DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments filed on Mar. 6, 2026 have been fully considered.
Specification
Applicant did not respond to this objection from the previous Office Action.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In para 0075, in the last sentence, “off cells 320A” seems to be typo.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 10, 13 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tamaki (WO 2013/147122 in IDS, page numbers refer to the translation).
Regarding claim 1, Tamaki discloses a method, comprising: directing a plurality of beams of radiation at a first area of a first layer on a substrate (S, Fig. 3, pg. 9 and 10, a plurality of beams are reflected from the plurality of micromirrors of DMD 30), each beam incident upon a different portion of a plurality of portions within the first area, wherein each portion has an area of a first size (Fig. 3 and 6, pg. 13, each beam reflected from a micromirror of DMD 30 is incident on the claimed “portion” and the portion has the claimed “first size”), the plurality of beams of radiation are directed at the first area based on a first pattern (Fig. 3), the first pattern comprises a plurality of unit cells (PA1, PA2, PA3, Fig. 3, 6) that include a plurality of on cells (PA1, PA3) and a plurality of off cells (PA2, pg. 10-12), each unit cell has an area smaller than the first size (Fig. 6 shows the light intensity distribution where the light for PA1 and PA3 extend into PA2, which means the each unit cell, PA1, PA2, PA3 is smaller than the first size of each portion), the plurality of on cells identify locations within the first area at which a beam of radiation of the plurality of beams of radiation is centrally focused (On State, Fig. 4, pg. 10, 11) and the plurality of off cells identify locations within the first area at which no beam of radiation of the plurality of beams of radiation is centrally focused (Flat State, Fig. 4, pg. 10, 11), and at least some locations within the first area at which no beam of the plurality of beams is centrally focused (PA2, Fig. 6(a)) receive radiation from a beam of the plurality of beams that is centrally focused (PA1, PA3, Fig. 6(a)) on a location within the first area corresponding to one of the on cells of the first pattern (Fig. 6 shows the light intensity distribution with PA2 receiving radiations from PA1 and PA3).
Regarding claim 2, Tamaki discloses wherein at least some of the off cells in the first pattern are positioned between some of the on cells in the first pattern (PA1, PA2, PA3, Fig. 3, 6(a)).
Regarding claim 3, Tamaki discloses wherein all of the first area is irradiated by at least some of the plurality of beams of radiation (Fig. 6, shows PA2, which is an off cell, but still receiving some light from neighboring on cells, so all of the first area is irradiated by at least some of the plurality of beams of radiation).
Regarding claim 4, Tamaki discloses wherein the first layer is a layer of photoresist (page 8, “a light-sensitive material such as a photoresist”).
Regarding claim 10 Tamaki discloses a method, comprising: directing a first plurality of beams of radiation at a first area of a first layer on a substrate (S, Fig. 3, pg. 9 and 10, a plurality of beams are reflected from the plurality of micromirrors of DMD 30), each beam incident upon a different portion of a plurality of portions within the first area (Fig. 3 and 6, pg. 13, each beam reflected from a micromirror of DMD 30 is incident on the claimed “portion”); and directing a second plurality of beams of radiation at a second area of the first layer on the substrate (S, Fig. 3, pg. 9 and 10, a plurality of beams are reflected from the plurality of micromirrors of DMD 30, the substrate S shown in Fig. 3, can be arbitrarily divided into a first area and a second area), each beam incident upon a different portion of a plurality of portions within the second area, wherein each portion in the first area and the second area has an area of a first size (Fig. 3 and 6, pg. 13, each beam reflected from a micromirror of DMD 30 is incident on the claimed “portion” and the portion has the claimed “first size”), the first plurality of beams of radiation are directed at the first area based on a first pattern (Fig. 3), the second plurality of beams of radiation are directed at the second area based on a second pattern (Fig. 3, as stated above, the substrate S shown in Fig. 3, can be arbitrarily divided into a first area and a second area, and the first area would be based on the portion of DMD 30 from which the pattern for the first area is reflected and the second area would be based on the portion of DMD 30 from which the pattern for the second area is reflected), the first pattern and the second pattern each comprise a plurality of unit cells (PA1, PA2, PA3, Fig. 3, 6) that each include a plurality of on cells (PA1, PA3) and a plurality of off cells (PA2, pg. 10-12), each unit cell in the first pattern and the second pattern has an area smaller than the first size (Fig. 6 shows the light intensity distribution where the light for PA1 and PA3 extend into PA2, which means the each unit cell, PA1, PA2, PA3 is smaller than the first size of each portion), the plurality of on cells in the first pattern identify locations within the first area at which a beam of radiation of the first plurality of beams of radiation is centrally focused (On State, Fig. 4, pg. 10, 11), the plurality of off cells in the first pattern identify locations within the first area at which no beam of radiation of the first plurality of beams of radiation is centrally focused (Flat State, Fig. 4, pg. 10, 11), at least some locations within the first area at which no beam of the first plurality of beams is centrally focused (PA2, Fig. 6(a)) receive radiation from a beam of the first plurality of beams that is centrally focused (PA1, PA3, Fig. 6(a)) on a location within the first area corresponding to one of the on cells of the first pattern (Fig. 6 shows the light intensity distribution with PA2 receiving radiations from PA1 and PA3), the plurality of on cells in the second pattern identify locations within the second area at which a beam of radiation of the second plurality of beams of radiation is centrally focused (On State, Fig. 4, pg. 10, 11), and the plurality of off cells in the second pattern identify locations within the second area at which no beam of radiation of the second plurality of beams of radiation is centrally focused (Flat State, Fig. 4, pg. 10, 11), and at least some locations within the second area at which no beam of the second plurality of beams is centrally focused (PA2, Fig. 6(a)) receive radiation from a beam of the second plurality of beams that is centrally focused (PA1, PA3, Fig. 6(a)) on a location within the second area corresponding to one of the on cells of the second pattern (Fig. 6 shows the light intensity distribution with PA2 receiving radiations from PA1 and PA3).
Regarding claim 13, Tamaki discloses wherein the first layer is a layer of photoresist (page 8, “a light-sensitive material such as a photoresist”).
Regarding claim 16, Tamaki discloses wherein at least some of the off cells in the first pattern are positioned between some of the on cells in the first pattern (PA1, PA2, PA3, Fig. 3, 6(a)).
Regarding claim 17, Tamaki discloses a method, comprising: directing a first plurality of beams of radiation at a first region of a first area of a first layer on a substrate (S, Fig. 3, pg. 9 and 10, a plurality of beams are reflected from the plurality of micromirrors of DMD 30, “a first region” includes the top row of S in Fig. 3 including PA1, PA2, PA3), each beam in the first plurality of beams incident upon a different portion of a plurality of portions within the first region (Fig. 3 and 6, pg. 13, each beam reflected from a micromirror of DMD 30 is incident on the claimed “portion”); and directing a second plurality of beams of radiation at a second region of the first area (S, Fig. 3, pg. 9 and 10, a plurality of beams are reflected from the plurality of micromirrors of DMD 30, “a second region” includes the following row of S in Fig. 3), each beam of the second plurality of beams incident upon a different portion of a plurality of portions within the second region, wherein each portion in the first region and the second region has an area of a first size (Fig. 3 and 6, pg. 13, each beam reflected from a micromirror of DMD 30 is incident on the claimed “portion” and the portion has the claimed “first size”), the first plurality of beams of radiation are directed at the first region of the first area based on a first pattern (Fig. 3), the second plurality of beams of radiation are directed at the second region of the first area based on a second pattern (Fig. 3, as stated above, the substrate S shown in Fig. 3, the first region would be based on the first corresponding pattern on DMD 30 and the second region would be based on the second corresponding pattern on DMD 30), the first pattern and the second pattern each comprise a plurality of unit cells (PA1, PA2, PA3, Fig. 3, 6) that include a plurality of on cells (PA1, PA3) and a plurality of off cells (PA2, pg. 10-12), each unit cell in the first pattern and the second pattern has an area smaller than the first size (Fig. 6 shows the light intensity distribution where the light for PA1 and PA3 extend into PA2, which means the each unit cell, PA1, PA2, PA3 is smaller than the first size of each portion), the plurality of on cells in the first pattern identify locations within the first region at which a beam of radiation of the first plurality of beams of radiation is centrally focused (On State, Fig. 4, pg. 10, 11), the plurality of off cells in the first pattern identify locations within the first region at which no beam of radiation of the first plurality of beams of radiation is centrally focused (Flat State, Fig. 4, pg. 10, 11), at least some locations within the first region at which no beam of the first plurality of beams is centrally focused (PA2, Fig. 6(a)) receive radiation from a beam of the first plurality of beams that is centrally focused (PA1, PA3, Fig. 6(a)) on a location within the first region corresponding to one of the on cells of the first pattern (Fig. 6 shows the light intensity distribution with PA2 receiving radiations from PA1 and PA3), the plurality of on cells in the second pattern identify locations within a second region at which a beam of radiation of the second plurality of beams of radiation is centrally focused (On State, Fig. 4, pg. 10, 11), the plurality of off cells in the second pattern identify locations within the second region at which no beam of radiation of the second plurality of beams of radiation is centrally focused (Flat State, Fig. 4, pg. 10, 11), and at least some locations within the second region at which no beam of the second plurality of beams is centrally focused (PA2, Fig. 6(a)) receive radiation from a beam of the second plurality of beams that is centrally focused (PA1, PA3, Fig. 6(a)) on a location within the second region corresponding to one of the on cells of the second pattern (Fig. 6 shows the light intensity distribution with PA2 receiving radiations from PA1 and PA3).
Regarding claim 18, Tamaki discloses wherein for the first region and the second region, at least some of the off cells are positioned between some of the on cells (PA1, PA2, PA3, Fig. 3, 6(a)).
Regarding claim 19, Tamaki discloses wherein all of the first area is irradiated by at least some of the first plurality of beams of radiation or the second plurality of beams of radiation (Fig. 6, shows PA2, which is an off cell, but still receiving some light from neighboring on cells, so all of the first area is irradiated by at least some of the plurality of beams of radiation).
Regarding claim 20, Tamaki discloses wherein the first layer is a layer of photoresist (page 8, “a light-sensitive material such as a photoresist”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-9, 11, 12, 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamaki.
Regarding claims 5-7, although Tamaki does not disclose explicitly wherein a percentage of on cells in the first pattern is from about 75% to about 95% out of a total number of unit cells in the first pattern or from about 50% to about 75% out of a total number of unit cells in the first pattern or from about 25% to about 50% out of a total number of unit cells in the first pattern, Tamaki discloses a DMD 30 with individual mirror elements that change state by changing the attitude controlled by DMD drive circuit 18 (Fig. 4, pg. 9, 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide total number of the on cells in the ranges of the percentage claimed depending on the intended beam shape and pattern to be exposed.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, although Tamaki does not disclose explicitly wherein at least 75% of the on cells are positioned in the first pattern along a line that includes at least ten consecutive on cells or wherein at least 75% of the off cells are positioned in the first pattern along a line that includes at least ten consecutive off cells, Tamaki discloses a DMD 30 with individual mirror elements that change state by changing the attitude controlled by DMD drive circuit 18 (Fig. 4, pg. 9, 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide wherein at least 75% of the on cells are positioned in the first pattern along a line that includes at least ten consecutive on cells or wherein at least 75% of the off cells are positioned in the first pattern along a line that includes at least ten consecutive off cells in order to provide intended beam shape and pattern to be exposed.
Regarding claim 11, although Tamaki does not disclose wherein the first pattern includes a different arrangement of on cells and off cells than the second pattern, Tamaki discloses a DMD 30 with individual mirror elements that change state by changing the attitude controlled by DMD drive circuit 18 (Fig. 4, pg. 9, 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide different arrangement of on cells and off cell for the first pattern and the second pattern depending on the intended pattern to be exposed.
Regarding claim 12, although Tamaki does not disclose wherein the first pattern includes a first percentage of on cells out of a total number of unit cells in the first pattern, the second pattern includes a second percentage of on cells out of a total number of unit cells in the second pattern, and the first percentage is different than the second percentage, Tamaki discloses a DMD 30 with individual mirror elements that change state by changing the attitude controlled by DMD drive circuit 18 (Fig. 4, pg. 9, 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to a different percentage of on cells in the first pattern and the second pattern depending on the intended pattern to be exposed.
Regarding claim 14, although Tamaki does not disclose wherein the photoresist layer in the first area is physically altered to a maximum depth that is different than a maximum depth at which the photoresist layer in the second area is physically altered, Tamaki discloses that the focus depth is affected by non-interference exposure in Fig. 6(a) and interference exposure in Fig. 6(b), which would affect the maximum depth at which the photoresist layer is altered. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide wherein the photoresist layer in the first area is physically altered to a maximum depth that is different than a maximum depth at which the photoresist layer in the second area is physically altered depending on the intended depth of focus for pattern in the first area and the second area.
Regarding claim 15, although Tamaki does not disclose wherein the first area is larger than the second area, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the size of the first and second areas by adjusting the DMD 30 depending on the intended pattern to be exposed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER B KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 April 28, 2026