DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/695,911 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application claims 1-3 are anticipated by claims 1-16 of the copending Application, and it is not patentably distinct from claims 1-16 of the copending Application. Please, see the Table as shown below:
Under Examination Claims
copending Application Claims
1. (Original) A display device comprising a first light-emitting device, a second light- emitting device positioned adjacent to the first light-emitting device, and a first insulating layer,
wherein the first light-emitting device comprises a first pixel electrode, a first EL layer over the first pixel electrode, and a common electrode over the first EL layer,
wherein the second light-emitting device comprises a second pixel electrode, a second EL layer over the second pixel electrode, and the common electrode over the second EL layer,
wherein part of a side surface of the first EL layer and part of a side surface of the second EL layer are positioned to face each other,
wherein part of the first insulating layer is positioned at a position interposed between a side end portion of the first EL layer and a side end portion of the second EL layer,
wherein another part of the first insulating layer overlaps with part of a top surface of the first EL layer or part of a top surface of the second EL layer,
wherein the first light-emitting device emits blue light,
wherein the second light-emitting device emits light of a color different from that from the first light-emitting device,
wherein the first EL layer comprises a first light-emitting unit over the first pixel electrode, a first charge-generation layer over the first light-emitting unit, and a second light- emitting unit over the first charge-generation layer, and
wherein the second EL layer comprises a third light-emitting unit over the second pixel electrode.
Anticipated by copending Application claims 1, 2, and 4:
1. A display device comprising:
a first light-emitting device;
a second light-emitting device;
a third light-emitting device;
a first coloring layer;
a second coloring layer;
a first insulating layer; and
a second insulating layer,
wherein the first light-emitting device comprises a first pixel electrode, a first light-emitting layer over the first pixel electrode, and a common electrode over the first light-emitting layer,
wherein the second light-emitting device comprises a second pixel electrode, a second light-emitting layer over the second pixel electrode, and the common electrode over the second light-emitting layer,
wherein the third light-emitting device comprises a third pixel electrode, a third light-emitting layer over the third pixel electrode, and the common electrode over the third light-emitting layer,
wherein the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer comprise the same light-emitting material,
wherein a wavelength of light emitted by the third light-emitting device is shorter than a wavelength of light emitted by the first light-emitting device and a wavelength of light emitted by the second light-emitting device,
wherein a color of light transmitted by the first coloring layer is different from a color of light transmitted by the second coloring layer,
wherein the first coloring layer overlaps with the first light-emitting device,
wherein the second coloring layer overlaps with the second light-emitting device,
wherein the first insulating layer covers a part of a top surface and a side surface of the first light-emitting layer and a part of a top surface and a side surface of the second light-emitting layer,
wherein the second insulating layer overlaps with the part of the top surface of the first light-emitting layer and the part of the top surface of the second light-emitting layer with the first insulating layer therebetween,
wherein the second insulating layer comprises a portion between the side surface of the first light-emitting layer and the side surface of the second light-emitting layer, and
wherein the common electrode covers a top surface of the second insulating layer (as claimed in copending Application Claim 1);
2. The display device according to claim 1, wherein the first light-emitting device further comprises a first functional layer between the first light-emitting layer and the common electrode,
wherein the second light-emitting layer further comprises a second functional layer between the second light-emitting layer and the common electrode,
wherein the third light-emitting layer further comprises a third functional layer between the third light-emitting layer and the common electrode,
wherein the first insulating layer covers a part of a top surface and a side surface of the first functional layer, and a part of a top surface and a side surface of the second functional layer, and
wherein the second insulating layer overlaps with the part of the top surface of the first functional layer, and the part of the top surface of the second functional layer with the first insulating layer therebetween (as claimed in copending Application Claim 2).
4. The display device according to claim 1,wherein the first light-emitting device and the second light-emitting device are configured to emit yellow light,
wherein the third light-emitting device is configured to emit blue light,
wherein the first coloring layer is configured to transmit red light, and
wherein the second coloring layer is configured to transmit green light (as claimed in copending Application Claim 4).
Note: the claimed limitation of the “first light-emitting device” is equivalent to the copending Application Claim limitation of “third light-emitting device.”
the claimed limitation of the “first charge-generation layer” is equivalent to the copending Application Claim limitation of “third functional layer.”
the claimed limitation of the “third light-emitting unit” is equivalent to the copending Application Claim limitation of “third light-emitting layer.”
the claimed limitation of the “first insulating layer” is equivalent to the copending Application Claim limitation of “first insulating layer and second insulating layer.”
2. (Original) The display device according to claim 1, comprising a second insulating layer that covers an end portion of the first pixel electrode.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 1:
1. A display device comprising:
a first light-emitting device;
a second light-emitting device;
a third light-emitting device;
a first coloring layer;
a second coloring layer;
a first insulating layer; and
a second insulating layer,
wherein the first light-emitting device comprises a first pixel electrode, a first light-emitting layer over the first pixel electrode, and a common electrode over the first light-emitting layer,
wherein the second light-emitting device comprises a second pixel electrode, a second light-emitting layer over the second pixel electrode, and the common electrode over the second light-emitting layer,
wherein the third light-emitting device comprises a third pixel electrode, a third light-emitting layer over the third pixel electrode, and the common electrode over the third light-emitting layer,
wherein the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer comprise the same light-emitting material,
wherein a wavelength of light emitted by the third light-emitting device is shorter than a wavelength of light emitted by the first light-emitting device and a wavelength of light emitted by the second light-emitting device,
wherein a color of light transmitted by the first coloring layer is different from a color of light transmitted by the second coloring layer,
wherein the first coloring layer overlaps with the first light-emitting device,
wherein the second coloring layer overlaps with the second light-emitting device,
wherein the first insulating layer covers a part of a top surface and a side surface of the first light-emitting layer and a part of a top surface and a side surface of the second light-emitting layer,
wherein the second insulating layer overlaps with the part of the top surface of the first light-emitting layer and the part of the top surface of the second light-emitting layer with the first insulating layer therebetween,
wherein the second insulating layer comprises a portion between the side surface of the first light-emitting layer and the side surface of the second light-emitting layer, and
wherein the common electrode covers a top surface of the second insulating layer.
3. (Original) The display device according to claim 1, comprising a second insulating layer that covers an end portion of the first pixel electrode and an end portion of the second pixel electrode.
Anticipated by copending Application claim 1:
1. A display device comprising:
a first light-emitting device;
a second light-emitting device;
a third light-emitting device;
a first coloring layer;
a second coloring layer;
a first insulating layer; and
a second insulating layer,
wherein the first light-emitting device comprises a first pixel electrode, a first light-emitting layer over the first pixel electrode, and a common electrode over the first light-emitting layer,
wherein the second light-emitting device comprises a second pixel electrode, a second light-emitting layer over the second pixel electrode, and the common electrode over the second light-emitting layer,
wherein the third light-emitting device comprises a third pixel electrode, a third light-emitting layer over the third pixel electrode, and the common electrode over the third light-emitting layer,
wherein the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer comprise the same light-emitting material,
wherein a wavelength of light emitted by the third light-emitting device is shorter than a wavelength of light emitted by the first light-emitting device and a wavelength of light emitted by the second light-emitting device,
wherein a color of light transmitted by the first coloring layer is different from a color of light transmitted by the second coloring layer,
wherein the first coloring layer overlaps with the first light-emitting device,
wherein the second coloring layer overlaps with the second light-emitting device,
wherein the first insulating layer covers a part of a top surface and a side surface of the first light-emitting layer and a part of a top surface and a side surface of the second light-emitting layer,
wherein the second insulating layer overlaps with the part of the top surface of the first light-emitting layer and the part of the top surface of the second light-emitting layer with the first insulating layer therebetween,
wherein the second insulating layer comprises a portion between the side surface of the first light-emitting layer and the side surface of the second light-emitting layer, and
wherein the common electrode covers a top surface of the second insulating layer.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takahashi (U.S. 2022/0238835 A1, hereinafter refer to Takahashi).
Regarding Claim 1: Takahashi discloses a display device (see Takahashi, Figs.1-2, 11, and 13 as shown below and ¶ [0002]) comprising
a first light-emitting device (SP1 or SP3), a second light- emitting device (SP2) positioned adjacent to the first light-emitting device (SP1 or SP3), and a first insulating layer (12) (see Takahashi, Figs.1-2 and 11 as shown above),
wherein the first light-emitting device (SP1 or SP3) comprises a first pixel electrode (E1), a first EL layer (OR) over the first pixel electrode (E1), and a common electrode (E3) over the first EL layer (OR) (see Takahashi, Figs.1-2 and 11 as shown above),
wherein the second light-emitting device (SP2) comprises a second pixel electrode (E1), a second EL layer (OR) over the second pixel electrode (E1), and the common electrode (E3) over the second EL layer (OR) (see Takahashi, Figs.1-2 and 11 as shown above),
wherein part of a side surface of the first EL layer (OR) and part of a side surface of the second EL layer (OR) are positioned to face each other (see Takahashi, Figs.1-2 and 11 as shown above),
wherein part of the first insulating layer (12) is positioned at a position interposed between a side end portion of the first EL layer (OR) and a side end portion of the second EL layer (OR) (see Takahashi, Figs.1-2 and 11 as shown above),
wherein another part of the first insulating layer (12) overlaps with part of a top surface of the first EL layer (OR) or part of a top surface of the second EL layer (OR) (see Takahashi, Figs.1-2 and 11 as shown above),
wherein the first light-emitting device (SP1 or SP3) emits blue light (note: “sub-pixel SP3 configured in the same manner as the display elements 20 of the sub-pixels SP1 and SP2”) (see Takahashi, Figs.1-2 and 11 as shown above, ¶ [0044], and ¶ [0079]),
wherein the second light-emitting device (SP2) emits light of a color different from that from the first light-emitting device (SP1 or SP3) (see Takahashi, Figs.1-2 and 11 as shown above),
wherein the first EL layer (OR) comprises a first light-emitting unit (F1) over the first pixel electrode (E1), a first charge-generation layer (EL) over the first light-emitting unit (F1), and a second light- emitting unit (F2) over the first charge-generation layer (EL) (see Takahashi, Figs.11 and 13 as shown above and ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0096]), and
wherein the second EL layer (OR) comprises a third light-emitting unit (F1/EL/F2) over the second pixel electrode (E1) (see Takahashi, Figs.11 and 13 as shown above and ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0096])).
Regarding Claim 4: Takahashi discloses a display device (see Takahashi, Figs.1-2, 11, and 13 as shown above and ¶ [0002]) comprising
a first light-emitting device (SP3), a second light- emitting device (SP1), a third light-emitting device (SP2), and a first insulating layer (12) (see Takahashi, Figs.1-2, 11, and 13 as shown above),
wherein the first light-emitting device (SP3) is positioned adjacent to the second light- emitting device (SP1) and the third light-emitting device (SP2) (note: “sub-pixel SP3 configured in the same manner as the display elements 20 of the sub-pixels SP1 and SP2”) (see Takahashi, Figs.1-2 and 11 as shown above, ¶ [0044], and ¶ [0079]),
wherein the first light-emitting device (SP3) comprises a first pixel electrode (E1), a first EL layer (OR) over the first pixel electrode (E1), and a common electrode (E3) over the first EL layer (OR) (note: “sub-pixel SP3 configured in the same manner as the display elements 20 of the sub-pixels SP1 and SP2”) (see Takahashi, Figs.1-2 and 11 as shown above, ¶ [0044], and ¶ [0079]),
wherein the second light-emitting device (SP1) comprises a second pixel electrode (E1), a second EL layer (OR) over the second pixel electrode (E1), and the common electrode (E3) over the second EL layer (OR) (note: “sub-pixel SP3 configured in the same manner as the display elements 20 of the sub-pixels SP1 and SP2”) (see Takahashi, Figs.1-2 and 11 as shown above, ¶ [0044], and ¶ [0079]),
wherein the third light-emitting device (SP2) comprises a third pixel electrode (E1), a third EL layer (OR) over the third pixel electrode (E1), and the common electrode (E3) over the third EL layer (OR) (note: “sub-pixel SP3 configured in the same manner as the display elements 20 of the sub-pixels SP1 and SP2”) (see Takahashi, Figs.1-2 and 11 as shown above, ¶ [0044], and ¶ [0079]),
wherein any two selected from part of a side surface of the first EL layer (OR), part of a side surface of the second EL layer (OR), and part of a side surface of the third EL layer (OR) are placed to face each other (note: “sub-pixel SP3 configured in the same manner as the display elements 20 of the sub-pixels SP1 and SP2”) (see Takahashi, Figs.1-2 and 11 as shown above, ¶ [0044], and ¶ [0079]),
wherein part of the first insulating layer (12) is positioned at a position interposed between any two selected from a side end portion of the first EL layer (OR), a side end portion of the second EL layer (OR), and a side end portion of the third EL layer (OR) (note: “sub-pixel SP3 configured in the same manner as the display elements 20 of the sub-pixels SP1 and SP2”) (see Takahashi, Figs.1-2 and 11 as shown above, ¶ [0044], and ¶ [0079]),
wherein another part of the first insulating layer (12) overlaps with part of a top surface of the first EL layer (OR), part of a top surface of the second EL layer (OR), or part of a top surface of the third EL layer (OR) (note: “sub-pixel SP3 configured in the same manner as the display elements 20 of the sub-pixels SP1 and SP2”) (see Takahashi, Figs.1-2 and 11 as shown above, ¶ [0044], and ¶ [0079]),
wherein the first light-emitting device (SP3) emits blue light (see Takahashi, Figs.1-2 and 11 as shown above, ¶ [0044], and ¶ [0079]),
wherein the second light-emitting device emits (SP1) red light (see Takahashi, Figs.1-2 and 11 as shown above, ¶ [0044], and ¶ [0079]),
wherein the third light-emitting device (SP2) emits green light (see Takahashi, Figs.1-2 and 11 as shown above, ¶ [0044], and ¶ [0079]),
wherein the first EL layer (OR) comprises a first light-emitting unit (F1) over the first pixel electrode (E1), a first charge-generation layer (EL) over the first light-emitting unit (F1), and a second light- emitting unit (F2) over the first charge-generation layer (EL) (see Takahashi, Figs.11 and 13 as shown above and ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0096]),
wherein the second EL layer (OR) comprises a third light-emitting unit (F1/EL/E2) over the second pixel electrode (E1) (see Takahashi, Figs.11 and 13 as shown above and ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0096]), and
wherein the third EL layer (OR) comprises a fourth light-emitting unit (F1) over the third pixel electrode (E1), a second charge-generation layer (EL) over the fourth light-emitting unit (F1), and a fifth light- emitting unit (F2) over the second charge-generation layer (EL) (see Takahashi, Figs.11 and 13 as shown above and ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0096]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 -3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi (U.S. 2022/0238835 A1, hereinafter refer to Takahashi) as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Sung et al. (U.S. 2023/0180530 A1, hereinafter refer to Sung).
Regarding Claim 2: Takahashi discloses a display device as applied to claim 1 above. Takahashi is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a second insulating layer that covers an end portion of the first pixel electrode.
For support see Sung, which teaches wherein a second insulating layer (OL) that covers an end portion of the first pixel electrode (AE) (see Sung, Figs.2-3 as shown below, ¶ [0002], and ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0097]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Takahashi and Sung to enable the second insulating layer to cover an end portion of the first pixel electrode as taught by Sung in order to obtain a display device with improved reliability by protecting a light-emitting element with an encapsulation layer.
Regarding Claim 3: Takahashi discloses a display device as applied to claim 1 above. Takahashi is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a second insulating layer that covers an end portion of the first pixel electrode and an end portion of the second pixel electrode.
For support see Sung, which teaches wherein a second insulating layer (OL) that covers an end portion of the first pixel electrode (AE) and an end portion of the second pixel electrode (AE) (see Sung, Figs.2-3 as shown above, ¶ [0002], and ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0097]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Takahashi and Sung to enable the second insulating layer to cover an end portion of the first pixel electrode and an end portion of the second pixel electrode as taught by Sung in order to obtain a display device with improved reliability by protecting a light-emitting element with an encapsulation layer.
Regarding Claim 5: Takahashi discloses a display device as applied to claim 4 above. Takahashi is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a second insulating layer that covers an end portion of the first pixel electrode and an end portion of the third pixel electrode.
For support see Sung, which teaches wherein a second insulating layer (OL) that covers an end portion of the first pixel electrode (AE) and an end portion of the third pixel electrode (AE) (see Sung, Figs.2-3 as shown above, ¶ [0002], and ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0097]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Takahashi and Sung to enable the second insulating layer to cover an end portion of the first pixel electrode and an end portion of the third pixel electrode as taught by Sung in order to obtain a display device with improved reliability by protecting a light-emitting element with an encapsulation layer.
Regarding Claim 6: Takahashi discloses a display device as applied to claim 4 above. Takahashi is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a second insulating layer that covers an end portion of the first pixel electrode, an end portion of the second pixel electrode, and an end portion of the third pixel electrode.
For support see Sung, which teaches wherein a second insulating layer (OL) that covers an end portion of the first pixel electrode (AE), an end portion of the second pixel electrode (AE), and an end portion of the third pixel electrode (AE) (see Sung, Figs.2-3 as shown above, ¶ [0002], and ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0097]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Takahashi and Sung to enable the second insulating layer to cover an end portion of the first pixel electrode, an end portion of the second pixel electrode, and an end portion of the third pixel electrode as taught by Sung in order to obtain a display device with improved reliability by protecting a light-emitting element with an encapsulation layer.
Regarding Claim 7: Takahashi discloses a display device as applied to claim 1 above. Takahashi is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the first insulating layer comprises a first layer and a second layer over the first layer,
wherein the first layer comprises an inorganic material, and
wherein the second layer comprises an organic material.
For support see Sung, which teaches wherein the first insulating layer (PDL) comprises a first layer (BFL) and a second layer (OL) over the first layer (BFL) (see Sung, Figs.2-3 as shown above, ¶ [0002], and ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0097]),
wherein the first layer (BFL) comprises an inorganic material (see Sung, Figs.2-3 as shown above, ¶ [0002], and ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0097]), and
wherein the second layer (OL) comprises an organic material (see Sung, Figs.2-3 as shown above, ¶ [0002], and ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0097]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Takahashi and Sung to enable the first insulating layer to comprise a first layer and a second layer over the first layer, wherein the first layer comprises an inorganic material, and wherein the second layer comprises an organic material as taught by Sung in order to obtain a display device with improved reliability by protecting a light-emitting element with an encapsulation layer.
Regarding Claim 8: Takahashi as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 7 as above. The combination of Takahashi and Sung further teaches wherein the common electrode (AED) is positioned over the second layer (OL) (see Sung, Figs.2-3 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 9: Takahashi discloses a display device as applied to claim 4 above. Takahashi is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the first insulating layer comprises a first layer and a second layer over the first layer,
wherein the first layer comprises an inorganic material, and
wherein the second layer comprises an organic material.
For support see Sung, which teaches wherein the first insulating layer (PDL) comprises a first layer (BFL) and a second layer (OL) over the first layer (see Sung, Figs.2-3 as shown above, ¶ [0002], and ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0097]),
wherein the first layer (BFL) comprises an inorganic material (see Sung, Figs.2-3 as shown above, ¶ [0002], and ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0097]), and
wherein the second layer (OL) comprises an organic material (see Sung, Figs.2-3 as shown above, ¶ [0002], and ¶ [0095]- ¶ [0097]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Takahashi and Sung to enable the first insulating layer to comprise a first layer and a second layer over the first layer, wherein the first layer comprises an inorganic material, and wherein the second layer comprises an organic material as taught by Sung in order to obtain a display device with improved reliability by protecting a light-emitting element with an encapsulation layer.
Regarding Claim 10: Takahashi as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 9 as above. The combination of Takahashi and Sung further teaches wherein the common electrode (AED) is positioned over the second layer (OL) (see Sung, Figs.2-3 as shown above).
Conclusion
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812