DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
3. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a) claims 1-2, 5, 7-8: an ejection system
b) claim 1, 4: a heating system
c) claim 1-2, 7, 10: a pressurizing system
d) claim 9: a droplet monitoring device
e) claim 10: a control unit
f) claim 18: a regulation device
g) claim 20: a temperature control system
The corresponding structure in the disclosure for an “ejection system” is taken to include a capillary conduit ([0026]).
The corresponding structure in the disclosure for a “heating system” is taken to include any heating element that can provide thermal energy to elevate temperatures ([0047]).
The corresponding structure in the disclosure for a “pressurizing system” is taken to include a press ([0034]).
The corresponding structure in the disclosure for a “droplet monitoring device” is taken to include one or more target or droplet imagers ([0029]).
The corresponding structure in the disclosure for a “control unit” is taken to include one or more processors ([0067]).
The corresponding structure in the disclosure for a “regulation device” is taken to include a conduit ([0055]).
The corresponding structure in the disclosure for a “temperature control system” is taken to include any heating element that can regulate heat ([0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 4, 7-14, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
6. Regarding claim 4:
The claim recites “the target material”, which lacks antecedent basis. It is unclear which target material “the target material” refers to. In addition, the claim recites “which conduit”. The phrase in each limitation should use the definite article “the” to reference the previous recitation of the limitation. Claim 20 depends on claim 4 and is also rejected as indefinite.
7. Regarding claim 7:
Claim 7 recites “an ejection system” two times. It is unclear if they refer to the same ejection system or not. Claims 8-14 depend on claim 7 and are also rejected as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1, 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yabu (JP 2008193014A), in view of Yabu-II (US-20130209077).
11. Regarding claim 1:
Yabu teaches an apparatus for supplying a liquid target material to a radiation source (abstract teaches a target material supply device for an LPP type EUV light source device), the apparatus comprising
a reservoir system including a reservoir (pg. 4 teaches a sleeve 31) configured to be connected to an ejection system (the ejection system is interpreted under 35 U.S.C 112(f) to include a capillary conduit. Pg. 2, fig. 5 teaches a hose 34 connected to the sleeve 31) via an outlet of the reservoir (pg. 4, fig. 5 teaches that one end of a hose 34 is coupled to the opening 31a of the sleeve 31) and a pressurizing system configured to pressurize solid target material in the reservoir (the pressurizing system is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to include a press. Pg. 4 fig. 5 teaches a pressing device 28 and a plunger 27. Such pressing device and plunger are capable of pressurize solid target material. Pg. 3 teaches that the target substance may be in any state such as solid and liquid), and
wherein the pressurizing system is configured to provide a pressure to the solid target material in the reservoir in order to extrude the solid target material through the outlet (the pressurizing system is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to include a press. Pg. 4 fig. 5 teaches a pressing device 28 and a plunger 27. Such pressing device and plunger are capable of pressurize solid target material and extrude the solid target material through the opening 31a) such that the liquid target material entering the ejection system is at a pressure of at least 200 bar (pg. 2 teaches pressurizing the target material to about 35Mpa, which is 350bar).
Yabu does not specifically note that wherein the apparatus further comprises a heating system arranged between the reservoir and the ejection system to liquefy the solid target material after being pressurized in the reservoir.
However, Yabu-II teaches that wherein the apparatus (fig. 4) further comprises a heating system arranged between the reservoir and the ejection system to liquefy the solid target material after being pressurized in the reservoir (the heating system is interpreted under 35 U.S.C 112(f) to correspond to any heating element that can provide thermal energy to elevate temperatures. [0053] teaches a second heater 92A provided on the outer circumferential surface of the nozzle 712. The second heater 92A is between the tank 711 and the nozzle 712. Such heater is capable of liquefy the target material).
Yabu teaches that it is preferable that the hose 34 is also heated by the heater 39 (pg. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yabu in view Yabu-II to include that that wherein the apparatus further comprises a heating system arranged between the reservoir and the ejection system to liquefy the solid target material after being pressurized in the reservoir. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modification of surrounding the hose 34 with heater as taught by Yabu-II to keep the nozzle heated and control the temperature (Yabu-II [0089]). That is, Yabu-II suggests by additionally heating the nozzle allows for a temperature gradient in the axial direction of the target material ([0079]) such that separation and accumulation of oxidants from the target material may be suppressed therefore reducing the likelihood that the through-hole will be clogged ([0080]). Moreover, Yabu-II resolves the problem as to how one of ordinary skill in the art would implement the heating of the hose of Yabu.
12. Regarding claim 3:
The above modified invention teaches an apparatus according to claim 1. Yabu further teaches that wherein the reservoir is configured to receive a billet of solid target material, and wherein the pressurizing system comprises a press that is moveable between a pressing position in the reservoir allowing to engage with and apply pressure to the solid target material in the reservoir (the pressurizing system is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to include a press. Yabu pg. 4 fig. 5 teaches a pressing device 28 and a plunger 27. Such pressing device and plunger are capable of pressurize solid target material. The pressing device 28 presses the plunger 27 in the right direction to pressurize the target material in the sleeve 31), and a retracted position in which a billet of solid target material can be introduced into the reservoir (Pg. 4 teaches that a target material is filled in the space formed by the inner wall surface of the sleeve 31 and the plunger 27. In the case where the plunger 27 moves in the left direction, the solid target material can be introduced).
13. Regarding claim 4:
The above modified invention teaches an apparatus according to claim 1. Yabu further teaches that wherein a conduit is arranged between the reservoir of the reservoir system and the heating system (hose 34 can be viewed as various segments of a conduit, and the part of hose 34 between heater 39 and sleeve 31 is the conduit as claimed), which conduit is configured to be maintained at a temperature below a melting point of the target material during operation of the apparatus (hose 34 is capable of being maintained at a temperature below the melting point of the target material simply by not heating it).
14. Regarding claim 5:
The above modified invention teaches an apparatus according to claim 1. Yabu further teaches that wherein the reservoir system is a first reservoir system (pg. 4 fig. 5 teaches a sleeve 31).
Yabu in one embodiment (fig. 5) does not specifically note a similar second reservoir system configured to be connected to the ejection system in parallel with the first reservoir system.
However, in further embodiments and description, Yabu teaches two similar target material supply devices connected in parallel to eject target material (pg. 6 fig. 11 teaches two target material supply devices 81 and 82 in parallel, and target material is ejected from them).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yabu to include the replicated reservoir into a parallel running delivery system as taught by Yabu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification so that even when the target material in one of the sleeves of the target material supply devices is completely ejected, the target material injected from the other target material supply device can be continuously injected (Yabu pg. 6).
15. Regarding claim 6:
The above modified invention teaches an apparatus according to claim 5. Yabu in one embodiment (fig. 5) does not specifically note that wherein the heating system is a first heating system, and wherein the apparatus further comprises a second heating system configured to liquefy the solid target material after being pressurized in the reservoir of the second reservoir system.
However, in further embodiments and description, Yabu teaches replicating its target material supply device in a parallel configuration (fig. 11, target material supply devices 81 and 82) and that each baseline supply unit contains its own heating assembly (pg. 4 teaches that it is preferable that the hose 34 is also heated by the heater 39), which suggests that the such replicated reservoir systems can incorporate their heating elements individually.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yabu to implement the parallel target material supply devices each containing their own heating elements. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification to keep the target material liquified and warm (Yabu pg. 4).
16. Regarding claim 7:
Yabu teaches a fuel emitter (fig. 5) comprising; an apparatus for supplying a liquid target material to a radiation source (abstract teaches a target material supply device for an LPP type EUV light source device), the apparatus comprising:
a reservoir system including a reservoir (pg. 4 teaches a sleeve 31) configured to be connected to an ejection system via an outlet of the reservoir (the ejection system is interpreted under 35 U.S.C 112(f) to include a capillary conduit. Pg. 2, fig. 5 teaches a hose 34 connected to the sleeve 31) and a pressurizing system configured to pressurize solid target material in the reservoir (the pressurizing system is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to include a press. Pg. 4 fig. 5 teaches a pressing device 28 and a plunger 27. Such pressing device and plunger are capable of pressurize solid target material. Pg. 3 teaches that the target substance may be in any state such as solid and liquid), and
wherein the pressurizing system is configured to provide a pressure to the solid target material in the reservoir in order to extrude the solid target material through the outlet (the pressurizing system is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to include a press. Pg. 4 fig. 5 teaches a pressing device 28 and a plunger 27. Such pressing device and plunger are capable of pressurize solid target material and extrude the solid target material through the opening 31a) such that the liquid target material entering the ejection system is at a pressure of at least 200 bar (pg. 2 teaches pressurizing the target material to about 35Mpa, which is 350bar); and an ejection system (the ejection system is interpreted under 35 U.S.C 112(f) to include a capillary conduit. Pg. 2, fig. 5 teaches a hose 34 connected to the sleeve 31).
Yabu does not specifically note that wherein the apparatus further comprises a heating system arranged between the reservoir and the ejection system to liquefy the solid target material after being pressurized in the reservoir.
However, Yabu-II teaches that wherein the apparatus (fig. 4) further comprises a heating system arranged between the reservoir and the ejection system to liquefy the solid target material after being pressurized in the reservoir (the heating system is interpreted under 35 U.S.C 112(f) to correspond to any heating element that can provide thermal energy to elevate temperatures. [0053] teaches a second heater 92A provided on the outer circumferential surface of the nozzle 712. The second heater 92A is between the tank 711 and the nozzle 712. Such heater is capable of liquefy the target material).
Yabu teaches that it is preferable that the hose 34 is also heated by the heater 39 (pg. 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yabu in view Yabu-II to include that that wherein the apparatus further comprises a heating system arranged between the reservoir and the ejection system to liquefy the solid target material after being pressurized in the reservoir. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the modification of surrounding the hose 34 with heater as taught by Yabu-II to keep the nozzle heated and control the temperature (Yabu-II [0089]).
17. Regarding claim 8:
The above modified invention teaches a fuel emitter according to claim 7. Yabu further teaches that wherein the ejection system is configured to eject a stream of droplets to a plasma formation location (Yabu pg. 4 teaches that the hose 34 can produce and generate droplets. The target material is injected from the injection port 34a toward the plasma generation position).
18. Regarding claim 9:
The above modified invention teaches a fuel emitter according to claim 8.
In one embodiment (fig. 5), Yabu does not specifically note a droplet monitoring device to monitor the stream of droplets.
However, in further embodiments and descriptions, Yabu teaches a droplet monitoring device to monitor the stream of droplets (the droplet monitoring device is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to include one or more droplet imagers. Pg. 6 fig. 10 teaches the speed sensor 72 measures the flow rate of the target material injected. The speed sensor is equivalent to the imager because the speed sensor performs the same function in substantially the same way and produces substantially the same result. Such speed sensor is capable of monitoring the stream of droplet. As taught on pg. 3, a vibration device such as a piezo element may be added when generating droplets. In the case when droplets are generated, the speed sensor 72 can monitor them).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yabu to include a droplet monitoring device to monitor the stream of droplets. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification to monitor and control the speed of the target material ejected from the ejection port (Yabu pg. 6).
19. Regarding claim 10:
The above modified invention teaches a fuel emitter according to claim 9. Yabu further teaches a control unit (the control unit is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to include one or more processors. Pg. 6 fig. 10 teaches a computing device 73, which is equivalent to one or more processors, because they perform the same function in substantially the same way and produces substantially the same result) configured to adjust a pressure applied by the pressurizing system to the solid target material in the reservoir based on an output of the droplet monitoring device (pg. 6 teaches that the computing device 73 outputs a control signal to the pressing device 68 based on the speed measurement signal from the speed sensor 72 so that the speed of the target material ejected from the ejection port 66a becomes a desired speed).
20. Regarding claim 11:
The above modified invention teaches a fuel emitter according to claim 7. Yabu further teaches a radiation source for a lithographic tool (pg. 2 description and fig. 12 teach an LPP type EUV light source apparatus using the target material supply apparatus for lithography).
21. Regarding claim 12:
The above modified invention teaches a radiation source according to claim 11. Yabu further teaches that wherein the radiation source is configured to output EUV radiation (Yabu pg. 2 description and fig. 12 teach an LPP type EUV light source apparatus using the target material supply apparatus for lithography).
22. Regarding claim 13:
The above modified invention teaches a radiation source according to claim 11. Yabu further teaches that wherein the radiation source is a laser produced plasma source (Yabu pg. 2 description and fig. 12 teach an LPP type EUV light source apparatus using the target material supply apparatus for lithography).
23. Regarding claim 14:
The above modified invention teaches a radiation source according to claim 11. Yabu further teaches a lithographic apparatus (pg. 2 description and fig. 12 teach an LPP type EUV light source apparatus using the target material supply apparatus for lithography. In this case the EUV light source is specifically part of an EUV lithography system).
24. Regarding claim 15:
Yabu teaches a method for manufacturing integrated circuits (pg. 2 description teaches exposing a semiconductor wafer or the like with EUV) comprising
the steps of supplying liquid target material to a radiation source (abstract teaches a target material supply device for an LPP type EUV light source device), comprising pressurizing solid target material in a reservoir (Pg. 4 fig. 5 teaches a pressing device 28 and a plunger 27. Such pressing device pressurizes solid target material. Pg. 3 teaches that the target substance may be in any state such as solid and liquid), wherein the pressure applied to the solid target material is such that the liquid target material is at a pressure of at least 200 bar (pg. 2 teaches pressurizing the target material to about 35Mpa, which is 350bar, in order to set the speed of the target material jet).
In one embodiment (fig. 5), Yabu does not specifically note liquefying the solid target material at a distance from the reservoir.
However, in further description and embodiments, Yabu teaches that hose 34 is preferably heated (pg. 4 teaches that it is preferable that the hose 34 is also heated and kept warm by the heater 39), which suggests liquifying the target material in hose 34 at a distance from the sleeve 31.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yabu to include liquefying the solid target material at a distance from the reservoir by surrounding the hose 34 with heater 39. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification to keep the target material liquified and warm (Yabu pg. 4).
25. Regarding claim 16:
The above modified invention teaches an apparatus according to claim 1. Yabu further teaches a vacuum system configured to apply vacuum conditions to the reservoir (pg. 4 teaches that the sleeve is evacuated and that it is preferable to heat and melt in vacuum. A vacuum system is inherently required to create this vacuum).
26. Regarding claim 17:
The above modified invention teaches an apparatus according to claim 1. Yabu further teaches a gas supply system configured to provide an oxide removing gas to the reservoir (pg. 4 teaches that the air in the sleeve is replaced with an inert gas. To provide such inert gas, a gas supply system is inherently required).
27. Regarding claim 18:
The above modified invention teaches an apparatus according to claim 1. Yabu further teaches a regulation device configured to control a flow of target material from the reservoir (the regulation device is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to include a conduit. Pg. 2, fig. 5 teaches a hose 34 connected to the sleeve 31. Such hose is capable of controlling the flow of target material).
28. Regarding claim 19:
The above modified invention teaches an apparatus according to claim 3. Yabu further teaches that wherein the pressurizing system comprises a hydraulic system using a hydraulic fluid to apply pressure to the press to move the press from the retracted position to the pressure position (pg. 3 teaches the pressing device and the plunger 27. The pressing device 28, a hydraulic cylinder, or the like can be used. The pressing device presses the plunger in the right direction to pressurize the target material. A hydraulic press inherently requires a hydraulic liquid under pressure to exert a compressive force, see Hydraulic press. (2017). In Encyclopaedia Britannica, Britannica Concise Encyclopedia. Britannica Digital Learning. https://access.infobase.com/article/2686931-hydraulic-press?aid=279753).
29. Regarding claim 20:
The above modified invention teaches an apparatus according to claim 4. In one embodiment (fig. 5), Yabu does not specifically note a temperature control system to regulate the temperature of the conduit.
However, in further embodiments and description, Yabu teaches a temperature control system to regulate the temperature of the conduit (the temperature control system is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to include any heating element that can regulate heat. Pg. 6 fig. 10 teaches heater control device 74 controlling the heater 69 based on measured temperature, so that the temperature of the target material becomes a desired temperature. Pg. 4 teaches that it is preferable that the hose 34 is also heated by the heater 39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yabu to include the heater and the heater control device. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification to regulate the temperature of the target material (Yabu pg. 6).
30. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yabu in view of Yabu-II, further in view of Loopstra (US 20120280148).
31. Regarding claim 2:
The above modified invention teaches an apparatus according to claim 1. Yabu further teaches that wherein the pressurizing system is configured to provide a pressure to the solid target material (the pressurizing system is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to include a press. Yabu pg. 4 fig. 5 teaches a pressing device 28 and a plunger 27. Such pressing device and plunger are capable of pressurize solid target material. Pg. 3 teaches that the target substance may be in any state such as solid and liquid).
Yabu in view of Yabu-II fails to teach that the liquid target material entering the ejection system is at a pressure of at least 700 bar, at least 900 bar, at least 1100 bar, or at least 1300 bar.
Loopstra teaches that the liquid target material entering the ejection system is at a pressure of at least 700 bar (claim 7 teaches that the pressure vessel is configured to maintain a pressure in excess of 1000 bar or more. [0011] teaches that the pressure vessel applies pressure to the fuel in liquid form. The fuel is ejected from the reservoir via a nozzle), at least 900 bar, at least 1100 bar, or at least 1300 bar.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yabu in view of Yabu-II, further in view of Loopstra to include the liquid target material entering the ejection system is at a pressure of at least 700 bar, at least 900 bar, at least 1100 bar, or at least 1300 bar. One could adjust the pressure applied by Yabu’s pressing device to achieve such pressure. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make such modification so that the fuel droplet can travel faster, reducing the extent to which the direction of travel of the subsequent fuel droplet is modified by the shockwave (Loopstra [0048]).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LARRY LI whose telephone number is (571) 272-5043. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30am-4:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert Kim can be reached at (571)272-2293. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LARRY LI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/MICHAEL J LOGIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881