DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 04/29/2024 and 06/26/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over de Sousa et al. (US 2018/0096912 A1) in view of Zeng et al. (US 2017/0229963 A1).
Pertaining to claim 1, Sousa et al. discloses A carrier substrate (1) comprising thermal vias (70) for thermally interconnecting components arranged on at least a first side of the carrier substrate to a heat pipe (20), wherein the carrier substrate (1) further comprises: a first substrate (15, substrate refers to the underlying surface or material to which another substance is applied) with thermal vias (70) configured to be connected to a first component (paragraph [0043-[0048]); a second substrate (14) comprising a groove (50) with a heat pipe (20); and, such that the heat pipe (20) is embedded in said groove (50) between the first substrate (15) and the second substrate (14).
But, Sousa et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first substrate is adhered to the second substrate by means of an adhesive.
However, Zeng et al teaches wherein the first substrate (11, see fig. 4B) is adhered (15, see paragraph [0073, lines 32-35, see fig. 4B) to the second substrate (12) by means of an adhesive (15).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide wherein the first substrate is adhered to the second substrate by means of an adhesive in the device of Sousa based on the teachings Zeng et al. in order to have the ability to create a continuous bond area that distributes stress evenly across the joint, which improves overall strength and durability compared to mechanical fasteners or welding.
Pertaining to claim 2, Sousa et al. discloses, wherein the thermal vias (70) of the first substrate (15) are connected to the heat pipe (20) of the second substrate (14) by means of a sintering paste (see paragraph [0008]).
Pertaining to claim 3, Sousa et al. discloses, wherein the adhesive is an epoxy adhesive (see paragraph [0113], lines 9-13)
Pertaining to claim 4, Sousa et al. discloses all claimed limitations except, wherein the adhesive comprises spacer elements of a predetermined size (d).
However, It would have been on obvious matter of design choice to , since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)
Pertaining to claim 5, Sousa et al. discloses, wherein the thermal vias (70) are connected to a region in between a first edge region and a second edge region (see fig. 4) of the heat pipe (20).
Pertaining to claim 6, Sousa et al. discloses, wherein a cross-section of the heat pipe (20) is circular (see fig. 4).
Pertaining to claim 7, Sousa et al. discloses, wherein the heat pipe (20) is laminated in the groove (50) by means of prepreg, or sintering paste (see paragraph [0008]).
Pertaining to claim 8, Sousa et al. discloses wherein the second substrate (14) further comprises a heat spreader (see paragraph [0043], lines 6-9) connected to said heat pipe (20).
Pertaining to claim 9, Sousa et al. as modified by Zeng et al further discloses, wherein the second substrate (12 of Zeng et al.) comprises further thermal vias (70 of Sousa) connected to the heat pipe (20 of Sousa et al.) and wherein the further thermal vias (70 of Sousa et al.) are configured to be connected a second component (10 of Zeng et al.) arranged on an opposing side to the first component (21 of Zeng et al.)
Pertaining to claim 10, Sousa et al. as modified by Zeng et al further discloses wherein the first substrate (11 of Zeng et al.), and/or the second substrate (12 of Zeng et al.) comprises at least two layers electrically connected to each other by means of vias (111 of Zeng et al.) for signal and power distribution (see paragraph [0069 of Zeng et al.]).
Pertaining to claim 11, Sousa et al. as modified by Zeng et al further discloses wherein the first substrate (11 of Zeng et al.) comprises a conducting layer (13 of Zeng et al.) facing the second substrate (12 of Zeng et al.), and wherein the second substrate (12 of Zeng et al.) comprises a further conducting layer (13 of Zeng et al.) facing the conducting layer of the first substrate (11 of Zeng et al.).
Pertaining to claim 12, Sousa et al. discloses comprising a first component (see paragraph [0045]) thermally connected to at least a first side of a carrier substrate (1), which comprises: thermal vias (70) for thermally interconnecting components arranged on at least a first side of the carrier substrate (1) to a heat pipe (20), wherein the carrier substrate (1) further comprises: a first substrate (15) with thermal vias (70) configured to be connected to a first component (see paragraph [0045]); a second substrate (14) comprising a groove (50) with a heat pipe (20); and, such that the heat pipe (20) is embedded in said groove (50) between the first substrate (15) and the second substrate (14).
But, Sousa et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first substrate is adhered to the second substrate by means of an adhesive.
However, Zeng et al teaches wherein the first substrate (11, see fig. 4B) is adhered (15, see paragraph [0073, lines 32-35, see fig. 4B) to the second substrate (12) by means of an adhesive (15).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide wherein the first substrate is adhered to the second substrate by means of an adhesive in the device of Sousa based on the teachings Zeng et al. in order to have the ability to create a continuous bond area that distributes stress evenly across the joint, which improves overall strength and durability compared to mechanical fasteners or welding.
Pertaining to claim 13, Sousa et al. discloses comprising a second component arranged on a second side of the carrier substrate (1), opposite of the first side of the carrier substrate (1).
Pertaining to claim 14, Sousa et al. as modified by Zeng et al further discloses, wherein the second component (21 of Zeng et al.) is thermally connected to said heat pipe (20 of Sousa et al.) by means of further thermal vias (70 of Sousa et al.).
Pertaining to claim 15, Sousa et al. as modified by Zeng et al further discloses wherein the first component (21 of Zeng et al.) comprises: a further carrier substrate (1 of Sousa et al.) on which circuits (211 of Zeng et al.) are arranged on a first side, such that the circuits (211 of Zeng et al.) are located between the first carrier substrate (1 of Sousa et al.) and the first side of the further carrier substrate (1 of Sousa et al.).
Pertaining to claim 16, Sousa et al. discloses, wherein a second side of the further carrier substrate (1) comprises a wave guide structure (see paragraph [0047]); and the first side of the further carrier substrate (1) is opposite said second side of the further carrier substrate (1).
Pertaining to claim 17, Sousa et al. discloses, wherein the further carrier substrate is an antenna substrate (see paragraph [0047], lines 11-13) and the wave guide structure (see paragraph [0047]) of the further carrier substrate (1) comprises at least one antenna (see paragraph [0047], lines 11-13).
Pertaining to claim 18, Sousa et al. discloses wherein the heat spreader is connected to a cooling device (see paragraph [0040]).
Pertaining to claim 19, Sousa et al. discloses A method of producing a carrier substrate (1) comprising thermal vias (70) for thermally interconnecting components arranged on at least a first side of the carrier substrate (1) to a heat pipe (20), wherein the method comprises the steps of: providing (S1) a first substrate (15) with thermal vias (70) configured to be connected to a first component (see paragraph [0045]); providing (S2) a second substrate (14) comprising a groove (50) with a heat pipe (20), such that the heat pipe (20) is embedded in said groove (50) between the first substrate (15) and the second substrate (14).
But, Sousa et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the first substrate is adhered to the second substrate by means of an adhesive.
However, Zeng et al teaches wherein the first substrate (11, see fig. 4B) is adhered (15, see paragraph [0073, lines 32-35, see fig. 4B) to the second substrate (12) by means of an adhesive (15).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide wherein the first substrate is adhered to the second substrate by means of an adhesive in the device of Sousa based on the teachings Zeng et al. in order to have the ability to create a continuous bond area that distributes stress evenly across the joint, which improves overall strength and durability compared to mechanical fasteners or welding.
Pertaining to claim 20, Sousa et al. discloses, further comprising the step of: connecting the thermal vias (70) of the first substrate (15) to the heat pipe (20) of the second substrate (14) by means of a sintering paste (see paragraph [0008]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mullen (US 2006/0006525 A1) and Silvano de Sousa (US 20170167799-A1).
/ANDARGIE M AYCHILLHUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848