Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/22/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
3. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Note: Claim 1 is rejected three times below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Oba Hiroshi (JP 2015253893, provided in the IDS). (“Oba”).
6. Regarding claim 1, Oba teaches A system, comprising: a chamber configured to provide a vacuum environment; a vent valve; and a mass flow controller coupled to the chamber on a first side of the mass flow controller and to the vent valve on a second side of the mass flow controller [Figures 1-5, a system is shown comprising a chamber 40 to provide a vacuum environment, a vent valve 132-137, a mass flow controller MFC 133a/133b arrangement is shown].
7. Regarding claims 4 and 19, Oba teaches further comprising: a gas treatment module configured to adjust a characteristic of gas before the gas is vented into the chamber via the vent valve and the mass flow controller [Figures 1-5, a gas treatment module to adjust gas characteristic is taught].
8. Regarding claims 5 and 20, Oba teaches wherein the characteristic of the gas indicates a temperature of the gas [Figures 1-5, the characteristic of the gas indicates a temperature of the gas].
9. Regarding claim 6, Oba teaches wherein the characteristic of the gas indicates a mixture of the gas [Figures 1-5, the characteristic of the gas indicates a mixture of the gas].
10. Regarding claim 8, Oba teaches wherein the vent valve and the mass flow controller are configured to adjust a pressure of the chamber by adjusting a flow rate of a gas provided to the chamber [Figures 1-5, adjusting a flow rate of a gas is taught].
11. Regarding claim 11, Oba teaches wherein the vent valve is configured to provide a vacuum seal [Figures 1-5, see vent valve 132-137].
12. Regarding claim 12, Oba teaches wherein the mass flow controller is configured to adjust a flow rate of a gas to enable limiting turbulence of the gas [Figures 1-5, the MFC 133a/133b is taught].
13. Regarding claim 13, Oba teaches wherein the mass flow controller is configured to adjust a flow rate of a gas based on a flow profile such that a particle resuspension rate is limited [Figures 1-5, the MFC 133a/133b is taught]
14. Regarding claim 14, Oba teaches wherein the flow profile includes a pressure of the chamber, a flow rate of the gas, and a particle resuspension rate [Figures 1-5, the flow profile is taught].
15. Regarding claim 15, Oba teaches A method, comprising: venting a chamber configured to provide a vacuum environment by: providing a gas to a vent valve; and providing the gas to a mass flow controller that is coupled to the chamber on a first side of the mass flow controller and to the vent valve on a second side of the mass flow controller [Figures 1-5, a method is taught comprising a chamber 40 to provide a vacuum environment, a vent valve 132-137, a mass flow controller MFC 133a/133b arrangement is shown].
16. Regarding claim 16, Oba teaches A flow-line arrangement, comprising: a mass flow controller configured to: receive a gas from a vent valve, and provide the gas to a chamber configured to provide a vacuum environment [Figures 1-5, a flow-line arrangement is shown comprising a mass flow controller MFC 133a/133b, to receive a gas from a vent valve 132-137, and provide the gas to a chamber 40 to provide a vacuum environment].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
18. Claims 2-3, 7, 9-10, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oba.
19. Regarding claims 2 and 17, Oba teaches the system.
Oba does not explicitly teach wherein the vent valve and the mass flow controller are configured to limit a particle resuspension rate to less than 0.1% when the chamber is vented or over-pressured.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Oba to optimize the value of a particle resuspension rate because it has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (MPEP 2144.05).
20. Regarding claims 3 and 18, Oba teaches the system.
Oba does not explicitly teach wherein the vent valve and mass flow controller are configured to limit a particle resuspension rate to less than 0.1% when the chamber, having a pressure of less than or equal to 10 x 10-7 Torr, is vented.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Oba to optimize the value of a particle resuspension rate and a pressure because it has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (MPEP 2144.05).
21. Regarding claim 7, Oba teaches the system.
Oba does not explicitly teach further comprising: another chamber that has a corresponding vent valve and mass flow controller.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Oba to comprise another chamber, see In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
22. Regarding claim 9, Oba teaches the system.
Oba does not explicitly teach wherein the chamber comprises a diffuser at an inlet of the chamber, the diffuser being configured to limit a particle resuspension rate to less than 0.1%.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Oba to optimize the value of a particle resuspension rate because it has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (MPEP 2144.05).
23. Regarding claim 10, Oba teaches the system.
Oba does not explicitly teach wherein the particle resuspension rate indicates a percentage of particles initially on a surface of the system that are resuspended from the surface.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Oba to optimize the value of a particle resuspension rate because it has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (MPEP 2144.05).
24. Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Shibata (US 2012/0085941).
25. Regarding claim 1, Shibata teaches A system, comprising: a chamber configured to provide a vacuum environment; a vent valve; and a mass flow controller coupled to the chamber on a first side of the mass flow controller and to the vent valve on a second side of the mass flow controller [Figures 1-5, a system is shown comprising a chamber 3 to provide a vacuum environment, a vent valve 35, 39, a mass flow controller MFC 34, 38 arrangement is shown].
26. Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Wang (US 8,302,420).
27. Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches A system, comprising: a chamber configured to provide a vacuum environment; a vent valve; and a mass flow controller coupled to the chamber on a first side of the mass flow controller and to the vent valve on a second side of the mass flow controller [Figures 1-21, a system is shown comprising a chamber 50/36 to provide a vacuum environment, a vent valve 44, a mass flow controller MFC 34/38 arrangement is shown; see Figs 19-20].
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Peng (US 6,120,606), Figures 1-2 shows a gas vent system for a vacuum chamber.
Conclusion
/NEEL D SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858