Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/2025 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
In regards to claim 1, Applicant argues Tanzan (US 20200114721) and Xing do not render claim 1 obvious because the references do not teach at least the newly amended features of the claim. Applicant argues the Office has admitted that Tanzan does not teach absolute value of roll angular acceleration decreasing due to lane change and that Xing teaches this feature. Applicant argues Xing fails to teach at least the newly amended determining an acceleration period limitation and instead teaches a lane change may have an effect on lateral acceleration may be adjusted by accelerating the vehicle. Applicant concludes the references alone or in combination fail to teach the claim as amended, and therefore is not obvious.
However, Tanzan teaches applying a driving force or braking force based on determined target roll moment, which is determined from roll angular acceleration, roll angular velocity, and roll angular position. Driving force and braking force are both accelerations applied to the vehicle. The application of driving force and braking force occurs as required to compensate for the overall rolling action, which includes the case in which driving force increases, thereby accelerating the vehicle, while the magnitude of roll angular acceleration decreases and does not increase, and is determined at least in part based on roll angular velocity, for a time which is an acceleration period. This is what is required by the claim. Xing remains relevant for the teachings provided previously and reiterated below, that vehicles have a tendency to roll under lateral acceleration, including that from a lane change. By the combination of these references, each and every limitation of the claim is arrived at.
As such, this argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues claim 13 has been amended similarly to claim 1 and therefore is not obvious for the same reasons.
This argument is unpersuasive for the same reasons as given above.
Applicant argues the remaining references do not remedy the deficiencies of the independent claims.
However, none of the remaining references are required to remedy any challenged deficiency and therefore this argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues the dependent claims are non-obvious by virtue of their dependency.
This argument is unpersuasive as each independent and dependent claim has been fully rejected and for the reasons as given above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanzan et al. (US 20200114721) in view of Non-patent Literature Xing et al. “Lane Change Strategy for Autonomous Vehicle” (“Xing”).
In regards to claim 1, Tanzan teaches a vehicle control method comprising: (Figs 2-4, 9, 11, 13, 14.)
detecting roll angular velocity of a vehicle body of a vehicle; ([0115]-[0118] in steps 225-230, roll angular velocity is filtered and transformed to determine a controlled roll moment caused by roll angular velocity. Roll angular velocity is computed from an integration of roll angular acceleration, which must first be performed to be filtered and transformed.)
determining a first period in which an absolute value of roll angular acceleration of the vehicle body decreases, based on the detected roll angular velocity; ([0168] wheels are controlled to apply a driving force or braking force based on the determined target roll moment, where a driving force accelerates the vehicle. [0106] the target roll moment is computed from the difference between controlled roll moment and the correction roll moment multiplied by a gain coefficient. [0114], [0118], [0122], [0123] the controlled roll moment is computed as a sum of individual controlled roll moments caused by roll angular acceleration, roll angular velocity, and roll angular position. The application of driving force and braking force occurs as required to compensate for the overall rolling action, which includes the case in which driving force increases, thereby accelerating the vehicle, while the magnitude of roll angular acceleration decreases, and is determined at least in part based on roll angular velocity. [0102] operations are executed over predetermined time intervals within which processing is performed. This includes at least time intervals in which absolute value of roll angular acceleration of the vehicle body decreases, which is necessarily determined.)
determining an acceleration period such that the vehicle is accelerated during the determined period in which the absolute value of the roll angular acceleration decreases and does not increase; ([0168] wheels are controlled to apply a driving force or braking force based on the determined target roll moment, where a driving force accelerates the vehicle. [0106] the target roll moment is computed from the difference between controlled roll moment and the correction roll moment multiplied by a gain coefficient. [0114], [0118], [0122], [0123] the controlled roll moment is computed as a sum of individual controlled roll moments caused by roll angular acceleration, roll angular velocity, and roll angular position. The application of driving force and braking force occurs as required to compensate for the overall rolling action, which includes the case in which driving force increases, thereby accelerating the vehicle, while the magnitude of roll angular acceleration decreases and does not increase, and is determined at least in part based on roll angular velocity, for a time which is an acceleration period.) and
accelerating the vehicle during the acceleration period. ([0168] wheels are controlled to apply a driving force or braking force based on the determined target roll moment, where a driving force accelerates the vehicle and occurs during the particular period of applying acceleration.)
Tanzan does not teach:
an absolute value of roll angular acceleration of the vehicle body decreases due to a lane change of the vehicle
However, Xing teaches that vehicles have a tendency to roll under action of lateral acceleration which may come from starting a lane change (Page 16). As a lane change, by definition, is a period of lateral acceleration as the vehicle exits the original lane and then lateral deceleration once the vehicle is within the new lane, this corresponds with a period of roll increase followed by a period of roll decrease as the vehicle stabilizes and settles within the lane according to the vehicle’s inertia and suspension characteristics. As such, a lane change, necessarily includes both an increase and a decrease in roll angular acceleration of the vehicle body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control method of Tanzan, by incorporating the teachings of Xing, such that the vehicle changes lanes using a lateral acceleration, which causes a roll action of the vehicle, including an increase in magnitude or roll angular acceleration and then a decrease in magnitude of roll angular acceleration as the vehicle settles.
The motivation to perform such a lane change which necessarily includes such roll characteristics is that, as acknowledged by Xing, this allows for improving comfort of the occupants of the vehicle by better taking into account these dynamics (Page 16).
In regards to claim 7, Tanzan, as modified by Xing, teaches the vehicle control method according to claim 1, wherein the vehicle control method decelerates the vehicle during a second period in which the absolute value of the roll angular acceleration increases, based on the detected roll angular velocity. ([0168] wheels are controlled to apply a driving force or braking force based on the determined target roll moment, where a braking force decelerates the vehicle. [0106] the target roll moment is computed from the difference between controlled roll moment and the correction roll moment multiplied by a gain coefficient. [0114], [0118], [0122], [0123] the controlled roll moment is computed as a sum of individual controlled roll moments caused by roll angular acceleration, roll angular velocity, and roll angular position. The application of driving force and braking force occurs as required to compensate for the overall rolling action, which includes the case in which braking force increases, thereby decelerating the vehicle, while the magnitude of roll angular acceleration increases, and is determined at least in part based on roll angular velocity.)
Xing teaches that vehicles have a tendency to roll under action of lateral acceleration which may come from starting a lane change (Page 16). As a lane change, by definition, is a period of lateral acceleration as the vehicle exits the original lane and then lateral deceleration once the vehicle is within the new lane, this corresponds with a period of roll increase followed by a period of roll decrease as the vehicle stabilizes and settles within the lane according to the vehicle’s inertia and suspension characteristics. As such, a lane change, necessarily includes both an increase and a decrease in roll angular acceleration of the vehicle body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control method of Tanzan, as already modified by Xing, by further incorporating the teachings of Xing, such that the vehicle changes lanes using a lateral acceleration, which causes a roll action of the vehicle, including an increase in magnitude or roll angular acceleration and then a decrease in magnitude of roll angular acceleration as the vehicle settles.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Xing in regards to claim 1.
In regards to claim 8, Tanzan, as modified by Xing, teaches the vehicle control method according to claim 7, wherein the vehicle control method, after decelerating the vehicle during the second period in which the absolute value of the roll angular acceleration increases, accelerates the vehicle during the acceleration period in which the absolute value of the roll angular acceleration decreases and does not increase due to the lane change of the vehicle. ([0168] wheels are controlled to apply a driving force or braking force based on the determined target roll moment, where a braking force decelerates the vehicle. [0106] the target roll moment is computed from the difference between controlled roll moment and the correction roll moment multiplied by a gain coefficient. [0114], [0118], [0122], [0123] the controlled roll moment is computed as a sum of individual controlled roll moments caused by roll angular acceleration, roll angular velocity, and roll angular position. The application of driving force and braking force occurs as required to compensate for the overall rolling action, which includes the case in which braking force increases, thereby decelerating the vehicle, while the magnitude of roll angular acceleration increases, followed by driving force increases, thereby accelerating the vehicle, while the magnitude of roll angular acceleration decreases, and these are determined at least in part based on roll angular velocity.)
Xing teaches that vehicles have a tendency to roll under action of lateral acceleration which may come from starting a lane change (Page 16). As a lane change, by definition, is a period of lateral acceleration as the vehicle exits the original lane and then lateral deceleration once the vehicle is within the new lane, this corresponds with a period of roll increase followed by a period of roll decrease as the vehicle stabilizes and settles within the lane according to the vehicle’s inertia and suspension characteristics. As such, a lane change, necessarily includes both an increase and a decrease in roll angular acceleration of the vehicle body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control method of Tanzan, as already modified by Xing, by further incorporating the teachings of Xing, such that the vehicle changes lanes using a lateral acceleration, which causes a roll action of the vehicle, including an increase in magnitude or roll angular acceleration and then a decrease in magnitude of roll angular acceleration as the vehicle settles.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Xing in regards to claim 1.
In regards to claim 13, Tanzan teaches a vehicle control device comprising: (Fig 1, 5, 8, 10, 12, 15.)
a sensor configured to detect roll angular velocity of a vehicle body of a vehicle; ([0115]-[0118] roll angular velocity is filtered and transformed to determine a controlled roll moment caused by roll angular velocity. Roll angular velocity is computed from an integration of roll angular acceleration, which must first be performed to be filtered and transformed, [0098] which is determined using roll angular acceleration sensor. As such the roll angular acceleration sensor also detects roll angular velocity of the vehicle body) and
a controller configured to: ([0098], [0101] operations performed by controller and/or CPU.)
determine a period in which an absolute value of roll angular acceleration of the vehicle body decreases, based on the roll angular velocity detected by the sensor; ([0168] wheels are controlled to apply a driving force or braking force based on the determined target roll moment, where a driving force accelerates the vehicle. [0106] the target roll moment is computed from the difference between controlled roll moment and the correction roll moment multiplied by a gain coefficient. [0114], [0118], [0122], [0123] the controlled roll moment is computed as a sum of individual controlled roll moments caused by roll angular acceleration, roll angular velocity, and roll angular position. The application of driving force and braking force occurs as required to compensate for the overall rolling action, which includes the case in which driving force increases, thereby accelerating the vehicle, while the magnitude of roll angular acceleration decreases, and is determined at least in part based on roll angular velocity. [0102] operations are executed over predetermined time intervals within which processing is performed. This includes at least time intervals in which absolute value of roll angular acceleration of the vehicle body decreases, which is necessarily determined.)
determine an acceleration period such that the vehicle is accelerated during the determined period in which the absolute value of the roll angular acceleration only decreases; ([0168] wheels are controlled to apply a driving force or braking force based on the determined target roll moment, where a driving force accelerates the vehicle. [0106] the target roll moment is computed from the difference between controlled roll moment and the correction roll moment multiplied by a gain coefficient. [0114], [0118], [0122], [0123] the controlled roll moment is computed as a sum of individual controlled roll moments caused by roll angular acceleration, roll angular velocity, and roll angular position. The application of driving force and braking force occurs as required to compensate for the overall rolling action, which includes the case in which driving force increases, thereby accelerating the vehicle, while the magnitude of roll angular acceleration decreases and does not increase, and is determined at least in part based on roll angular velocity, for a time which is an acceleration period.) and
accelerate the vehicle during the acceleration period. ([0168] wheels are controlled to apply a driving force or braking force based on the determined target roll moment, where a driving force accelerates the vehicle and occurs during the particular period of applying acceleration.)
Tanzan does not teach:
an absolute value of roll angular acceleration of the vehicle body decreases due to a lane change of the vehicle
However, Xing teaches that vehicles have a tendency to roll under action of lateral acceleration which may come from starting a lane change (Page 16). As a lane change, by definition, is a period of lateral acceleration as the vehicle exits the original lane and then lateral deceleration once the vehicle is within the new lane, this corresponds with a period of roll increase followed by a period of roll decrease as the vehicle stabilizes and settles within the lane according to the vehicle’s inertia and suspension characteristics. As such, a lane change, necessarily includes both an increase and a decrease in roll angular acceleration of the vehicle body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control device of Tanzan, by incorporating the teachings of Xing, such that the vehicle changes lanes using a lateral acceleration, which causes a roll action of the vehicle, including an increase in magnitude or roll angular acceleration and then a decrease in magnitude of roll angular acceleration as the vehicle settles.
The motivation to perform such a lane change which necessarily includes such roll characteristics is that, as acknowledged by Xing, this allows for improving comfort of the occupants of the vehicle by better taking into account these dynamics (Page 16).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanzan in view of Xing, in further view of Burghardt et al. (US 20200201359).
In regards to claim 9, Tanzan, as modified by Xing, teaches the vehicle control method according to claim 1.
Notably, the claim language here does not require that a product of roll angular jerk and roll angular acceleration be determined, but only that knowledge of what the sign of the product would be is known.
Tanzan, as modified by Xing, does not teach: wherein the vehicle control method determines that the absolute value of the roll angular acceleration decreases when a sign of a product obtained by multiplying roll angular jerk by the roll angular acceleration of the vehicle body is negative.
However, Burghardt teaches determining the state of the vehicle including angular displacement such as roll, pitch, and yaw; angular velocity; angular acceleration; and higher order angular derivatives such as jerk, snap, and the like ([0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control method of Tanzan, as already modified by Xing, by incorporating the teachings of Burghardt, such that the state of the vehicle is assessed particularly including angular displacements, velocities, accelerations, jerks, and the like including in the roll direction, and from this information one of ordinary skill would have recognized that when the angular jerk and the angular acceleration are opposite in sign, the magnitude of the angular acceleration decreases, which provides that the product of roll angular jerk and roll angular acceleration is necessarily negative.
The motivation to determine such vehicle state is that, as acknowledged by Burghardt, this allows for any suitable vehicle to be efficiently controlled with increased safety and decreased cost ([0026], [0029]-[0032]).
In regards to claim 10, Tanzan, as modified by Xing, teaches the vehicle control method according to claim 7.
Notably, the claim language here does not require that a product of roll angular jerk and roll angular acceleration be determined, but only that knowledge of what the sign of the product would be is known.
Tanzan, as modified by Xing, does not teach: wherein the vehicle control method determines that the absolute value of the roll angular acceleration increases when a sign of a product obtained by multiplying roll angular jerk by the roll angular acceleration of the vehicle body is positive.
However, Burghardt teaches determining the state of the vehicle including angular displacement such as roll, pitch, and yaw; angular velocity; angular acceleration; and higher order angular derivatives such as jerk, snap, and the like ([0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control method of Tanzan, as already modified by Xing, by incorporating the teachings of Burghardt, such that the state of the vehicle is assessed particularly including angular displacements, velocities, accelerations, jerks, and the like including in the roll direction, and from this information one of ordinary skill would have recognized that when the angular jerk and the angular acceleration are of the same sign, the magnitude of the angular acceleration increases, which provides that the product of roll angular jerk and roll angular acceleration is necessarily positive.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Burghardt in regards to claim 9.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanzan in view of Xing, in further view of Non-patent Literature Li et al. “Numerical investigation on the effect of the vessel rolling angle and period on the energy harvest” (“Li”).
In regards to claim 11, Tanzan, as modified by Xing, teaches the vehicle control method according to claim 1.
Tanzan also teaches that integration of roll angular acceleration produces roll angular velocity ([0115]). This gives the relation that roll angular acceleration is the derivative with respect to time of roll angular velocity.
Tanzan, as modified by Xing, does not teach:
wherein the vehicle control method determines the first period in which the absolute value of the roll angular acceleration decreases, based on a time at which the detected roll angular velocity reaches a peak and a roll resonant period of the vehicle body.
However, Li teaches estimating motion of a ship body based on the natural period to determine mapping of roll angular velocity and roll angular displacement over time (Fig 5, Page 263). Natural period is a resonant period for a body. This provides a mapping of angular velocity and angular acceleration over time, as angular acceleration is the rate of change of angular velocity, as well as the peaks of each, which thereby relates at least roll angular acceleration and roll angular velocity, locating each individual time point in relation to peaks and natural period on charts, where particularly as shown below on the annotated figure 5, as the angular velocity increases from zero to its peak, the magnitude of angular acceleration decreases. While Li teaches particularly using ship vehicles, these teachings are equally applicable to any vehicle body that exhibits vibratory properties, including all land vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control method of Tanzan, as already modified by Xing, by incorporating the teachings of Li, such that the relations of roll, roll angular velocity, and roll angular acceleration are mapped over time using the natural period of the vehicle, particularly indicating peaks, and this information is used to further indicate change in acceleration mapped over time, including indicating when the magnitude of angular acceleration is increasing and decreasing using the change in angular velocity and change in angular acceleration.
The motivation to do so is that, as acknowledged by Li, this allows for improved accounting for energy of rolling (Page 257-258).
In regards to claim 12, Tanzan, as modified by Xing, teaches the vehicle control method according to claim 7.
Tanzan also teaches that integration of roll angular acceleration produces roll angular velocity ([0115]). This gives the relation that roll angular acceleration is the derivative with respect to time of roll angular velocity.
Tanzan, as modified by Xing, does not teach:
wherein the vehicle control method determines the second period in which the absolute value of the roll angular acceleration increases, based on a time at which the detected roll angular velocity reaches a peak and a roll resonant period of the vehicle body.
However, Li teaches estimating motion of a ship body based on the natural period to determine mapping of roll angular velocity and roll angular displacement over time (Fig 5, Page 263). Natural period is a resonant period for a body. This provides a mapping of angular velocity and angular acceleration over time, as angular acceleration is the rate of change of angular velocity, as well as the peaks of each, which thereby relates at least roll angular acceleration and roll angular velocity, locating each individual time point in relation to peaks and natural period on charts, where particularly as shown below on the annotated figure 5, as the angular velocity decreases from peak to zero, the magnitude of angular acceleration increases. While Li teaches particularly using ship vehicles, these teachings are equally applicable to any vehicle body that exhibits vibratory properties, including all land vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the vehicle control method of Tanzan, as already modified by Xing, by incorporating the teachings of Li, such that the relations of roll, roll angular velocity, and roll angular acceleration are mapped over time using the natural period of the vehicle, particularly indicating peaks, and this information is used to further indicate change in acceleration mapped over time, including indicating when the magnitude of angular acceleration is increasing and decreasing using the change in angular velocity and change in angular acceleration.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Li in regards to claim 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Song (US 20040153226) teaches a control system for a vehicle to reduce body heave, pitch, and roll resonant peaks.
Non-patent Literature Tan et al. “Modeling and Simulation of the Vibration Characteristics of the In-Wheel Motor Driving Vehicle Based on Bond Graph” teaches determining roll motion equations of a vehicle.
/MATTHIAS S WEISFELD/Examiner, Art Unit 3661