DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/15/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 12/15/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control unit” in claims 10-11. The phrase has been examined as --controller --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by IDE et al. US 2024/0251525 Al.
Re claim 1, IDE et al. teach a heat exchanger for a cooling system, the heat exchanger comprising: a first part (3, 2, 11, annotated fig) having a first surface for connecting to a component to be cooled and a second opposing surface (fig 7), the first part having a fluid flow channel (22a to 22b channel fig 7) extending from a fluid inlet through the first part between the first and second surfaces;
and a second part , (annotated fig) extending from (three dimensional parts extend in all directions) the second surface to an external third surface, the second part having an open-cell porous structure in fluid communication with the fluid flow channel such that fluid flowing through the fluid flow channel passes into the second part and exits the heat exchanger at the external third surface (fig 7).
Re claim 2, IDE et al. teach wherein the fluid flow channel extends from the fluid inlet in a direction parallel to the first and second surfaces (fig 7).
Re claim 3, IDE et al. teach comprising a plurality of fluid passages (30) connecting the fluid flow channel to the second part .
Re claim 4, IDE et al. teach wherein each of the plurality of fluid passages comprises a branching diffusion channel extending into the second part (noting the plurality of fluid passages are considered a branching diffusion channel since the branch from main channel from 22b to 22a).
Re claim 5, IDE et al. teach wherein a diameter of each of the fluid passages is smaller than a diameter of the fluid flow channel (fig 7).
Re claim 6, IDE et al. teach wherein each of the fluid passages comprises a nozzle (fig 7, noting the smaller diameter is considered a nozzle in and of itself) configured to cause an isenthalpic pressure drop in liquid refrigerant passing through the nozzle (noting pressure drop is capable depending on direction and intended use).
Re claim 7, IDE et al. teach wherein the nozzle is in the form of a convergent-divergent nozzle (fig 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDE et al. in view of Malouin et al. US 12,289,861 B2.
Re claim 8, IDE et al. teach a cooling system comprising: a tank (7) for containing a refrigerant liquid; a heat exchanger according to claim 1 disposed in the tank (fig 2, see the rejection of claim 1); and a component to be cooled connected to the first surface of the heat exchanger.
IDE et al. fail to explicitly teach fluid circuit details.
Malouin et al. teach a refrigerant pump (424) having an outlet connected to the fluid inlet of the heat exchanger and an inlet connected to a liquid outlet of the tank to receive liquid refrigerant from the tank (col 11, claim 9, “one or more pumps” col 12) to employ dielectric cooling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include fluid circuit details as taught by Malouin et al. in the IDE et al. invention in order to advantageously allow for improved vessel heat removal.
Re claim 10, Malouin et al. teach a control unit configured to control operation of the pump (col 11, claim 9) to employ dielectric cooling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include fluid circuit details as taught by Malouin et al. in the IDE et al., as modified, invention in order to advantageously allow for improved vessel heat removal.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDE et al. in view of Malouin et al. US 12,289,861 B2 and CAMPBELL US 20110317367 A1 and Bouras US 20180020573 A1 and Shelnutt US 20150062806 A1.
Re claim 9, IDE et al. , as modified, fail to explicitly teach sensor details.
CAMPBELL teach a pressure sensor connected to measure pressure of liquid in an outlet line connecting the pump to the heat exchanger (para 60) to provide feedback to pump controller.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include sensor details as taught by CAMPBELL in the IDE et al. , as modified, invention in order to advantageously allow for enhanced pump control with feedback from dielectric characteristics.
Re claim 9, IDE et al. , as modified, fail to explicitly teach sensor details.
Bouras teach comprising a temperature sensor (205) connected to measure temperature of liquid in an outlet line connecting the pump to the heat exchanger (para 24 noting one of ordinary skill in the art would understand compressor speed for controlling flow rate would be similar to controlling pump speed for controlling flow rate, see Shelnutt para 181, 186-200) to provide feedback to pump controller.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include sensor details as taught by Bouras in the IDE et al. , as modified, invention in order to advantageously allow for enhanced pump control with feedback from dielectric characteristics.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDE et al. in view of Malouin et al. US 12,289,861 B2 and Shelnutt US 20150062806 A1.
Re claim 11, IDE et al. teach comprising a condenser (12, 8) disposed in the tank and connected to a cooler arranged to extract heat from the tank via the condenser.
IDE et al. , as modified, fail to explicitly teach control details.
Shelnutt teach and a control unit configured to control operation of the condenser to control a rate of heat transfer between the liquid refrigerant and the condenser to activate pumps for cooling (para 181, 186-200).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include control details as taught by Shelnutt in the IDE et al. , as modified, invention in order to advantageously allow for cooling control based on dielectric flow.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 7568519 B2, US 20190029105 A1, US 10306802 B1, US 12100643 B2, US 11608217 B1.
/GORDON A JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3763