DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by De Silva et al. [US 20210149298 A1, hereafter De Silva].
As per Claim 1, De Silva teaches a structure (See fig. 6) comprising
a dose reducing layer (hardmask 150), the dose reducing layer comprising an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) radiation-absorbing element (Para 54);
a resist (130), the resist being sensitive to EUV (Para 59); and
an adhesion layer (metal brush layer 120), the adhesion layer being positioned between the dose reducing layer and the resist, the adhesion layer comprising amorphous carbon or an organic compound (See fig. 6, Para 54-59).
As per Claim 2, De Silva teaches the structure according to claim 1 further comprising a hard mask, wherein the dose reducing layer is positioned between the hard mask and the adhesion layer (See fig. 2, Para 44-45).
As per Claim 3, De Silva teaches the structure according to claim 2 further comprising a patternable film, the hard mask being positioned between the patternable film and the dose reducing layer (See fig. 2, Para 44-45).
As per Claim 4, De Silva teaches the structure according to claim 1, wherein the dose reducing layer 150 has a thickness of at most 7.0 nm (Para 56).
As per Claim 5, De Silva teaches a method of forming a structure (See fig. 6), comprising
the following steps, in the given order: providing a substrate to a reaction chamber (Para 54, wherein the CVD process chamber);
forming a dose reducing layer 150 on the substrate 110, the dose reducing layer comprising an EUV-absorbing element (Para 55);
forming an adhesion layer 120 on the dose reducing layer, the adhesion layer comprising amorphous carbon or an organic compound; and, forming a resist on the adhesion layer (See fig. 6, Para 54-59).
As per Claim 6, De Silva teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein the structure formed comprises; a dose reducing layer, the dose reducing layer comprising an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) radiation-absorbing element; a resist, the resist being sensitive to EUV; and an adhesion layer, the adhesion layer being positioned between the dose reducing layer and the resist, the adhesion layer comprising amorphous carbon or an organic compound (See fig. 6, Para 54).
As per Claim 7, De Silva teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein the substrate comprises a hard mask on which the dose reducing layer is formed (See fig. 5).
As per Claims 8-10, De Silva teaches the method according to claim 5, wherein the dose reducing layer is formed by plasma-enhanced atomic layer deposition (Para 54, wherein PVD).
As per Claim 11, De Silva teaches a method of transferring a pattern into a substrate (See fig. 7), the method comprising
providing a substrate 110, the substrate comprising a structure (Para 36), the structure comprising
a dose reducing layer 150, the dose reducing layer comprising an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) radiation-absorbing element (Para 54);
a patterned resist, the patterned resist comprising a pattern (See fig. 7);
an adhesion layer 120, the adhesion layer being positioned between the dose reducing layer 150 and the patterned resist 130, the adhesion layer comprising amorphous carbon or an organic compound (Para 30); and
a hard mask, wherein the dose reducing layer is positioned between the hard mask and the adhesion layer (See fig. 6);
exposing the substrate to a first etch (See fig. 8), thereby transferring the pattern from the patterned resist to the adhesion layer (Para 62);
exposing the substrate to a second etch (See fig. 9), thereby transferring the pattern from the adhesion layer to the dose reducing layer (Para 64); and
exposing the substrate to a third etch (See fig. 10), thereby transferring the pattern from the dose reducing layer to the hard mask (Para 66),
wherein the first etch, the second etch, and the third etch are different (See fig. 8-10, Para 62-66).
As per Claim 12, De Silva teaches the structure according to claim 1, wherein the resist comprises a metalorganic resist (Para 27).
As per Claim 13, De Silva teaches the structure according to claim 1, wherein the EUV radiation-absorbing element comprises tin (Para 30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Silva as applied in claim 5 above, in view of Ma et al. [US 20250347996 A1, hereafter Ma].
As per Claim 14, De Silva teaches the method the system to carry out a method according to claim 5.
De Silva does not explicitly disclosed a system comprising a dose reducing layer reaction chamber being constructed and arranged for forming a dose reducing layer; a resist reaction chamber being constructed and arranged for forming a resist; an adhesion layer reaction chamber, the adhesion layer reaction chamber being constructed and arranged for forming an adhesion layer; and a transfer module constructed and arranged for moving a substrate between the dose reducing layer reaction chamber, the resist reaction chamber, and the adhesion layer reaction chamber while keeping the substrate in a vacuum or inert gas environment, wherein each of the dose reducing layer reaction chamber, the resist reaction chamber, and the adhesion layer reaction chamber are operationally coupled with one or more precursor sources, wherein the system further comprises a controller 5.
Ma teaches a processing system 300, The processing system 300A generally includes a front end staging area 302 where substrate cassettes 309 are supported and substrates are loaded into and unloaded from a loadlock chamber 312, a transfer chamber 311 housing a substrate handler 313, a series of tandem process chambers 306, 316, and 326 mounted on the transfer chamber 311, and a back end 338 which houses the support utilities needed for operation of the processing system 300A, such as a gas panel 303, and a power distribution panel 305. A system controller 390 contains computer and other circuitry for automation of tasks (See fig. 3A, Para 27-28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate the processing system as claimed in order to produce a desired higher efficiency in the lithographic process.
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tan et al. [US 20220035247 A1, hereafter Tan].
As per Claim 1, Tan teaches a structure (See fig. 2C) comprising
a dose reducing layer (hardmask 204), the dose reducing layer comprising an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) radiation-absorbing element (Para 38);
a resist (imaging layer 208), the resist being sensitive to EUV (Para 84-85); and
an adhesion layer (an underlayer 206), the adhesion layer being positioned between the dose reducing layer and the resist, the adhesion layer comprising amorphous carbon or an organic compound (See fig. 2C, Para 6 and 85).
As per Claim 5, Tan teaches a method of forming a structure (See fig. 2C), comprising
the following steps, in the given order: providing a substrate to a reaction chamber (Para 216, wherein the CVD process chamber);
forming a dose reducing layer (hardmask 204) on the substrate 202, the dose reducing layer comprising an EUV-absorbing element (Para 85);
forming an adhesion layer (an underlayer 206) on the dose reducing layer, the adhesion layer comprising amorphous carbon or an organic compound; and, forming a resist on the adhesion layer (See fig. 2C, Para 6 and 85).
Conclusion
/MESFIN T ASFAW/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882