DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election, without traverse, of group 1: encompassing claims 1-13 and 21-26 in the “Response to Election / Restriction Filed - 08/11/2026”, is acknowledged along with cancellation claims 15-20 in “claims- 08/11/2026 “.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (415; Fig 8; [0036]) = (element 415; Figure No. 8; Paragraph No. [0036]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. The primary reference citation may not be preceded by the inventor tag, wherein the other reference citation will carry inventor tag. These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claim 1-2, 4, 6-9, 21 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by ACKERSON; Kristin M. et al. (US 20120105692 A1) hereinafter referenced as Ackerson
Regarding claim 1, Ackerson teaches an image sensor device (image sensor; Fig 8; [0016. 0043, claim 7]), comprising (see the entire document, figs 8, 5 along with other relevant figures, specifically, as cited below):
Ackerson Figures 8 and 5
a pixel sensor array (a row of 305 in different columns; Figs 5-8; [0029, claim 7: pixel array in an image sensor, 0043]; fig 3 illustrates an active region 300 of a semiconductor substrate in which an array of rows and columns of photoelectric conversion elements 305 are formed; [0029] ); comprising:
a first plurality of pixel sensors (any set of grouping of a plurality of pixel sensor cells in the image sensor; [0018], for example right most 305 in a row crossing a first column); and
a second plurality of pixel sensors (another set of grouping of a plurality of pixel sensor cells in the image sensor; [0018], for example second right most 305 in a row crossing a second column) each comprising a color filter (415, in color filter array 410; Fig 8; [0036]); and
an electrochromic layer stack (330; Fig 6; exploded in fig 5; [0031]) over the first plurality of pixel sensors and the second plurality of pixel sensors.
Regarding claim 2, Ackerson as applied to the image sensor device of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the color filters (415, in color filter array 410; Fig 8; [0036]) of the second plurality of pixel sensors are associated with a same wavelength range of visible light (say RED from 415, in color filter array 410; Fig 8; [0036]; the visible lights are [0036] the color filter array 410 includes individual red, green, and blue filter elements 415 (e.g., primary color filter) or alternately, cyan, magenta, and yellow filter elements (e.g., complementary color filter, it is imperative to select RED, for example).
Regarding claim 4, Ackerson as applied to the image sensor device of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the electrochromic layer stack (510) is above (depicted in Fig 14; [0044]) the color filters (415; [0036]) of the second plurality of pixel sensors.
Regarding claim 6, Ackerson as applied to the image sensor device of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the electrochromic layer stack (330) is a first electrochromic layer stack of the image sensor device; and
wherein the image sensor device further comprises:
a second electrochromic layer stack (510; fig 14; [0044]) between the first electrochromic layer stack (330) and a photodiode (305) of a pixel sensor of the second plurality of pixel sensors.
Regarding claim 7, Ackerson as applied to the image sensor device of claim 6, further teaches, wherein an electrochromic layer of the second electrochromic layer stack (510) corresponds to the color filter (415) of the pixel sensor.
Regarding claim 8, Ackerson teaches an image sensor device (image sensor; Fig 8; [0016. 0043, claim 7]) comprising (see the entire document, figs 8, 5 along with other relevant figures, specifically, as cited below):
a first pixel sensor array (a row of 305 in different column; Figs 5-8; [0029, claim 7: pixel array in an image sensor, 0043]; fig 3 illustrates an active region 300 of a semiconductor substrate in which an array of rows and columns of photoelectric conversion elements 305 are formed; [0029]), comprising:
a first plurality of pixel sensors (any set of grouping of a plurality of pixel sensor cells in the image sensor; [0018], for example right most 305 in a row crossing a first column); and
a second plurality of pixel sensors (another set of grouping of a plurality of pixel sensor cells in the image sensor; [0018], for example second right most 305 in a row crossing a second column) each comprising a color filter (415, in color filter array 410; Fig 8; [0036]) associated with a first wavelength range of visible light (the visible lights are [0036] the color filter array 410 includes individual red, green, and blue filter elements 415 (e.g., primary color filter) or alternately, cyan, magenta, and yellow filter elements (e.g., complementary color filter, it is imperative to select RED, for example);
a first electrochromic layer stack (330; Fig 6; exploded in fig 5; [0031]) over the first plurality of pixel sensors and the second plurality of pixel sensors (in first row);
a second pixel sensor array (a second row of 305; Figs 5-8; [0029, claim 7: pixel array in an image sensor, 0043]; fig 3 illustrates an active region 300 of a semiconductor substrate in which an array of rows and columns of photoelectric conversion elements 305 are formed; [0029]) , comprising:
a third plurality of pixel sensors (another set of grouping of a plurality of pixel sensor cells in the image sensor; [0018], for example third right most 305 in the row crossing the third column) each comprising a color filter (415, in color filter array 410; Fig 8; [0036]) associated with a first wavelength range of visible light (the visible lights are [0036] the color filter array 410 includes individual red, green, and blue filter elements 415 (e.g., primary color filter) or alternately, cyan, magenta, and yellow filter elements (e.g., complementary color filter) associated with the first wavelength range of visible light (say of BLUE light); and
a fourth plurality of pixel sensors (another set of grouping of a plurality of pixel sensor cells in the image sensor; [0018], for example third right most 305 in the row crossing the third column) each comprising a color filter (415, in color filter array 410; Fig 8; [0036]) associated with a first wavelength range of visible light (the visible lights are [0036] the color filter array 410 includes individual red, green, and blue filter elements 415 (e.g., primary color filter) or alternately, cyan, magenta, and yellow filter elements (e.g., complementary color filter) associated with a second wavelength (it is imperative to select BLUE, for example)) range of visible light that is different from the first wavelength range IRED);
and a second electrochromic layer stack (another instance of 330; Fig 6; exploded in fig 5; [0031]) over the third plurality of pixel sensors and the fourth plurality of pixel sensors.
Regarding claim 9, Ackerson as applied to the image sensor device of claim 8, further teaches, wherein the first electrochromic layer stack (330) is electrically coupled to a constant current source (fig 7; [0016]).
Regarding claim 21, Ackerson teaches an image sensor device (image sensor; Fig 8; [0016. 0043, claim 7]), comprising (see the entire document, figs 8, 5 along with other relevant figures, specifically, as cited below):
a pixel sensor array (a row of 305 in different colums; Figs 5-8; [0029, claim 7: pixel array in an image sensor, 0043]; fig 3 illustrates an active region 300 of a semiconductor substrate in which an array of rows and columns of photoelectric conversion elements 305 are formed; [0029]), comprising:
a first plurality of pixel sensors (any set of grouping of a plurality of pixel sensor cells in the image sensor; [0018], for example right most 305 in a row crossing whole of first column) each comprising a color filter (415, in color filter array 410; Fig 8; [0036]) associated with a first wavelength range of visible light (the visible lights are [0036] the color filter array 410 includes individual red, green, and blue filter elements 415 (e.g., primary color filter) or alternately, cyan, magenta, and yellow filter elements (e.g., complementary color filter) associated with a first wavelength range of visible light (it is imperative to select RED, for example); and
a second plurality of pixel sensors (another set of grouping of a plurality of pixel sensor cells in the image sensor; [0018], for example a second right most 305 in a row crossing a whole second column) each comprising a color filter (415, in color filter array 410; Fig 8; [0036]) associated with a first wavelength range of visible light (the visible lights are [0036] the color filter array 410 includes individual red, green, and blue filter elements 415 (e.g., primary color filter) or alternately, cyan, magenta, and yellow filter elements (e.g., complementary color filter) associated with a second wavelength range of visible light ((it is imperative to select RED, for example)) that is different from the first wavelength range (of RED);
and an electrochromic layer stack (330 over rightmost 305 of the row for a whole column; Fig 6; exploded in fig 5; [0031] ) over the first plurality of pixel sensors (right most 305 in a row crossing whole of first column) and the second plurality of pixel sensors (second from the right most 305 in a row crossing whole of second column).
Regarding Claim 25, Ackerson as applied to the image sensor device of claim 21, further teaches, wherein the electrochromic layer stack (330) is a first electrochromic layer stack of the image sensor device; and
wherein the image sensor device further comprises (Figs 8,6):
a second electrochromic layer stack (330 over third 305 from right crossing the whole third column) between the first electrochromic layer stack (330 over rightmost 305 crossing the whole first column) and a photodiode of a pixel sensor (305) of the first plurality of pixel sensors; and a third electrochromic layer stack (330 over fourth 305 from right crossing the whole fourth column) between the first electrochromic layer stack (330 over rightmost 305 crossing the whole first column) and a photodiode of a pixel sensor of the second plurality of pixel sensors (305).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims {3, 22} and {5,23} are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ACKERSON; Kristin M. et al. (US 20120105692 A1) hereinafter referenced as Ackerson; in view of LEE; MING-HSUN et al. (US 20220019116 A1) hereinafter referenced as Lee
Regarding claim {3, 22}, {5,23}. Ackerson as applied to the image sensor device of claim 1 and or 21, further teaches, wherein the electrochromic layer stack (330; Fig 6; exploded in fig 5; [0031]) comprises an electrochromic layer (340), (an electrolyte layer , and an ion-storage layer (335) that are included between transparent electrodes (325/345) of the electrochromic layer stack; and
Wherein, for claims (3,22) the electrochromic layer, the electrolyte layer, the ion-storage layer, and the transparent electrodes are vertically arranged in the image sensor device (depicted in Fig 5).
Wherein, for claims (5,23), wherein the electrochromic layer, the electrolyte layer, the ion-storage layer, and the transparent electrodes are horizontally arranged in the image sensor device.
But the difference between Ackerson and claims is that Ackerson’s electrochromic layer stack (330) does not include an electrolyte layer; and
for claims (5,23), wherein the electrochromic layer, the electrolyte layer, the ion-storage layer, and the transparent electrodes are horizontally arranged in the image sensor device.
However, in the analogous art, Lee teaches (Figs 1-7; [0033] an electrochromic module 100 includes, inter alia, at least, an electrochromic layer 321, an electrolyte layer 322, and an ion storage layer 323. The electrochromic layer 321, the electrolyte layer 322, and the ion storage layer 323 are stacked in that turn. This module 100 is capable of varying its light transmission in response to the application of an electric field, specifically, possibility of multicolor can be matched by setting different electrolyte layers 322.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the electrolyte layer of Lee into Ackerson’s electrochromic layer stack (330), and thereafter the combination of (Ackerson and Lee)’s electrochromic layer stack (330) comprises an electrolyte layer (Lee 322), since this incorporation, at least facilitates multicolor matching by setting different electrolyte layers (Lee [0033]).
For claims (5,23), applicant’s does not establish criticality for horizontal arrangement of the electrochromic layer, the electrolyte layer, the ion-storage layer, and the transparent electrodes in the image sensor device. Instead other claims 3,22, the arrangement is vertical for those layers.
Moreover, the instant specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed horizontal arrangement or of any unexpected results arising therefrom; instead other claims 3,22, the arrangement is vertical for those layers. Where patentability is aid to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen compositions are critical. (In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 (Fed. Cir. 1990).) Therefore, the claimed limitation(s) relating to horizontal arrangement of the electrochromic layer, the electrolyte layer, the ion-storage layer, and the transparent electrodes in the image sensor device ia an unpatentable limitation because it would have involve only a mere change in size/layout of a stack. A change in composition/size/shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (COPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 24, the combination of (Ackerson and Lee) as applied to the image sensor device of claim 23, does not expressly disclose, wherein a width of the electrochromic layer (340) is greater than widths of each of the electrolyte layer (Lee 322), the ion-storage layer (335), and the transparent electrodes (325/345). But, applicant’s does not establish criticality for a width of the electrochromic layer is greater than widths of each of the electrolyte layer, the ion-storage layer, and the transparent electrodes.
Moreover, the instant specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed width of the electrochromic layer is greater than widths of each of the electrolyte layer, the ion-storage layer, and the transparent electrodes or of any unexpected results arising therefrom; instead, some lateral width was in the disclosure. Where patentability is to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen compositions are critical. (In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578 (Fed. Cir. 1990).) Therefore, the claimed limitation(s) relating to greater width of the electrochromic layer tan the the electrolyte layer, the ion-storage layer, and the transparent electrodes is an unpatentable limitation because it would have involve only a mere change in size/layout of a stack. A change in composition/size/shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (COPA 1955).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ACKERSON; Kristin M. et al. (US 20120105692 A1) hereinafter referenced as Ackerson; in view of Son; Kyoung-Mok et al. (US 20070008009 A1) hereinafter referenced as Son
Regarding claim 10, Ackerson as applied to the image sensor
device of claim 9, does not expressly disclose, wherein the constant current source comprises one or more current mirror circuits.
However, in the analogous art, Son teaches ([0062]) an electrochromic display (ECD), wherein ([[0023]) a bias circuit for supplying a variable bias voltage to the output buffers so that the output buffers have a constant slew rate range, wherein each of the output buffers comprises: a bias current source including a fifth PMOS transistor for receiving the bias voltage and supplying a bias current to first and second PMOS transistors; an input unit including the first and second PMOS transistors for respectively receiving first and second input signals for outputting a variable current corresponding to the bias current; an amplification output unit including third, fourth, sixth and seventh PMOS transistors forming a current mirror, first and second NMOS transistors forming a cascade amplifying terminal and third and fourth NMOS transistors forming a current source, the amplification output unit receiving the variable current and outputting the output voltage; and a capacitor for stabilizing a frequency characteristic of the output voltage.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the constant current source comprises one or more current mirror circuits of Son into Ackerson’s electrochromic layer stack (330), and thereafter the combination of (Ackerson and Son)’s image sensor comprises constant current source comprises one or more current mirror circuits, since this incorporation, at least, stabilizes a frequency characteristic of the output voltage (Son [0023])..
Regarding claim 11, the combination of (Ackerson and Son) as applied to the image sensor device of claim 10, further teaches, wherein (Son [0023]) the one or more current mirror circuits comprise a n-type metal-oxide-semiconductor (NMOS) current mirror circuit.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of (Ackerson and Son) as applied to the image sensor device of claim 11, further teaches, wherein (Son [0023]) the one or more current mirror circuits comprise a p-type metal-oxide-semiconductor (PMOS) current mirror circuit electrically coupled to the NMOS current mirror circuit.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ACKERSON; Kristin M. et al. (US 20120105692 A1) hereinafter referenced as Ackerson; in view of Fukuhara; Takahiro et al (US 20080062281 A1) hereinafter referenced as Fukuhara.
Regarding claim 13, Ackerson as applied to the image sensor device of claim 8, does not expressly disclose, wherein the image sensor device further comprises: an image data compression circuit coupled to the first pixel sensor array.
However, in the analogous art, Fukuhara teaches an image pickup element, and a method for controlling the image pickup apparatus([0002]), wherein (fig 1; [0031-0032]) processed data is input to an image compression device 8 that compresses the image data D1 and outputs compression-encoded data D2 to recording and transmission sections.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the image data compression circuit 8 of Fukuhara , coupled to the first pixel sensor array into Ackerson’s image sensor device , and thereafter the combination of (Ackerson and Fukuhara)’s image sensor comprises image data compression circuit coupled to the first pixel sensor array as claimed, since, this inclusion, at least, prevents dropping frames and thereby to record the image data at high image quality (Fukuhara [0062]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ACKERSON; Kristin M. et al. (US 20120105692 A1) hereinafter referenced as Ackerson; in view of Fukuhara; Takahiro et al (US 20080062281 A1) hereinafter referenced as Fukuhara. And in further view of TAKAHASHI; Kei et al. (US 20190371249 A1) hereinafter referenced as Takahasi.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of (Ackerson and Fukuhara) as applied to the image sensor device of claim 13, does not expressly disclose, wherein the image sensor device further comprises: an image data decompression circuit coupled to the first pixel sensor array.
However, in the analogous art, Takahasi teaches a display panel, a display device, an input/output device, or a data processing device. ([0001]), wherein ( [0322]) he decompression circuit 234 has a function of decompressing the image data V1 supplied in a compressed state. The decompression circuit 234 includes a memory portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the image data decompression circuit 234 of Takahasi, coupled to the first pixel sensor array into Ackerson’s image sensor device, and thereafter the combination of (Ackerson, Fukuhara and Takahasi)’s image sensor comprises decompression circuit 234 as claimed, since, this inclusion, at least, facilitates restores data for image processing.
Conclusion
/MOAZZAM HOSSAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898
August 28, 2026