DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US PGpub: 2025/0068019 A1), herein after Kang, in view of Kang.
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches a display device comprising:
a first conductive layer (consisting of GE and CE3 having ML1 and also ML2, ML3) disposed on a substrate (101) and comprising at least two metal layers (GE and CE3, A material of the first metal layer may include metals (such as molybdenum, aluminum, copper, nickel, chromium), alloys, nitrides of metal materials, oxides of the metal materials, oxynitrides of the metal materials, other suitable materials, or a stacked layer of the metal materials and other conductive materials as in Paragraph [0040]);
a first insulating film (insulation layer 110) on the first conductive layer;
a transistor (T) on the first insulating film (110);
a pixel electrode (PE) on the transistor;
an emissive layer (liquid crystal layer LCL) on the pixel electrode (PE);
a common electrode (CEL) on the emissive layer (LCL).
Kang does not explicitly teach a first blocking film disposed on a side surface of one of the at least two metal layers of the first conductive layer.
However, difference could be easily derived by a person skilled in the art from the feature in Kang wherein gate GE is electrically connected to one of the corresponding scan lines GL (FIG. 1, 4A, 5C). More specifically, an extended portion of the scan line GL corresponding to the pixel structure PX may be used as the gate GE of the active device T, and an extended portion of the data line DL corresponding to the pixel structure PX may be used as the source SE of the active device T. So, from FIG.4A, GL which is considered blocking film which is disposed on the side surface of GE. See FIG. 5C as well.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Kang’s display device with teachings by Kang so that the capacitive coupling effect between the second common electrode CE2 and the signal line (such as the data line DL or the scan line GL) may be effectively reduced. Therefore, a range of configuration of the second common electrode CE2 may be further expanded. For example, as shown in FIGS. 1, 4A, 4C, and 4F, the second common electrode CE2 may overlap and cover the scan line GL and the data line DL electrically connected to the pixel structure PX in the direction Z.
Regarding claim 2, Kang teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the at least two metal layers comprise: a first metal layer on the substrate (ML1 consisting of GE and CE3, FIG. 2); a second metal layer (ML2 consisting of DE, SE, CPE and DL) on the first metal layer; and a third metal layer (ML3) on the second metal layer.
Regarding claim 3, Kang teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the first blocking film (GL which is considered blocking film) is disposed on a side surface of the second metal layer (ML2 consisting of DE, SE, CPE and DL) in FIG. 5C and FIG.1.
Regarding claim 4, Kang teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the first blocking film (GL which is considered blocking film) surrounds the side surface of the second metal layer (ML2 consisting of DE, SE, CPE and DL) in a plan view of FIG. 5C and FIG.1.
Regarding claim 5, Kang teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the first blocking film (GL which is considered blocking film) is disposed on the side surface of the second metal layer (ML2 consisting of DE, SE, CPE and DL) between edges of the first metal layer and edges of the third metal layer (ML3 consisting of DME and CE1) in FIG. 5C and FIG.1.
Regarding claim 6, Kang teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the second metal layer (ML2 consisting of DE, SE, CPE and DL) is surrounded by the first metal layer (ML1 consisting of GE and CE3, FIG. 2), the third metal layer (ML3 consisting of DME and CE1), and the first blocking film (GL) in FIG. 5C and FIG.1.
Regarding claim 7, Kang teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein each of the first metal layer and the third metal layer includes titanium, and the second metal layer includes aluminum (such as molybdenum, aluminum, copper, nickel, chromium), alloys, nitrides of metal materials, oxides of the metal materials, oxynitrides of the metal materials, other suitable materials, or a stacked layer of the metal materials and other conductive materials as in Paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 8, Kang teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the at least two metal layers comprise: a first metal layer (ML1 consisting of GE and CE3, FIG. 2) on the substrate (101); and a second metal layer (ML2 consisting of DE, SE, CPE and DL) on the first metal layer in the Z direction in FIG. 1. And CPE is on GE in Y direction in FIG. 5C
Regarding claim 9, Kang teaches the display device of claim 8, wherein the first blocking film (GL) is disposed on a side surface of the second metal layer (ML2 consisting of DE, SE, CPE and DL) in FIG. 5C and FIG.1.
Regarding claim 10, Kang teaches the display device of claim 9, wherein the first blocking film (GL) is further disposed on an upper surface of the second metal layer (ML2 consisting of DE, SE, CPE and DL) in X direction.
Regarding claim 11, Kang teaches the display device of claim 10, wherein the first blocking film surrounds the side surface of the second metal layer in a plan view (GL which is considered blocking film surrounds the side surface of the second metal layer (ML2 consisting of DE, SE, CPE and DL) in a plan view of FIG. 5C and FIG.1.).
Regarding claim 12, Kang teaches the display device of claim 10, wherein the first blocking film (GL) is disposed on the side surface of the second metal layer (ML2 consisting of DE, SE, CPE and DL) at edges of the first metal layer in FIG. 5C and FIG.1.
Regarding claim 13, Kang teaches the display device of claim 10, wherein the second metal layer (ML2 consisting of DE, SE, CPE and DL) is surrounded by the first metal layer (ML1 consisting of GE and CE3, FIG. 2) and the first blocking film (GL) in FIG. 5C and FIG.1.
Regarding claim 14, Kang teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the at least two metal layers comprise: a first metal layer a first metal layer (ML1 consisting of GE and CE3, FIG. 2) on the substrate (101); and a second metal layer (ML2 consisting of DE, SE, CPE and DL) on the first metal layer in the Z direction in FIG. 1. And CPE is on GE in Y direction in FIG. 5C.
Regarding claim 15, Kang teaches the display device of claim 14, wherein the first blocking film (GL) is disposed on a side surface of the first metal layer (ML1 consisting of GE and CE3, FIG. 2) in FIG. 5C and FIG.1.
Regarding claim 16, Kang teaches the display device of claim 15, wherein the first blocking film (GL) surrounds the side surface of the first metal layer (ML1 consisting of GE and CE3, FIG. 2) in a plan view of FIG. 5C and FIG.1.
Regarding claim 17, Kang teaches the display device of claim 15, wherein the first blocking film (GL) is disposed on the side surface of the first metal layer ML1 consisting of GE and CE3, FIG. 2) at edges of the second metal layer (ML2 consisting of DE, SE, CPE and DL) in FIG. 5C and FIG.1.
Regarding claim 18, Kang teaches the display device of claim 15, further comprising: a second insulating film (121) disposed between the substrate (101) and the first conductive layer (CE3 is a part of first conductive layer), wherein the first metal layer (ML1 consisting of GE and CE3, FIG. 2) is surrounded by the second insulating film(121), the second metal layer (ML2 consisting of DE, SE, CPE and DL), and the first blocking film (GL). In FIG. 1 and 5C
Regarding claim 19, Kang teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a second conductive layer (CE2) on the first insulating film (110) in FIG. 2.
Regarding claim 20, Kang teaches the display device of claim 19, wherein the second conductive layer (CE2) overlaps the first conductive layer (CPE) in a plan view in FIG. 1.
Regarding claim 21, Kang teaches the display device of claim 19, wherein the second conductive layer (CE2) comprises at least two metal layers (common electrode layer CEL may include a transparent conductive material, and the transparent conductive material may, for example, include metal oxides (e.g., indium tin oxide, indium zinc oxide, aluminum tin oxide, aluminum zinc oxide, or other suitable oxides, or a stacked layer of at least two of the above as in Paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 22, Kang teaches the display device of claim 21, further comprising: a second blocking film (passivation material layer 124) disposed on a side surface of one of the at least two metal layers of the second conductive layer (CE2), in FIG. 2.
Conclusion
/SHEIKH MARUF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897