DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species 2, Sub-species C, claims 1-17, in the reply filed on August 31, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 18-20 are withdrawn. Action on the merits is as follows:
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,051,655 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,051,655 B2 in view of Yang et al. (Yang) (US 2018/0269181 A1).
In regards to claims 1-17, 12,051,655 B2 does not specifically disclose a protection layer, covering sidewalls and a top surface of the passive device.
Yang (Fig. 13f, 14 and associated text and equivalent items) discloses a protection layer (item 280), covering sidewalls and a top surface of the passive device (item 184a, 184b, paragraph 40).
Therefore it would have been obvious o one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Yang for the purpose of protection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheah et al. (Cheah) (US 2019/0311978 A1) in view of Yang et al. (Yang) (US 2018/0269181 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Cheah (Figs. 1A-1D, 2A, 2B, 3, 4 and associated text and equivalent items) discloses a package structure (Figs 1, 3, 4), comprising: a die (item 336); an encapsulant (item 311), laterally encapsulating the die (item 336); a redistribution layer (RDL) structure (items 310 or 310 plus 338), disposed on the die (item 336) and the encapsulant (item 311); a passive device (item 356, paragraph 44), disposed on and electrically bonded to the RDL structure (items 310 or 310 plus 338); and a plurality of dummy items (items 326 plus 327), disposed on the RDL structure (items 310 or 310 plus 338) and laterally aside the passive device (item 356), wherein top surfaces of the dummy items (items 326 plus 327) are higher than a top surface of the passive device (item 356). See Fig. 3 and inverted Fig.3 below.
Cheah does not specifically disclose a protection layer, covering sidewalls and a top surface of the passive device.
Yang (Fig. 13f, 14 and associated text and equivalent items) discloses a die (items 124, 124a or 124b); an encapsulant (item 282), laterally encapsulating the die (item 124a, 124b); a redistribution layer (RDL) structure (items 172 plus 176 plus 174, paragraph 37), disposed on the die (item 124a, 124b) and the encapsulant (item 282); a passive device (item 184a, 184b, paragraph 40), a protection layer (item 280), covering sidewalls and a top surface of the passive device (item 184a, 184b, paragraph 40).
Therefore it would have been obvious o one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Yang for the purpose of protection.
In regards to claim 3, Cheah (Figs. 1A-1D, 2A, 2B, 3, 4 and associated text and equivalent items) discloses wherein the RDL structure (items 310 or 310 plus 338) comprises a redistribution layer (items 316 plus 318 plus 338 plus horizontal portions not labeled) penetrating through the encapsulant (item 311) and in physical contact with a conductive pad (shown but not labeled) of the die (item 336).
In regards to claim 4, Cheah (Figs. 1A-1D, 2A, 2B, 3, 4 and associated text and equivalent items) discloses wherein the dummy items (items 326 plus 327, Figs. 2, 3, 4) are electrically insulated from the die (item 336).
In regards to claim 5, Cheah (Figs. 1A-1D, 2A, 2B, 3, 4 and associated text and equivalent items) discloses wherein the dummy items (items 326 plus 327) have a dome-like shape.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheah et al. (Cheah) (US 2019/0311978 A1) in view of Yang et al. (Yang) (US 2018/0269181 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 3-5 above and further in view of Chiang (US 2020/0105638 A1) now US 10,832,985 B2).
In regards to claim 6, Cheah as modified by Yang does not specifically disclose wherein the die comprises: a substrate; a passivation layer disposed over the substrate; and a plurality of sensing regions extending from a top surface of the passivation layer to a device layer on the substrate.
Chiang (Figs. 3, 20 and associated text) discloses wherein the die (item 126) comprises:
a substrate (item 130); a passivation layer (item 136) disposed over the substrate (item 130); and
a plurality of sensing regions (items 126A-126C) extending from the top surface of the passivation layer (item 136) to a device layer (not labeled) on the substrate (item 130).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Chiang for the purpose of having a sensor package.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheah et al. (Cheah) (US 2019/0311978 A1) in view of Yang et al. (Yang) (US 2018/0269181 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 3-5 above and further in view of Kang et al. (Kang) (US 2020/0144235 A1).
In regards to claim 7, Cheah as modified by Yang does not specifically disclose further comprising a filling layer, disposed to fill a space between the passive device and the RDL structure, and laterally surround a connector of the passive device.
Kang (Fig. Fig. 21 and associated text) discloses a filling layer (item 133) disposed to
fill a space between the passive device (items 125, 126) and the RDL structure (item 140 plus
11 plus 113), the filling layer (item 133) laterally surrounds a connector (item 185) of the
passive device (items 125, 126) and a conductive pillar (item 113) of the RDL structure (item
140 plus 11 plus 113).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Kang for the purpose of protection and a mechanical bond.
In regards to claim 8, Cheah (Figs. 1A-1D, 2A, 2B, 3, 4 and associated text and equivalent items) as modified by Yang (Fig. 13f, 14 and associated text and equivalent items) discloses and Kang (Fig. Fig. 21 and associated text) does not specifically disclose wherein a material of the protection layer (item 280, Yang) is the same as a material of the filling layer (item 133, Kang).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a protection layer and a filling layer made of the same material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 9, , Cheah (Figs. 1A-1D, 2A, 2B, 3, 4 and associated text and equivalent items) as modified by Yang (Fig. 13f, 14 and associated text and equivalent items) discloses and Kang (Fig. Fig. 21 and associated text) discloses wherein a material of the protection layer (item 280, Yang) is different form a material of the filling layer (item 133, Kang).
Claim(s) 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheah et al. (Cheah) (US 2019/0311978 A1) as evidence by or view of Lin et al. (Lin) (US 10,157,888 B1).
In regards to claim 10, Cheah (Figs. 1A-1D, 2A, 2B, 3, 4 and associated text and equivalent items) discloses a package structure a package structure (Figs 1, 3, 4), comprising: a die (item 336); an encapsulant (item 311), laterally encapsulating the die (item 336); a redistribution layer (RDL) structure (items 310 or 310 plus 338), disposed on the die (item 336) and the encapsulant (item 311); a passive device (item 356, paragraph 44), disposed on and electrically bonded to the RDL structure (items 310 or 310 plus 338); and a plurality of dummy items (items 326 plus 327), disposed on the RDL structure (items 310 or 310 plus 338) and laterally aside the passive device (item 356), but does not specifically disclose wherein a width of each insulating dummy item (items 326 plus 327) gradually decreases from bottom to top.
As evidenced by Lin (Fig. 13), dummy items (item DP1) can have various shapes and sizes (col. 7, lines 32-52).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a dummy item that has a width that gradually decreases from bottom to top, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955)).
In regards to claim 17, Cheah (Figs. 1A-1D, 2A, 2B, 3, 4 and associated text and equivalent items) discloses wherein the RDL structure (items 310 or 310 plus 338) comprises a redistribution layer (items 316 plus 318 plus 338 plus horizontal portions not labeled) penetrating through the encapsulant (item 311) and in physical contact with a conductive pad (shown but not labeled) of the die (item 336).
Claim(s) 11-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheah et al. (Cheah) (US 2019/0311978 A1) as evidence by or view of Lin et al. (Lin) (US 10,157,888 B1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (Yang) (US 2018/0269181 A1)
In regards to claim 11, Cheah as evidenced/modified by Lin does not specifically disclose further comprising a protection layer covering sidewalls and a top surface of the passive device.
Yang (Fig. 13f, 14 and associated text and equivalent items) discloses a protection layer (item 280), covering sidewalls and a top surface of the passive device (item 184a, 184b, paragraph 40).
Therefore it would have been obvious o one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Yang for the purpose of protection.
In regards to claim 12, Cheah as evidenced/modified by Lin and Yang (Fig. 13f, 14 and associated text and equivalent items) discloses wherein a material of the protection layer (item 280) is the same as a material of the encapsulant (item 282).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a protection layer and an encapsulant made of the same material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 13, Cheah as evidenced/modified by Lin and Yang (Fig. 13f, 14 and associated text and equivalent items) does not specifically disclose wherein a material of the protection layer (item 280) is different form a material of the encapsulant (item 282).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a protection layer and an encapsulant made of a different material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 15, Cheah (Figs. 1A-1D, 2A, 2B, 3, 4 and associated text and equivalent items) discloses wherein top surfaces of the dummy items (items 326 plus 327) are higher than a top surface of the passive device (item 356).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheah et al. (Cheah) (US 2019/0311978 A1) as evidence by or view of Lin et al. (Lin) (US 10,157,888 B1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Kang et al. (Kang) (US 2020/0144235 A1).
In regards to claim 14, Cheah as evidenced/modified by Lin does not specifically disclose further comprising a filling layer, disposed to fill a space between the passive device and the RDL structure, and laterally surround a connector of the passive device.
Kang (Fig. Fig. 21 and associated text) discloses a filling layer (item 133) disposed to
fill a space between the passive device (items 125, 126) and the RDL structure (item 140 plus
11 plus 113), the filling layer (item 133) laterally surrounds a connector (item 185) of the
passive device (items 125, 126) and a conductive pillar (item 113) of the RDL structure (item
140 plus 11 plus 113).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Kang for the purpose of protection and a mechanical bond.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheah et al. (Cheah) (US 2019/0311978 A1) as evidence by or view of Lin et al. (Lin) (US 10,157,888 B1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Chu et al. (Chu) (US 2021/0343638 A1).
In regards to claim 16, Cheah as evidenced/modified by Lin discloses wherein the encapsulant has a portion covering a front surface of the die, but does not specifically disclose the RDL structure comprises a polymer layer over the encapsulant and the die, and the polymer layer is in physical contact with a sidewall of the portion of the encapsulant.
Chu (Fig. 28 and associated text) discloses the RDL structure (items 246 plus 256 plus
262 plus 258) comprises a polymer layer (items 246 plus 262, paragraphs 35, 42) over the
encapsulant (item 242) and the die (item 102), and the polymer layer (items 246 plus 262) is in
contact with a sidewall of the portion of the encapsulant (item 242).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Chu for the purpose of protection and an electrical connection.
Conclusion
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 September 16, 2026