DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/3/26 have been fully considered.
Applicant has argued that McKay fails to disclose a MacEtch process that translates and/or rotates the processing head within the one or more features while the substrate surface is exposed to the etch solution to laterally etch one or more horizontal holes, trenches or circular disks within the one or more features etched within the semiconductor substrate, as recited in currently amended claim 1. However, the argument is not persuasive because McKay teaches (Paragraphs 22 and 23) a MacEtch process that translates and/or rotates the processing head within the one or more features while the substrate surface is exposed to the etch solution to laterally etch one or more horizontal holes, trenches or circular disks within the one or more features etched within the semiconductor substrate, as recited in currently amended claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant has not indicated where in the originally filed disclosure support is provided for the subject matter of Claim 10, as combined with the amended limitations of Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2015/030806 to McKay et al.
Regarding Claim 1, McKay et al. teaches (Paragraphs 6-11) a method for
processing a semiconductor substrate (Paragraph 7), the method comprising: receiving the semiconductor substrate within a wet processing system, the wet processing system comprising a processing head (probe) having one or more metal surfaces at a distal end of the processing head (probe comprising metal);
exposing a substrate surface of the semiconductor substrate to an etch solution comprising an oxidant and an etchant (Paragraph 11) while the semiconductor
substrate is disposed within the wet processing system
moving at least one of the processing head and the semiconductor substrate to
position the one or more metal surfaces of the processing head in close proximity to the
substrate surface while the substrate surface is exposed to the etch solution;
performing a metal assisted chemical etching (MacEtch) process (Paragraph 9)
on the substrate surface and/or within the semiconductor substrate while the one or
more metal surfaces of the processing head is positioned in close proximity to the
substrate surface (Fig 1-10) and the substrate surface is exposed to the etch solution to etch one or more features within the substrate and translating and/or rotating the processing head within the one or more features while the substrate surface is exposed to the same etch solution to laterally etch (Paragraphs 22 and 23) one or more holes trenches or circular disks within the one or more features, wherein during the MacEtch process, the one or more metal surfaces of the processing head catalyze a reduction of the oxidant and generate free electron holes (implicit), which are injected into portions of the substrate surface directly underlying the one or more metal surfaces to form ionic species that are dissolved by the etchant; and moving at least one of the processing head and the semiconductor substrate (Paragraph 15) to remove the one or more metal surfaces of the processing head from the substrate surface upon completion of the MacEtch process.
Regarding Claim 2, McKay et al. teaches (Paragraphs 9) the one or more metal
surfaces of the processing head comprise a noble metal.
Regarding Claim 3, McKay et al. teaches (Paragraphs 9) the oxidant comprises
hydrogen peroxide (H202), nitric acid (HNO3), potassium persulfate (K2S20s), oxygen (02) dissolved in water (H2O) or ozonated water.
Regarding Claim 4, McKay et al. teaches (Paragraphs 9) the etchant comprises
hydrofluoric acid (HF), sulfuric acid (H2SO4) or potassium hydroxide (KOH).
Regarding Claim 5, McKay et al. teaches (Paragraphs 6-11) performing the MacEtch process comprises etching one or more features within the semiconductor substrate while the one or more metal surfaces of the processing head is positioned in close proximity to the substrate surface and the substrate surface is exposed to the etch solution.
Regarding Claim 6-7, McKay et al. teaches (Fig 2-9) performing the MacEtch process comprises etching one or more vertical holes or trenches within the semiconductor substrate.
Regarding Claim 7, McKay et al. teaches (Fig 2-5 and 9b) performing the MacEtch process comprises etching one or more angled holes or trenches within the
semiconductor substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 9, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2015/030806 to McKay et al. in view of US Publication 2013/0143407 to Lin et al.
Regarding Claims 8 and 26, as applied above, McKay et al. teaches the method of the invention substantially as claimed, including various implementations such as a flexible probe, different shape probe (Paragraph 10) holes and trenches (Paragraph 19) moving the probe laterally perpendicular to a sidewall and changing probe angle during etching (Paragraphs 13, 22 and 23) including continuing to advance the probe deeper in the horizontal trench to increase the depth, but does not expressly teach horizontal holes or a circular disk in a vertical trench. However, Lin et al. teaches horizontal holes in a circular pattern in a vertical trench by MacEtch process (Fig 2F) for silicon micro/nanostructures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide vertical trenches having horizontally etched holes or disks in the method of McKay et al. for forming a desired microstructure with predictable results.
Regarding Claims 9 and 27, as applied above, McKay et al. teaches the method of the invention substantially as claimed, but does not expressly teach a circular disk in a vertical trench. However, Lin et al. teaches horizontal holes in a circular pattern in a vertical trench by MacEtch process (Fig 2F) for silicon micro/nanostructures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide vertical trenches having horizontally etched holes or disks in the method of McKay et al. for forming a desired microstructure with predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 26 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERTS P CULBERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716