DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US
2023/0402518; hereinafter Park) in view of Lee et al. (US 2019/0027480; hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Park, in fig. 2, discloses a memory device, comprising: a word line
structure 120 disposed in a semiconductor substrate, wherein the word line structure 120
comprises: a lower gate electrode layer 124a; an upper gate electrode layer 124b disposed over
and in direct contact with the lower gate electrode layer 124a, wherein a work function of the
lower gate electrode layer 124a (metal) is higher than a work function of the upper gate electrode
layer 124b (polysilicon) ([0036]); and a gate dielectric layer 122a/122b surrounding the lower
gate electrode layer 124a and the upper gate electrode layer 124b; a first source/drain region
114A and a second source/drain region 114B disposed in the semiconductor substrate and at opposite sides of the word line structure 120; a bit line structure 130 disposed over and electrically connected to the first source/drain region 114A; and a capacitor CS1 disposed over and electrically connected to the second source/drain region 114B.
Park fails to disclose a maximum width of the lower gate electrode layer is greater than a maximum width of the upper gate electrode layer.
However, Lee discloses the maximum width of the lower gate electrode layer G1 is greater than the maximum width of the upper gate electrode layer G2 (figs. 2A & 3). It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form a gate structure as taught by Lee, so that the upper and lower portion in the gate dielectric layer have different thickness. As a result, current leakage between the word lines and the active areas can be mitigated by the thicker portions. In particular, current leakage between the portions of the word lines in the trench structures and the active areas can be effectively mitigated.
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses wherein the lower gate electrode layer 124a comprises
titanium nitride (TiN), and the upper gate electrode layer 124b comprises polysilicon ([0036]).
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses wherein a height of the lower gate electrode layer 124a
is greater than a height of the upper gate electrode layer 124b (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses wherein the gate dielectric layer 210/210a is a single layer formed in the semiconductor substrate 100 (fig.3); and Park discloses wherein the lower gate electrode layer 124a is surrounded by a lower portion of the gate dielectric layer 122b, and the upper gate electrode layer 124b is surrounded by an upper portion of the gate dielectric layer 122b, and wherein a thickness of the lower portion of the gate dielectric layer 122b is greater than a thickness of the upper portion of the gate dielectric layer 122b (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses wherein the word line structure 120 further comprises:
a pair of spacers 122c-1 disposed on opposite sides of the upper gate electrode layer 124b and surrounded by the upper portion of the gate dielectric layer 122b, wherein the pair of spacers 122c-1 are sandwiched between the upper portion of the gate dielectric layer 122b and the upper gate electrode layer 124b (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses wherein the pair of spacers 122c-1 are in direct contact
with a top surface of the lower gate electrode layer 124a (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses further comprising: a dielectric cap layer 126/142
disposed over the semiconductor substrate, wherein a portion of the dielectric cap layer 126
extends into the semiconductor substrate to cover the word line structure 120, and a width of the
portion of the dielectric cap layer 126 is greater than a width of the upper gate electrode layer
124b (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Park discloses wherein a width of the lower gate electrode layer 124a
is greater than the width of the upper gate electrode layer 124b (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses wherein the dielectric cap layer 126 is in direct contact
with the upper gate electrode layer 124b (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses further comprising: a lining layer 122c disposed
between the gate dielectric layer 122b and the dielectric cap layer 126/142 (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses wherein a top surface of the lining layer 122c is higher than a top surface of the gate dielectric layer 122a/122b layer, wherein the portion of the dielectric cap layer is surrounded by the lining layer and is extended through the lining layer in order to directly contact the upper gate electrode layer (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses wherein the upper gate electrode layer 124b is
separated from the dielectric cap layer 126/142 by the lining layer 122c (fig. 3).
2. Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et
al. (US 2017/0365608; hereinafter Lee ‘608) in view of Lee et al. (US 2019/0027480; hereinafter Lee ’480).
Regarding claim 1, Lee ‘608, in fig. 2, discloses a memory device, comprising: a word line structure 132/134 disposed in a semiconductor substrate, wherein the word line structure 132/134 comprises: a lower gate electrode layer 132; an upper gate electrode layer 134 disposed over and in direct contact with the lower gate electrode layer 132, wherein a work function of the lower gate electrode layer 132 is higher than a work function of the upper gate electrode layer 134 ([0056]); and a gate dielectric layer 120 surrounding the lower gate electrode layer 132 and the upper gate electrode layer 134; a first source/drain region 109A and a second source/drain region 109B disposed in the semiconductor substrate and at opposite sides of the word line structure 132/134; a bit line structure 150 disposed over and electrically connected to the first source/drain region 109A; and a capacitor 180 disposed over and electrically connected to the second source/drain region 109B.
Lee ‘608 fails to disclose a maximum width of the lower gate electrode layer is greater than a maximum width of the upper gate electrode layer.
However, Lee ’480 discloses the maximum width of the lower gate electrode layer G1 is greater than the maximum width of the upper gate electrode layer G2 (figs. 2A & 3). It would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to form a gate structure as taught by Lee ’480, so that the upper and lower portion in the gate dielectric layer have different thickness. As a result, current leakage between the word lines and the active areas can be mitigated by the thicker portions. In particular, current leakage between the portions of the word lines in the trench structures and the active areas can be effectively mitigated.
Regarding claim 3, Lee ‘608 discloses wherein a height of the lower gate electrode layer 132 is greater than a height of the upper gate electrode layer 134 (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Lee ‘608 discloses wherein the word line structure further comprises: a pair of spacers 146 disposed on opposite sides of the upper gate electrode layer 148 and surrounded by the upper portion of the gate dielectric layer 120, wherein the pair of spacers 146 are sandwiched between the upper portion of the gate dielectric layer 120 and the upper gate electrode layer 148 (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Lee ‘608 discloses wherein the pair of spacers 146 are in direct contact with a top surface of the lower gate electrode layer 132 (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Lee ‘608 discloses further comprising: a dielectric cap layer 136 disposed over the semiconductor substrate, wherein a portion of the dielectric cap layer 136 extends into the semiconductor substrate to cover the word line structure 132/134, and a width of the portion of the dielectric cap layer 136 is greater than a width of the upper gate electrode layer 134 (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Lee ‘608 discloses wherein the dielectric cap layer 136 is in direct contact with the upper gate electrode layer 134 (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Lee ‘608 discloses further comprising: a lining layer 149K disposed
between the gate dielectric layer 120 and the dielectric cap layer 136 (figs. 2 & 20B).
Regarding claim 11, Lee ‘608 discloses wherein a top surface of the lining layer 149K is higher than a top surface of the gate dielectric layer 120, wherein the portion of the dielectric cap layer is surrounded by the lining layer and is extended through the lining layer in order to directly contact the upper gate electrode layer (fig. 20B).
Regarding claim 12, Lee ‘608 discloses wherein the upper gate electrode layer 134 is separated from the dielectric cap layer 136 by the lining layer 149K (figs. 2 & 20B).
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
4. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
5. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to David Vu whose telephone number is (571) 272-1798. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00am to 5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempt to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Steven Loke H can be reached on (571) 272-1657. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/DAVID VU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818