DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is a non-final office action for application 18/725,882 filed on 01 July 2024. Claims 1-17 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because the limitation claiming “the silicon-based active material” does not have sufficient antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, this will be interpreted as “the silicon-containing active material”.
Claims 2-17 are indefinite by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US-20230115059-A1), hereinafter “Zhang”, in view of Lee et al. (US-9843034-B2), hereinafter “Lee”, and Schramm (US-11233232-B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang discloses a negative electrode (the electrode piece is a negative electrode piece; see [0015]) for a lithium secondary battery ( the battery may be a coiled lithium-ion battery; see [0049]), the negative electrode comprising: a negative electrode current collector layer (both surfaces of the current collector 1 are provided with the functional layer; see [0047]); a primer coating layer (bottom coating layer 2; see [0025]) on at least one surface of the negative electrode current collector layer (bottom coating layer (or safety coating layer) has a high adhesion force to the surface of the current collector; see [0025]), the primer coating layer comprising a primer coating layer composition (raw materials of the bottom coating layer 2 includes an active material, a binder and a conductive agent; see [0025]); and a negative electrode active material layer (an active material layer 3; see [0025]) on a surface of the primer coating layer opposite to a surface of the primer coating layer facing the negative electrode current collector layer in a thickness direction (the bottom coating layer 2 is located between a surface of the current collector 1 and the active material layer 3; see [0025] and Fig. 1), wherein the negative electrode active material layer comprises a negative electrode active material layer composition comprising a silicon-containing active material (the active material may include at least one of silicon material, silicon oxide material, silicon carbon material; see [0036]), a negative electrode conductive material, and a negative electrode binder (raw materials of the active material layer 3 includes an active material, a binder and a conductive agent; see [0025]), the silicon-containing active material comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of SiOx, wherein x=0, and SiOx, wherein0<x<2 (the active material may include at least one of silicon material, silicon oxide material; see [0036]), the primer coating layer composition comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of a binder and a conductive material (raw materials of the bottom coating layer 2 includes an active material, a binder and a conductive agent; see [0025]), the negative electrode active material layer has a porosity of 50% or greater (the active material layer 3 is a porous structure with a porosity of 25%-50%; see [0033]).
Zhang does not explicitly teach that the active material comprises 95 parts by weight or more of the Si on the basis of 100 parts by weight of the silicon-containing active material. However, Schramm discloses wherein a negative electrode active material comprises 95 parts by weight or more of the SiOx, wherein x=0, on the basis of 100 parts by weight of the silicon-containing active material (the silicon-based active material is an active material that contains preferably 100 wt% silicon, in each case based on the total weight of the active material; see Col. 3 Lines 34-41).
Zhang and Schramm are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of negative electrodes. Using an active material with 95 wt% of Si, as disclosed by Schramm, would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art because Schramm offers the motivation of a long-lasting electrode (see Col. 3 Lines 57-59).
Zhang does not explicitly teach a particle size. However, Lee discloses wherein a silicon-containing active material comprised in the negative electrode active material layer has a D50 particle size of 5 µm or greater (an average particle diameter (D50) of the porous silicon based anode active material is in a range of 100 nm to 50 µm; see Col. 5 Lines 58-60).
Zhang and Lee are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of negative electrode active material. Incorporating an average particle size of 100 nm to 50 µm, as disclosed by Lee, would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Lee offers the motivation of ensuring a uniform volume expansion and uniform electrode configuration (see Col. 6 Lines 6-13).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang, Schramm, and Lee together disclose the negative electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1. Lee further discloses wherein the porosity of the negative electrode active material layer is 60% or greater and 90% or less (An internal porosity of the porous silicon-based anode active material is in a range of 5% to 90%; see Col. 6 Lines 55-57). Incorporating this feature would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Lee offers the motivation of suppressing volume expansion during charge and discharge while also maintaining desired mechanical strength (see Col. 7 Lines 4-10).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhang, Schramm, and Lee together disclose the negative electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1. Lee further discloses wherein the silicon-containing active material comprised in the negative electrode active material layer has a D50 particle size of 8 µm or greater and 15 µm or less (an average particle diameter (D50) of the porous silicon based anode active material is in a range of 100 nm to 50 µm; see Col. 5 Lines 58-60). MPEP 2144.05.I states that in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Incorporating this feature would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art because Lee offers the motivation of ensuring a uniform volume expansion and uniform electrode configuration (see Col. 6 Lines 6-13).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhang, Schramm, and Lee together disclose the negative electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1. Schramm further discloses wherein the silicon-containing active material is comprised in an amount of 80 parts by weight or more on a basis of 100 parts by weight of the negative electrode active material layer composition (the silicon-based negative electrode is an electrode containing at least 80 wt% silicon based on the total weight of the electrode material; see Col. 5 Lines 50-56). Incorporating this feature would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Schramm offers the motivation of silicon having low production cost and having a high capacity (see Col. 1 Lines 32-37).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhang, Schramm, and Lee together disclose the negative electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the negative electrode conductive material comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of a point-like conductive material, a linear conductive material, and a planar conductive material (the conductive agent may include at least one of carbon black, carbon fiber, carbon nanotube, graphite, graphene, metal material and conductive ceramic material; see [0035]).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang, Schramm, and Lee together disclose the negative electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the binder is comprised in an amount of 10 parts by weight or more and 100 parts by weight or less, on a basis of 100 parts by weight of the primer coating layer composition (among the raw materials of the bottom coating layer 2, a mass content of the active material is 49-94%; and/or, a mass content of the binder is 4-50%; see [0034]).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhang, Schramm, and Lee together disclose the negative electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1. The limitation claiming, “wherein an adhesion of a surface of the negative electrode active material layer facing the primer coating layer to the primer coating layer is 100 gf/5 mm or greater and 500gf/5mm or less under conditions of 25oC and atmospheric pressure” is physical/chemical property that occurs as a consequence of the structure under specific operating conditions, but does not actually further limit the structure of the apparatus. Because Zhang modified by Schramm and Lee together disclose the structural limitations required by claim 1, the properties exhibited by that structure will be the same as those of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang Schramm, and Lee together disclose a lithium secondary battery comprising: a positive electrode; the negative electrode for a lithium secondary battery (according to a conventional coiling process of lithium battery, a coiled battery was made by using the positive electrode piece and the negative electrode piece; see Zhang [0058]) of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection); a separator between the positive electrode and the negative electrode (The battery also includes a separator located between the positive electrode piece and the negative electrode piece; see Zhang [0045]); and an electrolyte (electrolyte used can all be conventional materials in this field and these will not be repeated; see Zhang [0050]).
Regarding Claim 11, Zhang, Schramm, and Lee together disclose the negative electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1. Zhang further discloses wherein the primer coating layer is present on both surfaces of the negative electrode current collector layer (The functional layer above includes a bottom coating layer 2… the function layer can only be arranged on the first surface of the current collector 1, or the function layer also can be arranged on a second surface opposite to the first surface at the same time; see [0025]-[0027]).
Regarding Claim 12, Zhang, Schramm, and Lee together disclose the negative electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1. Lee further discloses wherein the porosity of the negative electrode active material layer is 55% or greater and 90% or less (An internal porosity of the porous silicon-based anode active material is in a range of 5% to 90%; see Col. 6 Lines 55-57). Incorporating this feature would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Lee offers the motivation of suppressing volume expansion during charge and discharge while also maintaining desired mechanical strength (see Col. 7 Lines 4-10).
Regarding Claim 13, Zhang, Schramm, and Lee together disclose the negative electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1. Lee further discloses wherein the porosity of the negative electrode active material layer is 55% or greater and 63% or less (An internal porosity of the porous silicon-based anode active material is in a range of 5% to 90%; see Col. 6 Lines 55-57). Incorporating this feature would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Lee offers the motivation of suppressing volume expansion during charge and discharge while also maintaining desired mechanical strength (see Col. 7 Lines 4-10).
Regarding Claim 14, Zhang, Schramm, and Lee together disclose the negative electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1. Lee further discloses wherein the D50 particle size of the silicon-containing active material comprised in the negative electrode active material layer is 5 µm or greater and 15 µm or less (an average particle diameter (D50) of the porous silicon based anode active material is in a range of 100 nm to 50 µm; see Col. 5 Lines 58-60). MPEP 2144.05.I states that in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Incorporating this feature would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art because Lee offers the motivation of ensuring a uniform volume expansion and uniform electrode configuration (see Col. 6 Lines 6-13).
Regarding Claim 15, Zhang, Schramm, and Lee together disclose the negative electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1. Lee further discloses wherein the D50 particle size of the silicon-containing active material comprised in the negative electrode active material layer is 5 µm or greater and 12 µm or less (an average particle diameter (D50) of the porous silicon based anode active material is in a range of 100 nm to 50 µm; see Col. 5 Lines 58-60). MPEP 2144.05.I states that in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Incorporating this feature would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art because Lee offers the motivation of ensuring a uniform volume expansion and uniform electrode configuration (see Col. 6 Lines 6-13).
Regarding Claim 16, Zhang, Schramm, and Lee together disclose the negative electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1. Schramm further discloses wherein the silicon-containing active material is comprised in an amount of 85 parts by weight or more on a basis of 100 parts by weight of the negative electrode active material layer composition. (the silicon-based negative electrode is an electrode containing at least 80 wt% silicon based on the total weight of the electrode material; see Col. 5 Lines 50-56). MPEP 2144.05.I states that in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Incorporating this feature would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Schramm offers the motivation of silicon having low production cost and having a high capacity (see Col. 1 Lines 32-37).
Regarding Claim 17, Zhang, Schramm, and Lee together disclose the negative electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1. Schramm further discloses wherein the silicon-containing active material is comprised in an amount of 89 parts by weight or more on a basis of 100 parts by weight of the negative electrode active material layer composition. (the silicon-based negative electrode is an electrode containing at least 80 wt% silicon based on the total weight of the electrode material; see Col. 5 Lines 50-56). MPEP 2144.05.I states that in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Incorporating this feature would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Schramm offers the motivation of silicon having low production cost and having a high capacity (see Col. 1 Lines 32-37).
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US-20230115059-A1), hereinafter “Zhang”, in view of Lee et al. (US-9843034-B2), hereinafter “Lee”, Schramm (US-11233232-B2), and Song (KR-102359813-B1).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhang, Schramm, and Lee together disclose the negative electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1.
Zhang does not explicitly teach the primer coating layer thickness as being between 1nm and 1 µm. However, Song discloses wherein a thickness of the primer coating layer is 1nm or greater and 1 µm or less (The thickness of the primer layer having such a configuration may be 0.1 μm to 2 μm, specifically 0.1 μm to 1 μm; see [0028]).
Zhang and Song are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of negative electrodes. Configuring the coating layer to have a thickness between 0.1 μm to 1 μm, as disclosed by Song, would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Song offers the motivation of excellent energy density per volume of the battery, better adhesion and better electronic conductivity (see [0030]).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang, Schramm, and Lee together disclose the negative electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1. Zhang does not explicitly teach a thickness of the current collector or negative electrode active material layer. However, Song discloses wherein a thickness of the negative electrode current collector layer (The current collector may have various forms such as a film, a sheet, a foil; see [0054]) is 1 μm or greater and 100 μm or less (copper foil having a thickness of 40 μm; see [0074]), and a thickness of the negative electrode active material layer is 20 μm or greater and 500 μm or less (Meanwhile, since the negative electrode mixture layer includes a negative electrode active material exhibiting a substantial capacity, the thickness of the negative electrode mixture layer may be relatively much thick, specifically, 20 μm to 200 μm; see [0035]). Incorporating these features would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Song offers the motivation of having conductivity without causing a chemical change in the battery, and having a low manufacturing cost while having sufficient capacity, respectively.
Conclusion
/A.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1774
/CLAIRE X WANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1774