This action is in response to the amendment and argument filed 2/17/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1 (a machine), 11 (a non-transitory CRM), 20 (a machine).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 7-8 of the response Applicant details differences between the disclosure of the cited Wiechers reference and the disclosure of the present application. For example, Applicant states: “Wiechers differs significantly from what Applicant claims. In contrast to Wiechers, Applicant’s “trigger” is not a user request. Instead, Applicant’s independent claims recite that the triggering event … is the output signal produced by the transceiver module exceeding a predetermined threshold.”
This argument is not persuasive.
Initially, the claims do not require a “trigger”. Rather, the claims require “in the secure shipping state, the controller is configured to determine whether the output signal …” Thus, there is no “trigger” and all that is required is that during a ‘secure shipping state’ an output signal is checked. This is disclosed by Wiechers in ¶¶ 4 and 67, see below.
Applicant’s argument that the “’trigger’ is not a user request” is basically an assertion that the additional, unmapped, portion of Wiechers (e.g. Fig. 3, step 301) precludes the other portions of Weichers from teaching the claimed limitations. This is not persuasive. “The transitional term “comprising”, which is synonymous with “including,” “containing,” or “characterized by,” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps.” MPEP 2111.03. Thus, the present claims could not exclude the additional disclosure of Weichers.
On page 7, ¶ 3, of the remarks Applicant states: “The cited 'output signal' in Wiechers (e.g., a "wireless communication signal") is not produced by the unmanned vehicle, but instead is produced by a separate Bluetooth beacon provided by the transport company and located at the delivery position”.
Applicant’s system does not produce the “radio-frequency signal received by the transceiver module”. Applicant’s system is not transmitting a signal. If it were transmitting a signal the strength of the signal would be entirely determined by the transceiver itself and have no utility in locating the device because the system would be receiving its own signal.
By reference to Applicant’s Figure 1, the claimed “output signal” is a received signal at antenna 106 – output – to the controller 108. As required by the claim: “an output signal according to one or more radio-frequency signals received by the transceiver module”.
As noted in Applicant’s specification ¶ 35: “Transceiver module 106 produces an output signal based on incident RF energy…. when the shielded container 104 is opened, ambient RF energy will inevitably flood the internal compartment. RF transceiver module 106 is tuned to detect at least one type of common RF signal (i.e., that can be expected to exist within the shipping route). If the output signal exceeds a predetermined threshold, controller 108 can perform a destination check to determine whether secure device 102 has reached its intended destination.”
The output signal is merely a measurement of the “received radio-frequency signal”.
Thus, Applicant’s system functions identically to that of Weichers in that “(e.g., “a "wireless communication signal") is not produced by the [claimed system].”
For at least the above reasons, Applicant’s remarks are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7-9, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Wiechers et al., US 2018/0099641 (published 2018).
As to claim 1, Wiechers discloses a machine/CRM comprising:
A secure device for detecting a potential breach during shipment, comprising: (“the security for shipments” Wiechers ¶ 4)
a transceiver module operable to generate an output signal according to one or more radio-frequency signals received by the transceiver module; and (“the checking in step 3042 can be carried out by comparing the signal strength of a communication signal captured in step 303 with the predetermined signal strength threshold value and by checking and/or determining the identity and/or origin of the captured communication signal.” Wiechers ¶ 136. “the position of the unmanned vehicle with a signal strength above a predetermined signal strength threshold value or within a range of signal strength values.” Wiechers ¶ 54)
a controller configured to enter a secure shipping state, wherein, in the secure shipping state, the controller is configured to determine whether the output signal of the transceiver module exceeds a predetermined threshold, and, in response to the output signal of the transceiver module exceeding the predetermined threshold, to determine at least one identifier from the output signal of the transceiver module; (“signal is captured with a signal strength above the signal strength threshold value. Alternatively or additionally, an identity and/or origin of a captured wireless communication signal may be predetermined (for example by predetermining an identifier of the transmitter of the communication signal).” Wiechers ¶ 67)
wherein the controller is further configured to take a protective action if the the identifier does not match a predetermined identifier, (“by checking and/or determining the identity and/or origin of the captured communication signal.” Weichers ¶ 136. “If the checking in step 304 reveals that the request to open the receiving compartment 30 of the unmanned vehicle 3 is not authorized, the method is terminated in a step 305.” Wiechers ¶ 141)
and to exit the secure shipping state if the the identifier matches the predetermined identifier. (“Otherwise, the receiving compartment 30 of the unmanned vehicle 3 is opened in a step 306 and/or the opening of the receiving compartment 30 of the unmanned vehicle 3 is caused.” Wiechers ¶ 142)
As to claim 4, Weichers discloses the machine/CRM of claim 1 and further discloses:
Wherein the protective action comprises entering a secure state in which at least one capability of the secure device is suspended. (“If the checking in step 304 reveals that the request to open the receiving compartment 30 of the unmanned vehicle 3 is not authorized, the method is terminated in a step 305.” Wiechers ¶ 141).
As to claim 7, Weichers discloses the machine/CRM of claim 1 and further discloses:
Wherein the secure state persists until the controller receives a predetermined set of credentials. (“the first proof of authorization information is obtained by a user interface, a card interface and/or by a wireless communication interface at the unmanned vehicle.” Weichers ¶ 39. “interface, for example as a user input (for example as a keyboard or mouse input and/or as a voice or speech input and/or as a gesture and/or as an input of a biometric feature); for example, such a user input can be obtained from a shipment recipient and/or shipment sender.” Weichers ¶ 42)
As to claim 8, Weichers discloses the machine/CRM of claim 1 and further discloses:
Wherein the predetermined identifier is a location. (“the position of the unmanned vehicle with a signal strength above a predetermined signal strength threshold value or within a range of signal strength values.” Wiechers ¶ 54. “The checking of the authorization of the request to open the receiving compartment of an unmanned vehicle comprises, for example, checking, in dependence on the captured position of the unmanned vehicle,” Wiechers ¶ 31).
As to claim 9, Weichers discloses the machine/CRM of claim 1 and further discloses:
Wherein the predetermined identifier is a network identification parameter. (“signal is captured with a signal strength above the signal strength threshold value. Alternatively or additionally, an identity and/or origin of a captured wireless communication signal may be predetermined (for example by predetermining an identifier of the transmitter of the communication signal).” Wiechers ¶ 67. “the checking information may contain a digital signature, which confirms the origin and/or identity of the communication signal, and/or an identifier (for example an address such as a MAC address or an IP address and/or a name such as a network name or an SSID) ” Wiechers ¶ 58)
As to claims 20, Wiechers discloses a machine comprising:
A secure device for detecting a potential breach during shipment, comprising: (“the security for shipments” Wiechers ¶ 4)
a transceiver module operable to generate an output signal according to one or more radio-frequency signals received by the transceiver module; and (“the checking in step 3042 can be carried out by comparing the signal strength of a communication signal captured in step 303 with the predetermined signal strength threshold value and by checking and/or determining the identity and/or origin of the captured communication signal.” Wiechers ¶ 136. “the position of the unmanned vehicle with a signal strength above a predetermined signal strength threshold value or within a range of signal strength values.” Wiechers ¶ 54)
a controller configured to enter a secure shipping state, wherein, in the secure shipping state, the controller is configured to determine whether the output signal exceeds a predetermined threshold, and to determine a location from the output signal, (“signal is captured with a signal strength above the signal strength threshold value. Alternatively or additionally, an identity and/or origin of a captured wireless communication signal may be predetermined (for example by predetermining an identifier of the transmitter of the communication signal).” Wiechers ¶ 67)
wherein the controller is further configured perform a protective action if the unmanned vehicle 3 is not authorized, the method is terminated in a step 305.” Wiechers ¶ 141)
wherein the controller is configured to exit the secure shipping state if the
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 11, 14, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiechers et al., US 2018/0099641 (published 2018), in view of Official Notice.
As to claim 10, Weichers discloses the machine/CRM of claim 1 but does not disclose:
Wherein the transceiver module includes an ultra-wide band antenna.
However, ultra-wide band transceivers are well known in the art, official notice is taken thereof.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have incorporated ultra-wideband standards in the system of Wiechers. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wiechers with an ultra-wideband transceivers in order to gain compatibility with terminals using such transceivers, thereby expanding interoperability and usability across a wider range of devices, similar to the wide selection of interfaces in Wiechers ¶ 37.
As to claim 11, Wiechers discloses a machine/CRM comprising: A program method, being stored on a non-transitory storage media and executed by one or more processors, the program method comprising: (“the security for shipments” Wiechers ¶ 4)
entering a secure shipping state; (“This is advantageous, for example, in order to prevent (unauthorized) opening of the receiving compartment if the unmanned vehicle is not at the delivery and/or posting position of the shipment.” Wiechers ¶ 76)
receiving an output signal from a transceiver module, the output signal representing one or more radio-frequency signals received by the transceiver module, wherein the transceiver module receives the one more radio-frequency signals (“the checking in step 3042 can be carried out by comparing the signal strength of a communication signal captured in step 303 with the predetermined signal strength threshold value and by checking and/or determining the identity and/or origin of the captured communication signal.” Wiechers ¶ 136. “the position of the unmanned vehicle with a signal strength above a predetermined signal strength threshold value or within a range of signal strength values.” Wiechers ¶ 54)
…
determining whether the output signal exceeds a predetermined threshold, and
if the output signal exceeds the predetermined threshold, performing one of: (“signal is captured with a signal strength above the signal strength threshold value. Alternatively or additionally, an identity and/or origin of a captured wireless communication signal may be predetermined (for example by predetermining an identifier of the transmitter of the communication signal).” Wiechers ¶ 67)
taking a protective action if at least one predetermined identifier cannot be identified from the output signal, or (“If the checking in step 304 reveals that the request to open the receiving compartment 30 of the unmanned vehicle 3 is not authorized, the method is terminated in a step 305.” Wiechers ¶ 141)
exiting the secure shipping state if the at least one predetermined identifier can be identified from the output signal. (“Otherwise, the receiving compartment 30 of the unmanned vehicle 3 is opened in a step 306 and/or the opening of the receiving compartment 30 of the unmanned vehicle 3 is caused.” Wiechers ¶ 142).
Wiechers does not disclose: with an ultra-wide band antenna;
However, ultra-wide band transceivers are well known in the art, official notice is taken thereof.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have incorporated ultra-wideband standards in the system of Wiechers. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wiechers with an ultra-wideband transceivers in order to gain compatibility with terminals using such transceivers, thereby expanding interoperability and usability across a wider range of devices, similar to the wide selection of interfaces in Wiechers ¶ 37.
As to claim 14, 17, 18, and 19, Weichers discloses the machine/CRM of claim 11 and further discloses the elements of claims 14, 17, 18, and 19 as seen above in claims 4, 7, 8, and 9.
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiechers et al., US 2018/0099641 (published 2018), in view of Heinla, US 2019/0287051 (published 2019).
As to claim 2, Weichers discloses the machine/CRM of claim 1 but does not disclose: wherein the protective action comprises displaying a notification on a display.
Heinla discloses:
wherein the protective action comprises displaying a notification on a display.
(“The first delivery recipient 60 can be notified that the robot 1 has arrived at the delivery location 62 via a mobile device for example. This can be a cell phone, a tablet, a personal computer, a wearable device and/or a comparable device. In some embodiments, the first delivery recipient 60 can be notified of which package within the package space 10 of the robot 1 is addressed to them.” Heinla ¶ 137. “the robot 1 can process this via a processing component 3 and send this second data to the server 70 and/or to the remote terminal 120 for further processing and/or actions via the communication component 5. For example, the server 70 can send an automated message to the first delivery recipient 60 warning them that the wrong package has been removed. Alternatively or additionally, the remote terminal 120 can directly communicate with the first delivery recipient 60 via their mobile device for example in case of complications during the delivery process.” Heinla ¶ 139).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Wiechers with Heinla by providing output and notifications during delivery, or miss-delivery, to enable the robots delivery task to complete successfully. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wiechers with Heinla in order to allow parcels to be delivered to multiple recipients, Heinla ¶ 10.
As to claim 3, Weichers discloses the machine/CRM of claim 1 but does not disclose:
Wherein the protective action comprises transmitting a message to at least one party.
Heinla discloses:
Wherein the protective action comprises transmitting a message to at least one party.
(“The first delivery recipient 60 can be notified that the robot 1 has arrived at the delivery location 62 via a mobile device for example. This can be a cell phone, a tablet, a personal computer, a wearable device and/or a comparable device. In some embodiments, the first delivery recipient 60 can be notified of which package within the package space 10 of the robot 1 is addressed to them.” Heinla ¶ 137. “the robot 1 can process this via a processing component 3 and send this second data to the server 70 and/or to the remote terminal 120 for further processing and/or actions via the communication component 5. For example, the server 70 can send an automated message to the first delivery recipient 60 warning them that the wrong package has been removed. Alternatively or additionally, the remote terminal 120 can directly communicate with the first delivery recipient 60 via their mobile device for example in case of complications during the delivery process.” Heinla ¶ 139).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Wiechers with Heinla by providing output and notifications during delivery, or miss-delivery, to enable the robots delivery task to complete successfully. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wiechers with Heinla in order to allow parcels to be delivered to multiple recipients, Heinla ¶ 10.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiechers et al., US 2018/0099641 (published 2018), in view of Official Notice and Heinla, US 2019/0287051 (published 2019).
As to claim 12, Weichers in view of Official Notice discloses the machine/CRM of claim 11 but does not disclose: wherein the protective action comprises displaying a notification on a display.
Heinla discloses:
wherein the protective action comprises displaying a notification on a display.
(“The first delivery recipient 60 can be notified that the robot 1 has arrived at the delivery location 62 via a mobile device for example. This can be a cell phone, a tablet, a personal computer, a wearable device and/or a comparable device. In some embodiments, the first delivery recipient 60 can be notified of which package within the package space 10 of the robot 1 is addressed to them.” Heinla ¶ 137. “the robot 1 can process this via a processing component 3 and send this second data to the server 70 and/or to the remote terminal 120 for further processing and/or actions via the communication component 5. For example, the server 70 can send an automated message to the first delivery recipient 60 warning them that the wrong package has been removed. Alternatively or additionally, the remote terminal 120 can directly communicate with the first delivery recipient 60 via their mobile device for example in case of complications during the delivery process.” Heinla ¶ 139).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Wiechers with Heinla by providing output and notifications during delivery, or miss-delivery, to enable the robots delivery task to complete successfully. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wiechers with Heinla in order to allow parcels to be delivered to multiple recipients, Heinla ¶ 10.
As to claim 13, Weichers in view of Official Notice discloses the machine/CRM of claim 11 but does not disclose:
Wherein the protective action comprises transmitting a message to at least one party.
Heinla discloses:
Wherein the protective action comprises transmitting a message to at least one party.
(“The first delivery recipient 60 can be notified that the robot 1 has arrived at the delivery location 62 via a mobile device for example. This can be a cell phone, a tablet, a personal computer, a wearable device and/or a comparable device. In some embodiments, the first delivery recipient 60 can be notified of which package within the package space 10 of the robot 1 is addressed to them.” Heinla ¶ 137. “the robot 1 can process this via a processing component 3 and send this second data to the server 70 and/or to the remote terminal 120 for further processing and/or actions via the communication component 5. For example, the server 70 can send an automated message to the first delivery recipient 60 warning them that the wrong package has been removed. Alternatively or additionally, the remote terminal 120 can directly communicate with the first delivery recipient 60 via their mobile device for example in case of complications during the delivery process.” Heinla ¶ 139).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Wiechers with Heinla by providing output and notifications during delivery, or miss-delivery, to enable the robots delivery task to complete successfully. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wiechers with Heinla in order to allow parcels to be delivered to multiple recipients, Heinla ¶ 10.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiechers et al., US 2018/0099641 (published 2018), in view of Weston et al., US 2011/0321173 (published 2011).
As to claim 5, Weichers discloses the machine/CRM of claim 4 but does not disclose:
wherein the at least one capability is the ability to process payments.
Weston discloses:
(“Upon detection of a tamper event associated with the secure keypad 115, the retail environment can enter a low security mode that restricts secure input to the secure keypad 115, but that permits secure input to the card reader 130.” Weston ¶ 114)
wherein the at least one capability is the ability to process payments.
(“This low security mode may be appropriate for use in meeting the requirement of standards that require terminating all function of a compromised PIN data entry device, such as the Europay, MasterCard, Visa (EMV) standard or the Unattended Payment Terminal (UPT) standard. When a security breach event is detected, the controller electronics 110 informs the POS server 155 via an XML message and displays a generic message on the display 120 to indicate that transactions at the retail environment 105 are disabled and the customer may pay at a POS terminal in the in-store environment 150” Weston ¶ 81)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Weichers with Weston by disabling secure functionality upon detection of intrusion into the device, as done in Weston. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Weichers with Weston in order to provide compatibility with the security standards, Weston ¶ 81.
As to claim 6, Weichers discloses the machine/CRM of claim 4 but does not disclose:
wherein the at least one capability is the ability to receive encryption keys.
Weston discloses:
(“Upon detection of a tamper event associated with the secure keypad 115, the retail environment can enter a low security mode that restricts secure input to the secure keypad 115, but that permits secure input to the card reader 130.” Weston ¶ 114)
wherein the at least one capability is the ability to receive encryption keys.
(the PIN being analogous to an ‘encryption key’ where no use or encryption is required: “This low security mode may be appropriate for use in meeting the requirement of standards that require terminating all function of a compromised PIN data entry device, such as the Europay, MasterCard, Visa (EMV) standard or the Unattended Payment Terminal (UPT) standard. When a security breach event is detected, the controller electronics 110 informs the POS server 155 via an XML message and displays a generic message on the display 120 to indicate that transactions at the retail environment 105 are disabled and the customer may pay at a POS terminal in the in-store environment 150” Weston ¶ 81)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Weichers with Weston by disabling secure functionality upon detection of intrusion into the device, as done in Weston. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Weichers with Weston in order to provide compatibility with the security standards, Weston ¶ 81.
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiechers et al., US 2018/0099641 (published 2018), in view of Official Notice and Weston et al., US 2011/0321173 (published 2011).
As to claim 15, Weichers in view of Official Notice discloses the machine/CRM of claim 14 but does not disclose:
wherein the at least one capability is the ability to process payments.
Weston discloses:
(“Upon detection of a tamper event associated with the secure keypad 115, the retail environment can enter a low security mode that restricts secure input to the secure keypad 115, but that permits secure input to the card reader 130.” Weston ¶ 114)
wherein the at least one capability is the ability to process payments.
(“This low security mode may be appropriate for use in meeting the requirement of standards that require terminating all function of a compromised PIN data entry device, such as the Europay, MasterCard, Visa (EMV) standard or the Unattended Payment Terminal (UPT) standard. When a security breach event is detected, the controller electronics 110 informs the POS server 155 via an XML message and displays a generic message on the display 120 to indicate that transactions at the retail environment 105 are disabled and the customer may pay at a POS terminal in the in-store environment 150” Weston ¶ 81)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Weichers with Weston by disabling secure functionality upon detection of intrusion into the device, as done in Weston. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Weichers with Weston in order to provide compatibility with the security standards, Weston ¶ 81.
As to claim 16, Weichers in view of Official Notice discloses the machine/CRM of claim 14 but does not disclose:
wherein the at least one capability is the ability to receive encryption keys.
Weston discloses:
(“Upon detection of a tamper event associated with the secure keypad 115, the retail environment can enter a low security mode that restricts secure input to the secure keypad 115, but that permits secure input to the card reader 130.” Weston ¶ 114)
wherein the at least one capability is the ability to receive encryption keys.
(the PIN being analogous to an ‘encryption key’ where no use or encryption is required: “This low security mode may be appropriate for use in meeting the requirement of standards that require terminating all function of a compromised PIN data entry device, such as the Europay, MasterCard, Visa (EMV) standard or the Unattended Payment Terminal (UPT) standard. When a security breach event is detected, the controller electronics 110 informs the POS server 155 via an XML message and displays a generic message on the display 120 to indicate that transactions at the retail environment 105 are disabled and the customer may pay at a POS terminal in the in-store environment 150” Weston ¶ 81)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have combined Weichers with Weston by disabling secure functionality upon detection of intrusion into the device, as done in Weston. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Weichers with Weston in order to provide compatibility with the security standards, Weston ¶ 81.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892, particularly:
De la Broise, US 12,507,036, which discloses notifications in a tracking device environment based on signal strength thresholds.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL W CHAO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492