DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 13, line 3, “an ALD method” should read --an atomic layer deposition (ALD) method--.
In claim 18, line 1, “according to-claim 8” should read --according to claim 8--.
In claim 18, line 2, “an ALD method” should read --an atomic layer deposition (ALD) method--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato US 2021/0265432 in view of Isa US 2014/0035456.
Regarding claim 1, Kato teaches a display device (e.g., Fig. 21, [130]-[131]; Fig. 1 and the description thereof, of which Fig. 21 is a modified example, are also discussed in rejection, [125]) comprising:
a first light-emitting device (e.g., 410G, Fig. 21);
a second light-emitting device (e.g., 410R, Fig. 21); and
an insulating layer (e.g., portion(s) of the filler layer 113 (not labeled) disposed under 416, Fig. 21; 113, Fig. 1),
wherein the first light-emitting device comprises a conductive layer (e.g., 418G, Fig. 21), a first layer (e.g., 417G, Fig. 21) over the conductive layer, and a common electrode (e.g., 416, Fig. 21) over the first layer,
wherein the second light-emitting device comprises another conductive layer (e.g., 418R, Fig. 21), a second layer (e.g., 417R, Fig. 21) over the conductive layer, and the common electrode (e.g., 416, Fig. 21) over the second layer,
wherein an end portion of the another conductive layer and an end portion of the second layer overlap with each other (e.g., Fig. 21),
wherein the insulating layer overlaps with a side surface and part of a top surface of the first layer (e.g., 417G, Fig. 21) and a side surface and part of a top surface of each of the another conductive layer (e.g., 418R, Fig. 21) and the second layer (e.g., 417R, Fig. 21), and
wherein the common electrode (e.g., 416, Fig. 21) is over the first layer, the second layer, and the insulating layer (e.g., Fig. 21).
Kato does not explicitly teach the conductive layer includes a first conductive layer and a second conductive layer over the first conductive layer;
the another conductive layer includes a third conductive layer, a fourth conductive layer over the third conductive layer and a fifth conductive layer over the fourth conductive layer;
wherein the fifth conductive layer covers a side surface of the third conductive layer and a top surface and a side surface of the fourth conductive layer;
wherein an end portion of the fifth conductive layer and an end portion of the second layer overlap with each other;
wherein the insulating layer overlaps with a side surface and part of a top surface of the fifth conductive layer.
Kato, however, recognizes that the conductive and another conductive layers 118 (corresponding to 418) may be formed of a stack structure in which a transparent conductive material having excellent hole injection properties such as an oxide of indium and tin (ITO) or an oxide of indium and zinc (IZO) is stacked on a reflective film having high light reflecting properties such as aluminum (e.g., [53]).
Isa teaches wherein the first light-emitting device (e.g., G region emitting green color, Fig. 1) comprises a first conductive layer (e.g., 108, Fig. 1, [147]-[148]), a second conductive layer (e.g., 111, [152]-[153]) over the first conductive layer, a first layer (e.g., 112, Fig. 1, [161]-[163]) over the second conductive layer,
wherein the second light-emitting device comprises (e.g., R region emitting red color, Fig. 1) comprises a third conductive layer (e.g., 108, Fig. 1, [147]-[148]), a fourth conductive layer (e.g., 109, Fig. 1, [150]-[151]) over the third conductive layer, a fifth conductive layer (e.g., 111, [152]-[153]) over the fourth conductive layer, a second layer (e.g., 112, Fig. 1, [161]-[163]) over the fifth conductive layer,
wherein the fifth conductive layer covers a side surface of the third conductive layer and a top surface and a side surface of the fourth conductive layer (e.g., Fig. 1),
wherein an end portion of the fifth conductive layer and an end portion of the second layer overlap with each other (e.g., Fig. 1),
wherein the insulating layer (e.g., 114, Fig. 1, [70]) overlaps with a side surface and part of a top surface of the fifth conductive layer (e.g., Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kato to include the teachings of Isa for the purpose of reducing reflection of external light and optimizing optical path length, thereby enhancing light extraction efficiency of the display device for example (e.g., Isa, [5], [6], [73]).
Regarding claim 2, Kato in view of Isa teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein each of the second conductive layer, the fourth conductive layer, and the fifth conductive layer comprises an oxide conductive layer (e.g., Isa, [150]-[153]).
Regarding claim 3, Kato in view of Isa teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein a side surface of the insulating layer has a tapered shape (e.g., Isa, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Kato in view of Isa teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the insulating layer comprises an organic insulating material (e.g., Kato, 113, [80]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 9, 11, 12 and 14 are allowed at this time, pending updated search before the Examiner's next response, because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitation of the base claim 5 that recites “forming a first conductive layer and a second conductive layer; forming a first conductive film over the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer; forming a first film over the first conductive film; forming a first mask film over the first film; processing the first film and the first mask film to form a first layer and a first mask layer over the first conductive film overlapping with the first conductive layer; removing an exposed portion of the first conductive film to form a third conductive layer in a region overlapping with the first conductive layer, the first layer, and the first mask layer; forming a second conductive film over the first mask layer and the second conductive layer; forming a second film over the second conductive film; forming a second mask film over the second film; processing the second film and the second mask film to form a second layer and a second mask layer over the second conductive film overlapping with the second conductive layer; and removing an exposed portion of the second conductive film to form a fourth conductive layer in a region overlapping with the second conductive layer, the second layer, and the second mask layer” in combination with other elements of the base claim 5.
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if amended to overcome the claim objection above.
Claims 7, 8, 10, 15-17 and 19 are allowed at this time, pending updated search before the Examiner's next response, because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor render obvious the limitation of the base claim 7 that recites “forming a first conductive layer, a second conductive layer, a third conductive layer over the first conductive layer, and a fourth conductive layer over the second conductive layer; forming a first film over the third conductive layer and the fourth conductive layer; forming a first mask film over the first film; processing the first film and the first mask film to form a first layer and a first mask layer in a region overlapping with the first conductive layer and the third conductive layer; forming a conductive film over the first mask layer and the fourth conductive layer; forming a second film over the conductive film; forming a second mask film over the second film; processing the second film and the second mask film to form a second layer and a second mask layer in a region overlapping with the second conductive layer and the fourth conductive layer; and removing an exposed portion of the conductive film to form a fifth conductive layer in a region overlapping with the second conductive layer, the fourth conductive layer, the second layer, and the second mask layer” in combination with other elements of the base claim 7.
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if amended to overcome the claim objection above.
Conclusion
The art made of record and not applied to the rejection is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. It is cited primarily to show inventions relevant to the examination of the instant invention.
/BO B JANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 June 9, 2026