DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on May 27, 2026 has been entered. Claims ## are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakagawa et al. [US 20080241709 A1, hereafter Nakagawa].
As per Claim 1, Nakagawa teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium
having instructions thereon or therein, the instructions, when executed by a computer system (Para 14), configured to cause the computer system to at least:
receive a representation of a first contour of a substrate pattern (Para 13, An original geometry to be formed in an absorber layer of a photomask blank is received);
determine a curvature of the first contour (See fig. 7 and 8);
determine an etch bias direction based on the curvature; wherein the etch bias direction is different for different curvatures (Para 46, original geometry may be modified to generate a modified geometry that is offset from the original geometry in at least one direction); and
use a simulation model to determine an etch effect based on the etch bias direction for an etching process on the substrate pattern (See fig. 5 and 6, Para 13 and 43, wherein a simulation may be performed based on the modified geometry to determine a simulated geometry).
As per Claim 2, Nakagawa teaches the medium of claim 1, wherein the
curvature 108 corresponds to a curvature at a given location of the first contour (See
fig. 5), wherein the etch bias direction is for the given location and is determined based
on the curvature at the given location and further based on a curvature at one or more
adjacent locations 100 along the first contour in proximity to the given location (See fig.
5 and 6, Para 43).
As per Claim 3, Nakagawa teaches the medium of claim 2, wherein the etch
bias direction for the given location on the first contour is determined based on a combination of curvatures at the one or more adjacent locations along the first contour
with the curvature at the given location (See fig. 5 and 6, Para 43).
As per Claim 4, Nakagawa teaches the medium of claim 3, wherein the
combination is weighted based on the curvatures (See fig. 5 and 6, Para 43).
As per Claim 5, Nakagawa teaches the medium of claim 1, wherein the etch
bias direction for a given location on the first contour is determined based on a
combination of normal directions (100, 102) at one or more adjacent locations along the
first contour with the normal direction of the first contour at the given location (See fig. 5
and 6, Para 43).
As per Claim 6, Nakagawa teaches the medium of claim 5, wherein the
combination is weighted with respect to the normal directions (See fig. 5 and 6, Para
43).
As per Claim 7, Nakagawa teaches the medium of claim 1, wherein the
instructions are further configured to cause the computer system to determine an etch
bias value based on the representation of the first contour of the substrate pattern, and
use the simulation model to determine the etch effect based on the etch bias direction
and the etch bias value (Para 41-43).
As per Claim 8, Nakagawa teaches the medium of claim 1, wherein the etch
effect is a change in the first contour (100, 102) of the substrate pattern caused by
etching, which produces an after etch substrate pattern (See fig. 5), and wherein the
instructions configured to cause the computer system to use the simulation model to
determine the etch effect are further configured to cause the computer system to
determine one or more locations on the after etch substrate pattern based on the etch bias direction, wherein the representation of the first contour is received electronically (a
particular geometry defined by a mask pattern file), and the representation of the
first contour is a representation of a resist contour (See fig. 5 and 6, Para 39-41).
As per Claim 9, Nakagawa teaches the medium of claim 1, wherein the
instructions configured to cause the computer system to determine the etch bias
direction are further configured to cause the computer system to determine the etch
bias using an algorithm comprising a combination term, a filtering term, and a curvature
term (See fig. 5-8, Para 42 and 46).
As per Claim 10, Nakagawa teaches the medium of claim 1, wherein the
simulation model is an etch bias model (Para 41).
As per Claim 11, Nakagawa teaches the medium of claim 1, wherein the
instructions configured to cause the computer system to use the simulation model to
determine the etch effect are further configured to cause the computer system to, in a
calibration flow, determine the etch bias direction at each location on a gage contour of
the substrate pattern (Para 41).
As per Claim 12, Nakagawa teaches the medium of claim 1, wherein the
instructions configured to cause the computer system to use the simulation model to
determine the etch effect are further configured to cause the computer system to, in a
model application flow, bias each vertex of a resist contour with a bias vector based on
the etch bias direction to determine an after etch contour (See fig. 5 and 6, wherein
each point of the geometry 100).
As per Claim 13, Nakagawa teaches the medium of claim 1, wherein the
instructions configured to cause the computer system to use the simulation model to determine the etch effect are further configured to cause the computer system to, for
optical proximity correction, use a resist contour and an etch bias direction at each
location on the resist contour, and determine an after etch contour, which can be used
to estimate an etch signal for the optical proximity correction (Para 29).
As per Claim 14, Nakagawa teaches the medium of claim 1, wherein the etch
effect is determined based on an etch bias value and the etch bias direction, and
wherein the etch bias value and/or the etch bias direction are configured to be provided
to a cost function to facilitate determination of costs associated with individual patterning
process variables (Para 40, wherein a particular offset extending around the
perimeter of desired geometry 100 to generate a modified geometry 102).
As per Claim 15, Nakagawa teaches the medium of claim 1, wherein the
curvature of the first contour is determined based on one or more derivatives of an
equation that represents the first contour (Para 41-42).
As per Claim 16, Nakagawa teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions thereon or therein, the instructions, when executed by a computer system (Para 14), configured to cause the computer system to at least:
receive a representation of a substrate pattern, wherein the representation comprises a contour in the substrate pattern (Para 13, An original geometry to be formed in an absorber layer of a photomask blank is received);
determine an etch bias value for a location on the contour of the substrate pattern (Para 14, wherein geometry offset from the original geometry in at least one direction);
determine a curvature of the contour of the substrate pattern at the location (See
fig. 7 and 8);
determine an etch bias direction based on the curvature; wherein the etch bias direction is different for different curvatures (Para 46, original geometry may be modified to generate a modified geometry that is offset from the original geometry in at least one direction);
input the etch bias value and the etch bias direction to a simulation model (Para
14, wherein perform a simulation based on the modified geometry to determine a simulated geometry); and
use the simulation model to determine an after etch contour for the substrate pattern, the after etch contour comprising change in the contour of the substrate pattern caused by etching, wherein the after etch contour from the simulation model is configured to be used in a cost function to facilitate determination of costs associated with individual patterning process variables, and wherein the costs associated with individual patterning variables are configured to be used to facilitate an optimization of the patterning process (See fig. 5 and 6, Para 13 and 43, wherein a simulation may be performed based on the modified geometry to determine a simulated geometry).
As per Claim 17, Nakagawa teaches the medium of claim 16, wherein the
representation of the substrate pattern comprises a resist image and the contour is a
resist contour (See fig. 5C).
As per Claim 18, Nakagawa teaches the medium of claim 16, wherein the
instructions configured to cause the computer system to use the simulation model to
determine the after etch contour are further configured to cause the computer system to determine a location on the after etch contour based on the etch bias direction (Para
41-42).
As per Claim 19, Nakagawa teaches the medium of claim 16, wherein the
instructions configured to cause the computer system to determine the etch bias
direction are further configured to cause the computer system to determine the etch
bias direction using an algorithm comprising a combination term, a filtering term, a
curvature term, and a calibration term (Para 41-42).
As per Claim 20, Nakagawa teaches the medium of claim 16, wherein the
simulation model is a vector based effective etch bias model (Para 41).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the remark section, filed May 27, 2026, with respect to the rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 of claims 1-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to the rejected under 35 U.S.C. $102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remark section, with regard to claims 1 and 16, Applicant argued that the prior art to Nakagawa do not disclose claimed limitation of “determine an etch bias direction based on the curvature, wherein the etch bias direction is different for different curvatures.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Nakagawa, for example in [0046], disclosed that “the curvature of an inside corner 124 of predicted resulting geometry 108 is less sharp (or less acute), while the curvature of an outside corner 124 of predicted resulting geometry 108 is sharper (or more acute) as compared with the symmetrical curve of conventional predicted geometry 120.” Therefore, Applicant’s argument on the above point is not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MESFIN T ASFAW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882