DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 2004 7002703 (“KR ‘2703”). KR ‘2703 discloses a combination of a shipping container (containers to be transported by ship) and a lock device (lashing rods); wherein the shipping container has a corner casting (C-2), a length (H) and a width (W); wherein the length is greater than the width (fig. 7); and
wherein the lock device has a coupler (11) and a structure (12, 17) from which the coupler extends, wherein the coupler for engaging with the corner casting, and wherein the structure is a unitary structure (fig. 1) and is dimensioned to protrude from the shipping container (fig. 4) in a direction parallel to a width direction (W) of the shipping container when the coupler is engaged with the corner casting (fig. 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 7, 9, 13, 15, 16, and 20 – 26 are allowed.
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Prior art references do not disclose or teach a combination of a shipping container and a lock device wherein¸ inter alia, [[claim 18]] an abutment portion is located laterally of the shipping container and is able to contact a further shipping container laterally adjacent the shipping container in use; or
[[claim 13]] the structure is a unitary structure. Closest prior art Behr could not be modified to be a unitary structure because twisting the parts relative to each other is necessary to lock in place within the corner casting. Further, the structure lacks the clearance and tolerance to be inserted fully into the corner casting had the piece been unitary.
Additionally, prior art references do not disclose the pin is fully insertable in the internal cavity of the corner casting. Each one discloses a projection outside of the internal cavity too large to be inserted fully inside the corner casting. Flanges, such as 20 in Kallaes, serve as buffers and support for the upper container between the containers.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KAREN BECK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614
/KAREN BECK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614