DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. As to claim 17, it is not clear whether the recited “encapsulant” that already encapsulates the die stack structure including the first die is the same as the “insulating encapsulation” that also encapsulates the first die. Thus, the limitation renders the claim indefinite and clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-14, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0307140 A1 to Huang et al. (“Huang”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0247916 A1 to Lee et al. (“Lee”). As to claim 1, Huang in view of Lee discloses a package structure, comprising: a first packaging layer (558); a first chip (450) attached to a first surface of the first packaging layer (558); a second packaging layer (532a) disposed over the first chip (450) and the first packaging layer (558); a rewiring layer (534, 532b/180) extending on an upper surface of the second packaging layer (532a), electrically connected to the first chip (450); a through via (460 in 532a) conformally covering an opening (filled) extending from the upper surface to a lower surface of the second packaging layer (532a), thereby connecting the rewiring layer (534, 532b/180) at the upper surface of the second packaging layer (532a), wherein the through via (460 in 532a) has a recessed upper surface directly over the opening (filled), and the through via (460 in 532a) is within a perimeter of the first chip (450); and a second chip (191) disposed on the rewiring layer (534, 532b/180), electrically connected to the rewiring layer (534, 532b/180) (See Huang Fig. 2, Fig. 4, Fig. 5, ¶ 0022, ¶ 0027, ¶ 0033, ¶ 0034, ¶ 0035, ¶ 0036 and Lee Fig. 2, ¶ 0083-¶ 0112), where the second chip of additional passive and active components integrated with the first chip provides more functionalities (Notes: the packaging layer is interpreted as a layer integrated within the package structure). As to claim 2, Huang further discloses wherein the opening (filled) has a first width at the upper surface greater than a second width at the lower surface of the second packaging layer (532a) (See Fig. 5). As to claim 3, Huang further discloses wherein the through via (460 in 532a) is in direct contact with a connector (528) over the first chip (450) at the lower surface of the second packaging layer (532a), so that the rewiring layer (534, 532b) and the through via (460 in 532a) are electrically connected to the first chip (450) by the connector (528) over the first chip (450) (See Fig. 5, ¶ 0034). As to claim 4, Huang in view of Lee further discloses wherein one or more solder balls (465/190) are formed on the rewiring layer (534, 532b/180), and the one or more solder balls (465/190) and the second chip (191) are arranged horizontally on the same plane (See Lee Fig. 2, ¶ 0112). As to claim 5, Huang in view of Lee discloses further comprising: an encapsulant (410/140, 170) disposed on the first packaging layer (558) to laterally encapsulate the first chip (450); a plurality of conductive posts (415/120, 150) embedded in the encapsulant (410/140, 170) to laterally surround the first chip (450), wherein the encapsulant (410/140, 170) is in direct contact with sidewalls of the plurality of conductive posts (415/120, 150); and a package substrate (external elements) bonded to a second surface of the first packaging layer (588) opposite to the first surface through a plurality of conductive terminals (560, 544, 430) (See Huang Fig. 2, Fig. 5, ¶ 0022, ¶ 0027, ¶ 0033, ¶ 0036 and Lee Fig. 2) (Notes: the solder balls are to be further connect to additional external elements such as a package substrate, that is also taught by cited Marimuthu). As to claim 6, Huang further discloses wherein the plurality of conductive terminals (560, 544, 430) is in direct contact with the plurality of conductive posts (415) respectively (See Fig. 2, Fig. 4, Fig. 5). As to claim 9, Huang in view of Lee discloses a method of forming a package structure, comprising: forming a first packaging layer (558); forming a first chip (450) to attached to a first surface of the first packaging layer (558); forming a second packaging layer (532a) over the first chip (450) and the first packaging layer (558); forming a rewiring layer (534, 532b/180) to extend on an upper surface of the second packaging layer (532a), to be electrically connected to the first chip (450); forming a through via (460 in 532a) conformally cover an opening (filled) extending from the upper surface to a lower surface of the second packaging layer (532a), thereby connecting the rewiring layer (534, 532b/180) at the upper surface of the second packaging layer (532a), wherein the through via (460 in 532a) has a recessed upper surface directly over the opening (filled), and the through via (460 in 532a) is within a perimeter of the first chip (450); and forming a second chip (191) on the rewiring layer (534, 532b/180), to be electrically connected to the rewiring layer (534, 532b/180) (See Huang Fig. 2, Fig. 4, Fig. 5, ¶ 0022, ¶ 0027, ¶ 0033, ¶ 0034, ¶ 0035, ¶ 0036 and Lee Fig. 2, ¶ 0083-¶ 0112), where the second chip of additional passive and active components integrated with the first chip provides more functionalities (Notes: the packaging layer is interpreted as a layer integrated within the package structure). As to claim 10, Huang further discloses wherein the opening (filled) has a first width at the upper surface greater than a second width at the lower surface of the second packaging layer (532a) (See Fig. 5). As to claim 11, Huang further discloses wherein the through via (460 in 532a) is in direct contact with a connector (528) over the first chip (450) at the lower surface of the second packaging layer (532a), so that the rewiring layer (534, 532b) and the through via (460 in 532a) are electrically connected to the first chip (450) by the connector (528) over the first chip (450) (See Fig. 5, ¶ 0034). As to claim 12, Huang in view of Lee further discloses wherein one or more solder balls (465/190) are formed on the rewiring layer (534, 532b/180) (See Huang Fig. 5, ¶ 0035 and Lee Fig. 2) As to claim 13, Huang in view of Lee discloses further comprising: forming an encapsulant (410/140, 170) on the first packaging layer (558) to laterally encapsulate the first chip (450); forming a plurality of conductive posts (415/120, 150) in the encapsulant (410/140, 170) to laterally surround the first chip (450); and bonding a package substrate (external elements) to a second surface of the first packaging layer (558) opposite to the first surface through a plurality of conductive terminals (560, 544, 430) (See Huang Fig. 2, Fig. 5, ¶ 0022, ¶ 0027, ¶ 0033, ¶ 0036 and Lee Fig. 2) (Notes: the solder balls are to be further connect to additional external elements such as a package substrate, that is also taught by cited Marimuthu). As to claim 14, Huang further discloses wherein the plurality of conductive terminals (560, 544, 430) is in direct contact with the plurality of conductive posts (415) respectively (See Fig. 2, Fig. 4, Fig. 5). As to claim 21, Huang further discloses wherein the first packaging layer (558) further extends below the encapsulant (410) and the plurality of conductive posts (415) (See Fig. 5). As to claim 22, Huang in view of Lee further discloses wherein the plurality of conductive terminals (560, 544, 430) is partially embedded in the first packaging layer (558) (See Fig. 5).
Claim(s) 15-19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0037950 A1 to Yu et al. (“Yu”) in view of and U.S. Patent No. 6,541,872 B1 to Schrock et al. (“Schrock”) and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0247916 A1 to Lee et al. (“Lee”). As to claim 15, Yu in view of Schrock and Lee discloses a package structure, comprising: a first packaging layer (108); a die stack structure (Chip 2, Chip 3) attached to a first surface of the first packaging layer (108), wherein the die stack structure (Chip 2, Chip 3) comprises: a first die (Chip 2) and a second die (Chip 3) bonded together through a bonding structure (124/40), and the bonding structure (124/40) comprising: a blocking layer (50) between a first bonding dielectric material (46) and a second bonding dielectric material (48), wherein a material of the blocking layer (50) is different from the first (46) and second (48) bonding dielectric materials; a second packaging layer (UBM under 112) disposed over the die stack structure (Chip 2, Chip3) and the first packaging layer (108); a rewiring layer (110, 112 top/180) extending on an upper surface of the second packaging layer (UBM under 112), electrically connected to the die stack structure (Chip 2, Chip 3); a through via (112 in opening) conformally covering an opening (filled) extending from the upper surface to a lower surface of the second packaging layer (UBM under 112), thereby connecting the rewiring layer (110, 112 top/180) at the upper surface of the second packaging layer (UBM under 112), wherein the through via (112 in opening) has a recessed upper surface directly over the opening (filled); an encapsulant (106) continuously extending from the lower surface of the second packaging layer (UBM under 112) to the first surface of the first packaging layer (108) to laterally encapsulate the die stack structure (Chip 2, Chip 3); and a chip (191) disposed on the rewiring layer (110, 112 top/180), electrically connected to the rewiring layer (110, 112 top/180) (See Yu Fig. 1, ¶ 0013-¶ 0020, Schrock Fig. 4, Column 6, lines 3-46, and Lee Fig. 2, ¶ 0083-¶ 0112), where the bonding structure of single and multi-layered tapes are well-known to provide the bonding between the first and second dies, and the chip of additional passive and active components integrated with the die stack structure provides more functionalities (Notes: the packaging layer is interpreted as a layer integrated within the package structure/base and the blocking layer serves as a physical barrier). As to claim 16, Yu in view of Lee discloses further comprising one or more solder balls (110/190) on the rewiring layer (112 top/180), wherein the one or more solder balls (110/190) and the chip (191) are arranged horizontally on the same plane (See Lee Fig. 2). As to claim 17, Yu further discloses wherein the die stack structure (Chip 2, Chip 3) further comprises: an insulating encapsulation (130, between 106, 108) on the second die to (Chip 3) laterally encapsulate the first die (Chip 2); a redistribution circuit structure (to 122) on a back side of the first die (Chip 2) and on the insulating encapsulation (130, between 106, 108); at least one through dielectric via (102) penetrating through the insulating encapsulation (130, between 106, 108) to electrically connect the second die (Chip 3) and the redistribution circuit structure (to 122); and a plurality of contacts (122) disposed on the redistribution circuit structure (to 122), wherein the rewiring layer (110, 112 top/180) is in contact with the plurality of contacts (122) by the through via (102) (See Fig. 1). As to claim 18, Yu discloses further comprising: a plurality of conductive posts (102) embedded in the encapsulant (106) to laterally surround the die stack structure (Chip 2, Chip 3), wherein the plurality of conductive posts (102) continuously extend from the lower surface of the second packaging layer (UBM under 112) to the first surface of the first packaging layer (108); and a package substrate (120) bonded to a second surface of the first packaging layer (108) opposite to the first surface through a plurality of conductive terminals (104) (See Fig. 1). As to claim 19, Yu further discloses wherein the plurality of conductive terminals (104) is in direct contact with the plurality of conductive posts (102) respectively (See Fig. 1). As to claim 23, Yu further discloses wherein the through via (112 in opening) is directly over the die stack structure (Chip 2, Chip 3) to connect the rewiring layer (110, 112 top) and the die stack structure (Chip 2, Chip 3) (See Fig. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 9, and 15 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815