DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/25/2024 has been received. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 14-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
It appears that claims 14-20 have been erroneously claimed as dependent on the independent method claim 1 rather than the independent system claim 13. Clarification or correction on the record is earnestly solicited.
Claims 1 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“generative AI models” should be corrected to read “generative AI (artificial intelligence) models”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Regarding claim 13, “computation device” will be interpreted under 112(f) because of the following three-prong analysis:
Prong 1: The claim uses the nonce term “device”.
Prong 2: The claim uses functional language to modify the nonce term.
Prong 3: Sufficient structure for performing the function is not recited within the claim.
This limitation is being interpreted according to the specification (paragraph 0046) as a processor.
Regarding claim 13, “data collection device” will be interpreted under 112(f) because of the following three-prong analysis:
Prong 1: The claim uses the nonce term “device”.
Prong 2: The claim uses functional language to modify the nonce term.
Prong 3: Sufficient structure for performing the function is not recited within the claim.
This limitation is being interpreted according to the specification (paragraphs 0014-0016) as cameras and sensors.
Regarding claim 13, “sensing devices” will be interpreted under 112(f) because of the following three-prong analysis:
Prong 1: The claim uses the nonce term “devices”.
Prong 2: The claim uses functional language to modify the nonce term.
Prong 3: Sufficient structure for performing the function is not recited within the claim.
This limitation is being interpreted according to the specification (paragraph 0012) as a camera.
Regarding claim 13, “mixed reality device” will be interpreted under 112(f) because of the following three-prong analysis:
Prong 1: The claim uses the nonce term “device”.
Prong 2: The claim uses functional language to modify the nonce term.
Prong 3: Sufficient structure for performing the function is not recited within the claim.
This limitation is being interpreted according to the specification (paragraph 0048) as “a virtual reality/augmented reality (VR/AR) device or other human-usable interface for providing a mixed reality view to a human, e.g., mixed reality glasses”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 13-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 20220096197 A1), hereinafter Song in view of Rose et al. (US 20240253224 A1), hereinafter Rose and Bank et al. (US 20200030979 A1), hereinafter Bank.
Regarding claim 1, Song teaches:
1. A method for testing and/or improving a robot control system, the method comprising:
…
converting the high-level instructions into human-operated robot tasks; (Paragraph 0027, "During an example procedure (surgery), the patient 6 is prepped and draped in a sterile fashion to achieve anesthesia. Initial access to the surgical site may be performed manually while the arms of the robotic system 1 are in a stowed configuration or withdrawn configuration (to facilitate access to the surgical site.) Once access is completed, initial positioning or preparation of the robotic system 1 including its arms 4 may be performed. For example, the remote operator 9 at the user console 2 or the bedside operator 8 may use the handheld UIDs 14 to move the arm 4 from the stowed configuration to a preparation position above the patient 6 during the pre-operative setup. Alternatively, a surgeon or bedside personnel with a direct view of the table 5 may wear the AR headset disclosed herein to receive guidance on moving the arm 4. For example, the AR headset may render a virtual image of the actual stowed configuration of the arm 4, a virtual image of the desired preparation position, and a series of waypoints to guide the surgeon or bedside personnel on how to move the arm 4 from the current stowed configuration to the preparation position.")
providing the human-operated robot tasks to a mixed reality device worn by a human data collector, the mixed reality device rendering the human-operated robot tasks (Paragraph 0021, "Disclosed is an augmented reality (AR) headset that provides a wearer with spatial, system, and temporal contextual information of components of a surgical robotic system to guide the wearer in configuring and troubleshooting the surgical robotic system prior to, during, or after surgery. The spatial context information may be rendered to display spatially-fixed 3D-generated virtual models of the robotic arms, instruments, bed, and other components of the surgical robotic system that match the real-time actual position or orientation of the surgical robotic system in the AR headset's coordinate frame. A simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) algorithm may run on the AR headset to localize the position and orientation of the AR headset so the virtual models of the surgical robotic system are rendered to maintain the actual position and orientation of the surgical robotic system as the wearer moves about in the operating room. In one embodiment, virtual models representing the desired or target position and orientation of the robotic arm may be rendered to overlay the actual position and orientation of the robotic arm. The virtual models may be used to guide the wearer of the AR headset to move the robotic arm from the current to the target position and orientation.") in a manner that shows the human data collector how to perform the human-operated robot task; (Paragraph 0027, "During an example procedure (surgery), the patient 6 is prepped and draped in a sterile fashion to achieve anesthesia. Initial access to the surgical site may be performed manually while the arms of the robotic system 1 are in a stowed configuration or withdrawn configuration (to facilitate access to the surgical site.) Once access is completed, initial positioning or preparation of the robotic system 1 including its arms 4 may be performed. For example, the remote operator 9 at the user console 2 or the bedside operator 8 may use the handheld UIDs 14 to move the arm 4 from the stowed configuration to a preparation position above the patient 6 during the pre-operative setup. Alternatively, a surgeon or bedside personnel with a direct view of the table 5 may wear the AR headset disclosed herein to receive guidance on moving the arm 4. For example, the AR headset may render a virtual image of the actual stowed configuration of the arm 4, a virtual image of the desired preparation position, and a series of waypoints to guide the surgeon or bedside personnel on how to move the arm 4 from the current stowed configuration to the preparation position.")
…
Song does not specifically teach utilizing a library of prompt templates and a generative AI model to trigger a robot to perform tasks according to the library of prompts or using feedback from the mixed reality device to update the control of the robot. However, Rose, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… providing at a computation device a library of prompt templates that define one or more steps of one or more robot control tasks; (Paragraph 0032, "In some implementations, a robot system or control module may employ a finite Instruction Set comprising generalized reusable work primitives that can be combined (in various combinations and/or permutations) to execute a task. For example, a robot control system may store a library of reusable work primitives each corresponding to a respective basic sub-task or sub-action that the robot is operative to autonomously perform (hereafter referred to as an Instruction Set). A work objective may be analyzed to determine a sequence (i.e., a combination and/or permutation) of reusable work primitives that, when executed by the robot, will complete the work objective. The robot may execute the sequence of reusable work primitives to complete the work objective. In this way, a finite Instruction Set may be used to execute a wide range of different types of tasks and work objectives across a wide range of industries.")
providing a prompt to one or more generative AI models, the one or more generative AI models generating high-level instructions, the high-level instructions configured to trigger, when executed, a robot to perform the one or more robot control tasks comprising one or more steps defined by the library of prompt templates; (Paragraph 0049, "In some implementations of the present systems, methods, control modules, and computer program products, an LLM is used to assist in determining a sequence of reusable work primitives (hereafter “Instructions”), selected from a finite library of reusable work primitives (hereafter “Instruction Set”), that when executed by a robot will cause or enable the robot to complete a task. In some implementations, an LLM is used to assist in determining a “workflow”. For example, a robot control system may take a Natural Language (NL) command as input and return a Task Plan formed of a sequence of allowed Instructions drawn from an Instruction Set whose completion achieves the intent of the NL input. Throughout this specification and the appended claims, unless the specific context requires otherwise a Task Plan may comprise, or consist of, a workflow depending on the specific implementation. Take as an exemplary application the task of “kitting” a chess set comprising sixteen white chess pieces and sixteen black chess pieces. A person could say, or type, to the robot, e.g., “Put all the white pieces in the right hand bin and all the black pieces in the left hand bin” and an LLM could support a fully autonomous system that converts this input into a sequence of allowed Instructions that successfully performs the task. In this case, the LLM may help to allow the robot to perform general tasks specified in NL. General tasks include but are not limited to all work in the current economy.") …
However, Bank, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… receiving feedback data in response to the human data collector attempting to perform the human-operated robot tasks; (Paragraph 0032, "The MR simulation may be rerun to test the adjusted application, and with additional iterations as necessary, until the simulated operation of the robotic device is successful. The above simulation provides an example of programming the robotic device to learn various possible paths, such as a robotic arm with gripper, for which instructions are to be executed for motion control in conjunction with feedback from various sensor inputs.") and
updating the robot control system using the feedback data. (Paragraphs 0031-0032, "For the example simulation, the real object 214 may act as an obstacle for the virtual workpiece 222. For an initial programming of a spatial-related application, the MR device 115 may be used to observe the path of the virtual workpiece as it travels along a designed path 223 to a target 225. The user 101 may initially setup the application program using initial parameters to allow programming of the application. For example, the initial spatial parameters and constraints may be estimated with the knowledge that adjustments can be made in subsequent trials until a spatial tolerance threshold is met. Entry of the initial parameters may be input via the GUI device 105 or by an interface of the MR device 115. Adjustments to spatial parameters of the virtual robotic unit 231 and object 222 may be implemented using an interface tool displayed by the MR device 115. For example, spatial and orientation coordinates of the virtual gripper 224 may be set using a visual interface application running on the MR device 115. As the simulated operation is executed, one or more application modules 122 may receive inputs from the sensors, compute motion of virtual robotic unit 231 and/or gripper 224, monitor for obstacles based on additional sensor inputs, receive coordinates of obstacle object 214 from the vision system 212, and compute a new path if necessary. Should the virtual workpiece fail to follow the path 223 around the obstacle object 214, the user may interrupt the simulation, such as by using a hand gesture with the MR device 115, then modify the application using GUI 105 to make necessary adjustments.
The MR simulation may be rerun to test the adjusted application, and with additional iterations as necessary, until operation of the simulated robotic unit 231 is successful according to constraints, such as a spatial tolerance threshold. For example, the path 223 may be required to remain within a set of spatial boundaries to avoid collision with surrounding structures. As another example, the placement of object 222 may be constrained by a spatial range surrounding target location 225 based on coordination with subsequent tasks to be executed upon the object 222.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic control system and methods of operating as taught by Song with the ability to use a library of tasks to control the robot to achieve a high level command as taught by Rose and to utilize feedback data to update the control of the robot as taught by Bank. This would allow the system to improve operations and act more efficiently as well as effectively while performing target operations.
Regarding claim 2, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Song further teaches:
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the rendering of the human-operated robot tasks at the mixed reality device (Paragraph 0021, "Disclosed is an augmented reality (AR) headset that provides a wearer with spatial, system, and temporal contextual information of components of a surgical robotic system to guide the wearer in configuring and troubleshooting the surgical robotic system prior to, during, or after surgery. The spatial context information may be rendered to display spatially-fixed 3D-generated virtual models of the robotic arms, instruments, bed, and other components of the surgical robotic system that match the real-time actual position or orientation of the surgical robotic system in the AR headset's coordinate frame. A simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) algorithm may run on the AR headset to localize the position and orientation of the AR headset so the virtual models of the surgical robotic system are rendered to maintain the actual position and orientation of the surgical robotic system as the wearer moves about in the operating room. In one embodiment, virtual models representing the desired or target position and orientation of the robotic arm may be rendered to overlay the actual position and orientation of the robotic arm. The virtual models may be used to guide the wearer of the AR headset to move the robotic arm from the current to the target position and orientation.") includes one or more of (1) input/output variables such as location of objects, (Paragraph 0035, "FIG. 2 shows the information exchange between an augmented reality headset and a surgical robotic system for the AR headset to display spatial, system, and temporal information of the components of the surgical robotic system based on establishing a common or global coordinate frame between the AR headset and the surgical robotic system using image sensors, in accordance with aspects of the subject technology. The AR headset may have one or more cameras that capture color and depth information of real scene objects. For example, the AR headset may have RGB and depth (RGBD) sensors to capture color images and depth-image information of the arms 4 and table 5 of the surgical robotic system 1 from the perspective of the wearer of the AR headset. The RGBD image captured by the AR headset is thus an image of the real-scene arms 4 and table 5 based on the coordinate frame of the AR headset. In one embodiment, the AR headset may run an object recognition algorithm to recognize the arms 4 and table 5. The surgical robotic system 1 may have a suite of RGBD sensors installed at various locations to capture color images and depth information of the configuration of the arms 4 and table 5. The RGBD images captured by the surgical robotic system 1 are thus the images of the arms 4 and the 5 based on the coordinate frame of the surgical robotic system 1. For the AR headset to render virtual recreation of the arms 4 and table 5 that matches the real-time real-scene positions and orientations of the arms 4 and table 5, or to render virtual images of the arms 4 and table 5 that may be fused with the real-time real-scene positions and orientations of the arms 4 and table 5, a common coordinate frame may be established between the AR headset and the surgical robotic system 1. In one embodiment, the surgical robotic system 1 may have other types of sensors such as infrared sensors to capture images and other information of the arms 4 and table 5 of the surgical robotic system 1 or the patient.") (2) visual/voice instructions for display on the mixed reality device, and (3) checkable events or metrics as a result of tasks that can be examined/scored by the mixed reality device or by external sensors/systems. (Paragraph 0042, "FIG. 4 shows the actual pose and the target pose of a robotic arm that may be used to generate waypoints as rendered on the augmented reality headset to guide medical staff in moving the robotic arm from the actual pose to the target pose, in accordance with aspects of the subject technology. The arm in its current pose 309 may be rendered as a virtual image or projected as a real-scene object captured by the RGBD sensor. The arm is also rendered as a virtual arm 311 in its target pose. The arm is to be moved along a trajectory 310 to the target pose of the virtual arm 311. The AR headset may render the virtual arm 311 at the same anchor/mount point as the arm in its current pose 309, thus giving the real and virtual robotic arms a common anchored reference point. In one embodiment, the AR headset may render the trajectory 310 as a series of waypoints or a series of virtual images of the arm. The bedside personnel wearing the AR headset may maneuver the arm from the current pose 309 along the waypoints or to align with the virtual images of the trajectory 310 until the arm finally aligns with the virtual arm 311 in its target pose. When the arm is at or within a tolerance of the target pose, the AR headset may respond with an indication to the user such as by highlighting the arm. The AR headset may also render visual cues or generate audio cues to help the user to maneuver the arm along the trajectory 310.")
Regarding claim 3, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Song does not specifically teach generating a prompt from a combination of a template form the library and a user input. However, Rose, in the same field of endeavor of robotic control, teaches:
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising generating the prompt from a combination of a prompt template from the library of prompt templates (Paragraph 0037, "In accordance with the present robots, systems, control modules, computer program products, and methods, a catalog of reusable work primitives may be defined, identified, developed, or constructed such that any given work objective across multiple different work objectives may be completed by executing a corresponding workflow comprising a particular combination and/or permutation of reusable work primitives selected from the catalog of reusable work primitives. Once such a catalog of reusable work primitives has been established, one or more robot(s) may be trained to autonomously or automatically perform each individual reusable work primitive in the catalog of reusable work primitives without necessarily including the context of: i) a particular workflow of which the particular reusable work primitive being trained is a part, and/or ii) any other reusable work primitive that may, in a particular workflow, precede or succeed the particular reusable work primitive being trained. In this way, a semi-autonomous robot may be operative to autonomously or automatically perform each individual reusable work primitive in a catalog of reusable work primitives and only require instruction, direction, or guidance from another party (e.g., from an operator, user, or pilot) when it comes to deciding which reusable work primitive(s) to perform and/or in what order. In other words, an operator, user, pilot, or LLM module may provide a workflow consisting of reusable work primitives to a semi-autonomous robot system and the semi-autonomous robot system may autonomously or automatically execute the reusable work primitives according to the workflow to complete a work objective. For example, a semi-autonomous humanoid robot may be operative to autonomously look left when directed to look left, autonomously open its right end effector when directed to open its right end effector, and so on, without relying upon detailed low-level control of such functions by a third party. Such a semi-autonomous humanoid robot may autonomously complete a work objective once given instructions regarding a workflow detailing which reusable work primitives it must perform, and in what order, in order to complete the work objective. Furthermore, in accordance with the present robots, systems, methods, control modules and computer program products, a robot system may operate fully autonomously if it is trained or otherwise configured to (e.g. via consultation with an LLM module, which can be included in the robot system) analyze a work objective and independently define a corresponding workflow itself by deconstructing the work objective into a set of reusable work primitives from a library of reusable work primitives that the robot system is operative to autonomously perform.") and a user prompt. (Paragraph 00146, "Various implementations of the present systems, methods, control modules, and computer program products involve using NL expressions (descriptions) (e.g., via a NL prompt, which may be entered directly in text by a user or may be spoken vocally by a user and converted to text by an intervening voice-to-text system) to control functions and operations of a robot, where an LLM module may provide an interface between the NL expressions and the robot control system. This framework can be particularly advantageous when certain elements of the robot control architecture employ programming and/or instructions that can be expressed in NL. A suitable, but non-limiting, example of this is the aforementioned Instruction Set. For example, as mentioned earlier, a task plan output of an LLM module can be parsed (e.g., autonomously by the robot control system) by looking for a word match to Instruction Set commands, and the arguments of the Instruction Set can be found by string matching within the input NL prompt (e.g. by a text-string matching module as discussed earlier). In some implementations, a 1-1 map may be generated between the arguments used in the robot control system and NL variants, in order to increase the chance of the LLM module processing the text properly. For example, even though an object is represented in the robot control system (e.g., in a world model environment portion of the robot control system) as chess_pawn_54677, it may be referred to in the NL prompt as “chess pawn 1”. In this case, if the returned task plan contains the phrase “grasp chess pawn 1”, this may be matched to Instruction Set “grasp” and the object “chess pawn 1” so the phrase may be mapped to grasp(chess_pawn_54677). Such parsing and/or word matching (e.g. the text-string matching module) can be employed in any of the situations discussed herein where robot language is converted to natural language or vice-versa.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic control system and methods as taught by Song with the ability to control the system and generate instructions based on the library of operations as well as a user input as taught by Rose. This would allow a user to control the system using natural language inputs necessitating less training before they are able to operate the system effectively.
Regarding claim 4, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Song does not specifically teach using high level instructions which correspond to pre-defined low level libraries. However, Rose, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the high-level instructions call predefined low-level libraries. (Paragraph 0037, "In accordance with the present robots, systems, control modules, computer program products, and methods, a catalog of reusable work primitives may be defined, identified, developed, or constructed such that any given work objective across multiple different work objectives may be completed by executing a corresponding workflow comprising a particular combination and/or permutation of reusable work primitives selected from the catalog of reusable work primitives. Once such a catalog of reusable work primitives has been established, one or more robot(s) may be trained to autonomously or automatically perform each individual reusable work primitive in the catalog of reusable work primitives without necessarily including the context of: i) a particular workflow of which the particular reusable work primitive being trained is a part, and/or ii) any other reusable work primitive that may, in a particular workflow, precede or succeed the particular reusable work primitive being trained. In this way, a semi-autonomous robot may be operative to autonomously or automatically perform each individual reusable work primitive in a catalog of reusable work primitives and only require instruction, direction, or guidance from another party (e.g., from an operator, user, or pilot) when it comes to deciding which reusable work primitive(s) to perform and/or in what order. In other words, an operator, user, pilot, or LLM module may provide a workflow consisting of reusable work primitives to a semi-autonomous robot system and the semi-autonomous robot system may autonomously or automatically execute the reusable work primitives according to the workflow to complete a work objective. For example, a semi-autonomous humanoid robot may be operative to autonomously look left when directed to look left, autonomously open its right end effector when directed to open its right end effector, and so on, without relying upon detailed low-level control of such functions by a third party. Such a semi-autonomous humanoid robot may autonomously complete a work objective once given instructions regarding a workflow detailing which reusable work primitives it must perform, and in what order, in order to complete the work objective. Furthermore, in accordance with the present robots, systems, methods, control modules and computer program products, a robot system may operate fully autonomously if it is trained or otherwise configured to (e.g. via consultation with an LLM module, which can be included in the robot system) analyze a work objective and independently define a corresponding workflow itself by deconstructing the work objective into a set of reusable work primitives from a library of reusable work primitives that the robot system is operative to autonomously perform.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic control system and methods of operating as taught by Song with the low level operation libraries which may be used to accomplish high level tasks as taught by Rose. This allows the system to re-use may low level operations and efficiently program new tasks/actions in order for the system to complete high level operations.
Regarding claim 5, where all the limitations of claim 4 are discussed above, Song does not specifically teach the libraries including computer vision, motion planning, or motion execution. However, Rose, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the predefined low-level libraries include one or more of computer vision libraries, motion planning libraries, (Paragraph 0152, "The various implementations described herein include systems, methods, control modules, and computer program products for leveraging one or more LLM(s) in a robot control system, including for example establishing an NL interface between the LLM(s) and the robot control system and calling the LLM(s) to help autonomously instruct the robot what to do. Example applications of this approach include task planning, motion planning, reasoning about the robot's environment (e.g., “what could I do now?”), and so on. Such implementations are particularly well-suited in robot control systems for which at least some control parameters and/or instructions (e.g., the Instruction Set described previously) are amenable to being specified in NL. Thus, some implementations may include converting or translating robot control instructions and/or parameters into NL for communicating such with the LLM(s) via the NL interface.") and motion execution libraries. (Paragraph 0078, "FIG. 2 is a flowchart diagram which illustrates an exemplary method 200 of operation of a robot system. Method 200 in FIG. 2 is similar in at least some respects to the method 100 of FIG. 1. In general, method 200 in FIG. 2 describes detailed implementations by which method 100 in FIG. 1 can be achieved. Method 200 is a method of operation of a robot system (such as robot system 700 discussed with reference to FIG. 7). In general, throughout this specification and the appended claims, a method of operation of a robot system is a method in which at least some, if not all, of the various acts are performed by the robot system. For example, certain acts of a method of operation of a robot system may be performed by at least one processor or processing unit (hereafter “processor”) of the robot system communicatively coupled to a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium of the robot system (collectively a robot controller of the robot system) and, in some implementations, certain acts of a method of operation of a robot system may be performed by peripheral components of the robot system that are communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, such as one or more physically actuatable components (e.g., arms, legs, end effectors, grippers, hands), one or more sensors (e.g., optical sensors, audio sensors, tactile sensors, haptic sensors), mobility systems (e.g., wheels, legs), communications and networking hardware (e.g., receivers, transmitters, transceivers), and so on. The non-transitory processor-readable storage medium of the robot system may store data (including, e.g., at least one library of reusable work primitives and at least one library of associated percepts) and/or processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the robot system to perform the method and/or cause the at least one processor to perform those acts of the method that are performed by the at least one processor. The robot system may communicate, via communications and networking hardware communicatively coupled to the robot system's at least one processor, with remote systems and/or remote non-transitory processor-readable storage media. Thus, unless the specific context requires otherwise, references to a robot system's non-transitory processor-readable storage medium, as well as data and/or processor-executable instructions stored in a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium, are not intended to be limiting as to the physical location of the non-transitory processor-readable storage medium in relation to the at least one processor of the robot system and the rest of the robot hardware. In other words, a robot system's non-transitory processor-readable storage medium may include non-transitory processor-readable storage media located on-board a robot body of the robot system and/or non-transitory processor-readable storage media located remotely from the robot body, unless the specific context requires otherwise. Further, a method of operation of a robot system such as method 200 (or any of the other methods discussed herein) can be implemented as a robot control module or computer program product. Such a control module or computer program product comprises processor-executable instructions or data that, when the control module or computer program product is stored on a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium of the robot system, and the control module or computer program product is executed by at least one processor of the robot system, the control module or computer program product (or the processor-executable instructions or data thereof) cause the robot system to perform acts of the method.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic control system and methods of operating as taught by Song with the low level operation libraries defining motion planning and motion execution which may be used to accomplish high level tasks as taught by Rose. This allows the system to re-use may low level operations and efficiently program new tasks/actions in order for the system to complete high level operations.
Regarding claim 6, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Song does not specifically teach replacing the task based on feedback data. However, Bank, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the feedback data comprises an overwrite of one or more of the human-operated robot tasks by the human data collector. (Paragraphs 0030-0031, "For the example simulation, the real object 214 may act as an obstacle for the virtual workpiece 222. For an initial programming of a spatial-related application, the MR device 115 may be used to observe the path of the virtual workpiece as it travels along a designed path 223 to a target 225. The user 101 may initially setup the application program using initial parameters to allow programming of the application. For example, the initial spatial parameters and constraints may be estimated with the knowledge that adjustments can be made in subsequent trials until a spatial tolerance threshold is met. Entry of the initial parameters may be input via the GUI device 105 or by an interface of the MR device 115. Adjustments to spatial parameters of the virtual robotic unit 231 and object 222 may be implemented using an interface tool displayed by the MR device 115. For example, spatial and orientation coordinates of the virtual gripper 224 may be set using a visual interface application running on the MR device 115. As the simulated operation is executed, one or more application modules 122 may receive inputs from the sensors, compute motion of virtual robotic unit 231 and/or gripper 224, monitor for obstacles based on additional sensor inputs, receive coordinates of obstacle object 214 from the vision system 212, and compute a new path if necessary. Should the virtual workpiece fail to follow the path 223 around the obstacle object 214, the user may interrupt the simulation, such as by using a hand gesture with the MR device 115, then modify the application using GUI 105 to make necessary adjustments.
The MR simulation may be rerun to test the adjusted application, and with additional iterations as necessary, until operation of the simulated robotic unit 231 is successful according to constraints, such as a spatial tolerance threshold. For example, the path 223 may be required to remain within a set of spatial boundaries to avoid collision with surrounding structures. As another example, the placement of object 222 may be constrained by a spatial range surrounding target location 225 based on coordination with subsequent tasks to be executed upon the object 222." Examiner Note: The process is modified upon failure of the simulation. This anticipates the concept of replacing a portion of the plan based on feedback results.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic control system and methods as taught by Song with the ability to replace a task based on feedback data as taught by Bank. This would allow the system to fine-tune the operation of the robot for more effective control.
Regarding claim 7, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Song does not specifically teach feedback data comprising a score. However, Bank, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the feedback data comprises a score for one or more of the human-operated robot tasks provided by the human data collector. (Paragraphs 0030-0031, "For the example simulation, the real object 214 may act as an obstacle for the virtual workpiece 222. For an initial programming of a spatial-related application, the MR device 115 may be used to observe the path of the virtual workpiece as it travels along a designed path 223 to a target 225. The user 101 may initially setup the application program using initial parameters to allow programming of the application. For example, the initial spatial parameters and constraints may be estimated with the knowledge that adjustments can be made in subsequent trials until a spatial tolerance threshold is met. Entry of the initial parameters may be input via the GUI device 105 or by an interface of the MR device 115. Adjustments to spatial parameters of the virtual robotic unit 231 and object 222 may be implemented using an interface tool displayed by the MR device 115. For example, spatial and orientation coordinates of the virtual gripper 224 may be set using a visual interface application running on the MR device 115. As the simulated operation is executed, one or more application modules 122 may receive inputs from the sensors, compute motion of virtual robotic unit 231 and/or gripper 224, monitor for obstacles based on additional sensor inputs, receive coordinates of obstacle object 214 from the vision system 212, and compute a new path if necessary. Should the virtual workpiece fail to follow the path 223 around the obstacle object 214, the user may interrupt the simulation, such as by using a hand gesture with the MR device 115, then modify the application using GUI 105 to make necessary adjustments.
The MR simulation may be rerun to test the adjusted application, and with additional iterations as necessary, until operation of the simulated robotic unit 231 is successful according to constraints, such as a spatial tolerance threshold. For example, the path 223 may be required to remain within a set of spatial boundaries to avoid collision with surrounding structures. As another example, the placement of object 222 may be constrained by a spatial range surrounding target location 225 based on coordination with subsequent tasks to be executed upon the object 222." Examiner Note: The failure or success of an operation may be understood to be a binary score result provided as feedback.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic control methods and system as taught by Song with the ability to monitor the operation and assign a “score” to the operation as taught by Bank. This would allow the system to fine-tune the operation of the robot for more effective control.
Regarding claim 8, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Song further teaches:
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the human data collector performs the human-operated robot tasks using a human-machine interface. (Paragraph 0005, "During surgery, control of the robotic arms may require control inputs from a user (e.g., surgeon or other operator) via one or more user interface devices that translate manipulations or commands from the user into control of the robotic arms. For example, in response to user commands, a tool driver having one or more motors may actuate one or more degrees of freedom of a surgical tool when the surgical tool is positioned at the surgical site in the patient.")
Regarding claim 9, where all the limitations of claim 8 are discussed above, Song further teaches:
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the human-machine interface comprises at least one input interface that receives user input (Paragraph 0025, "Generally, a remote operator 9, such as a surgeon or another person, may use the user console 2 to remotely manipulate the arms 4 and/or the attached surgical tools 7, e.g., teleoperation. The user console 2 may be located in the same operating room as the rest of the system 1, as shown in FIG. 1. In other environments however, the user console 2 may be located in an adjacent or nearby room, or it may be at a remote location, e.g., in a different building, city, or country. The user console 2 may comprise a seat 10, foot-operated controls 13, one or more handheld user input devices, UID 14, and at least one user display 15 that is configured to display, for example, a view of the surgical site inside the patient 6. In the example user console 2, the remote operator 9 is sitting in the seat 10 and viewing the user display 15 while manipulating a foot-operated control 13 and a handheld UID 14 in order to remotely control the arms 4 and the surgical tools 7 (that are mounted on the distal ends of the arms 4).") and provides corresponding control commands to a microcontroller unit to control the operation of one or more robotic components. (Paragraph 0029, " In one embodiment, the remote operator 9 holds and moves the UID 14 to provide an input command to move a robot arm actuator 17 in the robotic system 1. The UID 14 may be communicatively coupled to the rest of the robotic system 1, e.g., via a console computer system 16. The UID 14 can generate spatial state signals corresponding to movement of the UID 14, e.g. position and orientation of the handheld housing of the UID, and the spatial state signals may be input signals to control a motion of the robot arm actuator 17. The robotic system 1 may use control signals derived from the spatial state signals, to control proportional motion of the actuator 17. In one embodiment, a console processor of the console computer system 16 receives the spatial state signals and generates the corresponding control signals. Based on these control signals, which control how the actuator 17 is energized to move a segment or link of the arm 4, the movement of a corresponding surgical tool that is attached to the arm may mimic the movement of the UID 14. Similarly, interaction between the remote operator 9 and the UID 14 can generate for example a grip control signal that causes a jaw of a grasper of the surgical tool 7 to close and grip the tissue of patient 6.")
Regarding claim 10, where all the limitations of claim 9 are discussed above, Song further teaches:
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the one or more robotic components comprise one or more of a robotic gripper, a robotic limb, (Paragraph 0030, "The surgical robotic system 1 may include several UIDs 14, where respective control signals are generated for each UID that control the actuators and the surgical tool (end effector) of a respective arm 4. For example, the remote operator 9 may move a first UID 14 to control the motion of an actuator 17 that is in a left robotic arm, where the actuator responds by moving linkages, gears, etc., in that arm 4. Similarly, movement of a second UID 14 by the remote operator 9 controls the motion of another actuator 17, which in turn moves other linkages, gears, etc., of the robotic system 1. The robotic system 1 may include a right arm 4 that is secured to the bed or table 5 to the right side of the patient, and a left arm 4 that is at the left side of the patient. An actuator 17 may include one or more motors that are controlled so that they drive the rotation of a joint of the arm 4 to, for example, change, relative to the patient, an orientation of an endoscope or a grasper of the surgical tool 7 that is attached to that arm. Motion of several actuators 17 in the same arm 4 can be controlled by the spatial state signals generated from a particular UID 14. The UIDs 14 can also control motion of respective surgical tool graspers. For example, each UID 14 can generate a respective grip signal to control motion of an actuator, e.g., a linear actuator, that opens or closes jaws of the grasper at a distal end of surgical tool 7 to grip tissue within patient 6.") and …
Song does not specifically teach the robotic component being a robotic wheel. However, Rose, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… a robotic wheel. (Paragraph 0078, "For example, certain acts of a method of operation of a robot system may be performed by at least one processor or processing unit (hereafter “processor”) of the robot system communicatively coupled to a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium of the robot system (collectively a robot controller of the robot system) and, in some implementations, certain acts of a method of operation of a robot system may be performed by peripheral components of the robot system that are communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, such as one or more physically actuatable components (e.g., arms, legs, end effectors, grippers, hands), one or more sensors (e.g., optical sensors, audio sensors, tactile sensors, haptic sensors), mobility systems (e.g., wheels, legs), communications and networking hardware (e.g., receivers, transmitters, transceivers), and so on. The non-transitory processor-readable storage medium of the robot system may store data (including, e.g., at least one library of reusable work primitives and at least one library of associated percepts) and/or processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the robot system to perform the method and/or cause the at least one processor to perform those acts of the method that are performed by the at least one processor. The robot system may communicate, via communications and networking hardware communicatively coupled to the robot system's at least one processor, with remote systems and/or remote non-transitory processor-readable storage media. Thus, unless the specific context requires otherwise, references to a robot system's non-transitory processor-readable storage medium, as well as data and/or processor-executable instructions stored in a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium, are not intended to be limiting as to the physical location of the non-transitory processor-readable storage medium in relation to the at least one processor of the robot system and the rest of the robot hardware. In other words, a robot system's non-transitory processor-readable storage medium may include non-transitory processor-readable storage media located on-board a robot body of the robot system and/or non-transitory processor-readable storage media located remotely from the robot body, unless the specific context requires otherwise. Further, a method of operation of a robot system such as method 200 (or any of the other methods discussed herein) can be implemented as a robot control module or computer program product. Such a control module or computer program product comprises processor-executable instructions or data that, when the control module or computer program product is stored on a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium of the robot system, and the control module or computer program product is executed by at least one processor of the robot system, the control module or computer program product (or the processor-executable instructions or data thereof) cause the robot system to perform acts of the method.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the robotic wheel taught by Rose into the robotic system as taught by Song. This is a well known component which increases the mobility of a robotic system.
Regarding claim 11, where all the limitations of claim 9 are discussed above, Song further teaches:
11. The method of claim 9, wherein the human-machine interface is a human-mounted human-machine interface. (Paragraph 0007, "Disclosed herein is an augmented reality headset that may be donned to provide real-time spatial and contextual information to guide medical staff when setting up and operating a robotically-assisted surgical system, also referred to as a surgical robotic system, which is a software-controlled, electro-mechanical system designed for surgeons to perform minimally-invasive surgeries. The augmented reality headset may overlay spatially-fixed, 3D-generated models and contextually relevant user-interface information of the surgical robotic system onto a visor. A wearer of the augmented reality headset may receive intuitive guidance on the tasks needed to prepare components of the surgical robotic system, such as the robotic arms, for surgery. For example, a wearer may receive spatial information such as the location and orientation of the robotic arms, system state information such as the arm modes, tool types, tool grasp status, and other real-time information of the robotic arms, and temporal contextual information for effecting movement of the robotic arms.")
Regarding claim 13, Song further teaches:
13. A system for training and/or testing a robot control system, the system comprising:
a computation device configured to train and/or test the robot control system; (Paragraph 0073, “The methods, devices, processing, and logic described above may be implemented in many different ways and in many different combinations of hardware and software. The controllers and estimators may comprise electronic circuitry. For example, all or parts of the implementations may be circuitry that includes an instruction processor, such as a Central Processing Unit (CPU), microcontroller, or a microprocessor; an Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC), Programmable Logic Device (PLD), or Field Programmable Gate Array (FPGA); or circuitry that includes discrete logic or other circuit components, including analog circuit components, digital circuit components or both; or any combination thereof. The circuitry may include discrete interconnected hardware components and/or may be combined on a single integrated circuit die, distributed among multiple integrated circuit dies, or implemented in a Multiple Chip Module (MCM) of multiple integrated circuit dies in a common package, as examples.”)
a data collection device configured to collect feedback data related to one or more human-operated robot tasks that are to be performed by a human data collector; (Paragraph 0005, “During surgery, control of the robotic arms may require control inputs from a user (e.g., surgeon or other operator) via one or more user interface devices that translate manipulations or commands from the user into control of the robotic arms. For example, in response to user commands, a tool driver having one or more motors may actuate one or more degrees of freedom of a surgical tool when the surgical tool is positioned at the surgical site in the patient. Sometimes during surgery, it becomes necessary for the medical staff to quickly move the robotic arms away from the patient such as when the patient's vitals drop dramatically. Complications may arise when prior training on how to manipulate the robotic arms in emergency situations may be easily forgotten. Moving the wrong robotic arm may cause severe harm to the patient, other equipment, or bedside personnel.”)
one or more sensing devices located in a location of the human data collector; and
a mixed reality device that is worn by the human data collector, (Paragraph 0008, “The augmented reality headset may include a sensor, a processor, and a display. The sensor may capture image data of a component such as a robotic arm or an operating table of the surgical robotic system. The processor may establish a common coordinate frame between the augmented reality device and the surgical robotic system based on the image data. The augmented reality headset may communicate with the surgical robotic system to receive spatial information and real-time system state information of the surgical robotic system. The processor may create a 3D virtual model of another component of the surgical robotic system, which may be the same or a different component as the component whose image data was taken. The 3D virtual model is created in a coordinate frame of the augmented reality headset based on the spatial information and the real-time system state information of the surgical robotic system, and based on the common coordinate frame between the augmented reality device and the surgical robotic system. The display may present the 3D virtual model of the component to a wearer of the augmented reality headset.”) the system configured to perform the following:
…
convert the high-level instructions into human-operated robot tasks; (Paragraph 0027, "During an example procedure (surgery), the patient 6 is prepped and draped in a sterile fashion to achieve anesthesia. Initial access to the surgical site may be performed manually while the arms of the robotic system 1 are in a stowed configuration or withdrawn configuration (to facilitate access to the surgical site.) Once access is completed, initial positioning or preparation of the robotic system 1 including its arms 4 may be performed. For example, the remote operator 9 at the user console 2 or the bedside operator 8 may use the handheld UIDs 14 to move the arm 4 from the stowed configuration to a preparation position above the patient 6 during the pre-operative setup. Alternatively, a surgeon or bedside personnel with a direct view of the table 5 may wear the AR headset disclosed herein to receive guidance on moving the arm 4. For example, the AR headset may render a virtual image of the actual stowed configuration of the arm 4, a virtual image of the desired preparation position, and a series of waypoints to guide the surgeon or bedside personnel on how to move the arm 4 from the current stowed configuration to the preparation position.")
provide the human-operated robot tasks to the mixed reality device worn by the human data collector, the mixed reality device rendering the human-operated robot tasks (Paragraph 0021, "Disclosed is an augmented reality (AR) headset that provides a wearer with spatial, system, and temporal contextual information of components of a surgical robotic system to guide the wearer in configuring and troubleshooting the surgical robotic system prior to, during, or after surgery. The spatial context information may be rendered to display spatially-fixed 3D-generated virtual models of the robotic arms, instruments, bed, and other components of the surgical robotic system that match the real-time actual position or orientation of the surgical robotic system in the AR headset's coordinate frame. A simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) algorithm may run on the AR headset to localize the position and orientation of the AR headset so the virtual models of the surgical robotic system are rendered to maintain the actual position and orientation of the surgical robotic system as the wearer moves about in the operating room. In one embodiment, virtual models representing the desired or target position and orientation of the robotic arm may be rendered to overlay the actual position and orientation of the robotic arm. The virtual models may be used to guide the wearer of the AR headset to move the robotic arm from the current to the target position and orientation.") in a manner that shows the human data collector how to perform the human-operated robot task; (Paragraph 0027, "During an example procedure (surgery), the patient 6 is prepped and draped in a sterile fashion to achieve anesthesia. Initial access to the surgical site may be performed manually while the arms of the robotic system 1 are in a stowed configuration or withdrawn configuration (to facilitate access to the surgical site.) Once access is completed, initial positioning or preparation of the robotic system 1 including its arms 4 may be performed. For example, the remote operator 9 at the user console 2 or the bedside operator 8 may use the handheld UIDs 14 to move the arm 4 from the stowed configuration to a preparation position above the patient 6 during the pre-operative setup. Alternatively, a surgeon or bedside personnel with a direct view of the table 5 may wear the AR headset disclosed herein to receive guidance on moving the arm 4. For example, the AR headset may render a virtual image of the actual stowed configuration of the arm 4, a virtual image of the desired preparation position, and a series of waypoints to guide the surgeon or bedside personnel on how to move the arm 4 from the current stowed configuration to the preparation position.")
…
Song does not specifically teach utilizing a library of prompt templates and a generative AI model to trigger a robot to perform tasks according to the library of prompts or using feedback from the mixed reality device to update the control of the robot. However, Rose, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… provide at the computation device a library of prompt templates that define one or more steps of one or more robot control tasks; (Paragraph 0032, "In some implementations, a robot system or control module may employ a finite Instruction Set comprising generalized reusable work primitives that can be combined (in various combinations and/or permutations) to execute a task. For example, a robot control system may store a library of reusable work primitives each corresponding to a respective basic sub-task or sub-action that the robot is operative to autonomously perform (hereafter referred to as an Instruction Set). A work objective may be analyzed to determine a sequence (i.e., a combination and/or permutation) of reusable work primitives that, when executed by the robot, will complete the work objective. The robot may execute the sequence of reusable work primitives to complete the work objective. In this way, a finite Instruction Set may be used to execute a wide range of different types of tasks and work objectives across a wide range of industries.")
provide a prompt to one or more generative AI models, the one or more generative AI models generating high-level instructions, the high-level instructions configured to trigger, when executed, a robot to perform the one or more robot control tasks comprising said one or more steps defined by the library of prompt templates; (Paragraph 0049, "In some implementations of the present systems, methods, control modules, and computer program products, an LLM is used to assist in determining a sequence of reusable work primitives (hereafter “Instructions”), selected from a finite library of reusable work primitives (hereafter “Instruction Set”), that when executed by a robot will cause or enable the robot to complete a task. In some implementations, an LLM is used to assist in determining a “workflow”. For example, a robot control system may take a Natural Language (NL) command as input and return a Task Plan formed of a sequence of allowed Instructions drawn from an Instruction Set whose completion achieves the intent of the NL input. Throughout this specification and the appended claims, unless the specific context requires otherwise a Task Plan may comprise, or consist of, a workflow depending on the specific implementation. Take as an exemplary application the task of “kitting” a chess set comprising sixteen white chess pieces and sixteen black chess pieces. A person could say, or type, to the robot, e.g., “Put all the white pieces in the right hand bin and all the black pieces in the left hand bin” and an LLM could support a fully autonomous system that converts this input into a sequence of allowed Instructions that successfully performs the task. In this case, the LLM may help to allow the robot to perform general tasks specified in NL. General tasks include but are not limited to all work in the current economy.") …
However, Bank, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… receive feedback data in response to the human data collector attempting to perform the human-operated robot tasks; (Paragraph 0032, "The MR simulation may be rerun to test the adjusted application, and with additional iterations as necessary, until the simulated operation of the robotic device is successful. The above simulation provides an example of programming the robotic device to learn various possible paths, such as a robotic arm with gripper, for which instructions are to be executed for motion control in conjunction with feedback from various sensor inputs.") and
update the robot control system using the feedback data. (Paragraphs 0031-0032, "For the example simulation, the real object 214 may act as an obstacle for the virtual workpiece 222. For an initial programming of a spatial-related application, the MR device 115 may be used to observe the path of the virtual workpiece as it travels along a designed path 223 to a target 225. The user 101 may initially setup the application program using initial parameters to allow programming of the application. For example, the initial spatial parameters and constraints may be estimated with the knowledge that adjustments can be made in subsequent trials until a spatial tolerance threshold is met. Entry of the initial parameters may be input via the GUI device 105 or by an interface of the MR device 115. Adjustments to spatial parameters of the virtual robotic unit 231 and object 222 may be implemented using an interface tool displayed by the MR device 115. For example, spatial and orientation coordinates of the virtual gripper 224 may be set using a visual interface application running on the MR device 115. As the simulated operation is executed, one or more application modules 122 may receive inputs from the sensors, compute motion of virtual robotic unit 231 and/or gripper 224, monitor for obstacles based on additional sensor inputs, receive coordinates of obstacle object 214 from the vision system 212, and compute a new path if necessary. Should the virtual workpiece fail to follow the path 223 around the obstacle object 214, the user may interrupt the simulation, such as by using a hand gesture with the MR device 115, then modify the application using GUI 105 to make necessary adjustments.
The MR simulation may be rerun to test the adjusted application, and with additional iterations as necessary, until operation of the simulated robotic unit 231 is successful according to constraints, such as a spatial tolerance threshold. For example, the path 223 may be required to remain within a set of spatial boundaries to avoid collision with surrounding structures. As another example, the placement of object 222 may be constrained by a spatial range surrounding target location 225 based on coordination with subsequent tasks to be executed upon the object 222.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic control system and methods of operating as taught by Song with the ability to use a library of tasks to control the robot to achieve a high level command as taught by Rose and to utilize feedback data to update the control of the robot as taught by Bank. This would allow the system to improve operations and act more efficiently as well as effectively while performing target operations.
Regarding claim 14, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Song further teaches:
14. The system of claim 1, wherein the rendering of the human-operated robot tasks at the mixed reality device (Paragraph 0021, "Disclosed is an augmented reality (AR) headset that provides a wearer with spatial, system, and temporal contextual information of components of a surgical robotic system to guide the wearer in configuring and troubleshooting the surgical robotic system prior to, during, or after surgery. The spatial context information may be rendered to display spatially-fixed 3D-generated virtual models of the robotic arms, instruments, bed, and other components of the surgical robotic system that match the real-time actual position or orientation of the surgical robotic system in the AR headset's coordinate frame. A simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) algorithm may run on the AR headset to localize the position and orientation of the AR headset so the virtual models of the surgical robotic system are rendered to maintain the actual position and orientation of the surgical robotic system as the wearer moves about in the operating room. In one embodiment, virtual models representing the desired or target position and orientation of the robotic arm may be rendered to overlay the actual position and orientation of the robotic arm. The virtual models may be used to guide the wearer of the AR headset to move the robotic arm from the current to the target position and orientation.") includes one or more of (1) input/output variables such as location of objects, (Paragraph 0035, "FIG. 2 shows the information exchange between an augmented reality headset and a surgical robotic system for the AR headset to display spatial, system, and temporal information of the components of the surgical robotic system based on establishing a common or global coordinate frame between the AR headset and the surgical robotic system using image sensors, in accordance with aspects of the subject technology. The AR headset may have one or more cameras that capture color and depth information of real scene objects. For example, the AR headset may have RGB and depth (RGBD) sensors to capture color images and depth-image information of the arms 4 and table 5 of the surgical robotic system 1 from the perspective of the wearer of the AR headset. The RGBD image captured by the AR headset is thus an image of the real-scene arms 4 and table 5 based on the coordinate frame of the AR headset. In one embodiment, the AR headset may run an object recognition algorithm to recognize the arms 4 and table 5. The surgical robotic system 1 may have a suite of RGBD sensors installed at various locations to capture color images and depth information of the configuration of the arms 4 and table 5. The RGBD images captured by the surgical robotic system 1 are thus the images of the arms 4 and the 5 based on the coordinate frame of the surgical robotic system 1. For the AR headset to render virtual recreation of the arms 4 and table 5 that matches the real-time real-scene positions and orientations of the arms 4 and table 5, or to render virtual images of the arms 4 and table 5 that may be fused with the real-time real-scene positions and orientations of the arms 4 and table 5, a common coordinate frame may be established between the AR headset and the surgical robotic system 1. In one embodiment, the surgical robotic system 1 may have other types of sensors such as infrared sensors to capture images and other information of the arms 4 and table 5 of the surgical robotic system 1 or the patient.") (2) visual/voice instructions for display on the mixed reality device, and (3) checkable events or metrics as a result of tasks that can be examined/scored by the mixed reality device or by external sensors/systems. (Paragraph 0042, "FIG. 4 shows the actual pose and the target pose of a robotic arm that may be used to generate waypoints as rendered on the augmented reality headset to guide medical staff in moving the robotic arm from the actual pose to the target pose, in accordance with aspects of the subject technology. The arm in its current pose 309 may be rendered as a virtual image or projected as a real-scene object captured by the RGBD sensor. The arm is also rendered as a virtual arm 311 in its target pose. The arm is to be moved along a trajectory 310 to the target pose of the virtual arm 311. The AR headset may render the virtual arm 311 at the same anchor/mount point as the arm in its current pose 309, thus giving the real and virtual robotic arms a common anchored reference point. In one embodiment, the AR headset may render the trajectory 310 as a series of waypoints or a series of virtual images of the arm. The bedside personnel wearing the AR headset may maneuver the arm from the current pose 309 along the waypoints or to align with the virtual images of the trajectory 310 until the arm finally aligns with the virtual arm 311 in its target pose. When the arm is at or within a tolerance of the target pose, the AR headset may respond with an indication to the user such as by highlighting the arm. The AR headset may also render visual cues or generate audio cues to help the user to maneuver the arm along the trajectory 310.")
Regarding claim 15, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Song does not specifically teach generating a prompt from a combination of a template form the library and a user input. However, Rose, in the same field of endeavor of robotic control, teaches:
15. The system of claim 1, wherein the system is further configured for generating the prompt from a combination of a prompt template from the library of prompt templates (Paragraph 0037, "In accordance with the present robots, systems, control modules, computer program products, and methods, a catalog of reusable work primitives may be defined, identified, developed, or constructed such that any given work objective across multiple different work objectives may be completed by executing a corresponding workflow comprising a particular combination and/or permutation of reusable work primitives selected from the catalog of reusable work primitives. Once such a catalog of reusable work primitives has been established, one or more robot(s) may be trained to autonomously or automatically perform each individual reusable work primitive in the catalog of reusable work primitives without necessarily including the context of: i) a particular workflow of which the particular reusable work primitive being trained is a part, and/or ii) any other reusable work primitive that may, in a particular workflow, precede or succeed the particular reusable work primitive being trained. In this way, a semi-autonomous robot may be operative to autonomously or automatically perform each individual reusable work primitive in a catalog of reusable work primitives and only require instruction, direction, or guidance from another party (e.g., from an operator, user, or pilot) when it comes to deciding which reusable work primitive(s) to perform and/or in what order. In other words, an operator, user, pilot, or LLM module may provide a workflow consisting of reusable work primitives to a semi-autonomous robot system and the semi-autonomous robot system may autonomously or automatically execute the reusable work primitives according to the workflow to complete a work objective. For example, a semi-autonomous humanoid robot may be operative to autonomously look left when directed to look left, autonomously open its right end effector when directed to open its right end effector, and so on, without relying upon detailed low-level control of such functions by a third party. Such a semi-autonomous humanoid robot may autonomously complete a work objective once given instructions regarding a workflow detailing which reusable work primitives it must perform, and in what order, in order to complete the work objective. Furthermore, in accordance with the present robots, systems, methods, control modules and computer program products, a robot system may operate fully autonomously if it is trained or otherwise configured to (e.g. via consultation with an LLM module, which can be included in the robot system) analyze a work objective and independently define a corresponding workflow itself by deconstructing the work objective into a set of reusable work primitives from a library of reusable work primitives that the robot system is operative to autonomously perform.") and a user prompt. (Paragraph 00146, "Various implementations of the present systems, methods, control modules, and computer program products involve using NL expressions (descriptions) (e.g., via a NL prompt, which may be entered directly in text by a user or may be spoken vocally by a user and converted to text by an intervening voice-to-text system) to control functions and operations of a robot, where an LLM module may provide an interface between the NL expressions and the robot control system. This framework can be particularly advantageous when certain elements of the robot control architecture employ programming and/or instructions that can be expressed in NL. A suitable, but non-limiting, example of this is the aforementioned Instruction Set. For example, as mentioned earlier, a task plan output of an LLM module can be parsed (e.g., autonomously by the robot control system) by looking for a word match to Instruction Set commands, and the arguments of the Instruction Set can be found by string matching within the input NL prompt (e.g. by a text-string matching module as discussed earlier). In some implementations, a 1-1 map may be generated between the arguments used in the robot control system and NL variants, in order to increase the chance of the LLM module processing the text properly. For example, even though an object is represented in the robot control system (e.g., in a world model environment portion of the robot control system) as chess_pawn_54677, it may be referred to in the NL prompt as “chess pawn 1”. In this case, if the returned task plan contains the phrase “grasp chess pawn 1”, this may be matched to Instruction Set “grasp” and the object “chess pawn 1” so the phrase may be mapped to grasp(chess_pawn_54677). Such parsing and/or word matching (e.g. the text-string matching module) can be employed in any of the situations discussed herein where robot language is converted to natural language or vice-versa.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic control system and methods as taught by Song with the ability to control the system and generate instructions based on the library of operations as well as a user input as taught by Rose. This would allow a user to control the system using natural language inputs necessitating less training before they are able to operate the system effectively.
Regarding claim 16, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Song does not specifically teach using high level instructions which correspond to pre-defined low level libraries. However, Rose, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
16. The system of claim 1, wherein the high-level instructions call predefined low-level libraries, the predefined low-level libraries (Paragraph 0037, "In accordance with the present robots, systems, control modules, computer program products, and methods, a catalog of reusable work primitives may be defined, identified, developed, or constructed such that any given work objective across multiple different work objectives may be completed by executing a corresponding workflow comprising a particular combination and/or permutation of reusable work primitives selected from the catalog of reusable work primitives. Once such a catalog of reusable work primitives has been established, one or more robot(s) may be trained to autonomously or automatically perform each individual reusable work primitive in the catalog of reusable work primitives without necessarily including the context of: i) a particular workflow of which the particular reusable work primitive being trained is a part, and/or ii) any other reusable work primitive that may, in a particular workflow, precede or succeed the particular reusable work primitive being trained. In this way, a semi-autonomous robot may be operative to autonomously or automatically perform each individual reusable work primitive in a catalog of reusable work primitives and only require instruction, direction, or guidance from another party (e.g., from an operator, user, or pilot) when it comes to deciding which reusable work primitive(s) to perform and/or in what order. In other words, an operator, user, pilot, or LLM module may provide a workflow consisting of reusable work primitives to a semi-autonomous robot system and the semi-autonomous robot system may autonomously or automatically execute the reusable work primitives according to the workflow to complete a work objective. For example, a semi-autonomous humanoid robot may be operative to autonomously look left when directed to look left, autonomously open its right end effector when directed to open its right end effector, and so on, without relying upon detailed low-level control of such functions by a third party. Such a semi-autonomous humanoid robot may autonomously complete a work objective once given instructions regarding a workflow detailing which reusable work primitives it must perform, and in what order, in order to complete the work objective. Furthermore, in accordance with the present robots, systems, methods, control modules and computer program products, a robot system may operate fully autonomously if it is trained or otherwise configured to (e.g. via consultation with an LLM module, which can be included in the robot system) analyze a work objective and independently define a corresponding workflow itself by deconstructing the work objective into a set of reusable work primitives from a library of reusable work primitives that the robot system is operative to autonomously perform.") including one or more of computer vision libraries, motion planning libraries, (Paragraph 0152, "The various implementations described herein include systems, methods, control modules, and computer program products for leveraging one or more LLM(s) in a robot control system, including for example establishing an NL interface between the LLM(s) and the robot control system and calling the LLM(s) to help autonomously instruct the robot what to do. Example applications of this approach include task planning, motion planning, reasoning about the robot's environment (e.g., “what could I do now?”), and so on. Such implementations are particularly well-suited in robot control systems for which at least some control parameters and/or instructions (e.g., the Instruction Set described previously) are amenable to being specified in NL. Thus, some implementations may include converting or translating robot control instructions and/or parameters into NL for communicating such with the LLM(s) via the NL interface.") and motion execution libraries. (Paragraph 0078, "FIG. 2 is a flowchart diagram which illustrates an exemplary method 200 of operation of a robot system. Method 200 in FIG. 2 is similar in at least some respects to the method 100 of FIG. 1. In general, method 200 in FIG. 2 describes detailed implementations by which method 100 in FIG. 1 can be achieved. Method 200 is a method of operation of a robot system (such as robot system 700 discussed with reference to FIG. 7). In general, throughout this specification and the appended claims, a method of operation of a robot system is a method in which at least some, if not all, of the various acts are performed by the robot system. For example, certain acts of a method of operation of a robot system may be performed by at least one processor or processing unit (hereafter “processor”) of the robot system communicatively coupled to a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium of the robot system (collectively a robot controller of the robot system) and, in some implementations, certain acts of a method of operation of a robot system may be performed by peripheral components of the robot system that are communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, such as one or more physically actuatable components (e.g., arms, legs, end effectors, grippers, hands), one or more sensors (e.g., optical sensors, audio sensors, tactile sensors, haptic sensors), mobility systems (e.g., wheels, legs), communications and networking hardware (e.g., receivers, transmitters, transceivers), and so on. The non-transitory processor-readable storage medium of the robot system may store data (including, e.g., at least one library of reusable work primitives and at least one library of associated percepts) and/or processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the robot system to perform the method and/or cause the at least one processor to perform those acts of the method that are performed by the at least one processor. The robot system may communicate, via communications and networking hardware communicatively coupled to the robot system's at least one processor, with remote systems and/or remote non-transitory processor-readable storage media. Thus, unless the specific context requires otherwise, references to a robot system's non-transitory processor-readable storage medium, as well as data and/or processor-executable instructions stored in a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium, are not intended to be limiting as to the physical location of the non-transitory processor-readable storage medium in relation to the at least one processor of the robot system and the rest of the robot hardware. In other words, a robot system's non-transitory processor-readable storage medium may include non-transitory processor-readable storage media located on-board a robot body of the robot system and/or non-transitory processor-readable storage media located remotely from the robot body, unless the specific context requires otherwise. Further, a method of operation of a robot system such as method 200 (or any of the other methods discussed herein) can be implemented as a robot control module or computer program product. Such a control module or computer program product comprises processor-executable instructions or data that, when the control module or computer program product is stored on a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium of the robot system, and the control module or computer program product is executed by at least one processor of the robot system, the control module or computer program product (or the processor-executable instructions or data thereof) cause the robot system to perform acts of the method.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic control system and methods of operating as taught by Song with the low level operation libraries defining motion planning and motion execution which may be used to accomplish high level tasks as taught by Rose. This allows the system to re-use may low level operations and efficiently program new tasks/actions in order for the system to complete high level operations.
Regarding claim 17, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Song does not specifically teach replacing the task based on feedback data or the feedback data comprising a score. However, Bank, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
17. The system of claim 1, wherein the feedback data comprises an overwrite of one or more of the human-operated robot tasks by the human data collector, (Paragraphs 0030-0031, "For the example simulation, the real object 214 may act as an obstacle for the virtual workpiece 222. For an initial programming of a spatial-related application, the MR device 115 may be used to observe the path of the virtual workpiece as it travels along a designed path 223 to a target 225. The user 101 may initially setup the application program using initial parameters to allow programming of the application. For example, the initial spatial parameters and constraints may be estimated with the knowledge that adjustments can be made in subsequent trials until a spatial tolerance threshold is met. Entry of the initial parameters may be input via the GUI device 105 or by an interface of the MR device 115. Adjustments to spatial parameters of the virtual robotic unit 231 and object 222 may be implemented using an interface tool displayed by the MR device 115. For example, spatial and orientation coordinates of the virtual gripper 224 may be set using a visual interface application running on the MR device 115. As the simulated operation is executed, one or more application modules 122 may receive inputs from the sensors, compute motion of virtual robotic unit 231 and/or gripper 224, monitor for obstacles based on additional sensor inputs, receive coordinates of obstacle object 214 from the vision system 212, and compute a new path if necessary. Should the virtual workpiece fail to follow the path 223 around the obstacle object 214, the user may interrupt the simulation, such as by using a hand gesture with the MR device 115, then modify the application using GUI 105 to make necessary adjustments.
The MR simulation may be rerun to test the adjusted application, and with additional iterations as necessary, until operation of the simulated robotic unit 231 is successful according to constraints, such as a spatial tolerance threshold. For example, the path 223 may be required to remain within a set of spatial boundaries to avoid collision with surrounding structures. As another example, the placement of object 222 may be constrained by a spatial range surrounding target location 225 based on coordination with subsequent tasks to be executed upon the object 222." Examiner Note: The process is modified upon failure of the simulation. This anticipates the concept of replacing a portion of the plan based on feedback results.) and/or
wherein the feedback data comprises a score for one or more of the human-operated robot tasks provided by the human data collector. (Paragraphs 0030-0031, "For the example simulation, the real object 214 may act as an obstacle for the virtual workpiece 222. For an initial programming of a spatial-related application, the MR device 115 may be used to observe the path of the virtual workpiece as it travels along a designed path 223 to a target 225. The user 101 may initially setup the application program using initial parameters to allow programming of the application. For example, the initial spatial parameters and constraints may be estimated with the knowledge that adjustments can be made in subsequent trials until a spatial tolerance threshold is met. Entry of the initial parameters may be input via the GUI device 105 or by an interface of the MR device 115. Adjustments to spatial parameters of the virtual robotic unit 231 and object 222 may be implemented using an interface tool displayed by the MR device 115. For example, spatial and orientation coordinates of the virtual gripper 224 may be set using a visual interface application running on the MR device 115. As the simulated operation is executed, one or more application modules 122 may receive inputs from the sensors, compute motion of virtual robotic unit 231 and/or gripper 224, monitor for obstacles based on additional sensor inputs, receive coordinates of obstacle object 214 from the vision system 212, and compute a new path if necessary. Should the virtual workpiece fail to follow the path 223 around the obstacle object 214, the user may interrupt the simulation, such as by using a hand gesture with the MR device 115, then modify the application using GUI 105 to make necessary adjustments.
The MR simulation may be rerun to test the adjusted application, and with additional iterations as necessary, until operation of the simulated robotic unit 231 is successful according to constraints, such as a spatial tolerance threshold. For example, the path 223 may be required to remain within a set of spatial boundaries to avoid collision with surrounding structures. As another example, the placement of object 222 may be constrained by a spatial range surrounding target location 225 based on coordination with subsequent tasks to be executed upon the object 222." Examiner Note: The failure or success of an operation may be understood to be a binary score result provided as feedback.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic control system and methods as taught by Song with the ability to replace a task based on feedback data and to monitor the operation and assign a “score” to the operation as taught by Bank. This would allow the system to fine-tune the operation of the robot for more effective control.
Regarding claim 19, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Song further teaches:
19. The system of claim 1, further comprising a human-machine interface configured to be operated by the human data collector in performing the human-operated robot tasks, (Paragraph 0005, "During surgery, control of the robotic arms may require control inputs from a user (e.g., surgeon or other operator) via one or more user interface devices that translate manipulations or commands from the user into control of the robotic arms. For example, in response to user commands, a tool driver having one or more motors may actuate one or more degrees of freedom of a surgical tool when the surgical tool is positioned at the surgical site in the patient.")
wherein the human-machine interface comprises at least one input interface that receives user input (Paragraph 0025, "Generally, a remote operator 9, such as a surgeon or another person, may use the user console 2 to remotely manipulate the arms 4 and/or the attached surgical tools 7, e.g., teleoperation. The user console 2 may be located in the same operating room as the rest of the system 1, as shown in FIG. 1. In other environments however, the user console 2 may be located in an adjacent or nearby room, or it may be at a remote location, e.g., in a different building, city, or country. The user console 2 may comprise a seat 10, foot-operated controls 13, one or more handheld user input devices, UID 14, and at least one user display 15 that is configured to display, for example, a view of the surgical site inside the patient 6. In the example user console 2, the remote operator 9 is sitting in the seat 10 and viewing the user display 15 while manipulating a foot-operated control 13 and a handheld UID 14 in order to remotely control the arms 4 and the surgical tools 7 (that are mounted on the distal ends of the arms 4).") and provides corresponding control commands to a microcontroller unit to control operation of one or more robotic components. (Paragraph 0029, " In one embodiment, the remote operator 9 holds and moves the UID 14 to provide an input command to move a robot arm actuator 17 in the robotic system 1. The UID 14 may be communicatively coupled to the rest of the robotic system 1, e.g., via a console computer system 16. The UID 14 can generate spatial state signals corresponding to movement of the UID 14, e.g. position and orientation of the handheld housing of the UID, and the spatial state signals may be input signals to control a motion of the robot arm actuator 17. The robotic system 1 may use control signals derived from the spatial state signals, to control proportional motion of the actuator 17. In one embodiment, a console processor of the console computer system 16 receives the spatial state signals and generates the corresponding control signals. Based on these control signals, which control how the actuator 17 is energized to move a segment or link of the arm 4, the movement of a corresponding surgical tool that is attached to the arm may mimic the movement of the UID 14. Similarly, interaction between the remote operator 9 and the UID 14 can generate for example a grip control signal that causes a jaw of a grasper of the surgical tool 7 to close and grip the tissue of patient 6.")
Regarding claim 20, where all the limitations of claim 19 are discussed above, Song further teaches:
20. The system of claim 19, wherein the one or more robotic components comprise one or more of a robotic gripper, a robotic limb, (Paragraph 0030, "The surgical robotic system 1 may include several UIDs 14, where respective control signals are generated for each UID that control the actuators and the surgical tool (end effector) of a respective arm 4. For example, the remote operator 9 may move a first UID 14 to control the motion of an actuator 17 that is in a left robotic arm, where the actuator responds by moving linkages, gears, etc., in that arm 4. Similarly, movement of a second UID 14 by the remote operator 9 controls the motion of another actuator 17, which in turn moves other linkages, gears, etc., of the robotic system 1. The robotic system 1 may include a right arm 4 that is secured to the bed or table 5 to the right side of the patient, and a left arm 4 that is at the left side of the patient. An actuator 17 may include one or more motors that are controlled so that they drive the rotation of a joint of the arm 4 to, for example, change, relative to the patient, an orientation of an endoscope or a grasper of the surgical tool 7 that is attached to that arm. Motion of several actuators 17 in the same arm 4 can be controlled by the spatial state signals generated from a particular UID 14. The UIDs 14 can also control motion of respective surgical tool graspers. For example, each UID 14 can generate a respective grip signal to control motion of an actuator, e.g., a linear actuator, that opens or closes jaws of the grasper at a distal end of surgical tool 7 to grip tissue within patient 6.") and …
Song does not specifically teach the robotic component being a robotic wheel. However, Rose, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… a robotic wheel. (Paragraph 0078, "For example, certain acts of a method of operation of a robot system may be performed by at least one processor or processing unit (hereafter “processor”) of the robot system communicatively coupled to a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium of the robot system (collectively a robot controller of the robot system) and, in some implementations, certain acts of a method of operation of a robot system may be performed by peripheral components of the robot system that are communicatively coupled to the at least one processor, such as one or more physically actuatable components (e.g., arms, legs, end effectors, grippers, hands), one or more sensors (e.g., optical sensors, audio sensors, tactile sensors, haptic sensors), mobility systems (e.g., wheels, legs), communications and networking hardware (e.g., receivers, transmitters, transceivers), and so on. The non-transitory processor-readable storage medium of the robot system may store data (including, e.g., at least one library of reusable work primitives and at least one library of associated percepts) and/or processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the robot system to perform the method and/or cause the at least one processor to perform those acts of the method that are performed by the at least one processor. The robot system may communicate, via communications and networking hardware communicatively coupled to the robot system's at least one processor, with remote systems and/or remote non-transitory processor-readable storage media. Thus, unless the specific context requires otherwise, references to a robot system's non-transitory processor-readable storage medium, as well as data and/or processor-executable instructions stored in a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium, are not intended to be limiting as to the physical location of the non-transitory processor-readable storage medium in relation to the at least one processor of the robot system and the rest of the robot hardware. In other words, a robot system's non-transitory processor-readable storage medium may include non-transitory processor-readable storage media located on-board a robot body of the robot system and/or non-transitory processor-readable storage media located remotely from the robot body, unless the specific context requires otherwise. Further, a method of operation of a robot system such as method 200 (or any of the other methods discussed herein) can be implemented as a robot control module or computer program product. Such a control module or computer program product comprises processor-executable instructions or data that, when the control module or computer program product is stored on a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium of the robot system, and the control module or computer program product is executed by at least one processor of the robot system, the control module or computer program product (or the processor-executable instructions or data thereof) cause the robot system to perform acts of the method.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the robotic wheel taught by Rose into the robotic system as taught by Song. This is a well-known component which increases the mobility of a robotic system.
Claim(s) 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Rose and Bank and in further view of Hansen et al. (US 20240378353 A1), hereinafter Hansen.
Regarding claim 12, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Song does not specifically teach updating the generative AI model using feedback data. However, Rose, in the same field of endeavor of robotic control, teaches:
12. The method of claim 1, wherein said updating the robot control system using the feedback data (Paragraphs 0031-0032, "For the example simulation, the real object 214 may act as an obstacle for the virtual workpiece 222. For an initial programming of a spatial-related application, the MR device 115 may be used to observe the path of the virtual workpiece as it travels along a designed path 223 to a target 225. The user 101 may initially setup the application program using initial parameters to allow programming of the application. For example, the initial spatial parameters and constraints may be estimated with the knowledge that adjustments can be made in subsequent trials until a spatial tolerance threshold is met. Entry of the initial parameters may be input via the GUI device 105 or by an interface of the MR device 115. Adjustments to spatial parameters of the virtual robotic unit 231 and object 222 may be implemented using an interface tool displayed by the MR device 115. For example, spatial and orientation coordinates of the virtual gripper 224 may be set using a visual interface application running on the MR device 115. As the simulated operation is executed, one or more application modules 122 may receive inputs from the sensors, compute motion of virtual robotic unit 231 and/or gripper 224, monitor for obstacles based on additional sensor inputs, receive coordinates of obstacle object 214 from the vision system 212, and compute a new path if necessary. Should the virtual workpiece fail to follow the path 223 around the obstacle object 214, the user may interrupt the simulation, such as by using a hand gesture with the MR device 115, then modify the application using GUI 105 to make necessary adjustments.
The MR simulation may be rerun to test the adjusted application, and with additional iterations as necessary, until operation of the simulated robotic unit 231 is successful according to constraints, such as a spatial tolerance threshold. For example, the path 223 may be required to remain within a set of spatial boundaries to avoid collision with surrounding structures. As another example, the placement of object 222 may be constrained by a spatial range surrounding target location 225 based on coordination with subsequent tasks to be executed upon the object 222.") …
However, Bank, in the same field of robotic control, teaches:
… the one or more generative AI models (Paragraph 0049, "In some implementations of the present systems, methods, control modules, and computer program products, an LLM is used to assist in determining a sequence of reusable work primitives (hereafter “Instructions”), selected from a finite library of reusable work primitives (hereafter “Instruction Set”), that when executed by a robot will cause or enable the robot to complete a task. In some implementations, an LLM is used to assist in determining a “workflow”. For example, a robot control system may take a Natural Language (NL) command as input and return a Task Plan formed of a sequence of allowed Instructions drawn from an Instruction Set whose completion achieves the intent of the NL input. Throughout this specification and the appended claims, unless the specific context requires otherwise a Task Plan may comprise, or consist of, a workflow depending on the specific implementation. Take as an exemplary application the task of “kitting” a chess set comprising sixteen white chess pieces and sixteen black chess pieces. A person could say, or type, to the robot, e.g., “Put all the white pieces in the right hand bin and all the black pieces in the left hand bin” and an LLM could support a fully autonomous system that converts this input into a sequence of allowed Instructions that successfully performs the task. In this case, the LLM may help to allow the robot to perform general tasks specified in NL. General tasks include but are not limited to all work in the current economy.") …
However, Hansen, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… further comprises updating … using the feedback data. (Paragraph 0254, "The real-world data collected is then used to further train the AI system. This process is often iterative, meaning the system periodically updates its model with new data. This further training allows the system to refine its predictions and improve its performance over time. For example, the robotic vacuum cleaner might learn that certain actions are more effective for cleaning corners, or that it needs to avoid certain types of obstacles that weren't included in the simulated data.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic control system and methods as taught by Song with the generative AI model and ability to use feedback data to update and train the model as taught by Rose, Bank and Hansen. This is well known in the field of robotics and allows the system to improve the model based on real world data even after pre-training thereby creating a more effective and accurate model.
Regarding claim 18, where all the limitations of claim 1 are discussed above, Song does not specifically teach updating the generative AI model using feedback data. However, Rose, in the same field of endeavor of robotic control, teaches:
18. The system of claim 1, wherein said updating the robot control system using the feedback data (Paragraphs 0031-0032, "For the example simulation, the real object 214 may act as an obstacle for the virtual workpiece 222. For an initial programming of a spatial-related application, the MR device 115 may be used to observe the path of the virtual workpiece as it travels along a designed path 223 to a target 225. The user 101 may initially setup the application program using initial parameters to allow programming of the application. For example, the initial spatial parameters and constraints may be estimated with the knowledge that adjustments can be made in subsequent trials until a spatial tolerance threshold is met. Entry of the initial parameters may be input via the GUI device 105 or by an interface of the MR device 115. Adjustments to spatial parameters of the virtual robotic unit 231 and object 222 may be implemented using an interface tool displayed by the MR device 115. For example, spatial and orientation coordinates of the virtual gripper 224 may be set using a visual interface application running on the MR device 115. As the simulated operation is executed, one or more application modules 122 may receive inputs from the sensors, compute motion of virtual robotic unit 231 and/or gripper 224, monitor for obstacles based on additional sensor inputs, receive coordinates of obstacle object 214 from the vision system 212, and compute a new path if necessary. Should the virtual workpiece fail to follow the path 223 around the obstacle object 214, the user may interrupt the simulation, such as by using a hand gesture with the MR device 115, then modify the application using GUI 105 to make necessary adjustments.
The MR simulation may be rerun to test the adjusted application, and with additional iterations as necessary, until operation of the simulated robotic unit 231 is successful according to constraints, such as a spatial tolerance threshold. For example, the path 223 may be required to remain within a set of spatial boundaries to avoid collision with surrounding structures. As another example, the placement of object 222 may be constrained by a spatial range surrounding target location 225 based on coordination with subsequent tasks to be executed upon the object 222.") …
However, Bank, in the same field of robotic control, teaches:
… the one or more generative AI models (Paragraph 0049, "In some implementations of the present systems, methods, control modules, and computer program products, an LLM is used to assist in determining a sequence of reusable work primitives (hereafter “Instructions”), selected from a finite library of reusable work primitives (hereafter “Instruction Set”), that when executed by a robot will cause or enable the robot to complete a task. In some implementations, an LLM is used to assist in determining a “workflow”. For example, a robot control system may take a Natural Language (NL) command as input and return a Task Plan formed of a sequence of allowed Instructions drawn from an Instruction Set whose completion achieves the intent of the NL input. Throughout this specification and the appended claims, unless the specific context requires otherwise a Task Plan may comprise, or consist of, a workflow depending on the specific implementation. Take as an exemplary application the task of “kitting” a chess set comprising sixteen white chess pieces and sixteen black chess pieces. A person could say, or type, to the robot, e.g., “Put all the white pieces in the right hand bin and all the black pieces in the left hand bin” and an LLM could support a fully autonomous system that converts this input into a sequence of allowed Instructions that successfully performs the task. In this case, the LLM may help to allow the robot to perform general tasks specified in NL. General tasks include but are not limited to all work in the current economy.") …
However, Hansen, in the same field of endeavor of robotics, teaches:
… further comprises updating … using the feedback data. (Paragraph 0254, "The real-world data collected is then used to further train the AI system. This process is often iterative, meaning the system periodically updates its model with new data. This further training allows the system to refine its predictions and improve its performance over time. For example, the robotic vacuum cleaner might learn that certain actions are more effective for cleaning corners, or that it needs to avoid certain types of obstacles that weren't included in the simulated data.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the robotic control system and methods as taught by Song with the generative AI model and ability to use feedback data to update and train the model as taught by Rose, Bank and Hansen. This is well known in the field of robotics and allows the system to improve the model based on real world data even after pre-training thereby creating a more effective and accurate model.
Conclusion
The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the referencesapplied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations arerepresentative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
/H.J.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657