DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12, 14, 15, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shen et al. (U.S. PG Pub. # 2024/0219630 A1).
In Re claim 1, ‘630 teaches a co-packaged optical and electrical device, comprising: a package substrate (110); an electrical or opto-electrical chip (120a, par. 0031) disposed on the package substrate; a photonic integrated interconnect unit disposed on the package substrate, comprising: a photonic integrated circuit (PIC) (130) comprising a PIC waveguide (131); a plurality of interconnects (121a, 111a) connecting the electrical or opto-electrical chip to the photonic integrated interconnect unit, wherein the interconnects are formed on or in the package substrate; and a plurality of optical structures (111b) configured to connect the photonic integrated interconnect unit to a fiber optic cable, the plurality of optical structures comprising: a substrate waveguide (111b) formed on or in the package substrate, wherein the substrate waveguide is coupled to the PIC waveguide via evanescent coupling (par. 0025).
In Re claim 3, ‘630 teaches wherein the PIC comprises: a first layer (131); and a second layer (other 131 or electrical device as taught in par.0034, fig. 1).
In Re claim 5, ‘630 teaches wherein the package substrate is a glass substrate (par. 0036), comprising: a first layer comprising a glass material; and a second layer comprising a silicon oxide (SiO.sub.x), a copper, silicon nitride (SiN), or a combination thereof (pars. 0036 – 0039).
In Re claim 7, ‘630 teaches wherein the package substrate is a silicon substrate, comprising: a first layer comprising a Si material, an α-Si, a metal, or a combination thereof; and a second layer comprising a silicon oxide (SiO.sub.x), a copper, silicon nitride (SiN), or a combination thereof (pars. 0036 – 0039).
In Re claim 9, ‘630 teaches a co-packaged optical and electrical device, comprising: a package substrate (110); an integrated electrical or opto-electrical chip disposed on the package substrate, comprising: an electrical or opto-electrical chip (120a, par. 0031) disposed on the package substrate; and a photonic integrated interconnect unit disposed on the package substrate, comprising: a first photonic integrated circuit (PIC) comprising a first PIC waveguide (1 of the 3 of 111a, figs. 1 and 2); a second PIC comprising a second PIC waveguide (another of 111a or any other 111 of fig. 2 or one of 131); and a plurality of optical structures (111b, and 121b) configured to connect the photonic integrated interconnect unit to a fiber optic cable, the plurality of optical structures comprising: a substrate waveguide (121b) formed on or in the package substrate, wherein the substrate waveguide is coupled to the first PIC waveguide and the second PIC waveguide via evanescent coupling (pars. 0025, 0026).
In Re claim 10, ‘630 teaches wherein the package substrate is a glass substrate, comprising: a first layer comprising a glass material; and a second layer comprising a silicon oxide (SiO.sub.x), a copper, silicon nitride (SiN), or a combination thereof (pars. 0036 – 0039).
In Re claim 12, ‘630 teaches wherein the package substrate is a silicon substrate, comprising: a first layer comprising a Si material, an α-Si, a copper or a combination thereof; and a second layer comprising a silicon oxide (SiO.sub.x), a copper, silicon nitride (SiN), or a combination thereof (pars. 0036 – 0039).
In Re claim 14, ‘630 teaches a co-packaged optical and electrical device, comprising: a package substrate (110); a photonic integrated interconnect unit (140) disposed on the package substrate, comprising: a photonic integrated circuit (PIC) comprising a PIC waveguide (121), wherein the PIC waveguide is disposed in the PIC (fig. 4); an electrical or opto-electrical chip (150, pars. 0031, 0033, 0040) disposed on the photonic integrated interconnect unit; and a plurality of optical structures (111, 131) configured to connect the photonic integrated interconnect unit to a fiber cable (on another 120), the plurality of optical structures comprising: a substrate waveguide (111 or 131) formed on or in the package substrate, wherein the substrate waveguide is coupled to the PIC waveguide via evanescent coupling (par. 0025, 0026).
In Re claim 15, ‘630 teaches wherein the PIC comprises: a first layer (121 or 1213); and a second layer (1215).
In Re claim 17, ‘630 teaches wherein the package substrate is a glass substrate, comprising: a first layer comprising a glass material; and a second layer comprising a silicon oxide (SiO.sub.x), a copper, silicon nitride (SiN), or a combination thereof (pars. 0036 – 0039).
In Re claim 19, ‘630 teaches wherein the package substrate is a silicon substrate, comprising: a first layer comprising a Si material, an α-Si, a copper or a combination thereof; and a second layer comprising a silicon oxide (SiO.sub.x), a copper, silicon nitride (SiN), or a combination thereof (pars. 0036 – 0039).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 6, 8, 11, 13, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (U.S. PG Pub. # 2024/0219630 A1).
In Re claim 2, ‘630 is silent to a PCB. However, it is well known in the art to attach an interposer (package substrate) such as 110 to a PCB so as to allow for electrical signals from external processing units to communicate with chips on interposers so as to direct optical communication as desired.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the interposer (package substrate) 110 of ‘630 onto a PCB so as to allow for electrical signals from external processing units to communicate with the chips on the package substrate so as to direct optical communication as desired as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
In Re claims 4 and 16, ‘630 teaches the device of claims 3 and 15, respectively, and the first layer being waveguide 131 or 121 and that waveguides in the package substrate are silicon nitride (par. 0039) and that the PIC comprises electrical devices as taught in pars. 0033, 0034, but is silent to wherein: the first layer comprises a silicon oxide (SiO.sub.x), a copper, silicon nitride (SIN), or a combination thereof; and the second layer comprises a silicon (Si), an amorphous silicon (α-Si), a metal such as copper, or a combination thereof.
However, its well known in the art to use the same material for waveguides that couple to one another so as to ensure optimum optical coupling and to use metal such as copper to form electrical devices so as to ensure optimum electrical conductivity.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first layer, waveguide 131, of silicon nitride so as to ensure optimum coupling with waveguides 111 and to use metal as the makeup of the electrical devices of 120 so as to ensure optimum electrical conductivity as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
In Re claims 6, 8, 11, 13, 18 and 20, ‘630 teaches the claimed layer but is expressly silent to the claimed thickness ranges. However, making the claimed layers to have about the claimed thicknesses is well known in the art so as to allow for optical and electrical signals to traverse while maintaining compact structural integrity of the layers. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the claimed layers to have about the claimed thicknesses so as to ensure not only a compact robust package but also allow for optimum electrical and optical signal traversal as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Conclusion
/CHAD H SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHAD SMITH whose telephone number is (571)270-1294. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30 - 5.
/CHAD H SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874