DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Examiner notes that the previously set forth 112(b) rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
Regarding prior art
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 18 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment, however, examiner will address comments related to the teachings of Takanobu.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/01/2026 regarding the teachings of Takanobu have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. For example, applicant argues “Takanobu’s use of animation is to indicate the ‘temporal change’ in velocity. There is, however, no ‘temporal change’ in velocity in a single flow field (REMARKS pg. 9). Examiner respectfully disagrees in that applicant appears to make arguments with respect to the disclosure of Takanobu regarding continuously displaying the particle images, however, such disclosure does not explicitly tie to Takanobu’s disclosure of the animation of the velocity vector image (i.e. the single flow field) itself but rather appears to describe the continuous processing of such data over time, however, Takanobu explicitly discloses that the animation shows that particles move along a velocity vector according to the velocity level and that the velocity vector image of fig. 8 is animated as shown in fig. 10 where such animation of a velocity vector image is considered to result in the single flow field (i.e. the vector image of fig. 8) being animated. For at least these reasons, applicant’s arguments against the teachings of Takanobu are not found persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 12, 14-15, 17, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapoor et al. (US 20190269379 A1), hereinafter Kapoor in view of Foreign Takanobu et al. (JP H0592001 A), hereinafter Takanobu and Chomas et al. (US 20080125657 A1), hereinafter Chomas . Examiner notes that citations to Takanobu are with reference to the translated copy provided on 12/05/2025.
Regarding claims 1 and 14,
Kapoor teaches a system for imaging a blood flow in an anatomical region of a patient, comprising:
an ultrasound probe (at least fig. 4 (32) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0078]) comprising a transducer configured to emit ultrasonic waves and receive reflected waves from the anatomical region ([0080] which discloses the transmit beamformer 30 may have a plurality of channels for generating electrical signals of a transmit waveform for each element of a transmit aperture on the transducer 32 and [0083] which discloses transmit wave fronts focused at a region or diverging through the flow region (e.g., small aperture or single element) insonify the same locations multiple times. The responsive echoes are received by the transducer 32 and converted into electrical signals for each element (i.e., channel data)) and from the blood flow therein ([0088] which discloses due to the response form blood, the resulting multi-pulse, coherently formed B-mode images with patterns for fluid are output) to obtain an imaging signal (The responsive echoes are received by the transducer 32 and converted into electrical signals for each element (i.e., channel data)),
a memory (at least fig. 4 (44) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0093]) storing instructions ([0093] which discloses the instructions for implementing the adaptive processes, methods and/or techniques discussed above are provided on computer-readable storage media or memories);
a display (at least fig. 4 (40) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0092]) configured to display an image ([0092]), wherein the image comprises a static image (([0063] which discloses the flow information is overlaid or combined with the B-mode image and further discloses a coherently combined B-mode image or a standard (e.g. single transmit) B-mode image is used. Examiner notes that such a combined or standard B-mode image is considered a static image including the region of interest);
and a processor (at least fig. 4 (42 and/or 42, 36, 37, and 38) and corresponding disclosure in at least [0093]) configured to execute the instructions ([0093] which discloses the instructions are implemented on a single device, such as the control processor 42, beamformer 30, 34, coherent image former 36, the detector 37, the image processor 38, and/or a plurality of devices in a distributed manner) to:
obtain ultrasound image data based on the imaging signal ([0088] which discloses the detector 38 receives sequences of frames of data);
select a region of interest in the ultrasound image data ([0037] which discloses in act 20, the flow region is segmented. For example one or more heart chambers are segmented. [0039] which discloses any segmentation may be used. Image processing, such as using random walker, thresholding, gradient, and/or pattern matching, may locate the tissue boundary. A heart or tissue model may be fit to the data to locate the tissue boundary. In other embodiments, a machine-learnt classifier or network is used. The B-mode image or information derived therefrom is input as feature vector values to the network. The network outputs locations of the tissue boundary based on machine-learnt knowledge from training images and known or expert annotated ground truth and [0042] which discloses In act 24, the multi-pulse, coherently formed B-mode images are masked. The segmentation is used to mask. The mask removes or prevents use of data from tissue. The flow region or regions of interest are isolated by the masking. The pattern caused by multi-pulse, coherent combination for the B-mode image is isolated for tracking. Examiner notes that such segmentation/masking necessarily selects a region of interest in the ultrasound image data);
determine at least one characteristic of the blood flow in the region of interest ([0043] which discloses in act 14, an image processor determines two or three-dimensional velocity vectors of the blood from the multi-pulse, coherently formed B-mode images. Rather than finding the velocity just towards or away from the transducer, the direction and magnitude of velocity in two or three dimensions is determined);
generate an animation indicating the at least one characteristic of the blood flow in the region of interest ([0061] which discloses the image processor generates a flow image [0063] which discloses the flow information is provided for each pixel, voxel, or sample location of the fluid region and [0065] which discloses the flow image is a function of the velocities of the flow field. The velocity vectors are used to generate the flow image. The velocity vectors or characteristic of the velocity vectors are mapped to the display values as the flow image. Alternatively, the flow information is derived from the velocity vectors. A sequence of flow images may allow the viewer to visualize the changes in flow. See also [0066] In one embodiment, a vector field is generated as the flow image and [0090] which discloses flow information over times, such as represented in a sequence of images, may be used for imaging. Examiner notes that a sequence of images is considered to be an animation in its broadest reasonable interpretation where an animation is defined as a movie, scene, or sequence that simulates movement from a series of still frames), wherein the animation indicates the blood flow along paths ([0066] In one embodiment, a vector field is generated as the flow image. The velocity vectors, averaged by neighborhood, are mapped to arrow graphics. Any number and/or size of arrow graphics may be used. The magnitude of the vector maps to arrow length, color, and/or width. The direction of the vector maps to direction of the arrow) in a single flow field ([0067] which discloses the direction and magnitude of the flow at the time represented by the image during the heart phase are shown and [0090] which discloses flow information over times, such as represented in a sequence of images, may be used for imaging and [0065] which discloses a sequence of flow images may allow the viewer to visualize the changes in flow, thus considered an animation. Examiner notes that the animation therefore indicates the blood flow along paths in a flow field over time, thus includes indicating the blood flow along the paths during each frame where the time period for acquisition is considered a single acquisition frame), such that the flow field is animated ([0065] which discloses a sequence of flow images may allow the viewer to visualize the changes in flow therefore the flow field in the single acquisition frame (i.e. single time frame for acquiring at least two of the flow images) is animated through sequential display of flow images), wherein the animation comprises a plurality of animation frames (i.e. at least two of the flow images); and
control the display to display a static image including the region of interest ([0063] which discloses the flow information is overlaid or combined with the B-mode image and further discloses a coherently combined B-mode image or a standard (e.g. single transmit) B-mode image is used. Examiner notes that such a combined or standard B-mode image is considered a static image including the region of interest) and the animation within the region of interest ([0063] which discloses the flow information is provided for each pixel, voxel, or sample location of the fluid region and the flow information is overlaid with the B-mode image. Thus it is noted that the flow information is within the region of interest).
Kapoor fails to explicitly teach wherein the single flow field is animated.
Nonetheless, Takanobu, in a similar field of endeavor involving blood flow imaging, teaches a processor configured to generate an animation indicating at least one characteristic of blood flow in the region of interest, wherein the animation indicates the at least one characteristic of the blood flow along paths in a single flow field such that the single flow field is animated, wherein the animation comprises a plurality of animation frames (-pg. 6 last paragraph which discloses the display processing unit creates various images using the velocity vectors of the many points. A color two-dimensional blood flow image based on information, a vector image (i.e. the single flow field) as shown in fig. 8 and an animation image as used currently showing the movement of particles as shown in fig. 10 are obtained. In the vector image as shown in fig. 8, a predetermined number, for example, 20 among the many points for which the velocity vector is obtained is associated with one particle, and the velocity vector of the particle (the velocity vector of the predetermined number of points is added to the particle with an arrow having a length and direction according to the velocity level. As an example of the method for creating an animation image shown in fig. 10, particles as shown in fig. 8 are set and as shown in fig. 9, according to the time interval for obtaining the second image from the first image. Then, an animation image is created so that the particles move according to the velocity level of the in-plane component of the velocity vector and its direction. Similarly, for the second and third sheets, the motion of the particles can be displayed by continuously creating and displaying animation images. See at least figs. 8-10. Examiner notes that the animation image(s) created so that the particles move according to the velocity level along the velocity vector is considered to result in an animation image in which the single flow field (i.e. the flow field of fig. 8) is animated).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Kapoor to include generating an animation as taught by Takanobu in order to visualize the movement of particles found in a single flow field according to the velocity level of the velocity vector and it’s direction (Takanobu pg. 6). Such a modification would allow a user to visually recognize the speed at which particles in a single flow field are moving with ease thereby enhancing the overall diagnostic procedure.
Examiner notes that in the modified system the animation of Takanobu is understood to be displayed within the region of interest in the same manner as disclosed by Kapoor.
Kapoor fails to explicitly teach the transducer comprising: a matching layer configured to have an acoustic impedance between a tissue of the anatomical region and a material of the transducer; and a damping block configured to absorb ultrasound energy;
Nonetheless,
Chomas, in a similar field of endeavor involving ultrasound imaging, teaches a standard imaging transducer includes a matching layer configured to have an acoustic impedance between a tissue of the anatomical region and a material of the transducer and a dampening block configured to absorb ultrasound energy ([0019] which discloses the transducer 14 is a standard imaging transducer, such as a transducer associated with half wavelength spacing of elements sandwiched between a backing block for absorbing acoustic energy and matching layers for matching the acoustic impedance of the elements to a patient. For example, the transducer is a 4C1 probe available from Siemens Medical Solutions, USA.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Kapoor to include a transducer as taught by Chomas in order to provide a standard imaging transducer (Chomas [0019]). Such a modification of would limit or prevent reflections received from the back of transducer and minimize reflections from the boundary between the transducer and the patient, thereby enhancing the overall imaging procedure. Additionally/alternatively. Such a modification amounts to merely a simple substitution of one known transducer for another yielding predictable results with respect to ultrasound imaging thereby rendering the claim obvious (MPEP 2143).
Examiner notes that the modified system would teach the method of claim 14 having corresponding method steps.
Regarding claims 2 and 15,
Kapoor further teaches wherein the at least one characteristic of the blood flow is determined using blood speckle imaging data, wherein the ultrasound image data comprises blood speckle image data ([0004] which discloses The ultrasound system scans a heart of a patient, and B-mode images are generated with synthetic transmit aperture. The B-mode images include speckle for response from blood. A flow field of two or three-dimensional velocities of the blood is determined from the speckle response for the blood of the B-mode images. A flow image that as a function of the velocities of the flow field is displayed and [0036] which discloses By using multi-pulse, coherent image formation and then B-mode detecting, the multi-pulse, coherently formed B-mode images include speckle or other pattern for response from the blood. Rather than relying on tissue movement or tracking of speckle from tissue, the blood response may be used despite use of B-mode imaging. Examiner thus notes that the B-mode data is considered blood speckle imaging data)
Regarding claim 3,
Kapoor further teaches wherein the ultrasound image data includes B-mode data ([0036] which discloses by using multi-pulse, coherent image formation and then B-mode detecting, the multi-pulse, coherently formed B-mode images include speckle or other pattern for response from the blood. Rather than relying on tissue movement or tracking of speckle from tissue, the blood response may be used despite use of B-mode imaging), and wherein the static image includes B-mode data ([0063] which discloses the flow information is overlaid or combined with the B-mode image and further discloses a coherently combined B-mode image or a standard (e.g. single transmit) B-mode image is used).
Regarding claim 4,
Kapoor further teaches wherein the blood speckle imaging data corresponds to an acquisition frame in which the static image is obtained ([0063] which discloses the flow information is overlaid or combined with the B-mode image and further discloses a coherently combined B-mode image or a standard (e.g. single transmit) B-mode image is used)
Regarding claim 12,
Kapoor further teaches wherein the plurality of pathways are determined using blood speckle imaging, wherein the ultrasound image data comprises the blood speckle image data ([0004] which discloses The B-mode images include speckle for response from blood. A flow field of two or three-dimensional velocities of the blood is determined from the speckle response for the blood of the B-mode images. See also [0036] which discloses the B-mode images include speckle or other pattern for response from the blood. Examiner notes that the plurality of pathways (i.e. the vectors are determined according to the blood response/B-mode images thus blood speckle imaging)).
Regarding claims 21 and 23,
Kapoor further teaches wherein the processor is configured to determine the single flow field from data drawn from a plurality of acquisition frames including an acquisition frame in which the ultrasound image data is obtained (([0043] which discloses a flow field of vectors for the fluid region is determined. This flow field has a same resolution as the multi-pulse, coherently formed B-mode images [0044] which discloses a flow field of vectors for the fluid region is determined. This flow field has a same resolution as the multi-pulse, coherently formed B-mode images [0088] which discloses the detector 38 receives sequences of frames of data. The frames of data are formed by transmit aperture synthesis. The detection is applied to each of the frames of data, which are each frame is responsive to multiple transmit events to determine the value or data for each location. Due to the response from blood, the resulting multi-pulse, coherently formed B-mode images with patterns for fluid are output. [0089] which discloses the image processor 38 is a same or different type of device as the control processor 42 and/or detector 37. The image processor 38 may be part of the control processor 42, the coherent image former 36, and/or the detector 37 or may be separate. The image processor 38 is configured to determine blood flow parameters from the sequence of B-mode images formed with synthetic transmit apertures. After any object detection (e.g., segmentation), masking, selection of desired cardiac phases and corresponding data, and/or filtering, the image processor 38 is configured to track the pattern from fluid response over time or between frames of data (e.g., B-mode images). Correlation or other tracking is performed to determine the velocity vectors based on the patterns. In one embodiment, an optimization solves differential equations to determine the velocity vectors. The B-mode images formed with synthetic transmit apertures with any boundary conditions and/or initialization are used for solving for the velocity vectors. Examiner notes that the single flow field (e.g. flow information used for forming a flow image) is determined from data drawn from the entire acquisition of data thus from frames including the an acquisition frame from which the ultrasound image data is obtained).
Regarding claims 22 and 24,
Kapoor further wherein the plurality of acquisition frames include acquisition frames before and after the acquisition frame in which the ultrasound image data is obtained([0088] which discloses the detector 38 receives sequences of frames of data. The frames of data are formed by transmit aperture synthesis. The detection is applied to each of the frames of data, which are each frame is responsive to multiple transmit events to determine the value or data for each location. Due to the response from blood, the resulting multi-pulse, coherently formed B-mode images with patterns for fluid are output. [0089] which discloses the image processor 38 is a same or different type of device as the control processor 42 and/or detector 37. The image processor 38 may be part of the control processor 42, the coherent image former 36, and/or the detector 37 or may be separate. The image processor 38 is configured to determine blood flow parameters from the sequence of B-mode images formed with synthetic transmit apertures. After any object detection (e.g., segmentation), masking, selection of desired cardiac phases and corresponding data, and/or filtering, the image processor 38 is configured to track the pattern from fluid response over time or between frames of data (e.g., B-mode images). Correlation or other tracking is performed to determine the velocity vectors based on the patterns. In one embodiment, an optimization solves differential equations to determine the velocity vectors. The B-mode images formed with synthetic transmit apertures with any boundary conditions and/or initialization are used for solving for the velocity vectors. Thus it is noted that the plurality of frames for which the blood-speckle image data includes image frames obtained during the entire imaging sequence including images before and after the single acquisition frame).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapoor, Takanobu, and Chomas, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of NPL Lovstakken (BSI (blood speckle imaging) cited in applicant’s IDS filed 06/06/2024.
Regarding claim 8,
Kapoor, as modified, teaches the elements of claim 1 as previously stated. Kapoor fails to explicitly teach wherein the animation comprises a loop.
Nonetheless, Lovstakken, in a similar field of endeavor involving blood flow imaging, teaches wherein an animation indicating a characteristic of blood flow comprises a loop (pg. 2 which discloses to review the loops after acquisition, they are displayed in slow motion and a replay speed of the loop and display of the blood flow trajectories… the replay speed of the loop, which is usually played in slow motion to clearly see the dynamics of the blood flow)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Kapoor, as currently modified, to include a loop in order to repeatedly view the blood flow dynamics for the cardiac cycle/phase in a continuous manner. Such a modification would allow for a viewer to replay the blood flow information over time which would allow for the user to gather a better understanding of the blood flow dynamics acquired at the time of imaging.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapoor, Takanobu, and Chomas, as applied to claim 9 above and further in view of Hatfield et al. (US 5904653 A1), hereinafter Hatfield.
Regarding claim 10,
Kapoor, as modified teaches the elements of claim 9 as previously stated. Kapoor further teaches wherein the animation comprises color information ([0062] which discloses the flow information is mapped to color, allowing at least two characteristics to be mapped for flow locations. For example, the magnitude is mapped to color and direction is mapped to brightness and [0066] which discloses the velocity vectors are mapped to arrow graphics. The magnitude of the vector maps to arrow length, color, and/or width and further in [0070] which discloses For a two-dimensional field, vorticity may be considered a scalar quantity and is color mapped with intensity proportional to strength or rate and color proportional to direction (in/out of plane or clockwise/counterclockwise).
Kapoor fails to explicitly teach wherein the animation comprises different color information corresponding to different ones of the plurality of directions along which the blood flows.
Hatfield, in a similar field of endeavor involving ultrasound flow imaging, teaches wherein an image comprises different color information corresponding to different ones of a plurality of directions along which the blood flows (Col. 2 lines 26-34 which discloses for each pixel in the image to be produced, 8 bits control the intensity of red, 8 bits control the intensity of green and 8 bits control the intensity of blue. These bit patterns are preselected such that as the flow velocity changes in direction or magnitude, the color of the pixel at each location is changed. For example, flow toward the transducer is indicated as red and flow away from the transducer is indicated as blue. The faster the flow, the brighter the color).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Kapoor to include different color information corresponding to different ones of the plurality of directions as taught by Hatfield in order to provide enhanced understanding of the flow by displaying different colors to represent the speed and direction of flow (Hatfield Col. 3 lines 8-13).
Claims 18-19 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kapoor in view of Takanobu. Examiner notes that Kapoor is cited in Applicant’s IDS filed on 06/06/2024 and citations to Takanobu are with respect to the translated copy provided on 12/05/2025.
Regarding claim 18,
Kapoor teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising a set of instructions for execution by at least one processor ([0093] which discloses the instructions for implementing the adaptive processes, methods and/or techniques discussed above are provided on computer-readable storage media or memories 44, such as a cache, buffer, RAM, removable media, hard drive or other computer readable storage media and The instructions are implemented on a single device, such as the control processor 42, the beamformer 30, 34, the coherent image former 36, the detector 37, the image processor 38, and/or a plurality of devices in a distributed manner), to cause:
emitting, with an ultrasound probe transducer, ultrasonic waves ([0080] which discloses the transmit beamformer 30 may have a plurality of channels for generating electrical signals of a transmit waveform for each element of a transmit aperture on the transducer 32);
receiving, with the ultrasound probe transducer, reflected waves from a region of interest and from a blood flow therein to obtain an imaging signal ([0088] which discloses due to the response form blood, the resulting multi-pulse, coherently formed B-mode images with patterns for fluid are output) to obtain an imaging signal (The responsive echoes are received by the transducer 32 and converted into electrical signals for each element (i.e., channel data));
obtaining ultrasound image data based on the imaging signal ([0088] which discloses the detector 38 receives sequences of frames of data);
selecting the region of interest in the ultrasound image data ([0037] which discloses in act 20, the flow region is segmented. For example one or more heart chambers are segmented. [0039] which discloses any segmentation may be used. Image processing, such as using random walker, thresholding, gradient, and/or pattern matching, may locate the tissue boundary. A heart or tissue model may be fit to the data to locate the tissue boundary. In other embodiments, a machine-learnt classifier or network is used. The B-mode image or information derived therefrom is input as feature vector values to the network. The network outputs locations of the tissue boundary based on machine-learnt knowledge from training images and known or expert annotated ground truth and [0042] which discloses [0042] In act 24, the multi-pulse, coherently formed B-mode images are masked. The segmentation is used to mask. The mask removes or prevents use of data from tissue. The flow region or regions of interest are isolated by the masking. The pattern caused by multi-pulse, coherent combination for the B-mode image is isolated for tracking. Examiner notes that such segmentation/masking necessarily selects a region of interest in the ultrasound image data);
determining at least one characteristic of the blood flow in the region of interest ([0043] which discloses in act 14, an image processor determines two or three-dimensional velocity vectors of the blood from the multi-pulse, coherently formed B-mode images. Rather than finding the velocity just towards or away from the transducer, the direction and magnitude of velocity in two or three dimensions is determined);
generating an animation indicating the at least one characteristic of the blood flow in the region of interest ([0061] which discloses the image processor generates a flow image [0063] which discloses the flow information is provided for each pixel, voxel, or sample location of the fluid region and [0065] which discloses the flow image is a function of the velocities of the flow field. The velocity vectors are used to generate the flow image. The velocity vectors or characteristic of the velocity vectors are mapped to the display values as the flow image. Alternatively, the flow information is derived from the velocity vectors. A sequence of flow images may allow the viewer to visualize the changes in flow. See also [0066] In one embodiment, a vector field is generated as the flow image and [0090] which discloses flow information over times, such as represented in a sequence of images, may be used for imaging. Examiner notes that a sequence of images is considered to be an animation in its broadest reasonable interpretation where an animation is defined as a movie, scene, or sequence that simulates movement from a series of still frames), wherein the animation indicates the blood flow along paths ([0066] In one embodiment, a vector field is generated as the flow image. The velocity vectors, averaged by neighborhood, are mapped to arrow graphics. Any number and/or size of arrow graphics may be used. The magnitude of the vector maps to arrow length, color, and/or width. The direction of the vector maps to direction of the arrow) in a flow field ([0067] which discloses the direction and magnitude of the flow at the time represented by the image during the heart phase are shown and [0090] which discloses flow information over times, such as represented in a sequence of images, may be used for imaging and [0065] which discloses a sequence of flow images may allow the viewer to visualize the changes in flow, thus considered an animation. Examiner notes that the animation therefore indicates the blood flow along paths in a flow field over time, thus includes indicating the blood flow along the paths during each frame where the time period for acquisition is considered a single acquisition frame), such that the flow field is animated ([0065] which discloses a sequence of flow images may allow the viewer to visualize the changes in flow therefore the flow field in the single acquisition frame (i.e. single time frame for acquiring at least two of the flow images) is animated through sequential display of flow images), wherein the animation comprises a plurality of animation frames (i.e. at least two of the flow images); and
displaying, on a display, a static image including the region of interest ([0063] which discloses the flow information is overlaid or combined with the B-mode image and further discloses a coherently combined B-mode image or a standard (e.g. single transmit) B-mode image is used. Examiner notes that such a combined or standard B-mode image is considered a static image including the region of interest) and the animation within the region of interest ([0063] which discloses the flow information is provided for each pixel, voxel, or sample location of the fluid region and the flow information is overlaid with the B-mode image. Thus it is noted that the flow information is within the region of interest).
Kapoor fails to explicitly teach wherein the single flow field is animated.
Nonetheless, Takanobu, in a similar field of endeavor involving blood flow imaging, teaches a processor configured to generate an animation indicating at least one characteristic of blood flow in the region of interest, wherein the animation indicates the at least one characteristic of the blood flow along paths in a single flow field such that the single flow field is animated, wherein the animation comprises a plurality of animation frames (pg. 6 last paragraph which discloses the display processing unit creates various images using the velocity vectors of the many points. A color two-dimensional blood flow image based on information, a vector image (i.e. the single flow field) as shown in fig. 8 and an animation image as used currently showing the movement of particles as shown in fig. 10 are obtained. In the vector image as shown in fig. 8, a predetermined number, for example, 20 among the many points for which the velocity vector is obtained is associated with one particle, and the velocity vector of the particle (the velocity vector of the predetermined number of points is added to the particle with an arrow having a length and direction according to the velocity level. As an example of the method for creating an animation image shown in fig. 10, particles as shown in fig. 8 are set and as shown in fig. 9, according to the time interval for obtaining the second image from the first image. Then, an animation image is created so that the particles move according to the velocity level of the in-plane component of the velocity vector and its direction. Similarly, for the second and third sheets, the motion of the particles can be displayed by continuously creating and displaying animation images. See at least figs. 8-10. Examiner notes that the animation image(s) created so that the particles move according to the velocity level along the velocity vector is considered to result in an animation image in which the single flow field (i.e. the flow field of fig. 8) is animated).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Kapoor to include generating an animation as taught by Takanobu in order to visualize the movement of particles found in the single flow field according to the velocity level of the velocity vector and it’s direction (Takanobu pg. 6). Such a modification would allow a user to visually recognize the speed at which particles in a single flow field are moving with ease thereby enhancing the overall diagnostic procedure.
Examiner notes that in the modified method the animation of Takanobu is understood to be displayed within the region of interest in the same manner as disclosed by Kapoor.
Regarding claim 19,
Kapoor further teaches wherein the at least one characteristic of the blood flow is determined using blood speckle imaging data ([0004] which discloses The ultrasound system scans a heart of a patient, and B-mode images are generated with synthetic transmit aperture. The B-mode images include speckle for response from blood. A flow field of two or three-dimensional velocities of the blood is determined from the speckle response for the blood of the B-mode images. A flow image that as a function of the velocities of the flow field is displayed and [0036] which discloses By using multi-pulse, coherent image formation and then B-mode detecting, the multi-pulse, coherently formed B-mode images include speckle or other pattern for response from the blood. Rather than relying on tissue movement or tracking of speckle from tissue, the blood response may be used despite use of B-mode imaging. Examiner thus notes that the B-mode data is considered blood speckle imaging data), wherein the ultrasound image data includes B-mode data ([0036] which discloses By using multi-pulse, coherent image formation and then B-mode detecting, the multi-pulse, coherently formed B-mode images include speckle or other pattern for response from the blood. Rather than relying on tissue movement or tracking of speckle from tissue, the blood response may be used despite use of B-mode imaging), and wherein the static image includes B-mode data ([0063] which discloses the flow information is overlaid or combined with the B-mode image and further discloses a coherently combined B-mode image or a standard (e.g. single transmit) B-mode image is used).
Regarding claim 25,
Kapoor further teaches wherein the set of instructions is further for execution by the at least one processors, to cause: determining the single flow field from data drawn from a plurality of acquisition frames including an acquisition in frame in which the ultrasound image data is obtained ([0043] which discloses In act 14, an image processor determines two or three-dimensional velocity vectors of the blood from the multi-pulse, coherently formed B-mode images [0044] which discloses a flow field of vectors for the fluid region is determined. This flow field has a same resolution as the multi-pulse, coherently formed B-mode images [0088] which discloses the detector 38 receives sequences of frames of data. The frames of data are formed by transmit aperture synthesis. The detection is applied to each of the frames of data, which are each frame is responsive to multiple transmit events to determine the value or data for each location. Due to the response from blood, the resulting multi-pulse, coherently formed B-mode images with patterns for fluid are output. [0089] which discloses the image processor 38 is a same or different type of device as the control processor 42 and/or detector 37. The image processor 38 may be part of the control processor 42, the coherent image former 36, and/or the detector 37 or may be separate. The image processor 38 is configured to determine blood flow parameters from the sequence of B-mode images formed with synthetic transmit apertures. After any object detection (e.g., segmentation), masking, selection of desired cardiac phases and corresponding data, and/or filtering, the image processor 38 is configured to track the pattern from fluid response over time or between frames of data (e.g., B-mode images). Correlation or other tracking is performed to determine the velocity vectors based on the patterns. In one embodiment, an optimization solves differential equations to determine the velocity vectors. The B-mode images formed with synthetic transmit apertures with any boundary conditions and/or initialization are used for solving for the velocity vectors. Examiner notes that the flow field (e.g. flow information used for forming flow images) is determined by data drawn from the entire acquisition of data thus from frames including the single acquisition frame (i.e. a single time frame of acquisition included in the entirety of the acquisition process)).
Regarding claim 26,
Kapoor further teaches wherein the plurality of acquisition frames include acquisition frames before and after the acquisition frame in which the ultrasound image data is obtained ([0088] which discloses the detector 38 receives sequences of frames of data. The frames of data are formed by transmit aperture synthesis. The detection is applied to each of the frames of data, which are each frame is responsive to multiple transmit events to determine the value or data for each location. Due to the response from blood, the resulting multi-pulse, coherently formed B-mode images with patterns for fluid are output. [0089] which discloses the image processor 38 is a same or different type of device as the control processor 42 and/or detector 37. The image processor 38 may be part of the control processor 42, the coherent image former 36, and/or the detector 37 or may be separate. The image processor 38 is configured to determine blood flow parameters from the sequence of B-mode images formed with synthetic transmit apertures. After any object detection (e.g., segmentation), masking, selection of desired cardiac phases and corresponding data, and/or filtering, the image processor 38 is configured to track the pattern from fluid response over time or between frames of data (e.g., B-mode images). Correlation or other tracking is performed to determine the velocity vectors based on the patterns. In one embodiment, an optimization solves differential equations to determine the velocity vectors. The B-mode images formed with synthetic transmit apertures with any boundary conditions and/or initialization are used for solving for the velocity vectors. Thus it is noted that the plurality of frames for which the blood-speckle image data includes image frames obtained during the entire imaging sequence including images before and after the single acquisition frame).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Haugaard (US 20130261456 A1) teaches a rendering engine visually presents one or more images with blood flow information. With respect ot flow imaging, the image may include a 2D angular independent flow image showing both direction and magnitude… additionally or alternative, graphics, such as vectors, flowlines, particles, animation, and/or other indicia from the magnitude indicia 316 is used for direction).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BROOKE LYN KLEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797