DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The objections to claims 2, 4-8, 11, 16, 18-20 are withdrawn in view of the amendments thereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho (TW M526103 – cited on the PTO-892 dated 4/2/2026) in view of Huang et al. (US 10,058,009 – hereinafter, “Huang”).
With respect to claim 1, Ho teaches (In Fig 2) a processing subsystem, comprising: a subsystem housing (155); a printed circuit board (50) disposed on the subsystem housing (See Fig 2), wherein the subsystem housing (155) is within a system housing (“Therefore, when the interface card 50 is detached in the casing of the electronic device,”, “Therefore, when the user inserts and removes the interface card in the casing of the electronic device, the entire heat dissipation structure can be removed or installed simultaneously with the disassembly and assembly of the interface card, and the user does not need to disassemble the device.”(emphasis added)) of a computer system (“computer host”); an integrated circuit package (10) that has a first side and a second side that is opposite to the first side (See Fig 2), wherein the first side of the integrated circuit package is mounted on the PCB (50, see Fig 2); and a liquid-based cooling system that is disposed within the subsystem housing and includes: at least one radiator element (130); a pump (120) that is fluidly coupled to the at least one radiator element; and at least one fan (150) that directs cooling air across the at least one radiator element (130).
Ho fails to specifically teach or suggest that the PCB is disposed within the subsystem housing.
Huang, however, teaches (In Figs 1-4) a processing subsystem, comprising: a housing (10) and a printed circuit board (18) disposed within the housing (See Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang with that of Ho such that, in Ho the PCB is disposed within the subsystem housing, as taught by Huang, since doing so would provide mechanical protection on additional sides of the PCB of Ho.
With respect to claim 2, Ho further teaches that a portion of a heat transfer chamber (110) coupled to the second side of the integrated circuit package includes a cold plate (“The liquid cooling member 110 is disposed on the interface card 50 such that the liquid cooling member 110 can directly contact the surface of the electronic component 10 located on the interface card 50”).
With respect to claim 3, Ho further teaches that the at least one radiator element includes a first radiator element (Fin adjacent the left fan 150 in Fig 2) and a second radiator element (Fin adjacent to the right fan 150 in Fig 2).
With respect to claim 4, Ho further teaches that the at least one fan includes a first fan (Left fan in Fig 2) that directs cooling air across the first radiator element (Fin adjacent to the left fan 150) and a second fan (Right fan in Fig 2) that directs cooling air across the second radiator element (Fin adjacent to the right fan 150).
With respect to claim 8, Ho further teaches that the at least one fan includes a first fan (Left 150 in Fig 2) that has a first air inlet on a first side (Left side) of the subsystem housing and a second fan (Right 150 in Fig 2) that has a second air inlet on a second side (Right side) of the subsystem housing (See Fig 2).
With respect to claim 9, Ho further teaches that the at least one radiator element includes a first radiator element (Fin of 131 adjacent to the left fan 150 in Fig 2) and a second radiator element (Fin of 131 adjacent to the right fan 150 in Fig 2), and the at least one fan includes a first fan (Left fan 150 in Fig 2) that directs cooling air across the first radiator element and a second fan (Right fan 150 in Fig 2) that directs cooling air across the second radiator element.
With respect to claim 10, Ho further teaches that the liquid-based cooling system further includes a heat transfer chamber (110) that is coupled to the second radiator element (110 is fluidically and mechanically coupled to the second radiator element in Fig 2).
With respect to claim 11, Ho as modified by Huang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above and Huang further teaches a pump that is mounted on a heat transfer chamber (“a pump (not shown) may be disposed on the cold plate 140”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang with that of Ho such that, in Ho the pump is mounted on the heat transfer chamber as taught by Huang since doing so would allow for the pump to be located close to the heat transfer chamber and thus reduce piping between the pump and the heat transfer chamber.
With respect to claim 12, Ho as modified by Huang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above and Huang further teaches a PCB (18) which includes a plurality of electrical connectors (Electrical connectors of 18 which connect to 120) to connect a processing subsystem to a computer motherboard via a card edge connector (Edge connector of 18 which connects to 120, see Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang with that of Ho such that, in Ho the PCB includes a plurality of electrical connectors to connect the processing subsystem to a computer motherboard via a card edge connector, as taught by Huang, since doing so would allow the processing subsystem of Ho to easily connect to an open slot on a motherboard.
With respect to claim 13, Ho as modified by Huang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above and Huang further teaches wherein a PCB (18) which includes one or more mechanical connection features (Mechanical edge connector of 18 which connects to 120) to connect the processing subsystem to a computer motherboard via a card edge connector.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang with that of Ho such that, in Ho the PCB includes one or more mechanical connection features to connect the processing subsystem to a computer motherboard via a card edge connector, as taught by Huang, since doing so would allow the processing subsystem of Ho to easily connect to an open slot on a motherboard.
With respect to claim 14, Ho further teaches that the liquid-based cooling system further includes a heat transfer chamber (110) that is coupled to the second side of the integrated circuit package (10) and is fluidly coupled to the radiator element (130, see Fig 2 and the appropriate text thereto).
Claims 3, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho in view of Huang and further in view of Shih et al. (US 2022/0087063 – hereinafter, “Shih”).
With respect to claims 3 and 5, Ho as modified by Huang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest that the at least one radiator element includes a first radiator element and a second radiator element (Cl. 3), wherein the first radiator element receives a first portion of cooling liquid flow from the pump, while the second radiator element receives a remainder portion of the cooling liquid flow from the pump (Cl. 5).
Shih, however, teaches (In Figs 1-2) at least one radiator element includes a first radiator element (2231, 2232, closest to fan 300 in Fig 1) and a second radiator element (2231, 2232 second closest to fan 300 in Fig 1), wherein the first radiator element receives a first portion of cooling liquid flow from the pump (Via tank 221), while the second radiator element receives a remainder portion of the cooling liquid flow from the pump (Via tank 221, where the tank acts as a manifold and distributes the fluid through the first and second radiator elements in parallel).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Shih with that of Ho such that in Ho the at least one radiator element includes a first radiator element and a second radiator element, wherein the first radiator element receives a first portion of cooling liquid flow from the pump, while the second radiator element receives a remainder portion of the cooling liquid flow from the pump, as taught by Shih, since doing so would prevent warm fluid from warming other parts of the at least one radiator element of Ho (If Ho is modified to include multiple radiator elements with parallel warm fluid flow, then heat is less able to transfer between different parts of the radiator element).
Claims 3, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho in view of Huang and further in view of Saksager (US 11,880,246).
With respect to claims 3, 6, Ho as modified by Huang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest that the at least one radiator element includes a first radiator element and a second radiator element (Cl. 3), wherein the first radiator element receives a flow of cooling liquid from the pump, and the second radiator element receives the flow of cooling liquid from the first radiator element (Cl. 6).
Saksager, however, teaches (In Figs 2-3) at least one radiator element includes a first radiator element (131) and a second radiator element (132), wherein the first radiator element receives a flow of cooling liquid from a pump, and the second radiator element receives the flow of cooling liquid from the first radiator element (See Fig 3, coolant flows first into element 131 and then into element 132).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Saksager with that of Ho, such that Ho includes at least one radiator element which includes a first radiator element and a second radiator element, wherein the first radiator element receives a flow of cooling liquid from the pump, and the second radiator element receives the flow of cooling liquid from the first radiator element, as taught by Saksager, since doing so would prevent warm water from dissipating heat to other “upstream” radiator bridges (Col. 9, ll. 22-25).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho in view of Huang and further in view of Lin et al. (US 12,289,866 – hereinafter, “Lin”).
With respect to claim 7, Ho as modified by Huang teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the at least one fan includes a first fan that directs cooling air in a first direction away from the housing and a second fan that directs cooling air in a second direction away from the housing.
Lin, however, teaches wherein at least one fan includes a first fan (140A) that directs cooling air in a first direction away from a frame (120) and a second fan (140B) that directs cooling air in a second direction away from the housing (See Fig 3, F5 and F6 are in a direction away from the frame).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lin with that of Ho such that, in Ho the at least one fan includes a first fan that directs cooling air in a first direction away from the housing and a second fan that directs cooling air in a second direction away from the housing, as taught by Lin, since doing so would cause warm air to flow away from the processing subsystem thus keeping the processing subsystem cooler.
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho in view of Wiltzius et al. (US 2019/0227605 – hereinafter, “Wiltzius”) and further in view of Huang.
With respect to claim 15, Ho teaches a computer system (“computer host”), comprising: a system housing (“casing”); and a processing subsystem (100) that is disposed within the system housing (“Therefore, when the interface card 50 is detached in the casing of the electronic device”, “Therefore, when the user inserts and removes the interface card in the casing of the electronic device, the entire heat dissipation structure can be removed or installed simultaneously with the disassembly and assembly of the interface card, and the user does not need to disassemble the device.”), the processing subsystem including: a subsystem housing (155) within the system housing (155 would be within the system housing when 100 is provided in the casing as recited); a printed circuit board (50) disposed on the subsystem housing (155); an integrated circuit package (10) that has a first side and a second side that is opposite to the first side, wherein the first side of the integrated circuit package is mounted on the PCB (50, see Fig 2); and a liquid-based cooling system that is disposed within the subsystem housing (155) and includes: at least one radiator element (130); a pump (120) that is fluidly coupled to the at least one radiator element; and at least one fan (150) that directs cooling air across the at least one radiator element (130).
Ho fails to specifically teach or suggest a motherboard that is disposed within the system housing and is electrically coupled to a power supply; the processing subsystem is coupled to the motherboard, and the PCB is disposed within the subsystem housing.
Wiltzius, however, teaches a computer system, comprising: a chassis (104) a motherboard (112) that is disposed within the chassis and is electrically coupled to a power supply (116); and a processing subsystem (100) that is disposed within the chassis and is coupled to the motherboard (See Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wiltzius with that of Ho such that Ho includes a computer system, comprising: a chassis; a motherboard that is disposed within the chassis and is electrically coupled to a power supply; and a processing subsystem that is disposed within the chassis and is coupled to the motherboard, as taught by Wiltzius, since doing so would provide wider functionality to the processing subsystem of Ho.
With respect to the limitations which require that the PCB be disposed within the subsystem housing: Huang teaches (In Figs 1-4) a processing subsystem, comprising: a housing (10) and a printed circuit board (18) disposed within the housing (See Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang with that of Ho such that, in Ho the PCB is disposed within the subsystem housing, as taught by Huang, since doing so would provide mechanical protection on additional sides of the PCB of Ho.
With respect to claim 16, Ho as modified by Wiltzius and Huang teaches the limitations of claim 15 as per above and Wiltzius further teaches a housing (108) of a processing subsystem (100) has a form factor that occupies a region corresponding to an integral number of expansion slots (114) on the computer motherboard (112, see Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wiltzius with that of Ho such that, in Ho the housing has a form factor that occupies a region corresponding to an integral number of expansion slots on a computer motherboard, as taught by Wiltzius since doing so would allow the processing subsystem of Ho to sit alongside additional processing subsystems (expansion cards) which can further provide functionality to the processing subsystem of Ho.
With respect to claim 17, Ho further teaches that the liquid-based cooling system further includes a heat transfer chamber (110) that is coupled to the second side of the integrated circuit package (10) and is fluidly coupled to the radiator element (130).
With respect to claim 18, Ho as modified by Wiltzius and Huang teaches the limitations of claim 15 as per above and Huang further teaches a PCB (18) which includes a plurality of electrical connectors (Electrical connectors of 18 which connect to 120) to connect a processing subsystem to a computer motherboard via a card edge connector (Edge connector of 18 which connects to 120, see Fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang with that of Ho such that, in Ho the PCB includes a plurality of electrical connectors to connect the processing subsystem to a computer motherboard via a card edge connector, as taught by Huang, since doing so would allow the processing subsystem of Ho to easily connect to an open slot on a motherboard.
With respect to claim 19, Ho as modified by Wiltzius and Huang teaches the limitations of claim 15 as per above and Huang further teaches wherein a PCB (18) which includes one or more mechanical connection features (Mechanical edge connector of 18 which connects to 120) to connect the processing subsystem to a computer motherboard via a card edge connector.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang with that of Ho such that, in Ho the PCB includes one or more mechanical connection features to connect the processing subsystem to a computer motherboard via a card edge connector, as taught by Huang, since doing so would allow the processing subsystem of Ho to easily connect to an open slot on a motherboard.
With respect to claim 20, Ho as modified by Wiltzius and Huang teaches the limitations of claim 15 as per above and Huang further teaches a pump that is mounted on a heat transfer chamber (“a pump (not shown) may be disposed on the cold plate 140”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang with that of Ho such that, in Ho the pump is mounted on the heat transfer chamber as taught by Huang since doing so would allow for the pump to be located close to the heat transfer chamber and thus reduce piping between the pump and the heat transfer chamber.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the Applicant’s remarks to claim 1 that, “Huang discloses only the concept of an external function extension device that connects externally to a computer. There is no disclosure in Huang related to disposing the external function extension device, or any of parts of the external function extension device, into the computer or any other additional housing of any kind. Huang is silent in these regards. In view of at least these distinctions, Applicant submits that Huang cannot be properly interpreted as teaching or suggesting the above limitations of amended claim 1.” (Present remarks page 7) the Examiner agrees and notes the previous 102(a) rejection to claim 1 has been withdrawn. However, a new grounds rejection is provided above with respect to Ho and Huang where Ho is believed to teach many of the limitations of claim 1 with the exception of the PCB being within the subsystem housing. However, this deficiency is remedied by Huang which teaches a PCB that is within a subsystem housing.
Accordingly, claim 1 is believed to be prima facie obvious in view of Ho and Huang.
With respect to the Applicant’s additional remarks to claim 15 that, “Amended independent claim 15 includes limitations similar to those of amended claim 1. Therefore, amended independent claim 15 and all claims dependent thereon are in condition for allowance in view of the cited references for similar reasons.” (Present remarks page 8) the Examiner respectfully notes that, similar to claim 1, the previous rejection to claim 15 in view of Huang and Wiltzius has been withdrawn. However a new grounds rejection is provided above with respect to Ho, Wiltzius and Huang where Ho teaches many of the limitations of claim 15 with the exception of the motherboard which is disposed within the system housing and is electrically coupled to a power supply and the printed circuit board being within the subsystem housing. However, these deficiencies are believed to be remedied by Wiltzius and Huang with Wiltzius teaching the motherboard/power supply/system housing and Huang teaching a PCB which is provided within a subsystem housing.
Accordingly, claim 15 is believed to be prima facie obvious in view of Ho, Wiltzius and Huang.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY PAPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841