DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/23/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chida US 2019/0392786.
Re Claim 1, Chida teaches an electronic device (fig14 and 23) comprising:
a first display device (255/250b, fig14 and 23, [179, 267]) and a second display device (250a, fig14 and 23, [179, 267]),
wherein the first display device (255/250b, fig14 and 23, [179, 267]) comprises a first display portion (bottom layer of region 262A/B with 257, fig14A/B and 20B, [179, 245]),
wherein the second display device (250a, fig14 and 23, [179, 267]) comprises a second display portion (top layer of region 262A/B with 252, fig12A, 14A/B and 20B, [165, 245]),
wherein a plurality of first pixels (257, fig14A, [179]) are arranged in the first display portion,
wherein a plurality of second pixels (252, fig12A and 14, [165]) are arranged in the second display portion,
wherein the first display device (255/250b, fig14 and 23, [179, 267]) overlaps with the second display device (250a, fig14 and 23, [179, 267]),
wherein the second display portion (top layer of region 262A/B with 252, fig12A, 14A/B and 20B, [165, 245]) is provided to surround at least part of the first display portion (bottom layer of region 262A/B with 257, fig14A/B and 20B, [179, 245]), and
wherein an area occupied by each of the first pixels (257, fig14A, [179]) is smaller than an area occupied by each of the second pixels (252, fig12A and 14, [165]).
Re Claim 2, Chida teaches an electronic device (fig14 and 23) comprising:
a first display device (255/250b, fig14 and 23, [179, 267]) and a second display device (250a, fig14 and 23, [179, 267]),
wherein the first display device (255/250b, fig14 and 23, [179, 267]) comprises a first substrate (301 or 311 used for lower level 255, fig14 and 23, [209, 260]), a first display portion (bottom layer of region 262A/B with 257, fig14A/B and 20B, [179, 245]) over the first substrate, and a second substrate (390 or 302, fig23, [264, 266]) over the first display portion,
wherein the second display device (250a, fig14 and 23, [179, 267]) comprises a third substrate (311 used for upper level 250a, fig14 and 23, [209]), a second display portion (top layer of region 262A/B with 252, fig12A, 14A/B and 20B, [165, 245]) over the third substrate, and a fourth substrate (303, fig23, [270]) over the second display portion,
wherein a plurality of first pixels (257, fig14A, [179]) are arranged in the first display portion,
wherein a plurality of second pixels (252, fig12A and 14, [165]) are arranged in the second display portion,
wherein the second substrate (390 or 302, fig23, [264, 266]) overlaps with the third substrate (311 used for upper level 250a, fig14 and 23, [209]),
wherein the second substrate (390 or 302, fig23, [264, 266]), the third substrate (311 used for upper level 250a, fig14 and 23, [209]), and the fourth substrate (303, fig23, [270]) transmit light emitted from the first pixel (fig14),
wherein the second display portion (top layer of region 262A/B with 252, fig12A, 14A/B and 20B, [165, 245]) is provided to surround at least part of the first display portion (bottom layer of region 262A/B with 257, fig14A/B and 20B, [179, 245]) in a plan view (fig14B2), and
wherein an area occupied by each of the first pixels (257, fig14A, [179]) is smaller than an area occupied by each of the second pixels (252, fig12A and 14, [165]).
Re Claim 3, Chida teaches the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein the first substrate is a semiconductor substrate (311 used for lower level 255, fig14 and 23, [209]).
Re Claim 4, Chida teaches the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein a thickness of the third substrate (311 used for upper level 250a, fig14 and 23, [209]) is smaller than a thickness of the first substrate (301, 23, [260]).
Re Claim 5, Chida teaches the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein the third substrate has flexibility (311 formed using a flexible material used for upper level 250a, fig14 and 23, [209]).
Re Claim 6, Chida teaches the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein an adhesive layer (adhesive bond 311 to support substrate, fig23, [260]) is provided between the second substrate (302, fig23, [266]) and the third substrate (311 used for upper level 250a, fig14 and 23, [209]).
Re Claim 7, Chida teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the second display portion includes a region not overlapping with the first display portion (outer peripheral region of 262A/B with 250a not overlapping 255, fig14B1 and 14B2).
Re Claim 8, Chida teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the second display device (250a, fig14 and 23, [179, 267]) further comprises a third display portion (center part of upper level 250a covering region with 255 at lower level, fig14B1, 20B and 23, [245, 251]), wherein the third display portion overlaps with the first display portion (center region of 205a overlap lower region with 255, fig14B1 and 14B2), and wherein the third display portion transmits light emitted from the first pixel (fig14B2).
Re Claim 10, Chida teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the first pixel comprises a first light-emitting element (370 of lower layer, fig20B and 23, [245]), wherein the second pixel comprises a second light-emitting element (370 of upper layer, fig20B and 23, [245]), wherein the first light-emitting element comprises a first pixel electrode (344a of lower layer, fig20B and 23, [242]) and a first EL layer (371 of lower layer, fig20B and 23, [245]) over the first pixel electrode, wherein the first EL layer covers an end portion of the first pixel electrode (371 covers left end of 344a, fig20B and 23), wherein the second light-emitting element comprises a second pixel electrode (344a of upper layer, fig20B and 23, [242]) and a second EL layer (371 of upper layer, fig20B and 23, [245]) over the second pixel electrode, and wherein an insulating layer (325, fig20B and 23, [242]) covering an end portion of the second pixel electrode (344a of upper layer, fig20B and 23, [242]) is provided between the second pixel electrode (344a of upper layer, fig20B and 23, [242]) and the second EL layer (371 of upper layer, fig20B and 23, [245]).
Re claim 11, Chida teaches the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein the second display portion includes a region not overlapping with the first display portion (outer peripheral part of 250a not overlapping with region with 255, fig14B1 and 14B2).
Re claim 12, Chida teaches the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein the second display device further comprises a third display portion (center part of 250a overlapping with 255, fig14B1), wherein the third display portion overlaps with the first display portion, and wherein the third display portion transmits light emitted from the first pixel (fig14B2).
Re claim 14, Chida teaches the electronic device according to claim 2, wherein the first pixel comprises a first light-emitting element (370 of lower layer, fig20B and 23, [245]), wherein the second pixel comprises a second light-emitting element (370 of upper layer, fig20B and 23, [245]), wherein the first light-emitting element comprises a first pixel electrode (344a of lower layer, fig20B and 23, [242]) and a first EL layer (371 of lower layer, fig20B and 23, [245]) over the first pixel electrode, wherein the first EL layer covers an end portion of the first pixel electrode (371 covers left end of 344a, fig20B and 23), wherein the second light-emitting element comprises a second pixel electrode (344a of upper layer, fig20B and 23, [242]) and a second EL layer (371 of upper layer, fig20B and 23, [245]) over the second pixel electrode, and wherein an insulating layer (325, fig20B and 23, [242]) covering an end portion of the second pixel electrode (344a of upper layer, fig20B and 23, [242]) is provided between the second pixel electrode (344a of upper layer, fig20B and 23, [242]) and the second EL layer (371 of upper layer, fig20B and 23, [245]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chida US 2019/0392786 in view of Kurokawa US 2018/0096648.
Re Claim 9, Chida teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, a first source driver circuit (280 connected with lower level, fig17A, [194]), and a second source driver circuit (280 connected with upper level, fig17A, [194]), wherein the first source driver circuit is electrically connected to the first pixel (fig17A), wherein the second source driver circuit is electrically connected to the second pixel (fig17A).
Chida does not explicitly show wherein the electronic device further comprises a communication circuit, a control circuit wherein the communication circuit has a function of receiving is configured to receive image data, and wherein the control circuit has a function of generating is configured to generate first data representing luminance of light emitted from the first pixel and second data representing luminance of light emitted from the second pixel in accordance with the image data, and supplying to supply the first data to the first source driver circuit and the second data to the second source driver circuit.
Kurokawa teaches wherein the electronic device further comprises a communication circuit (152, fig4, [87]), a control circuit (160, fig4, [88]), wherein the communication circuit has a function of receiving is configured to receive image data ([87]), and wherein the control circuit has a function of generating is configured to generate data representing luminance of light emitted from the pixel in accordance with the image data ([88]), and supplying to supply the data to the source driver circuit (180, fig4, [84]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Chida and Kurokawa to add an controller IC connected with the first and second driver circuit. The motivation to do so is to improve display, reduce power consumption and correct color tones for the display (Kurokawa, [99-101]).
Re claim 13, Chida teaches the electronic device according to claim 2, a first source driver circuit (280 connected with lower level, fig17A, [194]), and a second source driver circuit (280 connected with upper level, fig17A, [194]), wherein the first source driver circuit is electrically connected to the first pixel (fig17A), wherein the second source driver circuit is electrically connected to the second pixel (fig17A).
Chida does not explicitly show wherein the electronic device further comprises a communication circuit, a control circuit, wherein the communication circuit is configured to receive image data, and wherein the control circuit is configured to generate first data representing luminance of light emitted from the first pixel and second data representing luminance of light emitted from the second pixel in accordance with the image data, and to supply the first data to the first source driver circuit and the second data to the second source driver circuit.
Kurokawa teaches wherein the electronic device further comprises a communication circuit (152, fig4, [87]), a control circuit (160, fig4, [88]), wherein the communication circuit has a function of receiving is configured to receive image data ([87]), and wherein the control circuit has a function of generating is configured to generate data representing luminance of light emitted from the pixel in accordance with the image data ([88]), and supplying to supply the data to the source driver circuit (180, fig4, [84]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Chida and Kurokawa to add an controller IC connected with the first and second driver circuit. The motivation to do so is to improve display, reduce power consumption and correct color tones for the display (Kurokawa, [99-101]).
Conclusion
/XIAOMING LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2812