DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filippi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,082,781) in view of Teng et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,515,908).
Regarding to claim 1, Filippi teaches a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (Fig. 5E, element 112, column 3, lines 55-56);
a wiring structure over the semiconductor substrate (Fig. 5E, element 114A/B/C), the wiring structure including a plurality of conductive layers (Fig. 5E, element 140, column 4, lines 50-51) and an insulating material (Fig. 5E, element 142, column 4, lines 50-51);
a through via within the semiconductor substrate and the wiring structure (Fig. 5E, element 122, column 5, lines 8-9); and
a guard ring within the wiring structure and laterally surrounding the through via, wherein the guard ring includes a plurality of guard ring elements (Fig. 5E, elements 144, column 5, lines 12-14), each of the plurality of guard ring elements has varied widths (Fig. 5E, each ring has the top portion larger than the bottom portion).
Filippi does not explicitly disclose thicknesses of the plurality of guard ring elements decrease from a top side of the wiring structure towards the semiconductor substrate.
Teng discloses thicknesses of the plurality of ring elements decrease from a top side of the wiring structure towards the semiconductor substrate (Fig. 7, column 8, lines 41-44). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Filippi in view of Teng to decrease thicknesses of the plurality of guard ring elements from a top side of the wiring structure towards the semiconductor substrate in order to balance impedances through the stack.
Regarding to claim 2, Filippi teaches one or more of the plurality of guard ring elements are in electrical communication with electrically conductive features of the wiring structure (Fig. 5E, the guard ring elements are formed close to the electrically conductive features of the wiring structure, thus inductive reaction occurs).
Regarding to claim 3, Filippi teaches one or more of the plurality of guard ring elements comprise an electrically conductive material (the guard rings are made from same material with the wires, which are metal).
Regarding to claim 4, Filippi teaches each of the plurality of guard ring elements is adjacent to another one of the plurality of guard ring elements (Fig. 5E).
Regarding to claim 15, Filippi teaches a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (Fig. 5E, element 112, column 3, lines 55-56);
a wiring structure over the semiconductor substrate (Fig. 5E, element 114A/B/C), the wiring structure including a plurality of conductive layers (Fig. 5E, element 140, column 4, lines 50-51) and an insulating material (Fig. 5E, element 142, column 4, lines 50-51);
a through via within the semiconductor substrate and the wiring structure (Fig. 5E, element 122, column 5, lines 8-9); and
a guard ring within the wiring structure and laterally surrounding the through via, wherein the guard ring includes a plurality of guard ring elements (Fig. 5E, elements 144, column 5, lines 12-14), each of the plurality of guard ring elements includes:
an upper section having a first thickness (Fig. 5E, upper portion of ring 144 in each layer 114), and
a lower section of having a second thickness (Fig. 5E, lower portion of ring 144 in each layer 114).
Filippi does not explicitly disclose a ratio of the first thickness to the second thickness decreases from a top side of the wiring structure towards the semiconductor substrate.
Teng discloses a ratio of the first thickness to the second thickness decreases from a top side of the wiring structure towards the semiconductor substrate (Fig. 7, column 8, lines 41-44). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Filippi in view of Teng to decrease a ratio of the first thickness to the second thickness decreases from a top side of the wiring structure towards the semiconductor substrate in order to balance impedances through the stack.
Regarding to claim 16, Filippi teaches inner surfaces of three or more of the plurality of guard ring elements are coplanar with each other (Fig.5E).
Regarding to claim 17, Filippi teaches one or more of the plurality of guard ring elements are in electrical communication with electrically conductive features of the wiring structure (Fig. 5E, the guard ring elements are formed close to the electrically conductive features of the wiring structure, thus inductive reaction occurs).
Regarding to claim 18, Filippi teaches one or more of the plurality of guard ring elements comprise an electrically conductive material (the guard rings are made from same material with the wires, which are metal).
Regarding to claim 19, Filippi teaches each of the plurality of guard ring elements is adjacent to another one of the plurality of guard ring elements (Fig. 5E).
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filippi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,082,781) in view of Kawano et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,633,167).
Regarding to claim 7, Filippi teaches a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (Fig. 5E, element 112, column 3, lines 55-56);
a wiring structure over the semiconductor substrate (Fig. 5E, element 114A/B/C), the wiring structure including a plurality of conductive layers (Fig. 5E, element 140, column 4, lines 50-51) and an insulating material (Fig. 5E, element 142, column 4, lines 50-51);
a through via within the semiconductor substrate and the wiring structure (Fig. 5E, element 122, column 5, lines 8-9); and
a guard ring within the wiring structure and laterally surrounding the through via, wherein the guard ring includes an inner surface facing the through via (Fig. 5E, elements 144, column 5, lines 12-14),
each of the plurality of guard ring elements has varied widths (Fig. 5E, each ring has the top portion larger than the bottom portion).
Filippi does not explicitly disclose a distance between the inner surface and the through via increases from a top side of the wiring structure towards the semiconductor substrate.
Kawano discloses a ring includes an inner surface facing the through via, and a distance between the inner surface and the through via increases from a top side of the wiring structure towards the semiconductor substrate (Fig. 28, Cu/W ring includes an inner surface facing the through via, and a distance between the inner surface and the through via increases from a top side of the wiring structure towards the semiconductor substrate). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Filippi in view of Kawano to increase distance between the inner surface and the through via from a top side of the wiring structure towards the semiconductor substrate in order to increase etching process tolerance.
Regarding to claim 8, Kawano discloses the distance between the inner surface and the through via increases linearly from the top side of the wiring structure towards the semiconductor structure (Fig. 28).
Regarding to claim 9, Kawano discloses the inner surface of the guard ring is cylindrical in shape (Fig. 20).
Regarding to claim 10, Filippi teaches one or more of the plurality of guard ring elements are in electrical communication with electrically conductive features of the wiring structure (Fig. 5E, the guard ring elements are formed close to the electrically conductive features of the wiring structure, thus inductive reaction occurs).
Regarding to claim 11, Filippi teaches one or more of the plurality of guard ring elements comprise an electrically conductive material (the guard rings are made from same material with the wires, which are metal).
Regarding to claim 12, Filippi teaches each of the plurality of guard ring elements is adjacent to another one of the plurality of guard ring elements (Fig. 5E).
Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farooq et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,536,829).
Regarding to claim 1, Farooq teaches a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (Fig. 14, element 102, column 5, line 12);
a wiring structure over the semiconductor substrate (Fig. 14, element 302/312/314, column 10, lines 38-40), the wiring structure including a plurality of conductive layers (Fig. 14, element 304/310, column 10, lines 23-25) and an insulating material (Fig. 14, element 306, column 10, lines 22-24);
a through via within the semiconductor substrate and the wiring structure (Fig. 14, element 120, column 10, lines 53-54); and
a guard ring within the wiring structure and laterally surrounding the through via, wherein the guard ring includes a plurality of guard ring elements (Fig. 14, element 308, column 10, lines 41-42), each of the plurality of guard ring elements has varied widths (Fig. 14, each ring has the top portion larger than the bottom portion).
Farooq does not explicitly disclose thicknesses of the plurality of guard ring elements decrease from a top side of the wiring structure towards the semiconductor substrate. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to configure thicknesses of the plurality of guard ring elements decreasing from a top side of the wiring structure towards the semiconductor substrate, since applicant has not disclosed that the difference in thickness solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well without the difference.
Regarding to claim 2, Farooq teaches one or more of the plurality of guard ring elements are in electrical communication with electrically conductive features of the wiring structure (Fig. 14, element 118).
Regarding to claim 3, Farooq teaches one or more of the plurality of guard ring elements comprise an electrically conductive material (column 5, lines 31-33, the guard rings are made from same material with the wires, which are metal).
Regarding to claim 4, Farooq teaches each of the plurality of guard ring elements is adjacent to another one of the plurality of guard ring elements (Fig. 14).
Regarding to claim 5, Farooq teaches one or more of the plurality of guard ring elements comprise Copper (column 5, lines 42-43).
Regarding to claim 6, Farooq teaches one or more of the plurality of guard ring elements comprise Aluminum (column 5, lines 42-43).
Regarding to claim 7, Farooq teaches a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (Fig. 14, element 102, column 5, line 12);
a wiring structure over the semiconductor substrate (Fig. 14, element 302/312/314, column 10, lines 38-40), the wiring structure including a plurality of conductive layers (Fig. 14, element 304/310, column 10, lines 23-25) and an insulating material (Fig. 14, element 306, column 10, lines 22-24);
a through via within the semiconductor substrate and the wiring structure (Fig. 14, element 120, column 10, lines 53-54); and
a guard ring within the wiring structure and laterally surrounding the through via, wherein the guard ring includes an inner surface facing the through via (Fig. 14, element 308, column 10, lines 41-42).
Farooq does not explicitly disclose a distance between the inner surface and the through via increases from a top side of the wiring structure towards the semiconductor substrate. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to configure a distance between the inner surface and the through via increasing from a top side of the wiring structure towards the semiconductor substrate, since applicant has not disclosed that the difference in distance solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well without the difference.
Regarding to claim 9, Farooq teaches the inner surface of the guard ring is cylindrical in shape (Fig. 4).
Regarding to claim 10, Farooq teaches one or more of the plurality of guard ring elements are in electrical communication with electrically conductive features of the wiring structure (Fig. 14, element 118).
Regarding to claim 11, Farooq teaches one or more of the plurality of guard ring elements comprise an electrically conductive material (column 5, lines 31-33, the guard rings are made from same material with the wires, which are metal).
Regarding to claim 12, Farooq teaches each of the plurality of guard ring elements is adjacent to another one of the plurality of guard ring elements (Fig. 14).
Regarding to claim 13, Farooq teaches one or more of the plurality of guard ring elements comprise Copper (column 5, lines 42-43).
Regarding to claim 14, Farooq teaches one or more of the plurality of guard ring elements comprise Aluminum (column 5, lines 42-43).
Regarding to claim 15, Farooq teaches a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (Fig. 14, element 102, column 5, line 12);
a wiring structure over the semiconductor substrate (Fig. 14, element 302/312/314, column 10, lines 38-40), the wiring structure including a plurality of conductive layers (Fig. 14, element 304/310, column 10, lines 23-25) and an insulating material (Fig. 14, element 306, column 10, lines 22-24);
a through via within the semiconductor substrate and the wiring structure (Fig. 14, element 120, column 10, lines 53-54); and
a guard ring within the wiring structure and laterally surrounding the through via (Fig. 14, element 308, column 10, lines 41-42), wherein the guard ring includes a plurality of guard ring elements, each of the plurality of guard ring elements includes:
an upper section having a first thickness (Fig. 14, upper portion of ring 308 in each layer 302/312/314), and
a lower section of having a second thickness (Fig. 14, lower portion of ring 308 in each layer 302/312/314).
Farooq does not explicitly disclose a ratio of the first thickness to the second thickness decreases from a top side of the wiring structure towards the semiconductor substrate. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to configure a ratio of the first thickness to the second thickness decreasing from a top side of the wiring structure towards the semiconductor substrate, since applicant has not disclosed that the difference in thickness solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well without the difference.
Regarding to claim 16, Farooq teaches inner surfaces of three or more of the plurality of guard ring elements are coplanar with each other (Fig. 14).
Regarding to claim 17, Farooq teaches one or more of the plurality of guard ring elements are in electrical communication with electrically conductive features of the wiring structure (Fig. 14, element 118).
Regarding to claim 18, Farooq teaches one or more of the plurality of guard ring elements comprise an electrically conductive material (column 5, lines 31-33, the guard rings are made from same material with the wires, which are metal).
Regarding to claim 19, Farooq teaches each of the plurality of guard ring elements is adjacent to another one of the plurality of guard ring elements (Fig. 14).
Regarding to claim 20, Farooq teaches one or more of the plurality of guard ring elements comprise Copper or Aluminum (column 5, lines 42-43).
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US-20150348874-A1, US-11127654-B2, US-10734430-B2, US-11508619-B2, US-8890293-B2, and US-8232648-B2, are cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. The references fail to disclose “the guard ring includes a plurality of guard ring elements, each of the plurality of guard ring elements has varied widths, and thicknesses of the plurality of guard ring elements decrease from a top side of the wiring structure towards the semiconductor substrate.”
Conclusion
/VU A VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897