DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (claims 1-20) in the reply filed on 9/9/26 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: element 132. See FIG. 1. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “194” has been used to designate different structures in FIG. 13. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 thru 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rachmady et al. US 2023/0073078 A1. Rachmady discloses (see, for example, Fig. 1a) a semiconductor device, comprising: a stacked transistor structure having top field effect transistors Upper Devices stacked on bottom field effect transistors Lower Devices; top gate structures 122 associated with the top field effect transistors Upper Devices; and bottom gate structures 116 associated with the bottom field effect transistors Lower Devices, wherein the bottom gate structures 116 are backside replacement metal gates (RMGs) that are electrically accessed from a backside 129 of the semiconductor device. In paragraph [0031], Rachmady discloses bottom gate structures 116 are formed by gate-last processing, and made of metals such as aluminum, tungsten, etc.
Regarding claim 2, see, for example, paragraph [0033] wherein Rachmady discloses the
top gate structures include a top work function setting metal, and the bottom gate structures include a bottom work function setting metal different from the top work function setting metal.
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 19, see, for example, paragraph [0033] wherein Rachmady discloses the top gate structures include a first work function setting metal having a first thickness, and the bottom gate structures include a second work function setting metal having a second thickness different from the first thickness.
Regarding claim 4, see, for example, Fig. 1a wherein Rachmady discloses each of the bottom gate structures 116 includes respective extended portions that extend through a bottom dielectric isolation 105c and that reside between sacrificial placeholders (see, for example, paragraph [0025] wherein Rachmady discloses the bottom dielectric isolation 105c may include other insulator layers in addition to the layer 105c).
Regarding claims 5, and 13, see, for example, Fig. 1a wherein Rachmady discloses protection caps 127 on the sacrificial placeholders between the respective extended portions of the bottom gate structures 116.
Regarding claims 6, and 14, see, for example, Fig. 1a wherein Rachmady discloses the respective extended portions of the bottom gate structures 116 connect to a backside interconnect layer 129.
Regarding claims 7, and 15, see, for example, paragraph [0033] wherein Rachmady discloses the top gate structures include a p-type work function setting metal, and the bottom gate structures include an n-type work function setting metal.
Regarding claims 8, 16, and 20, see, for example, paragraph [0033], and [0031] wherein Rachmady discloses the top gate structures include a first metal fill on a first work function setting metal within the top gate structures , and the bottom gate structures include a second metal fill on a second work function setting metal within the bottom gate structures.
Regarding claims 9, and 17, see, for example, paragraph [0033] wherein Rachmady discloses the first metal fill and the second metal fill include a same material.
Regarding claim 10, see, for example, Fig. 1a, and paragraph [0033] wherein Rachmady discloses a bottom nanosheet device Lower Devices including a first work function setting metal 116; and a top nanosheet device Upper Devices, stacked above the bottom nanosheet device Lower Devices, including a second work function setting metal 122 that is different from the first work function setting metal 116, wherein a portion of the first work function setting metal 116 extends through a bottom dielectric isolation 105c and directly contacts backside wiring layers 129.
Regarding claim 12, see, for example, Fig. 1a wherein Rachmady discloses the bottom nanosheet device includes a bottom gate structure 116 having, and wherein the bottom gate structure 116 includes an extended portion that extends through the bottom dielectric isolation 105c and that resides between sacrificial placeholders (see, for example, paragraph [0025] wherein Rachmady discloses the bottom dielectric isolation 105c may include other insulator layers in addition to the layer 105c) in a semiconductor layer 109/110 that is on a backside of the semiconductor device.
Regarding claim 18, see, for example, Fig. 1a wherein Rachmady discloses a semiconductor device comprising a stacked transistor structure comprising bottom field effect transistors Lower Devices and top field effect transistors Upper Devices on the bottom field effect transistors Lower Devices; top gate structures 122, associated with the top field effect transistors Upper Devices including a top work function setting metal; and bottom gate structures 116, associated with the bottom field effect transistors 116, including a bottom work function setting metal different from the top work function setting metal, wherein the bottom gate structures include an extended portion that extends through a bottom dielectric isolation, wherein the extended portion resides between sacrificial placeholders (see, for example, paragraph [0025] wherein Rachmady discloses the bottom dielectric isolation 105c may include other insulator layers in addition to the layer 105c) in a semiconductor layer 109/110 that is on a backside of the semiconductor device, and wherein the bottom gate structures 116 are electrically accessed from the backside of the semiconductor device.
INFORMATION ON HOW TO CONTACT THE USPTO
Eugene Lee
October 24, 2026
/EUGENE LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815