DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of
the invention specified in the claims. The invention is directed to a production method including adding an adhesive material to a surface of a first sealing material, irradiating the adhesive material with ultraviolet rays, peeling off the adhesive material, then providing the second member. It is unclear where the adhesive material is added on the first sealing material, and how the adhesive material is peeled off when being on three sides of more of the first sealing material. Therefore, the adhesive material and the intermediate step of peeling off the adhesive material of claims 1-4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation "an adhesive material" in Line L5, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “an adhesive material” (Line L5) refers to a new adhesive material or the “adhesive material” previously cited in Claim 1 Line L3. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “an adhesive material” has been interpretated as a second adhesive material.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation "the adhesive material" in Line L6, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the adhesive material” (Line L6) refers to a new adhesive material or the “adhesive material” previously cited in Claim 1 Line L3. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the adhesive material” has been interpretated as the second adhesive material.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation "the adhesive material" in Line L10, renders the claim indefinite because the antecedent basis is unclear as to whether “the adhesive material” (Line L10) refers to a new adhesive material or the “adhesive material” previously cited in Claim 1 Line L3. In the purpose of compact prosecution, “the adhesive material” has been interpretated as the second adhesive material.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pei et al. (US20220122926A1-Pei26) EFD 2019.
Regarding claim 1, Pei26 discloses a production method for a semiconductor package, the method comprising:
adhering an adhesive material to a surface of a first sealing material (first sealing material 142 formed on adhesive material 104 so adhering adhesive material 104 to first sealing material 142-Fig 1C, [0033] L1-2);
peeling off the adhesive material from the surface of the first sealing material (peeling off adhesive material 104 from the surface of first sealing material 142-Fig 1D, [0044] L1-4); and
providing a second member to the surface of the first sealing material from which the adhesive material was peeled off (providing second member 174 to the surface of first sealing material 142 from which the adhesive material was peeled off-Fig 1H, [0072] L1-6).
Regarding claim 2, Pei26 discloses all the steps of claim 1, as noted above.
Pei26 further discloses a production method
wherein the second member is a second sealing material (second member 174 being a protection layer covering top surface of first sealing material 142-Fig 1H,[0072] L 1-6), and
the providing the second member to the surface of the first sealing material from which the adhesive material was peeled off is performed by molding a curable resin composition on the surface of the first sealing material (second member 174 being curable resin benzocyclobutene so molding a curable resin composition on the surface of first sealing material 142-[0065] L5-6, Fig 1H).
Regarding claim 3, Pei26 discloses all the steps of claim 1, as noted above.
Pei26 further discloses a production method
wherein the adhesive material is a UV peelable adhesive material (adhesive material 104 being an ultra-violet (UV) glue, which loses its adhesive property when exposed to UV lights so being a UV peelable adhesive material-[0023] L 14-16), and
the production method further comprising: irradiating the adhesive material with ultraviolet rays before the adhesive material is peeled off from the surface of the first sealing material (adhesive material 104 de-bonding of the substrate 102 from first sealing material 142 so peeled off from the surface of the first sealing material, adhesive material 104 being an ultra-violet (UV) glue, which loses its adhesive property when exposed to UV lights so requiring irradiating adhesive material 104 with ultraviolet rays before adhesive material 104 being peeled off from the surface of first sealing material 142-[0023] L 14-16, Fig 1D, [0044] L1-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pei et al. (US20220122926A1-Pei26) EFD 2019 in view of Chang et al. (US 20220375826 A1-Chang26).
Regarding claim 4, Pei26 discloses all the steps of claim 1, as noted above.
Pei26 further discloses a production method
wherein the second member is a second sealing material ((second member 174 being a protection layer covering top surface of first sealing material 142-Fig 1H,[0072] L 1-6).
Pei26 does not disclose a production method further comprising:
adhering an adhesive material to a surface of the second sealing material;
peeling off the adhesive material from the surface of the second sealing material; and
providing a member that is different from the first sealing material and the second sealing material to the surface of the second sealing material from which the adhesive material was peeled off.
Chang26 teaches a production method further comprising:
adhering an adhesive material to a surface of the second sealing material (adhering adhesive material 182 to a surface of second sealing material 175-Fig 11, [0054] L1-6);
peeling off the adhesive material from the surface of the second sealing material (removing so peeling of adhesive material 182 from surface of second sealing material 175-Fig 11, [0054] L1-6, [0055] L11-13); and
providing a member that is different from the first sealing material and the second sealing material to the surface of the second sealing material from which the adhesive material was peeled off (providing member 212 different from first sealing material 136 and second sealing material 220/175-Fig 13A, Fig 15, [0065] L1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method of Pei26 as taught by Chang26 for the purpose of providing a high level of integration and component density by stacking components (Chang26: [0002]).
Conclusion
NATHALIE R. FAYETTE
Examiner
Art Unit 2812
/NATHALIE R FAYETTE/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 07/07/2026
/CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812