DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/29/2024, 3/3/2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
In claim 3, line 2, the limitation of “the semiconductor charge transport layer” renders the claim indefinite because it lacks antecedent basis and no semiconductor charge transport layer was previously recited. Therefore, it is suggested Applicant change “the semiconductor charge transport layer” in claim 3, line 2 to “a semiconductor charge transport layer”. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted and examined as “a semiconductor charge transport layer”. Correction is requested.
In claim 4, line 5, the limitation of “the semiconductor charge transport layer” renders the claim indefinite because it lacks antecedent basis and no semiconductor charge transport layer was previously recited. Therefore, it is suggested Applicant change “the semiconductor charge transport layer” in claim 4, line 5 to “a semiconductor charge transport layer”. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted and examined as “a semiconductor charge transport layer”. Correction is requested.
In claim 5, line 2, the limitation of “the light-emitting unit” renders the claim indefinite because it lacks antecedent basis and no light-emitting unit was previously recited. Therefore, it is suggested Applicant change “the light-emitting unit” in claim 5, line 2 to “a light-emitting unit”. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted and examined as “a light-emitting unit”. Correction is requested.
In claim 6, lines 2-3, the limitation of “the light-emitting unit” renders the claim indefinite because it lacks antecedent basis and no light-emitting unit was previously recited. Therefore, it is suggested Applicant change “the light-emitting unit” in claim 6, lines 2-3 to “a light-emitting unit”. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted and examined as “a light-emitting unit”. Correction is requested.
In claim 7, lines 2-3, the limitation of “the semiconductor charge transport layer” and “the light-emitting unit” renders the claim indefinite because it lacks antecedent basis and no semiconductor charge transport layer, light-emitting unit was previously recited. Therefore, it is suggested Applicant change “the semiconductor charge transport layer” and “the light-emitting unit” in claim 7, lines 2-3 to “a semiconductor charge transport layer” and “a light-emitting unit”. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted and examined as “a semiconductor charge transport layer” and “a light-emitting unit”. Correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bencheikh (WO 2019/139175 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bencheikh discloses, in at least figures 5, 8, and related text, a planar light-emitting transistor capable of surface light source emission, comprising a source electrode (Au, page 22-23, figures), a drain electrode (Ag, page 22-23, figures), and a charge buffer layer (PPT, page 17, 23) arranged under the source electrode or the drain electrode (Ag, page 22-23, figures).
Regarding claim 3, Bencheikh discloses the planar light-emitting transistor capable of surface light source emission as claimed in claim 1 as described above.
Bencheikh further discloses, in at least figures 5, 8, and related text, the semiconductor charge transport layer has a mobility of not less than 0.1cm2 V-1s-1 (page 28);
preferably, the semiconductor charge transport layer (C8-BTBT, page 22-23) comprises an organic semiconductor material and/or an inorganic semiconductor material, wherein for example, the organic semiconductor material is selected from a small molecule material and/or a polymer material;
preferably, the organic semiconductor material is selected from one or more of the following including, but not limited to: 2,7-dioctyl[1]benzothieno[3,2-b]benzothiophene (C8- BTBT) (C8-BTBT, page 22-23), 2,6-diphenylanthracene (DPA), 2,6-dinaphthylanthracene (dNaAnt), 2,6-di(p-n- hexylbenzene) anthracene (C6-DPA), 2,6-di(p-octylhexylbenzene)anthracene (Cs-DPA), 2,6-di(p-decylbenzene) anthracene (Cio-DPA), poly(3-hexylthiophene) (P3HT), 9,9-di-n-octylfluorene-benzothiadiazole copolymer (F8BT), and poly[2,5-(2-octyldodecyl)-3,6-diketopyrrolopyrrole-alt-5,5-(2,5-di (thiophen-2-yl)thieno[3,2-b]thiophene)](DPP-DTT), further preferably Cs-BTBT;
preferably, the inorganic semiconductor material is selected from one or more of the following including, but not limited to: carbon nanotubes (CNTs), zinc-tin-oxide (ZTO), gallium nitride (GaN), silicon carbide (SiC), and zinc selenide (ZnSe).
Regarding claim 6, Bencheikh discloses the planar light-emitting transistor capable of surface light source emission as claimed in claim 1 as described above.
Bencheikh further discloses, in at least figures 5, 8, and related text, the light emitted by the light- emitting unit has a spectrum in a range of 390-780 nm (figures),
for another example, the light-emitting layer in the light-emitting unit (TADF:CBP, page 23) is formed of a single light-emitting material or a guest-doped host material;
the single light-emitting material is preferably Alq3, DPA, or dNaAnt;
a guest doping material in the guest-doped host material is one or more of the following:
1,4-bis(10- phenylanthren-9-yl)benzene (BD-1), BDAVBi, Perylene, bis-dimethyl-dihydroacridine phenylsulfone (DMAC-DPS), bis[2-(5-cyano-4,6-difluorophenyl)pyridine-C2,N)]picolinate iridium (FCNirPic), iridium (III) bis[(2,3,4-difluorophenyl)-pyridine-N,C2']picolinate (Ir(tfpd)2pic), bis[2,4-dimethyl-6-(4-methyl-2- quinolyl-xN)phenyl-xC](2,2,6,6-tetramethyl-3,5-heptanedione-x03 (Ir(mphmq)2tmd), 4,4'-bis[4- (di-p-tolylamino)styryl]biphenyl (DPAVBi), 9,9'-(5-(4,6-diphenyl-1,3,5-triazin-2-yl)-1,3- benzene)bis(9H-carbazole) (DCzTrz), 5,5-dibromo-4,4-di(tetradecyl)-2,2-bithiophene (fac- Ir(dpbic)3), tris(2-phenylpyridine) iridium (Ir(ppy)3), tris[2-(p-tolyl)pyridine] iridium (III) (Ir(mppy)3), bis(2-phenylpyridine-C2,N) acetylacetonate iridium (III) (Ir(ppy)2(acac)), bis(2- (naphthalen-2-yl)pyridine)(acetylacetonate) iridium (III) (Ir(npy)2tris[2-(3-methyl-2- pyridyl)phenyl] iridium (Ir(3mppy)3), bis(2-(3,5-dimethylphenyl)quinoline-C2,N')(acetylacetonate) iridium (III) (Ir(dmpq)2bis(2-(2'-benzothienyl)-pyridine-N,C3')iridium(acetylacetonate) (Ir(btp)2(acac)), 4-(dicyanomethylene)-2-methyl-6-[2-(2,3,6,7-tetrahydro-1H,5H- benzo[ij]quinolizin-9-yl)vinyl]-4H-pyran (DCM2), 5,6,11,12-tetraphenyltetracene, tris(2-(3,5- dimethylphenyl)quinoline-C2,N') iridium (III) (Ir(dmpq)3), 2,8-di-tert-butyl-5,11-bis(4-tert- butylphenyl)-6,12-diphenyltetracene (TBRb), and 10-(4-(4,6-diphenyl-1,3,5-triazol-2-yl)phenyl)- 9,9-dimethyl-9,10-dihydroacridine (DMAC-TRZ);
the host material is one or more of the following: Alq3, 4,4'-bis (N-carbazole)-1,1'-biphenyl (CBP) (page 23), 4,4'-bis(2,2-diphenyl-ethen-1-yl)-4,4'-dimethylphenyl (p-DMDPVBi), 4,4'-bis(2,2- 7/10 distyryl)-1,1'-biphenyl (DPVBi), 2-tert-butyl-9,10-bis(2-naphthyl)anthracene (TBADN), diphenyl[4- (triphenylsilyl)phenyl]phosphine oxide (TSPO1), 3-(3-(9H-carbazol-9-yl)phenyl)benzofuran[2,3- b]pyridine (PCz-BFP), 2,4,6-tris[3-(diphenylphosphinyloxy)phenyl]-1,3,5-triazole (PO-T2T), 2,4,6-tris(3-(carbazol-9-yl)phenyl)-1,3,5-triazine (TCPZ), 4,4'-bis(triphenylsilyl)-1,1'-biphenyl (BSB), 2,7-bis[9,9-bis(4-methylphenyl)-fluoren-2-yl]-9,9-bis(4-methylphenyl)fluorene (TDAF), and 3',3",3"'-(1,3,5-triazine-2,4,6-triyl)tris(([1,1'-biphenyl]-3-carbonitrile)) (CN-T2T).
Regarding claim 7, Bencheikh discloses the planar light-emitting transistor capable of surface light source emission as claimed in claim 1 as described above.
Bencheikh further discloses, in at least figures 5, 8, and related text, the semiconductor charge transport layer (C8-BTBT, page 22-23), the charge buffer layer (PPT, page 17, 23), and the light-emitting unit (TADF:CBP, page 23) all have a thickness of nanometer to submicron level (page 22-23, figures).
Regarding claim 8, Bencheikh discloses the planar light-emitting transistor capable of surface light source emission as claimed in claim 1 as described above.
Bencheikh further discloses, in at least figures 5, 8, and related text, the planar light-emitting transistor capable of surface light source emission can emit a planar light matched in color to the light-emitting unit under an externally applied voltage;
and/or, the planar light-emitting transistor capable of surface light source emission can have a device structure of top or bottom light emission (figures).
Regarding claim 9, Bencheikh discloses the planar light-emitting transistor capable of surface light source emission as claimed in claim 1 as described above.
The claimed limitation of "method I: depositing a film of a small molecule material on the dielectric layers and electrodes described above by vacuum thermal evaporation in an evaporation cavity to obtain the active layer; method II: spin-coating a solution of an active layer material on the dielectric layers and electrodes described above by spin coating to obtain the active layer; method III: preparing and growing a monocrystal film of a small molecule material by solution epitaxy: dissolving the small molecule material in a solvent that is not miscible with water, slowly adding the obtained uniformly mixed solution dropwise to a water surface, spreading the mixed solution on the water surface, and volatilizing the solvent to obtain the monocrystal film; inserting a support substrate with a dielectric layer into water, and transferring the monocrystal film to the surface of the dielectric layer to obtain the active layer; and method IV: preparing a monocrystal film of a small molecule material by solution shearing: dissolving the small molecule material in an organic solvent, adding the obtained uniformly mixed solution dropwise to a support substrate with a dielectric layer, and slowly shearing and stretching the added solution to form an active layer" has not patentable weight because it is interpreted as product-by-process.
Regarding claim 10, Bencheikh discloses the planar light-emitting transistor capable of surface light source emission as claimed in claim 1 as described above.
The claimed limitation of "Use of the planar light-emitting transistor capable of surface light source emission as claimed in claim 1 in fields of wearable devices, illumination (preferably white light illumination), illumination display, and lasers" has not patentable weight because it is interpreted as intended use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bencheikh (WO 2019/139175 A1) in view of Hong (US 2014/0299852).
Regarding claim 2, Bencheikh discloses the planar light-emitting transistor capable of surface light source emission as claimed in claim 1 as described above.
Bencheikh further discloses, in at least figures 5, 8, and related text, the planar light-emitting transistor capable of surface light source emission further comprises a semiconductor charge transport layer (C8-BTBT, page 22-23), wherein preferably, the semiconductor charge transport layer (C8-BTBT, page 22-23) is arranged under the source electrode (Au, page 22-23, figures);
further preferably, the charge buffer layer (PPT, page 17, 23) is arranged over the semiconductor charge transport layer (C8-BTBT, page 22-23);
preferably, the planar light-emitting transistor capable of surface light source emission further comprises a light-emitting unit (TADF:CBP, page 23), wherein preferably, the light-emitting unit (TADF:CBP, page 23) is arranged under the drain electrode (Ag, page 22-23, figures);
further preferably, the charge buffer layer (PPT, page 17, 23) is arranged under the light- emitting unit (TADF:CBP, page 23), or the charge buffer layer is arranged under the source electrode and the light- emitting unit;
preferably, the charge buffer layer (PPT, page 17, 23) can be arranged between the drain electrode (Ag, page 22-23, figures) (or the source electrode) and the semiconductor charge transport layer (C8-BTBT, page 22-23), or between the semiconductor charge transport layer (C8-BTBT, page 22-23) and the light-emitting unit (TADF:CBP, page 23);
preferably, the planar light-emitting transistor capable of surface light source emission comprises:
a dielectric layer (SiNx, page 22, figures) arranged over the gate electrode (Si++, page 22, figures);
a semiconductor charge transport layer (C8-BTBT, page 22-23) arranged over the dielectric layer (SiNx, page 22, figures);
a source electrode (Au, page 22-23, figures) and a charge buffer layer (PPT, page 17, 23) arranged over the semiconductor charge transport layer (C8-BTBT, page 22-23), wherein preferably, the source electrode (Au, page 22-23, figures) and the charge buffer layer (PPT, page 17, 23) are arranged on different sides of the charge transport layer (C8-BTBT, page 22-23); and
a light-emitting unit (TADF:CBP, page 23) and a drain electrode (Ag, page 22-23, figures) sequentially arranged over the charge buffer layer (PPT, page 17, 23);
further preferably, the planar light-emitting transistor capable of surface light source emission comprises:
a dielectric layer (SiNx, page 22, figures) arranged over the gate electrode (Si++, page 22, figures);
a semiconductor charge transport layer (C8-BTBT, page 22-23) arranged over the dielectric layer (SiNx, page 22, figures);
a charge buffer layer (PPT, page 17, 23) arranged over the semiconductor charge transport layer (C8-BTBT, page 22-23);
a source electrode (Au, page 22-23, figures) and a light-emitting unit (TADF:CBP, page 23) sequentially arranged over the charge buffer layer (PPT, page 17, 23), wherein preferably, the source electrode (Au, page 22-23, figures) and the light-emitting unit (TADF:CBP, page 23) are arranged on different sides of the charge buffer layer (PPT, page 17, 23); and
a drain electrode (Ag, page 22-23, figures) arranged over the light-emitting unit (TADF:CBP, page 23);
furthermore preferably, the source electrode (Au, page 22-23, figures) and the drain electrode (Ag, page 22-23, figures) are arranged in a non- planar manner, a light-emitting part is the entire effective area of the source electrode (Au, page 22-23, figures) or the drain electrode (Ag, page 22-23, figures), and a gate voltage is used to regulate luminous brightness (figures).
Bencheikh does not explicitly disclose a support substrate; a gate electrode arranged on the surface of the support substrate.
Hong teaches, in at least figure 4 and related text, the device comprising a support substrate (100, [25]); a gate electrode (1, [25]) arranged on the surface of the support substrate (100, [25]), for the purpose of providing an organic electronic light emitting device which integrates the multiple functions of emitting light and controlling switch state ([7]).
Bencheikh and Hong are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor device and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Bencheikh with the specified features of Hong because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Bencheikh to have the support substrate; the gate electrode arranged on the surface of the support substrate, as taught by Hong, for the purpose of providing an organic electronic light emitting device which integrates the multiple functions of emitting light and controlling switch state ([7], Hong).
Regarding claim 5, Bencheikh discloses the planar light-emitting transistor capable of surface light source emission as claimed in claim 1 as described above.
Bencheikh does not explicitly disclose the light-emitting unit comprises a light-emitting layer, and an electron transport layer, a hole transport layer, an electron injection layer, and/or a hole injection layer that are matched to energy levels of the light-emitting layer; further, the light-emitting layer is a layer formed of a light-emitting material, wherein for example, the light-emitting material is selected from one or more materials including, but not limited to, a fluorescent material, a phosphorescent material, and a thermally activated delayed fluorescent material; preferably, the fluorescent material is selected from one or more of octahydroxyquinoline aluminum (Alq3), 5,6,11,12-tetraphenyltetracene, and 4,4'-bis[4-(diphenylamino)styryl]biphenyl (BDAVBi); preferably, the phosphorescent material is selected from one or more of tris(2- phenylpyridine)iridium (Ir(ppy)3), bis(2-phenylpyridine-C2,N)acetylacetonate iridium (Ir(ppy)2(acac)), and iridium (III) tris[N,N'-diphenylbenzimidazol-2-ylidene-C2,C2'] (Ir(dpbic)3); preferably, the thermally activated delayed fluorescent material is selected from one or two of 9,9'-(5-(4,6-diphenyl-1,3,5-triazin-2-yl)-1,3-phenylene)bis(9H-carbazole) (DCzTRZ), (N- phenoxazine)phenyl]thiosulfone (PXZ-DPS), and 10-(4-(4,6-diphenyl-1,3,5-triazol-2-yl) phenyl)-9,9-dimethyl-9,10-dihydroacridine (DMAC-TRZ).
Hong teaches, in at least figure 4 and related text, the device comprising the light-emitting unit (3/9/4, [30], [40]) comprises a light-emitting layer (9, [40]), and an electron transport layer, a hole transport layer, an electron injection layer, and/or a hole injection layer (3/4, [30]) that are matched to energy levels of the light-emitting layer (9, [40]); further, the light-emitting layer (9, [40]) is a layer formed of a light-emitting material ([40]), wherein for example, the light-emitting material is selected from one or more materials including, but not limited to, a fluorescent material ([40]), a phosphorescent material, and a thermally activated delayed fluorescent material; preferably, the fluorescent material is selected from one or more of octahydroxyquinoline aluminum (Alq3) ([40]), 5,6,11,12-tetraphenyltetracene, and 4,4'-bis[4-(diphenylamino)styryl]biphenyl (BDAVBi); preferably, the phosphorescent material is selected from one or more of tris(2- phenylpyridine)iridium (Ir(ppy)3), bis(2-phenylpyridine-C2,N)acetylacetonate iridium (Ir(ppy)2(acac)), and iridium (III) tris[N,N'-diphenylbenzimidazol-2-ylidene-C2,C2'] (Ir(dpbic)3); preferably, the thermally activated delayed fluorescent material is selected from one or two of 9,9'-(5-(4,6-diphenyl-1,3,5-triazin-2-yl)-1,3-phenylene)bis(9H-carbazole) (DCzTRZ), (N- phenoxazine)phenyl]thiosulfone (PXZ-DPS), and 10-(4-(4,6-diphenyl-1,3,5-triazol-2-yl) phenyl)-9,9-dimethyl-9,10-dihydroacridine (DMAC-TRZ), for the purpose of providing an organic electronic light emitting device which integrates the multiple functions of emitting light and controlling switch state ([7]).
Bencheikh and Hong are analogous art because they both are directed to semiconductor device and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Bencheikh with the specified features of Hong because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in Bencheikh to have the light-emitting unit comprising a light-emitting layer, and an electron transport layer, a hole transport layer, an electron injection layer, and/or a hole injection layer that are matched to energy levels of the light-emitting layer; further, the light-emitting layer being a layer formed of a light-emitting material, wherein for example, the light-emitting material is selected from one or more materials including, but not limited to, a fluorescent material, a phosphorescent material, and a thermally activated delayed fluorescent material; preferably, the fluorescent material being selected from one or more of octahydroxyquinoline aluminum (Alq3), 5,6,11,12-tetraphenyltetracene, and 4,4'-bis[4-(diphenylamino)styryl]biphenyl (BDAVBi); preferably, the phosphorescent material being selected from one or more of tris(2- phenylpyridine)iridium (Ir(ppy)3), bis(2-phenylpyridine-C2,N)acetylacetonate iridium (Ir(ppy)2(acac)), and iridium (III) tris[N,N'-diphenylbenzimidazol-2-ylidene-C2,C2'] (Ir(dpbic)3); preferably, the thermally activated delayed fluorescent material being selected from one or two of 9,9'-(5-(4,6-diphenyl-1,3,5-triazin-2-yl)-1,3-phenylene)bis(9H-carbazole) (DCzTRZ), (N- phenoxazine)phenyl]thiosulfone (PXZ-DPS), and 10-(4-(4,6-diphenyl-1,3,5-triazol-2-yl) phenyl)-9,9-dimethyl-9,10-dihydroacridine (DMAC-TRZ), as taught by Hong, for the purpose of providing an organic electronic light emitting device which integrates the multiple functions of emitting light and controlling switch state ([7], Hong).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitations of the base claims 1 and 4 that recite "preferably, the low mobility refers to a mobility that is 2-5 orders of magnitude less than the mobility of the semiconductor charge transport layer; preferably, the charge buffer layer is a layer formed of one or more of 4,4'- cyclohexylbis[N,N-bis (4-methylphenyl)aniline] (TAPC), N,N'-diphenyl-N,N'-(1-naphthyl)-1,1'- biphenyl-4,4'-diamine (NPB), and PVK of the low-mobility organic materials, further preferably a layer formed of TAPC; or the charge buffer layer is a layer formed of one or more of Au, Ni, Pt, and the like of the metal materials; or the charge buffer layer is a layer formed of one or more of C60-pentacene-C60, C70-tetracene-C70, C60-tetracene-C70, and the like of the p-n-p junctions" in combination with other elements of the base claims 1 and 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/TONG-HO KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811