DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wakatsuki et al (U.S. Pub #2013/0075912).
With respect to claim 1, Wakatsuki teaches a method comprising:
providing a substrate comprising a feature having a feature opening (Fig. 1B, 11), a feature bottom and feature sidewalls; and
non-conformally depositing a metal nitride layer (Fig. 1C, 3 and Paragraph 30) in the feature such that the metal nitride layer lines at least part of the feature sidewalls and decreases in thickness and/or nitrogen concentration along the feature sidewalls as the metal nitride layer extends from the feature opening towards the feature bottom.
With respect to claim 5, Wakatsuki teaches that the metal is tungsten or molybdenum (Paragraph 30).
With respect to claim 10, Wakatsuki teaches that the thickness of the metal nitride layer (Fig. 1C, 3) on the sidewall near the feature opening is at least twice the thickness of the metal nitride layer on the sidewall at a point halfway down the sidewall between the feature opening (Fig. 1C, 11) and the feature bottom.
With respect to claim 17, Wakatsuki teaches depositing a bulk metal layer (Fig. 1G, 6) in the feature including directly on a metal nitride layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2, 4, 6-9, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakatsuki, in view of Khare et al (U.S. Pub #2019/0006226).
With respect to claim 2, Wakatsuki does not teach after depositing the metal nitride layer, depositing a metal nucleation layer in the feature.
Khare teaches after depositing the metal nitride layer, depositing a metal nucleation layer in the feature (Paragraph 54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deposit a metal nucleation layer in the feature after the metal nitride layer of Wakatsuki as taught by Khare in order to facilitate the formation of the bulk material (Paragraph 15).
With respect to claim 4, Wakatsuki and Khare teaches depositing a bulk metal layer on the metal nucleation layer (Fig. 1G, 6 of Wakatsuki; Fig. 1, 7 of Khare).
With respect to claim 6, Wakatsuki does not teach that non-conformally depositing the metal nitride layer in the feature comprises delivering pulses of ammonia (NH3) and a metal-containing precursor to a chamber housing the substrate.
Khare teaches depositing a metal nitride layer in a feature comprises delivering pulses of ammonia (NH3) and a metal-containing precursor to a chamber (Paragraph 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deposit the non-conformal layer of Wakatsuki by delivering pulses of NH3 and a metal-containing precursor as taught by Khare in order to achieve the predictable result of forming a tungsten nitride layer (Paragraph 29).
With respect to claim 7, Wakatsuki does not teach that non-conformally depositing the metal nitride in the feature further comprises delivering pulses of diborane (B2H6) to the chamber.
Khare teaches delivering pulses of diborane (B2H6) to the chamber (Paragraph 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at to deliver pulse of diborane to the chamber as taught by Khare in order to provide a reducing agent for the deposition process (Paragraph 29).
With respect to claim 8, Wakatsuki does not teach that non-conformally depositing the metal nitride in the feature comprises delivering pulses of a metal-containing precursor and plasma-activated nitrogen species to a chamber housing the substrate.
Khare teaches that depositing the metal nitride in the feature comprises delivering pulses of a metal-containing precursor (Paragraph 29, WF6) and plasma-activated nitrogen species (Paragraph 26 and/or 31) to a chamber housing the substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to delivering pulses of a metal-containing precursor and plasma-activated nitrogen species to a chamber housing the substrate of Wakatsuki as taught by Khare in order to achieve the predictable result of forming a tungsten nitride layer (Paragraph 29).
With respect to claim 9, Wakatsuki does not teach that non-conformally depositing the metal nitride in the feature further comprises delivering pulses of diborane (B2H6) to the chamber.
Khare teaches delivering pulses of diborane (B2H6) to the chamber (Paragraph 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at to deliver pulse of diborane to the chamber as taught by Khare in order to provide a reducing agent for the deposition process (Paragraph 29).
With respect to claim 11, Wakatsuki does not teach that the thickness of the metal nitride layer at its thickest point is between 20 and 100 angstroms.
Khare teaches that the thickness of the metal nitride layer at its thickest point is between 20 and 100 angstroms (Paragraph 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the metal nitride layer of Wakatsuki to have a thickest point of 20-100 angstroms as taught by Khare in order to achieve the predictable result of providing a barrier layer for the feature.
Claim 3, 12, 13, and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakatsuki and Khare, in view of Choi et al (U.S. Pub #2009/0081863).
With respect to claim 3, Wakatsuki does not teach non-conformally treating the metal nucleation layer to inhibit metal nucleation, wherein metal nucleation on the feature sidewalls is inhibited to greater extent near the feature opening than near the feature bottom.
Choi teaches non-conformally treating the metal nucleation layer to inhibit metal nucleation (Paragraph 27, i.e. treatment by controlling the nitrogen content of the layer), wherein metal nucleation on the feature sidewalls is inhibited to greater extent near the feature opening than near the feature bottom (Paragraph 27: “Meanwhile, the A1 layer grows at a higher rate at the lower portion of the recess 112 where the second barrier metal layer 130 is relatively thin and the nitrogen content of the second barrier metal layer 130 is relatively low, because a number of nuclear sites, i.e., sites that facilitate the forming of the A1 layer, are present at the bottom of the recess 112. That is, the A1 layer grows best at the bottom of the recess 112 where the second barrier metal layer 130 is thinnest and the nitrogen content thereof is lowest.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to non-conformally treat a nucleation layer as taught by Choi in order to improve the filling process of the bulk filling material (Fig. 6, 140 and Paragraph 25-27).
With respect to claim 12, Choi teaches that the non-conformal treatment forms a second metal nitride layer (Fig. 4, 130 and Paragraph 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a second metal nitride layer as taught by Choi in order to improve the filling process of the bulk filling material (Fig. 6, 140 and Paragraph 25-27).
With respect to claim 13, Choi does not teach that the thickness of the second metal nitride layer at its thickest point is less than 10 angstroms.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the second metal nitride layer to have a thickness at its thickest point is less than 10 angstroms because it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233). See also MPEP 2144.05 II.
Furthermore, the thickness is a results effective variable (Paragraph 25-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second metal nitride layer in the feature of Wakatsuki having a thickness at its thickest point is less than 10 angstroms as taught by Choi in order to improve the filling process of the bulk filling material (Fig. 6, 140 and Paragraph 25-27).
With respect to claim 18, Choi does not teach that non-conformally treating the metal nitride barrier layer to inhibit metal nucleation comprises delivering pulses of ammonia and a metal- containing precursor to the chamber.
Khare teaches depositing a metal nitride layer in a feature comprises delivering pulses of ammonia (NH3) and a metal-containing precursor to a chamber (Paragraph 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the non-conformal treatment of Wakatsuki and Choi by delivering pulses of NH3 and a metal-containing precursor as taught by Khare in order to achieve the predictable result of forming a tungsten nitride layer (Paragraph 29).
With respect to claim 19, Wakatsuki and Choi do not teach that non-conformally treating the metal nitride barrier layer in the feature further comprises delivering pulses of diborane to the chamber.
Khare teaches delivering pulses of diborane (B2H6) to the chamber (Paragraph 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at to deliver pulses of diborane to the chamber in non-conformally treating the metal nitride layer of Wakatsuki and Choi as taught by Khare in order to provide a reducing agent for the deposition process (Paragraph 29).
With respect to claim 20, Wakatsuki and Choi a ratio of ammonia to the metal-containing precursor is higher in the deposition of the metal nitride barrier layer than a ratio of ammonia to the metal-containing precursor in the non-conformal treatment of the metal nitride barrier layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the second metal nitride layer to have an amount of nitride less than the amount of nitride in the metal nitride barrier layer of Wakatsuki because it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233). See also MPEP 2144.05 II.
Furthermore, the amount of nitride is a results effective variable (Paragraph 25-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second metal nitride layer in the feature of Wakatsuki having a lower nitride amount as taught by Choi in order to improve the filling process of the bulk filling material (Fig. 6, 140 and Paragraph 25-27).
With respect to claim 21, Wakatsuki and Choi do not teach that non-conformally depositing the metal nitride barrier layer in the feature comprises delivering pulses of a metal-containing precursor and a plasma-activated nitrogen species to a chamber housing the substrate.
Khare teaches that depositing the metal nitride in the feature comprises delivering pulses of a metal-containing precursor (Paragraph 29, WF6) and plasma-activated nitrogen species (Paragraph 26 and/or 31) to a chamber housing the substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to delivering pulses of a metal-containing precursor and plasma-activated nitrogen species to a chamber housing the substrate of Wakatsuki and Choi as taught by Khare in order to achieve the predictable result of forming a tungsten nitride layer (Paragraph 29).
With respect to claim 22, Wakatsuki does not teach that non-conformally depositing the metal nitride layer in the feature comprises delivering pulses of ammonia (NH3) and a metal-containing precursor to a chamber housing the substrate.
Khare teaches depositing a metal nitride layer in a feature comprises delivering pulses of ammonia (NH3) and a metal-containing precursor to a chamber (Paragraph 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to deposit the non-conformal layer of Wakatsuki by delivering pulses of NH3 and a metal-containing precursor as taught by Khare in order to achieve the predictable result of forming a tungsten nitride layer (Paragraph 29).
With respect to claim 23, Wakatsuki does not teach that non-conformally depositing the metal nitride in the feature further comprises delivering pulses of diborane (B2H6) to the chamber.
Khare teaches delivering pulses of diborane (B2H6) to the chamber (Paragraph 29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at to deliver pulse of diborane to the chamber as taught by Khare in order to provide a reducing agent for the deposition process (Paragraph 29).
Claim 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakatsuki, in view of Choi et al (U.S. Pub #2009/0081863).
With respect to claim 14, Wakatsuki does not teach non-conformally treating the metal nitride barrier layer to inhibit metal nucleation such that metal nucleation is inhibited to a greater extent near the feature opening than further in the feature.
Choi teaches non-conformally treating a metal nucleation layer to inhibit metal nucleation (Paragraph 27, i.e. treatment by controlling the nitrogen content of the layer), wherein metal nucleation on the feature sidewalls is inhibited to greater extent near the feature opening than near the feature bottom (Paragraph 27: “Meanwhile, the A1 layer grows at a higher rate at the lower portion of the recess 112 where the second barrier metal layer 130 is relatively thin and the nitrogen content of the second barrier metal layer 130 is relatively low, because a number of nuclear sites, i.e., sites that facilitate the forming of the A1 layer, are present at the bottom of the recess 112. That is, the A1 layer grows best at the bottom of the recess 112 where the second barrier metal layer 130 is thinnest and the nitrogen content thereof is lowest.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to non-conformally treat a nucleation layer as taught by Choi in order to improve the filling process of the bulk filling material (Fig. 6, 140 and Paragraph 25-27).
With respect to claim 15, Choi teaches that the non-conformal treatment forms a second metal nitride layer (Fig. 4, 130 and Paragraph 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a second metal nitride layer as taught by Choi in order to improve the filling process of the bulk filling material (Fig. 6, 140 and Paragraph 25-27).
With respect to claim 16, Choi does not teach that the second metal nitride layer decreases in amount of nitride as the second metal nitride layer extends from the feature opening towards the feature bottom and the amount of nitride in the second metal nitride layer is less than the amount of nitride in the metal nitride barrier layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the second metal nitride layer to have an amount of nitride less than the amount of nitride in the metal nitride barrier layer of Wakatsuki because it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233). See also MPEP 2144.05 II.
Furthermore, the amount of nitride is a results effective variable (Paragraph 25-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a second metal nitride layer in the feature of Wakatsuki having a lower nitride amount as taught by Choi in order to improve the filling process of the bulk filling material (Fig. 6, 140 and Paragraph 25-27).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al (U.S. Pub #2014/0027664), in view of Khare et al (U.S. Pub #2019/0006226)
With respect to claim 24, Lei teaches a method comprising:
providing a feature (Fig. 6, via opening in layer 407);
performing a first operation of exposing the feature to pulses of a metal precursor (Fig. 2, 207), a boron-containing reducing agent (Fig. 2, 203), and a nitrogen-containing compound (Fig. 2, 209);
performing a second operation of exposing the feature to pulses of a metal precursor, a boron-containing reducing agent, and a nitrogen-containing compound, wherein the amount of nitrogen is higher in the first operation than the second operation (Fig. 2, the steps are repeated at 211; Fig. 10, the nitrogen content N is higher in the initial steps for each layer WN and WBN, and WN has a higher N content than the WBN layer);
Lei does not teach
after the first operation and the second operation, exposing the feature to the metal precursor and hydrogen.
Khare teaches after deposition operations, exposing the feature to the metal precursor and hydrogen (Paragraph 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to exposing the feature to the metal precursor and hydrogen after the first and second operations of Lei as taught by Khare in order to dehalogenate the layer (Paragraph 31).
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN P SANDVIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812