DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/12/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 20200098845 A1) in view of Yang (US 20180166018 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Zhu discloses (Fig. 3) A display device comprising:
a substrate (10); a driving element layer (¶ [0056]) on the substrate; and a light emitting element layer (11, 1a, 14) on the driving element layer, the light emitting element layer comprising: a pixel defining layer (1b) partitioning a plurality of sub-pixels; a first electrode (11) of a sub-pixel from among the plurality of sub-pixels, the first electrode being located in an opening (opening on 1b exposing 11) of the pixel defining layer;
wirings comprising:
a first wiring (13, 12) extending in a first direction while crossing between the first electrodes on the pixel defining layer (on and touching the pixel defining layer; “on” is “connected” as supported in the applicant’s spec ¶ [0053]) in a display area; and
a second wiring (another 13, 12) in the display area;
an intermediate layer (1a) covering the first electrode at the opening and covering the pixel defining layer, a portion of the intermediate layer being disconnected in an upper portion of the wirings (¶ [0040]);
a second electrode (14) covering the intermediate layer in the opening (Fig. 3), and continuously covering the intermediate layer and the wirings between sub-pixels that are adjacent to each other from among the plurality of sub-pixels;
Zhu is silent regarding a length difference between the first and second wiring; and pattern wirings connected to the wirings in a non-display area comprising a third wiring and a fourth wiring with a length difference.
Yang discloses (Fig. 1, ¶¶ [0055, 0057]) a resistance compensation unit in the non-display area for metal lines (13) is used for metal lines of shorter length fitting into a rounded corner of a display to balance voltage drops and load differences that occur due to geometric constraints and varying line lengths. As such it is predictable for artisans to apply a resistance compensation unit taught by Yang to the wirings of Zhu to correct load imbalance caused by varying line lengths while meeting display geometric constraints. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the system to apply a resistance compensation unit of Yang to the wiring system of Zhu to achieve load balance for the wirings.
Regarding claim 2, Zhu in view of Yang discloses the display device of claim 1. Kang discloses the fourth wiring has a zigzag shape to have the fourth length longer than the third length (logic of resistance compensation unit).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu in view of Yang discloses the display device of claim 2. Kang discloses a first total length obtained by adding the first length of the first wiring and the third length of the third wiring to each other is equal to a second total length obtained by adding the second length of the second wiring and the fourth length of the fourth wiring to each other (logic of compensation unit).
Regarding claim 4, Zhu in view of Yang discloses the display device of claim 3. Kang discloses wherein the first wiring is an odd-numbered wiring of the wirings, and wherein the second wiring is an even-numbered wiring of the wirings (12,13 can be numbered as such).
Regarding claim 5 &6, Zhu in view of Yang discloses the display device of claim 1. Zhu is silent regarding a power pad is located at one end of the non-display area adjacent to one end of the wirings, wherein another end of the non-display area adjacent to another end of the wirings comprises a first ground wiring and a second ground wiring connecting a ground pad and the wirings to each other, wherein the first ground wiring is connected to the first wiring and extends in a straight line, and wherein the second ground wiring is connected to the second wiring and has a zigzag shape; and the ground pad is located at the other end of the non-display area.
Zhu discloses (¶ [0016]) applying different voltages to signal lines 12 to generate currents in fuse wires 13 to burn out the light emitting layer 1a in contact with the fuse wires. Though not mentioning the supplying voltage in the non-display area, it is implicitly implied the power supplying pad is located in the non-display area; it is a common practice to connect one end of a metal conductor to a voltage source and the other to ground for safety, system stability, and proper operation. Thus, it is predictable to have the modified signal lines of Zhu in view of Yang having a power pad in the non-display area at one end of the signals and having the ground pad in the non-display area at the other end of the signals to operate the power supply to function the signal lines optimally. As for the portions of the signal lines in the ground pad connecting the ground pad and the signal lines in the display area, a compensation unit can be one single-side placement or split-side placement. Split the compensation unit so that half is mounted on a separate side of non-display area allows the line to be shared evenly between both sides, improving balance and potentially reducing stress on any signal side. In addition, selecting one signal ground portion to be straight or zigzag on the side of the ground pad to connect the signal lines can be done through a finite number of options in designing the compensation unit.
As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a power pad to supply the voltage for the signal lines as taught by Zhu together with a ground pad with split compensation unit placement on both sides of the non-display area to share the load evenly.
Regarding claim 11. Zhu discloses (Fig. 3) A mobile electronic device (¶ [0064]) comprising:
a display panel (¶ [0064]) comprising a light emitting element layer (11, 1a, 14), wherein the light emitting element layer comprises: a pixel defining layer (1b) partitioning a plurality of sub-pixels;
a first electrode (11) of a sub-pixel from among the plurality of sub-pixels, the first electrode being located in an opening (opening on 1b exposing 11) of the pixel defining layer;
wirings comprising:
a first wiring (13, 12) extending in a first direction while crossing between the first electrodes on the pixel defining layer (13 is on and touching the pixel defining layer 1b; “on” is “connected” as supported in the applicant’s spec ¶ [0053]) in the display area; and
a second wiring (another 13,12) in the display area;
an intermediate layer (1a) covering the first electrode at the opening and covering the pixel defining layer, a portion of the intermediate layer being disconnected in an upper portion of the wirings (¶ [0040]);
a second electrode (14) covering the intermediate layer in the opening, and continuously covering the intermediate layer and the wirings between sub-pixels that are disposed to be adjacent to each other from among the plurality of sub-pixels;
Zhu is silent regarding a length difference between the first and second wiring; and pattern wirings connected to the wirings in a non-display area comprising a third wiring and a fourth wiring with a length difference.
Yang discloses (Fig. 1, ¶¶ [0055, 0057]) a resistance compensation unit in the non-display area for metal lines (13) is used for metal lines of shorter length fitting into a rounded corner of a display to balance voltage drops and load differences that occur due to geometric constraints and varying line lengths. As such it is predictable for artisans to apply a resistance compensation unit taught by Yang to the wirings of Zhu to correct load imbalance caused by varying line lengths while meeting display geometric constraints. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the system to apply a resistance compensation unit of Yang to the wiring system of Zhu to achieve load balance for the wirings.
The modified wiring system of Zhu in view of Yang would result for the wirings length difference in the display area being compensated by the respective pattern wirings in the non-display area.
Regarding claim 12, Zhu in view of Yang discloses the mobile electronic device of claim 11. The modified wiring system of Zhu in view of Yang would result for wherein the fourth wiring has a zigzag shape to have the fourth length longer than the third length.
Regarding claim 13, Zhu in view of Yang discloses the mobile electronic device of claim 12, wherein a first total length obtained by adding the first length of the first wiring and the third length of the third wiring to each other is equal to a second total length obtained by adding the second length of the second wiring and the fourth length of the fourth wiring to each other (logic of resistance compensation unit).
Regarding claim 14, Zhu in view of Yang discloses the mobile electronic device of claim 13 wherein the first wiring is an odd-numbered wiring of the wirings, and wherein the second wiring is an even-numbered wiring of the wirings (12, 13 can be numbered as such between two adjacent lines).
Regarding claim 15-16, Zhu in view of Yang discloses the mobile electronic device of claim 11. Zhu is silent regarding a power pad is located at one end of the non-display area adjacent to one end of the wirings, wherein another end of the non-display area adjacent to another end of the wirings comprises a first ground wiring and a second ground wiring connecting a ground pad and the wirings to each other, wherein the first ground wiring is connected to the first wiring and extends in a straight line, and wherein the second ground wiring is connected to the second wiring and has a zigzag shape, and the ground pad is located at the other end of the non-display area.
Zhu discloses (¶ [0016]) applying different voltages to signal lines 12 to generate currents in fuse wires 13 to burn out the light emitting layer 1a in contact with the fuse wires. Though not mentioning the supplying voltage in the non-display area, it is implicitly implied the power supplying pad is located in the non-display area; it is a common practice to connect one end of a metal conductor to a voltage source and the other to ground for safety, system stability, and proper operation. Thus, it is predictable to have the modified signal lines of Zhu in view of Yang having a power pad in the non-display area at one end of the signals and having the ground pad in the non-display area at the other end of the signals to operate the power supply to function the signal lines optimally. As for the portions of the signal lines in the ground pad connecting the ground pad and the signal lines in the display area, a compensation unit can be one single-side placement or split-side placement. Split the compensation unit so that half is mounted on a separate side of non-display area allows the line to be shared evenly between both sides, improving balance and potentially reducing stress on any signal side. In addition, selecting one signal ground portion to be straight or zigzag on the side of the ground pad to connect the signal lines can be done through a finite number of options in designing the compensation unit.
As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a power pad to supply the voltage for the signal lines as taught by Zhu together with a ground pad with split compensation unit placement on both sides of the non-display area to share the load evenly.
Claim(s) 7,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 20200098845 A1) in view of Yang (US 20180166018 A1), Gunner (US 20050236968 A1) and Zhou (US 20250098468 A1)
Regarding claim 7, Zhu in view of Yang disclose the display device of claim 1. Though being silent regarding wherein the first electrode has a hexagonal shape in a plan view and comprises a protruding portion protruding in a direction of the first wiring, Zhu discloses (Fig. 1) the anode 11 has a rectangle shape in a plan view and comprises a protruding portion (portion connecting to 19, Fig. 3).
Gunner discloses (Fig. 5, ¶¶ [0023-0024, 0026, 0028]) the hexagonal pixels increase the emission areas while maintaining the bank strength, thus improving display brightness and clarity. Zhou discloses (Fig. 6A) the subpixels in a pixel unit with protruding portions for backside connection facing each other. In the OLED fabrication, the anode’s shape is often designed to match the pixel geometry to ensure uniform current injection, efficient light generation, and proper electrical connection between the pixel and the drive circuit. Thus, the hexagonal pixels disclosed by Gunner would imply the hexagonal shape of the anode and the protrusion of anode would be assembled to be adjacent to one another for subpixels in a pixel unit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adopt the hexagonal shape for anode as disclosed by Gunner to the rectangular shape for anode of Zhu to increase emissive areas for optimal operation.
Regarding claim 17, Zhu in view of Yang disclose the display device of claim 11. Though being silent regarding the first electrode has a hexagonal shape in a plan view and comprises a protruding portion protruding in a direction of the first wiring, Zhu discloses (Fig. 1) the anode 11 has a rectangle shape in a plan view and comprises a protruding portion (portion connecting to 19, Fig. 3).
Gunner discloses (Fig. 5, ¶¶ [0023-0024, 0026, 0028]) the hexagonal pixels increase the emission areas while maintaining the bank strength, thus improving display brightness and clarity. Zhou discloses (Fig. 6A) the subpixels in a pixel unit with protruding portions for backside connection facing each other. In the OLED fabrication, the anode’s shape is often designed to match the pixel geometry to ensure uniform current injection, efficient light generation, and proper electrical connection between the pixel and the drive circuit. Thus, the hexagonal pixels disclosed by Gunner would imply the hexagonal shape of the anode and the protrusion of anode would be assembled to be adjacent to one another for subpixels in a pixel unit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adopt the hexagonal shape for anode as disclosed by Gunner to the rectangular shape for anode of Zhu to increase emissive areas for optimal operation.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 20200098845 A1) in view of Yang (US 20180166018 A1) and Kim (US 20150123952 A1)
Regarding claim 8, Zhu in view of Yang discloses the display device of claim 1. Zhu discloses the plurality of sub-pixels (Fig. 1) comprises: a first light emitting area of a first sub-pixel; a second light emitting area of a second sub-pixel; and a third light emitting area of a third sub-pixel, wherein the first light emitting area and the second light emitting area are alternately located along the first direction in odd-numbered rows from among the plurality of sub-pixels, wherein the third light emitting area is located at intervals along the first direction in even-numbered rows from among the plurality of sub-pixels (Fig. 1). Zhu is silent regarding a length of the third light emitting area in the first direction is greater than a sum of a length of the first light emitting area in the first direction and a length of the second light emitting area in the first direction.
Kim discloses (Fig. 26, ¶¶ [ 0139]), light emitting portion of blue pixel is greater than sum of light emitting portions of pixel green and red; (¶ [0144]) the arrangement of pixels R, G, B along each row or column. As such where the general conditions of the claim (arrangement of subpixel in a pixel unit) are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges (pixels R and G lined up on pixel B in two adjacent rows) by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adopt the pixel sizes taught by Kim and arrange those pixels such that pixel R and G lined up on pixel B on two adjacent rows to the pixels of Zhu for optimal applications.
Regarding claim 9, Zhu in view of Yang and Kim discloses the display device of claim 8. Zhu discloses the wiring (fuse wire 13 coupled with signal line 12) to form an opening between the pixel defining areas (Figs. 1, 3) to burn out the emission layer such to disconnect the emission layer between adjacent sub-pixels. The modification of the pixel size and arrangement of Zhu would result for the wirings to be arranged between anode 11 (Zhu: ¶ [0033]). For wiring (13, 12) to arrange between the modified arrangement, which includes R and G adjacent in a first row and B aligned to R and G in a second row adjacent to the first row. For the wire to burn out the admission portion between sub-pixels, it is predictable for artisans to implement the wiring such that it can function the burning out of the admission portion between sub-pixels. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill int the art before the effective filing date of the invention to place a first and second wirings around the three subpixels R, G, B as disclosed by Kim to have those portions between the anodes of subpixels burnt out to cut off the connection between light emitting regions of the light emitting area (Zhu: ¶ [0042]). It is a common practice for cost saving that the emission portion is blanket deposited on the anode thus there is a need to cut off the connection between light emitting regions of the light emitting area.
Regarding claim 18, Zhu in view of Yang discloses the display device of claim 11. Zhu discloses the plurality of sub-pixels (Fig. 1) comprises: a first light emitting area of a first sub-pixel; a second light emitting area of a second sub-pixel; and a third light emitting area of a third sub-pixel, wherein the first light emitting area and the second light emitting area are alternately located along the first direction in odd-numbered rows from among the plurality of sub-pixels, wherein the third light emitting area is located at intervals along the first direction in even-numbered rows from among the plurality of sub-pixels (Fig. 1). Zhu is silent regarding a length of the third light emitting area in the first direction is greater than a sum of a length of the first light emitting area in the first direction and a length of the second light emitting area in the first direction.
Kim discloses (Fig. 26, ¶¶ [ 0139]), light emitting portion of blue pixel is greater than sum of light emitting portions of pixel green and red; (¶ [0144]) the arrangement of pixels R, G, B along each row or column. As such where the general conditions of the claim (arrangement of subpixel in a pixel unit) are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges (pixels R and G lined up on pixel B in two adjacent rows) by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adopt the pixel sizes taught by Kim and arrange those pixels such that pixel R and G lined up on pixel B on two adjacent rows to the pixels of Zhu for optimal applications.
Regarding claim 19, Zhu in view of Yang and Kim discloses the display device of claim 18. Zhu discloses the wiring (fuse wire 13 coupled with signal line 12) to form an opening between the pixel defining areas (Figs. 1, 3) to burn out the emission layer such to disconnect the emission layer between adjacent sub-pixels. The modification of the pixel size and arrangement of Zhu would result for the wirings to be arranged between anode 11 (Zhu: ¶ [0033]). For wiring (13, 12) to arrange between the modified arrangement, which includes R and G adjacent in a first row and B aligned to R and G in a second row adjacent to the first row. For the wire to burn out the admission portion between sub-pixels, it is predictable for artisans to implement the wiring such that it can function the burning out of the admission portion between sub-pixels. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill int the art before the effective filing date of the invention to place a first and second wirings around the three subpixels R, G, B as disclosed by Kim to have those portions between the anodes of subpixels burnt out to cut off the connection between light emitting regions of the light emitting area (Zhu: ¶ [0042]). It is a common practice for cost saving that the emission portion is blanket deposited on the anode thus there is a need to cut off the connection between light emitting regions of the light emitting area.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 20200098845 A1) in view of Yang (US 20180166018 A1) and Shim (US 20110096258 A1)
Regarding claim 10. Zhu in view of Yang discloses the display device of claim 1. Zhu is silent regarding a plurality of fan-out wirings connecting between the pattern wirings and a power pad, wherein the plurality of fan-out wirings all have the same length as each other by including a length deviation compensation portion, and wherein the length deviation compensation portion of each of the fan-out wirings comprises a zigzag wiring of a different length from those of others of the fan-out wirings.
Shim discloses (Fig. 3A) a fan-out wiring system with a compensation unit (zigzag portions of lines 136a – 136d) comprising of different zigzag lengths connecting to a power pad (138). Though not discloses the fan-out signal lines connecting to a ground pad, it is understood a split placement of the compensation unit on the other end of the data signals connecting to a ground pad would allow the line to be shared evenly between both sides, improving balance and potentially reducing stress on any signal side; besides, having data signal grounded ensures safety, system stability, and proper operation. As such one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have combined known methods of signal grounding, signal fan-out (by Shim), split placement of compensation unit, and a finite number of experiments for the heating wires of Zhu to construct a safe and stable system for optimal operations for display.
Regarding claim 20, Zhu in view of Yang discloses the display device of claim 11. Zhu is silent regarding a plurality of fan-out wirings connecting between the pattern wirings and a power pad, wherein the plurality of fan-out wirings all have the same length as each other by including a length deviation compensation portion, and wherein the length deviation compensation portion of each of the fan-out wirings comprises a zigzag wiring of a different length from those of others of the fan-out wirings.
Shim discloses (Fig. 3A) a fan-out wiring system with a compensation unit (zigzag portions of lines 136a – 136d) comprising of different zigzag lengths connecting to a power pad (138). Though not discloses the fan-out signal lines connecting to a ground pad, it is understood a split placement of the compensation unit on the other end of the data signals connecting to a ground pad would allow the line to be shared evenly between both sides, improving balance and potentially reducing stress on any signal side; besides, having data signal grounded ensures safety, system stability, and proper operation. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have combined known methods of signal grounding, signal fan-out (by Shim), split placement of compensation unit, and a finite number of experiments for the heating wires of Zhu to construct a safe and stable system for optimal operations for display.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Im (US 20160013438 A1) discloses a display wherein an opening is made on an emission layer to expose a metal and such bringing contact from a cathode to the metal (¶ [0099]); Zhang (US 20200127225 A1) discloses a display wherein metal protrusions burning out electron transport and injection layers (¶ 0116]).
Conclusion
/DTH/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898