DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“multiple processing liquid flow path forming mechanisms” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goradia et al. (US Pub 20180128733 A1)(hereinafter, “Goradia”) in view of Norikazu et al. (WO 2020071273 A1)(hereinafter, “Norikazu”).
Regarding claim 1, Goradia teaches a foreign substance detection device configured to detect a foreign substance contained in a processing liquid configured to process a substrate(discloses detection of nanoparticles, contaminants in a processing liquid used for semiconductor substrates, [0023] and [0047]), the foreign substance detection device (100) comprising:
a radiator (laser 102/312) configured to radiate radiation light (108) from a light source (102) (discloses a laser emitting radiation light 108 to irradiate a flowing liquid, [0027] and [0038-0039]); and
a light receiver (114/116/ICCD/EMCCD) configured to receive light (scattered light 110) emitted from the processing liquid (140/302) flow paths by radiating the radiation light(incident light 108 from a laser 102 is directed to the sample cell 104, [0027]),
wherein the radiator (laser 102/312) comprises a light adjuster(beam attenuator 316/ neutral density filters, [0038]) configured to adjust a light amount of the radiation light radiated to the processing liquid flow path (“creating an empty volume 344 for the liquid to flow through “, [0037], “the excitation beam 314 is then directed…the microfluidic flow cell 302”, [0039]).
Goradia fails to disclose multiple processing liquid flow path forming mechanisms configured to form multiple processing liquid flow paths through which the processing liquid to be supplied to the substrate flows; and multiple processing liquid flow paths.
Norikazu teaches multiple processing liquid flow path forming mechanisms (microchannels A62, containers A64, mixing mechanism, A65, page 18, lines 1-19) configured to form multiple processing liquid flow paths through which the processing liquid to be supplied to the substrate flows (discloses “the microchannel is a first microchannel…and a second microchannel”, “first container… second container”, and “mixing mechanism that mixes the measurement target substance and a solution”, page 18, lines 6-14); and multiple processing liquid flow paths (“a first microchannel extending along the optical path of, and a second micropath including at least a part of the second optical path of the light emitted from the second light source”, page 18, lines 4-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate multiple processing liquid flow path forming mechanisms of Norikazu to Goradia to improve measurement accuracy (page 8, lines 27-33).
Regarding claim 2, Goradia teaches the radiator (laser 102/312) to radiate the radiation light (108) toward processing liquid flow path(“creating an empty volume 344 for the liquid to flow through “, [0037], “the excitation beam 314 is then directed…the microfluidic flow cell 302”, [0039]), and
the light adjuster (beam attenuator 316/ neutral density filters, [0038]) is provided on an optical path toward the processing liquid flow path(“creating an empty volume 344 for the liquid to flow through “, [0037], “the excitation beam 314 is then directed…the microfluidic flow cell 302”, [0039]).
Goradia fails to disclose the radiator is moved relative to the multiple processing liquid flow paths to radiate the radiation light toward each of the multiple processing liquid flow paths.
Norikazu teaches the radiator (A62, A63) is moved relative to the multiple processing liquid flow paths (A33-A35) to radiate the radiation light toward each of the multiple processing liquid flow paths (“a first microchannel extending along the optical path of, and a second micropath including at least a part of the second optical path of the light emitted from the second light source”, page 18, lines 4-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate multiple processing liquid flow paths of Norikazu to Goradia to improve measurement accuracy (page 8, lines 27-33).
Regarding claim 3, Goradia teaches light received by the light receiver (114/116/ICCD/EMCCD) and the light adjuster (beam attenuator 316/ neutral density filters, [0038])) adjusts the light amount([0038]).
Goradia fails to teach wherein, under a condition that intensity of a haze noise component, which fluctuates according to intensity of the radiation light, does not fall below intensity of a steady noise component, among noise components included in light received by the light receiver when the radiation light is radiated to one of the multiple processing liquid flow paths, that occurs regardless of the intensity of the radiation light, the light adjuster adjusts the light amount of the radiation light to be radiated to the one processing liquid flow path such that the intensity of the haze noise component becomes close to the intensity of the steady noise component.
Norikazu teaches wherein, under a condition that intensity of a haze noise component (discloses photodiode-based detection in which the output is proportional to the intensity of received light, inherently includes intensity-dependent components, page 11, lines 26-28), which fluctuates according to intensity of the radiation light(“the arithmetic circuit 350 can calculate the absorbance and the like by comparing the output signal of the light receiver 322 with the intensity of light when there is no measurement target substance 331”, page 5, lines 24-25), does not fall below intensity of a steady noise component, among noise components included in light received by the light receiver (“from the output of the light receiver 322, the intensity of the light received by the light receiver 322 can be obtained”, “the measurement information…is the sum of the information of the color forming substance… and the information based on the baseline”, page 5, lines 21-24 and page 11, lines 1-4) when the radiation light is radiated to one of the multiple processing liquid flow paths, that occurs regardless of the intensity of the radiation light (discloses intensity-independent noise component, “the baseline measurement in the second measurement optical path”, page 9, line 25, “the measurement information of the substance to be obtained is the information obtained by subtracting the information obtained by the baseline measurement”, page 11, lines 4-5), the light adjuster (A08, A09, A33/A34/A35) adjusts the light amount of the radiation light(“the light sources may be turned on sequentially or alternately so that light from one light source passes through the flow path at some point”, page 10, lines 20-22) to be radiated to the one processing liquid flow path (discloses each flow path is measured individually, light irradiation is applied per channel, page 10, lines 1-13) such that the intensity of the haze noise(light intensity dependent photodiode output) component becomes close to the intensity of the steady noise (background noise) component (“may be obtained based on the output of the light receiver, without calculating the absorbance”, page 15, lines 27-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate controller based automatic light control, baseline signal handling, and closed-loop feedback of Norikazu to Goradia to reduce intensity dependent noise and improve measurement accuracy (page 8, lines 27-33).
Regarding claim 4, Goradia teaches a controller configured to acquire an electric signal according to the intensity of the light received by the light receiver(discloses detectors 114/116 collect light; signals projected onto the ICCD/EMCCD for measurement, [0028] and [0039-0040]), and
the light adjuster (beam attenuator 316/ neutral density filters, [0038]) adjusts the light amount ([0038]).
Goradia fails to disclose wherein the controller estimates the intensity of the steady noise component and the intensity of the haze noise component based on the electric signal corresponding to the light received by the light receiver when the radiation light is radiated to the one processing liquid flow path; the light adjuster adjusts the light amount of the radiation light to be radiated to the one processing liquid flow path based on an estimation result in the controller such that the intensity of the haze noise component, which fluctuates according to the intensity of the radiation light, becomes close to the intensity of the steady noise component.
Norikazu teaches wherein the controller (discloses a controller that receives detector signals, controls light emission, and signal-based control, “further comprising: a controller for a second light receiver that controls so that the light emission amount of is substantially constant over time”, “a receiver controller configured to receive information about the brightness measured by the receiver”, page 17, lines 11-15) estimates the intensity of the steady noise (background noise) component and the intensity of the haze noise (light intensity dependent photodiode output) component based on the electric signal corresponding to the light received by the light receiver when the radiation light is radiated to the one processing liquid flow path (discloses intensity-independent noise component, “the baseline measurement in the second measurement optical path”, page 9, line 25, “the measurement information of the substance to be obtained is the information obtained by subtracting the information obtained by the baseline measurement”, page 11, lines 4-5); the light adjuster (A08, A09, A33/A34/A35) adjusts the light amount of the radiation light (“the light sources may be turned on sequentially or alternately so that light from one light source passes through the flow path at some point”, page 10, lines 20-22) to be radiated to the one processing liquid flow path (discloses each flow path is measured individually, light irradiation is applied per channel, page 10, lines 1-13) based on an estimation result (“the measurement information of the substance to be obtained is the information obtained by subtracting the information obtained by the baseline measurement”, page 11, lines 4-5 and lines 11-19) in the controller such that the intensity of the haze noise component(discloses photodiode-based detection in which the output is proportional to the intensity of received light, inherently includes intensity-dependent components, page 11, lines 26-28), which fluctuates according to the intensity of the radiation light(“the arithmetic circuit 350 can calculate the absorbance and the like by comparing the output signal of the light receiver 322 with the intensity of light when there is no measurement target substance 331”, page 5, lines 24-25), becomes close to the intensity of the steady noise (background noise) component (“may be obtained based on the output of the light receiver, without calculating the absorbance”, page 15, lines 27-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate the controller of Norikazu to Goradia to reduce intensity dependent noise and improve measurement accuracy (page 8, lines 27-33).
Regarding claim 5, Goradia fails to disclose wherein the controller estimates the intensity of the steady noise component and the intensity of the haze noise component from the electric signal corresponding to the light received by the light receiver when different light amounts of the radiation light are radiated to the one processing liquid flow path.
Norikazu teaches wherein the controller (discloses a controller that receives detector signals, controls light emission, and signal-based control, “further comprising: a controller for a second light receiver that controls so that the light emission amount of is substantially constant over time”, “a receiver controller configured to receive information about the brightness measured by the receiver”, page 17, lines 11-15) estimates the intensity of the steady noise (background noise) component and the intensity of the haze noise (light intensity dependent photodiode output) component from the electric signal corresponding to the light received (“the light receivers 922a, 922b, 922c of the measuring device of FIG. 9 are diodes, and the output is a current…the current value is proportional or related to the intensity of the input light”, page 11, lines 26-28) by the light receiver when different light amounts of the radiation light are radiated (discloses radiates different light amounts, temporally and spectrally, page 17, lines 12 and 33-37) to the one processing liquid flow path (discloses each flow path is measured individually, light irradiation is applied per channel, page 10, lines 1-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate the controller of Norikazu to Goradia to reduce intensity dependent noise and improve measurement accuracy (page 8, lines 27-33).
Regarding claim 6, Goradia teaches a foreign substance detection method in a foreign substance detection device configured to detect a foreign substance contained in a processing liquid configured to process a substrate (discloses detection of nanoparticles, contaminants in a processing liquid used for semiconductor substrates, [0023] and [0047]), the foreign substance detection method comprising:
radiating, by a radiator (laser 102/312), radiation light (108) from a light source (102, discloses a laser emitting radiation light 108 to irradiate a flowing liquid, [0027] and [0038-0039]); and
receiving, by a light receiver (114/116/ICCD/EMCCD), light emitted from the processing liquid (140/302) flow paths by radiating the radiation light (incident light 108 from a laser 102 is directed to the sample cell 104, [0027]),
wherein the radiator varies, by a light adjuster (beam attenuator 316/ neutral density filters, [0038]), a light amount of the radiation light to be radiated to the processing liquid flow path (“creating an empty volume 344 for the liquid to flow through “, [0037], “the excitation beam 314 is then directed…the microfluidic flow cell 302”, [0039]).
Goradia fails to disclose multiple processing liquid flow paths through which the processing liquid to be supplied to the substrate flows and multiple processing liquid flow paths.
Norikazu teaches multiple processing liquid flow path forming mechanisms (microchannels A62, containers A64, mixing mechanism, A65, page 18, lines 1-19) configured to form multiple processing liquid flow paths through which the processing liquid to be supplied to the substrate flows (discloses “the microchannel is a first microchannel…and a second microchannel”, “first container… second container”, and “mixing mechanism that mixes the measurement target substance and a solution”, page 18, lines 6-14); and multiple processing liquid flow paths (“a first microchannel extending along the optical path of, and a second micropath including at least a part of the second optical path of the light emitted from the second light source”, page 18, lines 4-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate multiple processing liquid flow path forming mechanisms of Norikazu to Goradia to improve measurement accuracy (page 8, lines 27-33).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA I XING/ Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/Kara E. Geisel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877