easily joining pieces cleanly.
Conclusion
/RODNEY G MCDONALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794
RMJune 3, 2026