Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/10/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki US 20160233251 A1 in view of Yang et al US 20220157912 A1. Yang et al will be referenced to as Yang henceforth.
Regarding Claim 1,
Sasaki teaches:
“A display apparatus (FIG. 14) comprising: a transistor (The transistor is the collection of the parts cited below.); a light-emitting device (pixel electrode 520, common electrode 555, semiconductor layer 140 (the portion in contact with 520 and 555), upper electrode 180 [0051], [0104], [0114], [0113]);and a first insulating layer (gate insulating layer 150, [0067]), comprising:
a semiconductor layer (semiconductor layer 140 (the portion not connected to the pixel electrode nor the common electrode), [0051]); a first conductive layer (lower electrode 120, [0060]); a second conductive layer (gate electrode 160, [0051]); a second insulating (first insulating layer 130, [0063], [0117]: see FIG. 15 for label.);and a third insulating layer (interlayer insulating layer 170, [0110]),
wherein the second insulating layer is (FIG. 14), wherein the second insulating layer comprises a first opening reaching the first conductive layer (annotated FIG. 14 #1), wherein the second conductive layer is (160 covers 130.), wherein the second conductive layer comprises a second opening in a region overlapping with the first opening (annotated FIG. 14 #1), wherein the semiconductor layer is in contact with a top surface of the first conductive layer (FIG. 14: 140 and 120 are in direct contact.), a side surface of the second insulating layer (FIG. 14: 140 and 130 are in direct contact.), and a top surface and a side surface of the second conductive layer (A side surface and a top surface of 160 are aligned, and in electrical contact. with a top and a side surface of 140. The gate electrode drives a current through the semiconductor layer.), wherein the third insulating layer is (FIG. 14), wherein the first insulating layer is provided over the transistor (FIG. 14: 150 lies over 120. 120 is a portion of the transistor.), wherein the first insulating layer and the third insulating layer comprise a third opening reaching the second conductive layer (annotated FIG. 14 #2), wherein the light-emitting device is (FIG. 14: 180 is over 150.), wherein the light-emitting device comprises a pixel electrode (pixel electrode 520, [0104]), a common electrode (common electrode 555, [0104]), and an EL layer interposed between the pixel electrode and the common electrode (semiconductor layer 140 (the portion in contact with 520 and 555): 140 is horizontally between 520 and 550.), wherein the pixel electrode is electrically connected to the second conductive layer through the third opening (FIG. 14: The pixel electrode is electrically connected to the gate electrode by a capacitance which occurs through the third opening.), and wherein the EL layer comprises a region in contact with a top surface and a side surface of the pixel electrode (FIG. 14).”
Sasaki doesn’t substantially teach:
“ a third conductivelayer; wherein the third conductive layer is provided over the third insulating layer,”
However, Yang and Sasaki together teach:
“a third conductivelayer (Yang: data line DL, [0082], FIG. 4); wherein the third conductive layer is provided over the third insulating layer (Sasaki/Yang: Sasaki: [0123]: The incorporation of DL into Sasaki necessitates that DL is formed through 170 and then contacts source electrode 145.),”
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the invention to recognize that the device of Sasaki is modifiable in view of Yang by incorporating the data line of Yang into Sasaki.
This is because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to find a way of connecting a data line to a source electrode. This is because such a connection is necessary to control the brightness of a pixel which allows for a more dynamic display.
Annotated FIG. 14 #1
Annotated FIG. 14 #2
Regarding Claim 2,
Sasaki/Yang teaches:
“The display apparatus according claim 1,
wherein the second insulating layer has a stacked-layer structure of a fourth insulating layer and a fifth insulating layer over the fourth insulating layer (Sasaki: [0063], FIG. 14: 130 may be a stack of layers. Let the topmost layer be a fifth layer and bottommost layer a fourth layer.), and wherein the fifth insulating layer comprises a region having a higher film density than the fourth insulating layer (Sasaki: [0063]: 130 may be a stack of SiN and SiO layers. SiN has a higher film density than SiO. In a stack of 3 or more layers wherein one layer is SiN and one layer is SiO, there exists a SiN layer over a silicon oxide layer. Therefore, there is a layer of a higher film density on a layer of lower film density.).”
Regarding Claim 3,
Sasaki/Yang teaches:
“wherein the second insulating layer has a stacked-layer structure of a fourth insulating layer and a fifth insulating layer over the fourth insulating layer (Sasaki: [0063], FIG. 14: 130 may be a stack of layers. Let the topmost layer be a fifth layer and bottommost layer a fourth layer.), and wherein the fifth insulating layer comprises a region having a higher nitrogen content than the fourth insulating layer (Sasaki: [0063]: 130 may be a stack of SiN and SiO layers. SiN has a nitrogen concentration than SiO. Therefore, in a stack of 3 or more layers wherein one layer is SiN and one layer is SiO, there exists a layer of a higher nitrogen concentration over a layer of a lower nitrogen concentration (that is a concentration of 0).).”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claims 4,
Sasaki/Yang fails to explicitly teach:
“wherein the sixth insulating layer comprises a region having a higher film density than the fifth insulating layer” In view of the rest of the limitations of claim 2.
Sasaki/Yang fails to explicitly teach the above limitation because the limitation cannot be found in the prior art of record.
This is because although Sasaki teaches that 130 may be a plurality of insulating layers of different materials, Sasaki does not teach the particular organization of these layers. Therefore, the location and material of a sixth layer is not taught.
The Examiner did not find prior art which one of ordinary skill in the art would use alone or would find obvious to combine with the invention of Sasaki/Yang to reach all of the limitations of the claim.
Regarding Claims 5,
Sasaki/Yang fails to explicitly teach:
“and wherein the sixth insulating layer comprises a region having a higher nitrogen content than the fifth insulating layer” In view of the rest of the limitations of claim 2.
Sasaki/Yang fails to explicitly teach the above limitation because the limitation cannot be found in the prior art of record.
This is because although Sasaki teaches that 130 may be a plurality of insulating layers of different materials, Sasaki does not teach the particular organization of these layers. Therefore, the location and material of a sixth layer is not taught.
The Examiner did not find prior art which one of ordinary skill in the art would use alone or would find obvious to combine with the invention of Sasaki/Yang to reach all of the limitations of the claim.
Regarding Claims 6,
Sasaki/Yang fails to explicitly teach:
“wherein the sixth insulating layer comprises a region having a higher film density than the fifth insulating layer” In view of the rest of the limitations of claim 3.
Sasaki/Yang fails to explicitly teach the above limitation because the limitation cannot be found in the prior art of record.
This is because although Sasaki teaches that 130 may be a plurality of insulating layers of different materials, Sasaki does not teach the particular organization of these layers. Therefore, the location and material of a sixth layer is not taught.
The Examiner did not find prior art which one of ordinary skill in the art would use alone or would find obvious to combine with the invention of Sasaki/Yang to reach all of the limitations of the claim.
Regarding Claims 7
Sasaki/Yang fails to explicitly teach:
“wherein the sixth insulating layer comprises a region having a higher nitrogen content than the fifth insulating layer” In view of the rest of the limitations of claim 3.
Sasaki/Yang fails to explicitly teach the above limitation because the limitation cannot be found in the prior art of record.
This is because although Sasaki teaches that 130 may be a plurality of insulating layers of different materials, Sasaki does not teach the particular organization of these layers. Therefore, the location and material of a sixth layer is not taught.
The Examiner did not find prior art which one of ordinary skill in the art would use alone or would find obvious to combine with the invention of Sasaki/Yang to reach all of the limitations of the claim.
Regarding Claim 8,
Sasaki/Yang fails to explicitly teach :
“wherein the fourth conductive layer comprises a concave portion along a shape of a side surface of the first insulating layer” In view of the rest of the limitations of claim 1.
Sasaki/Yang fails to explicitly teach the above limitation because the limitation cannot be found in the prior art of record.
This is because the pixel electrode of Sasaki is not concave. Yang does not remedy this deficiency
The Examiner did not find prior art which one of ordinary skill in the art would use alone or would find obvious to combine with the invention of Sasaki/Yang to reach all of the limitations of the claim.
Regarding Claims 9-10, these claims depend on claim 8 and are objectionable for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 11,
Sasaki/Yang fails to explicitly teach :
“wherein the eighth insulating layer covers the side surface and the part of the top surface of the EL layer with the seventh insulating layer therebetween” In view of the rest of the limitations of claim 1.
Sasaki/Yang fails to explicitly teach the above limitation because the limitation cannot be found in the prior art of record.
This is because Sasaki does not teach additional insulating layers which are not part of already cited insulating layers.
The Examiner did not find prior art which one of ordinary skill in the art would use alone or would find obvious to combine with the invention of Sasaki/Yang to reach all of the limitations of the claim.
Regarding Claim 12, these claims depend on claim 11 and are objectionable for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRE X RAMIREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812