DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 are allowed.
Claim 13-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 8 includes allowable subject matter since the prior art made of record and considered pertinent to the applicants’ disclosure, taken individually or in combination, does not teach or suggest the claimed invention having: a memory testing device configured to perform at least one memory test on a memory block of a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory testing device, wherein the processor is configured to extract, from the at least one memory test, a location of at least one fail bit to be repaired in the memory block, obtain an available repair resource in the memory for repairing the memory block, determine, using first machine learning, whether the at least one fail bit is unrepairable according to the location of the at least one fail bit in the memory block, and the available repair resource, and in response to determining, using the first machine learning, that the at least one fail bit is not unrepairable, determine whether a Constraint Satisfaction Problem (CSP) containing a plurality of constraints is solvable, the plurality of constraints corresponding to the location of the at least one fail bit in the memory block, and the available repair resource, in response to determining that the CSP is not solvable, control the memory testing device to mark the memory block as unrepairable or to reject the memory, and in response to determining that the CSP is solvable, update a heuristic of the CSP using second machine learning separate from the first machine learning., and a combination of other limitations in the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii (PGPUB 20100169705), hereinafter as Fujii, in view of Shimada (Patent 6112321), hereinafter as Shimada.
Regarding claim 1, Fujii teaches a method, said method executed at least partially by a processor, comprising:
extracting, from at least one memory test on a memory block of a memory (Fig 1, memory test apparatus), a location of at least one fail bit to be repaired in the memory block (Fig 3);
obtaining an available repair resource in the memory for repairing the memory block (Fig 8, S500 allocating backup lines);
checking, using machine learning (argument used in office action dated 4/5/2022 for application 17108870 [now US Patent 11450401] applies), whether the at least one fail bit is unrepairable according to the location of the at least one fail bit in the memory block, and the available repair resource (Fig 7);
in response to said checking, using the machine learning, indicating that the at least one fail bit is not unrepairable (Fig 7 and Fig 8, see above Response to Arguments), determining whether a Constraint Satisfaction Problem (CSP) containing a plurality of constraints is solvable (Fig 8, S502-504, weight coefficient, available backup lines), the plurality of constraints corresponding to the location of the at least one fail bit in the memory block, and the available repair resource (Fig 8, S516);
in response to said determining indicating that the CSP is not solvable, marking the memory block as unrepairable or rejecting the memory (Fig 7 and Fig 8).
But not expressly marking the memory block as unrepairable or rejecting the memory without making further determination with respect to repairability of the memory block,
Shimada teaches marking the memory block as unrepairable or rejecting the memory without making further determination with respect to repairability of the memory block (Fig 2 and col 4 line 41-43).
Since Shimada and Fujii are both from the same field of semiconductor memory device, the purpose disclosed by Shimada would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Fujii.
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to stop the testing/repairing when it is not repairable as in Shimada into the device/method of Fujii for the purpose of shortening the testing/repairing process.
Regarding claim 2, Fujii teaches the CSP further contains at least one objective function to be optimized, and the solution of the CSP corresponds to the at least one objective function being optimized (Fig 8, looping with updating weighting coefficient).
Regarding claim 12, Shimada teaches in response to determining that the at least one fail bit is unrepairable, control the memory testing device to mark the memory block as unrepairable or to reject the memory, without performing a memory test on the memory block to extract a location of a weak bit in the memory block (Fig 2 and col 4 line 41-43).
Claim(s) 5-6, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuji and Shimada, in view of Kim et al. (PGPUB 20130262740), hereinafter as Kim.
Regarding claim 5, Fujii and Shimada teach a method as in rejection of claim 1,
And also extracting, from the at least one memory test, a location of at least one weak bit in the memory block (Fig 3, fail data locations);
in response to said determining indicating that the CSP is solvable, determining whether a remaining repair resource exists based on the available repair resource and the solution of the CSP (Fig 8, looping with S502);
in response to a determination that the remaining repair resource exists, solving a Constraint Optimization Problem (COP) containing the plurality of constraints, and an objective function (Fig 8, S504) to be optimized, the objective function corresponding to the location of the at least one weak bit in the memory block;
But not expressly repairing the at least one weak bit using the available repair resource in accordance with a solution of the COP;
Kim teaches repairing the at least one fail bit and the at least one weak bit using the available repair resource in accordance with a solution of the COP ([0084]).
Since Kim and Fujii are both from the same field of semiconductor memory device, the purpose disclosed by Kim would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Fujii.
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to repair weak cell as in Kim into the device/method of Fujii for the purpose of improving memory device performance.
Regarding claim 6, Fujii teaches assigning a plurality of different weights to the plurality of weak bits, the different weights corresponding to different weakness levels of the plurality of weak bits (Fig 3, assigning weighting coefficients on failed cells).
Regarding claim 18, Fujii teaches to assign a plurality of different weights to the plurality of weak bits, the different weights corresponding to different weakness levels of the plurality of weak bits, and based on locations of and the plurality of different weights assigned to the plurality of weak bits, control a repair of the at least one fail bit and one or more weak bits among the plurality of weak bits (Fig 3 and Fig 7).
Regarding claim 19, Fujii teaches to assign, among the plurality of different weights, at least one weight, which corresponds to a weakness level of the at least one first weak bit in the available repair resource in the memory, to the at least one first weak bit in the available repair resource in the memory, and based on the locations of and the plurality of different weights assigned to the plurality of weak bits including the at least one first weak bit in the available repair resource, control the repair of the at least one fail bit and the one or more weak bits among the plurality of weak bits (Fig 3).
Regarding claim 20, Fujii teaches to control the repair of the at least one fail bit and the one or more weak bits among the plurality of weak bits, by allocating, from the available repair resource, a redundant bit line or word line not including the at least one first weak bit to the repair, before allocating a redundant bit line or word line including the at least one first weak bit (Fig 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fuji.
Regarding claim 11, Fujii teaches a computer program product, comprising a non-transitory, computer-readable medium containing instructions therein which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to
extract a location (Fig 3) of at least one fail bit to be repaired in a memory block of a memory,
obtain an available repair resource (Fig 8) in the memory for repairing the memory block,
determine whether the at least one fail bit is repairable according to the location of the at least one fail bit in the memory block, and the available repair resource (Fig 8, S500-502),
in response to determining that the at least one fail bit is repairable, determine whether a remaining repair resource exists upon allocating at least a part of the available repair resource to repair the at least one fail bit (Fig 7), and
in response to determining that the remaining repair resource exists, control a memory testing device to perform at least one memory test on the memory block to extract a location of at least one weak bit in the memory block (Fig 3).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-7, 11-12, 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12014790.
Claim 1-7, 11-12, 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11450401, in view of teaching of Shimada.
Conclusion
/MIN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2827