DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-6, 10-11) in the reply filed on 12/30/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-9, 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/30/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Last (EP3205945).
Regarding claim 1,
Last teaches a heating or cooling element (see par. 1) comprising: a carrier mat 4; and a first tube 6 which is attached in meander or spiral form to the carrier mat (see pars. 5, 106-107); wherein the heating or cooling element can be rolled up (see pars. 5, 9); wherein the carrier mat is made of polymer material (see par. 26).
Last does not teach wherein the polymer material is cut and bent around the first tube to connect the first tube to the carrier mat.
However, in product-by-process claims, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference.” Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product (see MPEP 2113). Here, the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art product of Last, and although potentially produced by a different process, the burden is shifted to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product.
Regarding claim 2,
Last teaches wherein the polymer material is a thermoplastic polymer (e.g. polyethylene, see par. 26).
Regarding claim 3,
Last teaches wherein the polymer material is selected from a group consisting of polyethylene, polypropylene polyvinyl chloride, and a combination thereof (see par. 26).
Regarding claim 4,
Last teaches wherein the carrier mat has a wired mesh shape (see pars. 20, 26, 28, 58. 127).
Regarding claim 5,
Last teaches wherein the carrier mat comprises wires of polymer material with a thickness between 1 and 20 mm (see pars. 20-21, 26, 127).
Regarding claim 6,
Last does not teach wherein the cut polymer material is: heated to soften the polymer material; bent to include and fasten the first tube to the carrier mat; and cooled to harden the polymer material.
However, in product-by-process claims, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference.” Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product (see MPEP 2113). Here, the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art product of Last, and although potentially produced by a different process, the burden is shifted to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product.
Regarding claim 10,
Last teaches wherein the polymer material is selected from a group consisting of polyethylene, polypropylene, and polyvinyl chloride (see par. 26); and the carrier mat comprises wires of polymer material with a thickness between 1 and 5 mm (see pars. 20-21, 26, 127).
Regarding claim 11,
The subject matter of claim 11 is directed towards essentially the same subject matter as claim 6 and has been addressed in the rejection of claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Last (WO2021/080423) teaches a carrier mat.
/Steve S TANENBAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763