DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the Applicant does not show two sub-pixel portions corresponding to a single light emitter as required by claim 14 and 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1 it is unclear what structure define a sub-pixel area sub pixel per se has no well-defined structure in the art. Further sub-pixel is typical defined to include a light emitter. Since the claim specifically preclude the light emitting element and the sub-pixel not to overlap. It is unclear what structure a sub-pixel area takes.
Further there is no structural relationship between the light emitter and the sub-pixel.
While claim 3 indicates they alternate there is no structural relationship that set forth how they cooperatively work.
As to claim 2 visible to whom or what it appears applicant means to recite not with in the visible spectrum. Further it is unclear what a “non sub-pixel area” means applicant has already required it to be part of the sub-pixel portion to it is an area of the sub-pixel.
Further still it is unclear how the color relates to the light emitter. Further if it is a color, it should be visible. It appears applicant means a wavelength emitted by the emitter is not within the visible spectrum.
As to claim 3 it is unclear how one alternates only two objects.
As to claims 14-16 It appears applicant wants to recite a plurality of different subpixels instead claims 14-16 are subdividing the one sub-pixel. For example, there is only one light emitter thus in claim 14 it is unclear how:
each of the first sub-pixel portion and the second sub-pixel portion comprises: a first reflective layer covering at least a side portion of the light emitting element; and a second reflective layer disposed in the sub-pixel area, and light emitted by the light emitting element included in the first sub-pixel portion is guided in a light output direction of the display device by the first reflective layer of the first sub-pixel portion.
Are there two firs reflective layers on the light emitter on for the first sub-pixel and one for the second. Likewise, are there two reflective layers disposed in the same sub-pixel area.
It appears applicant means the display comprising a plurality of the sub-pixels including a first subpixel …. As written applicant is taking a sub-pixel and stating it is sub-divided into a multiple which is not done.
As to claim 14, light emitted by the light emitting element included lacks antecedent basis.
As to claim 16 is unclear and confusing there is only one light emitter claimed it is unclear where a light emitting element of the second subpixel derives from. It appears applicant means the display comprises a plurality of sub pixel including the subpixel as a first sub pixel a second sub-pixel….
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Seo (20200043904) (same assignee as the instant of application) .
a. As to claim 1, Seo teaches A display device comprising: a sub-pixel portion disposed on a base layer (figure 5-6) and including a light emitting element area (item 300 under 530_ where a light emitting element is disposed (item 300) and a sub-pixel area (region item 530), wherein the light emitting element area and the sub-pixel area do not overlap each other in a plan view (figure 2 530 vs region outside of 300).
Claim(s) 1-6, 8,10-15, 17,18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Akiba 2023/0361256.
a. As to claim 1, Akiba teaches A display device comprising: a sub-pixel portion disposed on a base layer (see e.g. figure 1 item B figure 1B) and including a light emitting element area (item 12 covered by 15) where a light emitting element (item 12) is disposed and a sub-pixel area (sic an external emission area item 13B), wherein the light emitting element area and the sub-pixel area do not overlap each other in a plan view (item 15 does not overlap with item 13B.
b. As to claim 2, Akiba teaches wherein the light emitting element area is a non-sub-pixel area (it is the light emitting area by definition) a wavelength emitted by the emitter is not within the visible spectrum ( paragraph 46).
c. As to claim 3, Akiba teaches wherein the light emitting element area and the sub-pixel area are arranged adjacent along a direction.
d. As to claim 4, Akiba teaches wherein the sub-pixel portion has a rectangular shape including a long side and a short side in a plan view ( figure 1).
c. As to claim 5, Akiba further comprising: a first reflective layer covering at least a portion of the light emitting element and exposing a side portion of the light emitting element (items 15 and item 14 under 15 figure 1 paragraph 58), wherein the first reflective layer overlaps the light emitting element area in a plan view (figure 1b relative positions).
d. As to claim 6 Akiba teaches , wherein the side portion of the light emitting element exposed by the first reflective layer faces the sub-pixel area (figure 1b).
e. As to claim 8 Akiba teaches , further comprising: a pixel circuit layer including the base layer (figure 19 item 260) and a pixel circuit disposed on the base layer ( figure 19 paragraph 100); and an element base disposed on the pixel circuit layer (figure 19 item 1 paragraph 100), the element base forming a base on which the light emitting element is disposed, the element base including a contact portion (this is inherent since 260 is controlling 1 paragraph 100).
f. As to claim 10 Akiba teaches further comprising: a second reflective layer disposed in the sub-pixel area, the second reflective layer does not overlap the light emitting element in a plan view (item 14 that is tapered).
g. As to claim 11, Akiba teaches herein the second reflective layer includes a reflective surface facing a light output direction of the display device (ss figure1 and 8 for direction item 14S3).
h. As to claim 12, Akiba teaches further comprising: a color conversion layer disposed on the second reflective layer (item 13) in the sub-pixel area and including a quantum-dot (paragraph 52), wherein the color conversion layer is adjacent to the light emitting element in a planar direction (figure 1).
i. As to claim 13, Akiba teaches further comprising: a light blocking layer disposed on the light emitting element, the light blocking layer does not overlap the sub-pixel area (item 15 by definition does not overlap).
j. As to claim 14, Akiba teaches wherein a plurality of sub-pixel portions including the sub pixel portion as a first sub-pixel portion and a second sub-pixel portion disposed adjacent to each other in a planar direction (figure 1B), each of the first sub-pixel portion and the second sub-pixel portion comprises: a first reflective layer covering at least a side portion of the light emitting element (item 14 under 15); and a second reflective layer disposed in the sub-pixel area ( item 14S3), and light emitted by the light emitting element included in the first sub-pixel portion is guided in a light output direction of the display device by the first reflective layer of the first sub-pixel portion (figure 1a and b region), the first reflective layer of the second sub-pixel portion, and the second reflective layer of the first sub-pixel portion (G region).
k. As to claim 15, Akiba teaches the display includes a plurality of sub-pixel portions including the subpixel portion as a first sub-pixel portion emitting light of a first color (figure 1 B for Blue), a second sub-pixel portion emitting light of a second color (G for green), and a third sub-pixel portion emitting light of a third color (R for red), a first color conversion layer including a first quantum-dot is disposed in the sub-pixel area of the first sub-pixel portion (paragraph 52), a second color conversion layer including a second quantum-dot is disposed in the sub-pixel area of the second sub-pixel portion (paragraph 52), and a scattering layer including a scatterer is disposed in the sub-pixel area of the third sub-pixel portion (paragraph 55).
l. As to claim 17, Akiba teaches A display device comprising: a light emitting element disposed on a base layer and in a light emitting element area (figure 1 and 8 item 12); a first reflective layer covering at least a portion of the light emitting element (items 14 under 15 and 15) and exposing at least another portion of the light emitting element (figure 1a); a second reflective layer disposed in a sub-pixel area (item 14 14s3), the sub-pixel area being adjacent to and in a planar direction from the light emitting element area (figure 1 and 8), and the second reflective layer including a reflective surface facing a light output direction of the display device (figure 8); and a color conversion layer disposed in the sub-pixel area (13B or 13G or 13R paragraph 52), the color conversion layer including a quantum-dot and overlapping the second reflective layer in a plan view (paragraph 52).
m. As to claim 18, Akiba teaches A method of manufacturing a display device, the method comprising: manufacturing a light emitting element on an element base (item 12 figure 1); and disposing the element base and the light emitting element on a pixel circuit layer (figure 19 item 1 on 260 paragraph 100), wherein the manufacturing of the light emitting element comprises: patterning the light emitting element on the element base (figure 12); patterning a first reflective layer covering a portion of the light emitting element and exposing at least another portion of the light emitting element (item 15 and 14 under 15 figure1); and patterning a second reflective layer in an area where the light emitting element is not disposed (item 14 14s3).
n. As to claim 20, Akiba teaches further comprising: forming a color conversion layer including a quantum-dot (13G 13R or 13B paragraphs 52 and 53) on the element base in an area where the light emitting element is not disposed (figure 1), wherein the light emitting element and the first reflective layer form a bank structure for the forming of the color conversion layer (figure 1 item 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiba in view of Wong 20090244903.
a. As to claim 7, Applicant does not provide a scale to the protrusions and structure will have microscopic or nanoscopic protrusions.
Akiba does not teach macroscopic protrusions, such that wherein the first reflective layer includes a plurality of protrusions and a body portion that are integral with each other, and each of the protrusions forms a protruding structure that protrudes from the body portion.
Wong teaches providing protrusions or texturing the reflector to diffuse light (paragraph 16)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide wherein the first reflective layer includes a plurality of protrusions and a body portion that are integral with each other, and each of the protrusions forms a protruding structure that protrudes from the body portion to allow for the light to diffuse better to provide better uniformity of the light output.
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiba in view of Seo.
a. Akiba does not explicitly teach wherein the first reflective layer is electrically connected to the light emitting element and is electrically connected to the pixel circuit through the contact portion.
Seo teaches the blocker maybe and electrode of the LED (paragraphs 130 and 131).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide teach wherein the first reflective layer is electrically connected to the light emitting element and is electrically connected to the pixel circuit through the contact portion and the associated LED type as suggest by Seo to reduce the number of elements and double use the electrode to LED and as the blocker and to allow other LED structure to be integrated into the displays allowing for an integration of varied conventional LEDs in displays.
b. As to claim 19 Akiba teaches , wherein the element base includes a wafer for forming the light emitting element (item 11), the pixel circuit layer includes a pixel circuit (item 260), and the disposing of the element base and the light emitting element on the pixel circuit layer
Akiba appear to teach forming a contact portion through the element base to electrically connect the pixel circuit to the light emitting element since element 1 and 260 are electrically connected.
Assuming arguendo that Akiba does not teach Seo does teach providing connection on a base substrate item 117 510 to provide connection between the LED 300 and the pixel circuit TFT.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form contact through the base substrate 11 to make electrical contact with the control circuit 260, to allow low resistance connection using known techniques to provide expected outcome of low resistance electrically connected devices.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo in view of Masaki JP 2004079933.
Seo does teach, a scattering layer including a scatterer is disposed in the sub-pixel area of each of the first sub-pixel portion, the second sub-pixel portion, and the third sub-pixel portion (item 522 figure 5)
Seo further suggests using different color LEDs paragraph 94, and teaches embodiments with 4 LED figure 13.
Seo does not explicitly teach the correspond LED colors or three different LED wavelengths.
Masaki teaches forming a display using the different semiconductor compounds for different LED wavelengths and acknowledges it was well known as of 2004:
Conventionally, different materials are used for the light emitting layer of the LED display depending on the emission color. For example, red (R) is InGaAs or InGaP, green (G) is GaP, InGaAs or InGaN, and blue (B) is InGaN. Therefore, the conventional LED display performs multi-color display by a method in which a large number of LED elements molded for each of R, G, and B emission colors are arranged. Such an LED display has already been put to practical use, for example, as a large outdoor display.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a red LED for red light a green LED for green light and a blue LED for blue light for the display of Seo figure 13. To use existing devices and technology to be used in the expected way and for the expected outcomes of a full color display.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW L. REAMES/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/MATTHEW L REAMES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896