DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 08/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US Pub. 2017/0263518) in view of Denham (US Pub. 2006/0224912) and Shih et al. (US Pub. 2022/0148995)
Regarding claim 1, Yu teaches a semiconductor device structure, comprising:
an interposer (see Fig. 19 below), comprising:
a first semiconductor die 100B (Fig. 19); and
a second semiconductor die 100C (Fig. 19); and
a first electronic component 66B disposed on the interposer and in communication with the first semiconductor die 100B and the second semiconductor die 100C (Fig. 19); and
wherein the first semiconductor die comprises at least one first through via 136A-B extending from a first surface of the first semiconductor die (see Fig. 19 below).
Yu is silent on (a) wherein the first semiconductor die 100A comprises a first cache memory and a first memory control circuit and the second semiconductor die 100B comprising a second cache memory and a second memory control circuit; and (b) wherein the first through via has non-uniform critical dimensions.
Denham teaches (a) a first semiconductor die 102 comprising a first cache memory and a first memory control circuit and a second semiconductor die 104 comprising a second cache memory and a second memory control circuit (Fig. 1 and Para [0021]). This presents the advantages of storing data and controlling the data transfer/flow between the various components of the semiconductor device and/with external devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Yu with the cache memory and memory control circuits, as taught by Denham, so as to store and control transfer of data.
Shih teaches (b) in Fig. 1-4 an interposer comprising a first through via 169, wherein the first through via has non-uniform critical dimensions. This has the advantages of providing an optimal interconnection with the versatility to contact a larger and smaller pads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Yu & Denham with the through via with non-uniform critical dimension, as taught by Shih, so as to obtain a semiconductor device with improved interconnect structure to accommodate different critical dimension and pad sizes and spacing.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Yu, Denham and Shih teaches the semiconductor device structure of claim 1, further comprising: a redistribution structure disposed between the interposer and the first electronic component 66B (see Fig. 19 above).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yu, Denham and Shih teaches the semiconductor device structure of claim 2, further comprising: a second electronic component (66A or 66C) disposed on the interposer, wherein the second electronic component is in communication with the first electronic component 66B via the redistribution structure (see Fig. 19 above).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yu, Denham and Shih teaches the semiconductor device structure of claim 3, wherein the second electronic component comprises a dynamic random-access memory (DRAM) ((Yu’s Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Yu, Denham and Shih teaches the semiconductor device structure of claim 4, wherein the first cache memory comprises a static random-access memory (SRAM) (Yu’s Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yu, Denham and Shih teaches the semiconductor device structure of claim 5, wherein the second cache memory comprises an SRAM (Yu’s Fig. 19).
With respect claims 4-6, the limitations (DRAM and SRAM) are recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention, and such use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yu, Denham and Shih teaches the semiconductor device structure of claim 1, wherein a distance from the first cache memory to the second cache memory is less than a distance from the first memory control circuit to the second cache memory (it is understood that the two cache memories can be closer to one another due to their storage characteristics).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Yu, Denham and Shih teaches the semiconductor device structure of claim 1, wherein the first cache memory is closer to the second memory control circuit than to the second cache memory (it is understood that positioning the first cache memory closer to the second memory control circuit would have required routine and ordinary skill in the art to obtain a slightly different arrangement of components within the semiconductor device).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Yu, Denham and Shih teaches the semiconductor device structure of claim 1, further comprising: an encapsulant 144 encapsulating the first semiconductor die and the second semiconductor die (Yu’s Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Yu, Denham and Shih teaches the semiconductor device structure of claim 1, wherein the first semiconductor die 100B has the first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface and facing the first electronic component, wherein the first cache memory is disposed adjacent to the second surface of the first semiconductor die (Yu’s Fig. 19 and Denham’s Fig. 1 and Para 0021]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Yu, Denham and Shih teaches the semiconductor device structure of claim 1, wherein the first electronic component vertically overlaps the first cache memory and the second cache memory (Yu’s Fig. 19 and Denham’s Fig. 1 and Para 0021]).
Conclusion
/TIMOR KARIMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818