DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-16 and 18-21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the insulating layer” (line 8) which should be replaced with “the at least one insulating layer” to avoid antecedent bases issue.
Claim 1 recites “at least one of the light-emitting elements” (line 5) which should be replaced with “the at least one light-emitting element” to avoid antecedent bases issue.
Claim 2 (claims 3-6 and 21) recites “the insulating layer” which should be replaced with “the at least one insulating layer” to avoid antecedent bases issue.
Claim 2 (claims 3-4) recites “at least the other carrier transport layer” which should be replaced with “the at least another carrier transport layer” to avoid antecedent bases issue.
Claim 9 (claims 11 and 20) recites “the carrier transport layers” which should be replaced with “the plurality of carrier transport layers” to avoid antecedent bases issue.
Claim 12 recites “the hole transport layers” which should be replaced with “hole transport layers” to avoid antecedent bases issue.
Claim 20 recites “the number” (line 10) which should be replaced with “a number” to avoid antecedent bases issue.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2011076726A to Iguchi et al. (cited in IDS of 06/19/2024, hereinafter Iguchi).
With respect to claim 1, Iguchi discloses a light-emitting device (quantum dot light emitting device) (Iguchi, Figs. 1, 8-11, pp. 1-6) comprising:
at least one light-emitting element (10A or 10E) (Iguchi, Figs. 1, 11, pp. 2-5) including a first electrode (12 or 19) and a second electrode (19 or 12) facing each other, and a light-emitting layer (e.g., quantum dot light emitting layer 20) provided between the first electrode (12 or 19) and the second electrode (19 or 12),
wherein at least one (10A or 10E) of the light-emitting elements includes a plurality of carrier transport layers (e.g., 13/15 or 16/18) (Iguchi, Figs. 1, 11, pp. 3-5) and at least one insulating layer (14 or 17), both being layered between the first electrode (12 or 19) and the light-emitting layer (20), and
the insulating layer (14 or 17) (Iguchi, Figs. 1, 11, pp. 3, 5) is provided at least partially between at least one carrier transport layer (13 or 18) among the plurality of carrier transport layers (13/15 or 16/18) and at least another carrier transport layer (15 or 16) overlapping the at least one carrier transport layer (13 or 18).
Regarding claim 2, Iguchi discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 1. Further, Iguchi discloses the light-emitting device, wherein the insulating layer (14) (Iguchi, Fig. 1, p. 3) is provided only between the at least one carrier transport layer (13) and at least the other carrier transport layer (15) overlapping the at least one carrier transport layer (13).
Regarding claim 3, Iguchi discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 1. Further, Iguchi discloses the light-emitting device, wherein the insulating layer (14) (Iguchi, Fig. 1, p. 3) is formed in a thin film shape in an entire region between the at least one carrier transport layer (13) and at least the other carrier transport layer (15) overlapping the at least one carrier transport layer (13).
Regarding claim 9, Iguchi discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 1. Further, Iguchi discloses the light-emitting device, wherein the first electrode (12) (Iguchi, Fig. 1, pp. 2-4) is a cathode, the second electrode (19) is an anode, and each of the carrier transport layers (13/15) is an electron transport layer.
Regarding claim 11, Iguchi discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 1. Further, Iguchi discloses the light-emitting device, wherein the first electrode (19) (Iguchi, Fig. 11, p. 5) is an anode, the second electrode (12) is a cathode, and each of the carrier transport layers (13/15) is a hole transport layer.
Claims 1-7, 9, 11, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0313108 to Jang et al. (cited in IDS of 06/19/2024, hereinafter Jang) (the reference US 2023/0209950 to Jang et al. (hereinafter Jang’950) and the reference US 2022/0144719 to Diener are presented as evidence).
With respect to claim 1, Jang discloses a light-emitting device (e.g., a display device including a plurality of quantum dot light emitting diodes) (Jang, Figs. 1-2, 3A-3B, 4-12, ¶0005-¶0026, ¶0042) comprising:
at least one light-emitting element (e.g., a light-emitting diode EE of Fig. 3A or EE-3 of Fig. 6) (Jang, Figs. 3A-3B, 4-6, ¶0050-¶0081, ¶0083-¶0107) including a first electrode (EL2 or EL1) (Jang, Figs. 3A-3B, 4-6, ¶0050, ¶0085, ¶0099) and a second electrode (EL1 or EL2) facing each other, and a light-emitting layer (e.g., quantum dot light emitting layer EML) (Jang, Figs. 3A-3B, 4-6, ¶0050, ¶0052- ¶0071) provided between the first electrode (EL2 or EL1) and the second electrode (EL1 or EL2),
wherein at least one (EE or EE-3) of the light-emitting elements includes a plurality of carrier transport layers (e.g., CTL2 or ETR including EIL/ETL and ISL-IOL1 of ISL or ISL-31, as ISL-IOL1 has carrier transport properties) (Jang, Figs. 3A-3B, 4-6, ¶0050, ¶0072- ¶0081, ¶0093- ¶0098) and at least one insulating layer (ISL-OL1 of ISL or ISL-31) (Jang, Figs. 3A-3B, 4-6, ¶0072, ¶0075), both being layered between the first electrode (IL2) and the light-emitting layer (EML), and
the insulating layer (ISL-OL1 of ISL or ISL-31) (Jang, Figs. 3A-3B, 4-6, ¶0072, ¶0075) is provided at least partially between at least one carrier transport layer (ISL-IOL1) among the plurality of carrier transport layers (e.g., CTL2/ISL-IOL1 or ETR/ISL-OL1) and at least another carrier transport layer (CTL2 or ETR) overlapping the at least one carrier transport layer.
Regarding claim 2, Jang discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 1. Further, Jang discloses the light-emitting device, wherein the insulating layer (ISL-OL1 of ISL or ISL-31) (Jang, Figs. 3A-3B, 4-6, ¶0072, ¶0075) is provided only between the at least one carrier transport layer (ISL-IOL1) and at least the other carrier transport layer (CTL2 or ETR) overlapping the at least one carrier transport layer.
Regarding claim 3, Jang discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 1. Further, Jang discloses the light-emitting device, wherein the insulating layer (ISL-OL1 of ISL or ISL-31) (Jang, Figs. 3A-3B, 4-6, ¶0072, ¶0075) is formed in a thin film shape in an entire region between the at least one carrier transport layer (ISL-IOL1) and at least the other carrier transport layer (CTL2 or ETR) overlapping the at least one carrier transport layer.
Regarding claim 4, Jang discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 1. Further, Jang discloses the light-emitting device, wherein the insulating layer (ISL-OL1 of ISL or ISL-31, in the emission region PXA) (Jang, Figs. 3A-3B, 4-6, 10-12, ¶0072, ¶0075, ¶0112-¶0121) is provided in an island shape (Jang, Fig. 10, ¶0112-¶0121) between the at least one carrier transport layer (ISL-IOL1) and at least the other carrier transport layer (CTL2 or ETR) overlapping the at least one carrier transport layer.
Regarding claim 5, Jang discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 1. Further, Jang discloses the light-emitting device, wherein the insulating layer (ISL-OL1) (Jang, Figs. 3A-3B, 4-6, ¶0075) contains a photosensitive insulating material (e.g., ISL-OL1 includes hexamethyldisiloxane which is photosensitive polymer material (HMDSO), as evidenced by Jang’950, ¶0175) having photosensitivity.
Regarding claim 6, Jang discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 1. Further, Jang discloses the light-emitting device, wherein at least a part of the insulating layer (ISL-OL1) (Jang, Figs. 3A-3B, 4-6, ¶0075) contains a liquid-repellent material (e.g., ISL-OL1 includes hexamethyldisiloxane which is liquid-repellent material against an organic solvent, as evidenced by Diener, ¶0038-¶0039) having liquid repellency against an organic solvent.
Regarding claim 7, Jang discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 6. Further, Jang discloses the light-emitting device, wherein the liquid-repellent material is at least one type selected from the group consisting of a silicone resin (e.g., ISL-OL1 includes hexamethyldisiloxane which is a silicone-based resin) (Jang, Figs. 3A-3B, 4-6, ¶0075).
Regarding claim 9, Jang discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 1. Further, Jang discloses the light-emitting device, wherein the first electrode (IL2) (Jang, Figs. 3A-3B, 4-6, 10-12, ¶0099) is a cathode, the second electrode (IL1) (Jang, Figs. 3B, 6, ¶0085) is an anode, and each of the carrier transport layers (ISL-IOL1 of ISL-31 and ETR) (Jang, Figs. 3B, 6, ¶0093-¶0098, ¶0104-¶0107) is an electron transport layer.
Regarding claim 11, Jang discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 1. Further, Jang discloses the light-emitting device, wherein the first electrode (IL1) (Jang, Figs. 3B, 6, ¶0085) is an anode, the second electrode (IL2) (Jang, Figs. 3B, 6, ¶0099) is a cathode, and each of the carrier transport layers (ISL-IOL1 of ISL-32 and HTR) (Jang, Figs. 3B, 6, ¶0087-¶0091, ¶0104-¶0107) is a hole transport layer.
Regarding claim 21, Jang discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 1. Further, Jang discloses the light-emitting device, comprising: a plurality of the light-emitting elements (EE1, EE-2, EE-3) (Jang, Figs. 3B, 6, 10-12, ¶0113-¶0131), wherein the plurality of the light-emitting elements include a first light-emitting element (EE-1) configured to emit light of a first color (blue) (Jang, Figs. 3B, 6, 10-12, ¶0121-¶0122), a second light-emitting element (EE-2) configured to emit light of a second color, (green) and a third light-emitting element (EE-3) configured to emit light of a third color (red), each of the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element includes, between the first electrode (EL2) and the light-emitting layer (EML), an individual carrier transport layer (e.g., an island shaped inorganic layer IOL1 of ISL-31 having carrier transport properties in each emission region EE-1, EE-2, and EE-3, as shown in Fig. 10) provided for each of the light-emitting elements as one of the plurality of the carrier transport layers, and a common carrier transport layer (e.g., electron inject layer EIL as in Fig. 6) on each of the individual carrier transport layers (e.g., the island shaped inorganic layer IOL1 of ISL-31), the common carrier transport layer (EIL) being provided in common to the first light-emitting element (EE-1), the second light-emitting element (EE-2), and the third light-emitting element (EE-2), and the insulating layer (organic insulating layer ISL-OL1 of ISL-31) (Jang, Figs. 3B, 6, ¶0072, ¶0075) is provided between the individual carrier transport layer and the common carrier transport layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0313108 to Jang in view of Goto et al. (US 2017/0301740, hereinafter Goto).
Regarding claim 8, Jang discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 6. Further, Jang does not specifically disclose the light-emitting device, wherein the liquid-repellent material contains a fluorine compound.
However, Goto teaches a liquid-repellent material (Goto, Figs. 3A-3B, ¶0001, ¶0012, ¶0091-¶0093) containing a fluorine compound including a fluorine compound or siloxane compound mixed into photosensitive resin material (Goto, Figs. 3A-3B, ¶0092), to provide a material resistant to organic solvents and heat, and thus to provide a display device with improved manufacturing efficiency.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the light-emitting device of Jang by forming the specific liquid-repellent material as taught by Goto to have the light-emitting device, wherein the liquid-repellent material contains a fluorine compound, in order to provide a material resistant to organic solvents and heat, and thus to provide a display device with improved manufacturing efficiency (Goto, ¶0001, ¶0012, ¶0092).
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0313108 to Jang in view of Kimura et al. (US 2013/0002125, hereinafter Kimura).
Regarding claim 10, Jang discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 9. Further, Jang does not specifically disclose the light-emitting device, wherein the electron transport layers closer to the cathode have a greater electron affinity.
However, Kimura teaches forming a light-emitting device (Kimura, Fig. 6A, ¶0009, ¶0010, ¶0142-¶0155) comprising an electron inject layer (607) including a material having electron transport properties and a greater electron affinity than that of the electron transport layer (606), wherein the electron inject layer (607) is disposed closer to the cathode (608) (Kimura, Fig. 6A, ¶0151), to provide a light emitting element having high luminous efficiency and capable of emitting light at desired wavelength.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the light-emitting device of Jang by forming the electron transport layers containing specific materials as taught by Kimura to have the light-emitting device, wherein the electron transport layers closer to the cathode have a greater electron affinity, in order to provide a light emitting element having high luminous efficiency and capable of emitting light at desired wavelength (Kimura, ¶0009-¶0010, ¶0143, ¶0151, ¶0152).
Regarding claim 12, Jang discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 11. Further, Jang does not specifically disclose the light-emitting device, wherein the hole transport layers closer to the anode have a smaller ionization potential.
However, Kimura teaches forming a light-emitting device (Kimura, Fig. 6A, ¶0009, ¶0010, ¶0142-¶0155) comprising a hole inject layer (603) (Kimura, Fig. 6A, ¶0148) disposed closer to the anode (602) and including a material having hole transport properties and a relatively lower ionization potential than that of the functional layer adjacent to the anode, and forming the hole transport layer (604) adjacent to the hole inject layer (603), to provide a light emitting element having high luminous efficiency and capable of emitting light at desired wavelength.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the light-emitting device of Jang by forming the hole transport layers containing specific materials as taught by Kimura to have the light-emitting device, wherein the hole transport layers closer to the anode have a smaller ionization potential, in order to provide a light emitting element having high luminous efficiency and capable of emitting light at desired wavelength (Kimura, ¶0009-¶0010, ¶0143, ¶0146, ¶0148).
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0313108 to Jang in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0288230, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Jang discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 9. Further, Jang does not specifically disclose the light-emitting device, wherein the at least one carrier transport layer among the plurality of carrier transport layers contains inorganic nanoparticles having electron transportability and containing an amphoteric element (as claimed in claim 13); wherein the at least one carrier transport layer of the plurality of carrier transport layers further contains an insulating polymer (as claimed in claim 14).
However, Kim teaches forming a light-emitting device (Kim, Figs. 1-2, ¶0004-¶0020, ¶0056-¶0127) comprising an electron transport ayer (150) (Kim, Figs. 1-2, ¶0096-¶0112) including metal oxide particles (151) (Kim, Figs. 1-2, ¶0108), such as, ZnO, TiO, ZrO, and SnO, wherein ZnO particles contain an amphoteric element (e.g., Zn), and wherein the electron transport layer (150) further contains an insulating polymer (152) (Kim, Figs. 1-2, ¶0101-¶0120) that is chemically absorbed on the surface of the metal oxide particles (151) (Kim, Figs. 1-2, ¶0112) to minimize an internal pore and crack of the electron transport layer and uniformly control surface morphology of the electron transport layer, to provide a light emitting element having improved luminous efficiency and life-span characteristics.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the light-emitting device of Jang by forming the electron transport layer including metal oxide particles and an insulating polymer as taught by Kim to have the light-emitting device, wherein the at least one carrier transport layer among the plurality of carrier transport layers contains inorganic nanoparticles having electron transportability and containing an amphoteric element (as claimed in claim 13); wherein the at least one carrier transport layer of the plurality of carrier transport layers further contains an insulating polymer (as claimed in claim 14), in order to provide electron improved transport layers with minimized internal pore and crack, and to uniformly control surface morphology of the electron transport layer, and thus to provide a light emitting element having improved luminous efficiency and life-span characteristics (Kim, ¶0004-¶0020, ¶0098-¶0112, ¶0117, ¶0120).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Jang discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 1. Further, Jang does not specifically disclose the light-emitting device, wherein the at least one carrier transport layer among the plurality of carrier transport layers contains inorganic nanoparticles having carrier transportability and an insulating polymer (as claimed in claim 15); wherein the insulating polymer is at least one type selected from the group consisting of polyvinylpyrrolidone, polyvinyl alcohol, polystyrene, poly(meth)acrylate, carboxymethylcellulose, polymethyl(meth)acrylate, polysilsesquioxane, and polydimethylsiloxane (as claimed in claim 16).
However, Kim teaches forming a light-emitting device (Kim, Figs. 1-2, ¶0004-¶0020, ¶0056-¶0127) comprising an electron transport ayer (150) (Kim, Figs. 1-2, ¶0096-¶0112) including metal oxide particles (151) (Kim, Figs. 1-2, ¶0108), such as, ZnO, TiO, ZrO, and SnO, wherein the electron transport layer (150) further contains an insulating polymer (152) (Kim, Figs. 1-2, ¶0101-¶0120) that is chemically absorbed on the surface of the metal oxide particles (151) (Kim, Figs. 1-2, ¶0112), and wherein the insulating polymer (152) is polyvinylpyrrolidone (Kim, Figs. 1-2, ¶0113), to minimize an internal pore and crack of the electron transport layer and uniformly control surface morphology of the electron transport layer, to provide a light emitting element having improved luminous efficiency and life-span characteristics.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the light-emitting device of Jang by forming the electron transport layer including metal oxide particles and an insulating polymer as taught by Kim to have the light-emitting device, wherein the at least one carrier transport layer among the plurality of carrier transport layers contains inorganic nanoparticles having carrier transportability and an insulating polymer (as claimed in claim 15); wherein the insulating polymer is at least one type selected from the group consisting of polyvinylpyrrolidone (as claimed in claim 16), in order to provide electron improved transport layers with minimized internal pore and crack, and to uniformly control surface morphology of the electron transport layer, and thus to provide a light emitting element having improved luminous efficiency and life-span characteristics (Kim, ¶0004-¶0020, ¶0098-¶0113, ¶0117, ¶0120).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0313108 to Jang in view of Park et al. (US 2022/0098484, hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 18, Jang discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 1. Further, Jang does not specifically disclose the light-emitting device, wherein the at least one carrier transport layer among the plurality of carrier transport layers contains inorganic nanoparticles having carrier transportability and at least one of a fluorinated organic ligand and an inorganic ligand.
However, Park teaches forming a light-emitting device (Park, Fig. 1, ¶0005-¶0009, ¶0077-¶0087, ¶0093-¶0100, ¶0262-¶0276, ¶0402-¶0405) comprising at least one electron transport layer (155) (Park, Fig. 1, ¶0093-¶0100, ¶0078-¶0081, ¶0405) between the light emitting layer (153) and the electrode (190), wherein the at least one electron transport layer (155) contains inorganic nanoparticles having carrier transportability and at least one of a fluorinated organic ligand, to provide light-emitting device having excellent luminescence efficiency and lifespan (Park, ¶0005-¶0009, ¶0077-¶0081, ¶0271, ¶0405).
t would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the light-emitting device of Jang by forming the electron transport layer including metal oxide particles and fluorine-containing charge-transporting organic ligand as taught by Park to have the light-emitting device, wherein the at least one carrier transport layer among the plurality of carrier transport layers contains inorganic nanoparticles having carrier transportability and at least one of a fluorinated organic ligand and an inorganic ligand, in order to provide light-emitting device having excellent luminescence efficiency and lifespan (Park, ¶0005-¶0009, ¶0077-¶0081, ¶0271, ¶0405).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0313108 to Jang in view of Kim (US 2019/0288230) as applied to claim 13, and further in view of Park (US 2022/0098484).
Regarding claim 19, Jang in view of Kim discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 13. Further, Jang does not specifically disclose the light-emitting device, wherein the at least one carrier transport layer of the plurality of carrier transport layers further contains at least one of a fluorinated organic ligand and an inorganic ligand.
However, Park teaches forming a light-emitting device (Park, Fig. 1, ¶0005-¶0009, ¶0077-¶0087, ¶0093-¶0100, ¶0262-¶0276, ¶0402-¶0405) comprising at least one electron transport layer (155) (Park, Fig. 1, ¶0093-¶0100, ¶0078-¶0081, ¶0405) between the light emitting layer (153) and the electrode (190), wherein the at least one electron transport layer (155) contains inorganic nanoparticles having carrier transportability and at least one of a fluorinated organic ligand, to provide light-emitting device having excellent luminescence efficiency and lifespan (Park, ¶0005-¶0009, ¶0077-¶0081, ¶0271, ¶0405).
t would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the light-emitting device of Jang/Kim by forming the electron transport layer including metal oxide particles and fluorine-containing charge-transporting organic ligand as taught by Park to have the light-emitting device, wherein the at least one carrier transport layer of the plurality of carrier transport layers further contains at least one of a fluorinated organic ligand and an inorganic ligand, in order to provide light-emitting device having excellent luminescence efficiency and lifespan (Park, ¶0005-¶0009, ¶0077-¶0081, ¶0271, ¶0405).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0313108 to Jang in view of Suzuki et al. (US 2014/0291647, hereinafter Suzuki).
Regarding claim 20, Jang discloses the light-emitting device according to claim 1. Further, Jang discloses the light-emitting device, comprising: a plurality of the light-emitting elements (EE1, EE-2, EE-3) (Jang, Figs. 3B, 6, 10-12, ¶0113-¶0131), wherein the plurality of the light-emitting elements include a first light-emitting element (EE-1) configured to emit light of a first color (blue) (Jang, Figs. 3B, 6, 10-12, ¶0121-¶0122), a second light-emitting element (EE-2) configured to emit light of a second color, (green) and a third light-emitting element (EE-3) configured to emit light of a third color (red), each of the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element includes at least one of the plurality of carrier transport layers (e.g., ISL-IOL1 of ISL-31/ISL-32 and ETR/HTR) between the first electrode (EL2) and the light-emitting layer (EML), but does not specifically disclose that the number of the carrier transport layers layered differs in the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element.
However, Suzuki teaches forming a plurality of light emitting elements (Suzuki, Fig. 2B, ¶0110-¶0118) having a number of the carrier transport layers differs in the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element, specifically, the first light-emitting element (115a) has the hole-injection layer (111), the fourth hole-transport layer (113d), the first hole-transport layer (113a), the electron-transport layer including electron transport material (142a), and the electron-injection layer (119); the second light-emitting element (115b) has the hole-injection layer (111), the fourth hole-transport layer (113d), the second hole-transport layer (113b), the electron-transport layer including electron transport material (142a), and the electron-injection layer (119); and the third light-emitting element (115c) has the hole-injection layer (111), the fourth hole-transport layer (113d), and the electron-injection layer (119), such that the number of the carrier transport layers in the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element layered differs than that in the third light-emitting element, to provide optimal element structure in each light emitting element to achieve high emission efficiency.
Thus, Suzuki recognizes that the number of the carrier transport layers impacts emission efficiency of the light emitting element. Thus, the number of the carrier transport layers is a result-effective variable.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to vary, through routine optimization, t the number of the carrier transport layers as Suzuki has identified the number of the carrier transport layers as a result-effective variable. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at specific number of the carrier transport layers in each light emitting element such that the number of the carrier transport layers layered differs in the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element, in order to provide optimal element structure in each light emitting element to achieve high emission efficiency as taught by Suzuki (¶0117) (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the light-emitting device of Jang by optimizing element structure for each of the first, second, and third light-emitting elements as taught by Suzuki to have the light-emitting device, wherein the number of the carrier transport layers layered differs in the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element,, in order provide optimal element structure in each light emitting element to achieve high emission efficiency as taught by Suzuki (¶0002, ¶0009-¶0010, ¶0117).
Conclusion
/NATALIA A GONDARENKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891