Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A, claims 1-2, 11 and 14-15, in the reply filed on 21 August 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that: 1) all of the claims are properly presented in the same application; 2) undue diverse searching should not be required; and 3) all claims should be examined together. These grounds are not found persuasive because neither ground “1” nor “3” represent valid or proper reasoning for a requirement properly set forth, wherein no evidence has been provided regarding the propriety of the requirement. With respect to the ground where it is argued that no diverse searching would be required, this is not found persuasive because the various mutually exclusive features would require an undue search burden based on, at least, the diverging search classifications and search terms required.
Therefore, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 21-27 were previously withdrawn. Claims 3-10, 13 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the aforementioned reply.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: claim 1 and 2: single wafer processing section/unit which has been interpreted as a spin chuck and one or more nozzles, as set forth, e.g., in the specification at paras. 27-30; claim 1 and 2: conveyance system/unit which has been interpreted as robot, as set forth, e.g., in the specification at para. 27; claim 11 low-dissolved oxygen concentration deionized water supply device which has been interpreted as a supply line as set forth, e.g., in the specification at para. 83.
Claim 1 and 2: Batch processing section has not been interpreted under the statute because the claim includes relevant structure for performing the function (i.e. a plurality of batch processing units/processing tanks).
Claim 1 and 2: Standby section has not been interpreted under the statute because the claim includes relevant structure for performing the function (i.e. immersion tank).
Claim Interpretation
Claim 15 controller has been interpreted based on the specification (e.g., para. 9) as a computer with processor and programmable storage, or similar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2006/0137726 to Sano et al. 2008/0223411 to Mokuo.
Regarding claim 1: Sano et al. discloses a substrate processing apparatus substantially as claimed and comprising: a batch processing section including a batch processing unit (see, e.g., Fig. 9, 31) provided with a processing tank (31a) that stores a processing liquid, and configured to immerse a plurality of substrates in the processing liquid stored within the processing tank and capable of performing a liquid processing on the plurality of substrates; a single wafer processing section including a single wafer processing section (e.g., 43 including spin chuck 53a and one or more nozzles 53c) is capable of processing the plurality of substrates previously or subsequently processed in the batch processing section, one by one; a standby section (e.g., 33) including an immersion tank (33a) that stores an immersion liquid, and is capable of standing by the plurality of substrates processed by the batch processing section, while being immersed in the immersion liquid; a conveyance system (e.g. 9) capable of conveying the plurality of substrates from the standby section to the single-wafer processing section.
The embodiment of Sano Fig. 9, et al. fail to explicitly to disclose a plurality of batch processing units/tanks, this is considered a mere duplication of parts that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art exercising ordinary creativity, common sense and logic. See also Fig. 9 of Sano et al. Additionally, the courts have ruled thee mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Sano et al. disclose the conveyance unit as set forth above.
However, Sano et al. fail to disclose a substrate conveyance unit (i.e. robot) capable of taking out the plurality of substrates immersed in the immersed in the immersion liquid within the immersion tank one by one from the immersion liquid.
Mokuo discloses a substrate processing apparatus including a substrate conveyance unit (i.e. robot) (Figs. 1-2, 30) capable of taking out a plurality of substrates immersed in the immersed in an immersion liquid within an immersion tank (Fig. 4, 51), one by one from the immersion liquid for the purpose of securely preventing the transfer of particles between wafers while also improving processing ability per unit time in the immersion tank (see, e.g. paras. 157-159).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in Sano et al. a substrate conveyance unit (i.e. robot) capable of taking out the plurality of substrates immersed in the immersion liquid within the immersion tank one by one from the immersion liquid in order to securely prevent the transfer of particles between wafers while also improving processing ability per unit time in the immersion tank as taught by Mokuo.
Regarding claim limitation, the standby section configured to perform at least one of a first liquid processing and a second liquid processing on the plurality of substrates, the first liquid processing hydrophilizes surfaces of the substrate, or improves or maintains hydrophilicity of the surfaces of the substrates, and the second liquid processing makes a zeta potential of the surfaces of the substrates negative, which is interpreted as intended use of the claimed apparatus, the courts have ruled that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); and expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969.
Regarding claim 2: Sano et al. discloses a substrate processing apparatus substantially as claimed and comprising: a batch processing section including a batch processing unit (see, e.g., Fig. 9, 31) provided with a processing tank (31a) that stores a processing liquid, and configured to immerse a plurality of substrates in the processing liquid stored within the processing tank and capable of collectively performing a liquid processing on the plurality of substrates; a single wafer processing section including a single wafer processing section/unit (e.g., 43 including spin chuck 53a and one or more nozzles 53c) is capable of processing the plurality of substrates previously or subsequently processed in the batch processing section, one by one; a standby section (e.g., 33) including an immersion tank (33a) that stores an immersion liquid, and is capable of standing by the plurality of substrates processed by the batch processing section, while being immersed in the immersion liquid; a conveyance system (e.g. 9) capable of conveying the plurality of substrates from the standby section to the single-wafer processing section.
The embodiment of Sano Fig. 9, et al. fail to explicitly to disclose a plurality of batch processing units/tanks, this is considered a mere duplication of parts that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art exercising ordinary creativity, common sense and logic. See also Fig. 9 of Sano et al. Additionally, the courts have ruled that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Sano et al. disclose the conveyance unit as set forth above.
However, Sano et al. fail to disclose a first substrate conveyance unit (i.e. robot) capable of taking out the plurality of substrates immersed in the immersed in the immersion liquid within the immersion tank one by one from the immersion liquid.
Mokuo discloses a substrate processing apparatus including a substrate conveyance unit (i.e. robot) (Figs. 1-2, 30) capable of taking out a plurality of substrates immersed in the immersed in an immersion liquid within an immersion tank (Fig. 4, 51), one by one from the immersion liquid for the purpose of securely preventing the transfer of particles between wafers while also improving processing ability per unit time in the immersion tank (see, e.g. paras. 157-159).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in Sano et al. a first substrate conveyance unit (i.e. robot) capable of taking out the plurality of substrates immersed in the immersion liquid within the immersion tank one by one from the immersion liquid in order to securely prevent the transfer of particles between wafers while also improving processing ability per unit time in the immersion tank as taught by Mokuo.
Regarding claim limitation, the standby section configured to perform at least one of a first immersion processing and a second immersion processing on the substrates, the first immersion processing immerses the substrates in water as the immersion liquid stored in the immersion tank, the wager being controlled to have a dissolved oxygen concentration of a predetermined values or less, and the second immersion processing immerses the substrate in hydrogen water or CO2 water as the immersion liquid stored in the immersion tank, which has been interpreted as an intended use of the claimed apparatus, the courts have ruled that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); and expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969).
With respect to claim 11, claim limitation the standby section is configured to perform the first immersion processing, and the first immersion processing is performed by immersing the plurality of substrates in deionized water that is stored in the immersion tank and has a dissolved oxygen concentration of 100ppb or less, which has been interpreted as an intended use of the claimed apparatus, the courts have ruled that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); and expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969).
With respect to claim 14, in modified Sano et al., Sano et al. discloses the standby section includes a supply device (31b supply pipe/line) capable of supplying deionized water. With respect to claim limitations drawn to an intended use of the supply device, as discussed above, the courts have ruled that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); and expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Sano et al. as applied to claims 1-2, 11 and 14 in view of U.S. Patent No. 5,826,601 to Muraoka et al.
Modified Sano et al. discloses the apparatus substantially as claimed and as described above.
However, Sano et al. fails to disclose a dissolved oxygen concentration sensor to measure the dissolved oxygen concentration in the deionized water stored within the immersion tank; and a controller to control supplying of low-concentration deionized water into the immersion tank such that the dissolved oxygen concentration of the deionized water stored within the immersion tank is maintained at 100 ppb or less.
Muraoka et al. disclose a dissolved oxygen concentration sensor (see, e.g., Figs. 1 and 7-8; 8 and/or 20) configured to measure the dissolved oxygen concentration in the deionized water stored in a immersion tank; and a controller (26) configured to control supplying of the low-dissolved oxygen concentration deionized water into the immersion tank such that the dissolved oxygen concentration of the deionized water stored within the immersion tank is maintained at 100 ppb or less for the purpose of, inter alia, allowing for effective treatment (see, e.g., column 3, row through column 5, row 41 and column 10, rows 22-32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in modified Sano et al. a dissolved oxygen concentration sensor to measure the dissolved oxygen concentration in the deionized water stored within the immersion tank; and a controller to control supplying of low-concentration deionized water into the immersion tank such that the dissolved oxygen concentration of the deionized water stored within the immersion tank is maintained at 100 ppb or less in order to allow for effective treatment as taught by Muraoka et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP H09162157 discloses a conveying unit for conveying substrates from a batch processing tank. U.S. Patent No. 5,919,336 to Kikuchi et al discloses using deionized water for cleaning a substrate with an oxygen concentration with a particular upper limit in order to decrease danger of oxidation.
/KARLA A MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716