DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0062749 A1 to Seo et al., “Seo”.
Regarding claim 15, Seo discloses a display device (e.g. FIG. 3A,3B,4 as applied to FIG. 2A,2B) comprising:
a display panel comprising a plurality of quantum-dot light emitting devices (1028 at locations of electrodes 1024W, 1024R, 1024G, 1024B ¶ [0013],[0051]-[0052],[0086]-[0089],[0103],[0145]);
a protective film (sealing substrate 1031, ¶ [0145] or FIG. 2B film 604, ¶ [0136],[0137]) on the display panel; and
a sealant (1032, ¶ [0145] or FIG. 2B sealant 605, ¶ [0136]) between the display panel and the protective film and adjacent to edges of the display panel (e.g. surrounding in FIG. 2A) and the protective film, wherein the display panel and the protective film are spaced from each other via an air layer (607 from FIG. 2A,2B, ¶ [0136]).
Regarding claim 19, Seo discloses the display device of claim 15, and Seo further discloses wherein the protective film (1031, or FIG. 2B film 604) comprises a transparent glass (¶ [0137], inherently transparent to function as a display).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0315217 A1 to YANG et al., “Yang”, in view of US 2020/0135967 A1 to Cho et al., “Cho”.
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a method (e.g. Fig. 1) of manufacturing a display device (e.g. Fig. 2), the method comprising:
manufacturing (Fig. 1(a)) a display panel comprising a quantum-dot light emitting device (“QD-LED Stack”, ¶ [0003],[0025]);
exposing (Fig. 2) the display panel to resin fumes (“Acrylic Acid” is incorporated (diffused) into the QD-LED stack ¶ [0006],[0007], gas phase annealing ¶ [0027]); and
adhering (Fig. 1(c) a protective film (Cover Glass 108, ¶ [0025],[0026]) on the display panel.
Yang fails to clearly anticipate more than one (i.e. a plurality) of quantum-dot light emitting devices.
Cho teaches (e.g. FIG. 1) a plurality (33a, 33b, 33c, ¶ [0060]) of quantum-dot light emitting devices.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have performed the method of Yang as applied to a plurality of quantum-dot light emitting diodes as exemplified by Cho in order to benefit from multi-color emission (Cho ¶ [0059]) or to have formed a multi-color quantum-dot light emitter with positive aging (Yang ¶ [0002]-[0005],[0024],[0028]) with improved lifetime (Yang ¶ [0031]).
Regarding claim 2, Yang in view of Cho yields the method of claim 1, and Yang further teaches wherein the resin fumes comprise acrylic acid (¶ [0007],[0024]-[0028]).
Regarding claim 3, Yang in view of Cho yields the method of claim 2, and Yang further teaches wherein the resin fumes comprise acrylic acid (¶ [0007],[0024]-[0028]).
Regarding claim 4, Yang in view of Cho yields the method of claim 1, and Yang further teaches wherein the protective film (108) comprises a transparent glass (glass cover ¶ [0006], inherently transparent in order to form a functioning display).
Claims 1-9,11-14,16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0062749 A1 to Seo et al., “Seo”, in view of US 2024/0341117 A1 to WANG et al., “Wang”.
Regarding claim 1, Seo discloses a method of manufacturing a display device (as evidenced by final product of FIG. 2A,2B,3A,3B,4), the method comprising: manufacturing a display panel comprising a plurality of quantum-dot light emitting devices (1028 at locations of electrodes 1024W, 1024R, 1024G, 1024B ¶ [0013],[0051]-[0052],[0086]-[0089],[0103],[0145]); and adhering a protective film (1031, ¶ [0145] or FIG. 2B film 604, ¶ [0136],[0137]) on the display panel.
Seo fails to clearly teach exposing the display panel to resin fumes.
Wang teaches exposing a quantum dot light emitting diode display to acrylic vapor (¶ [0110],[0129]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have performed the method of Seo by exposing the display to acrylic vapor as taught by Wang in order to provide positive aging (Wang ¶ [0004]-[0005],[0038],[0039]) and improve the current efficiency over time (Wang Embodiment 2 ¶ [0120] or Embodiment 5 ¶ [0138]).
Regarding claim 2, Seo in view of Wang yields the method of claim 1, and Wang further teaches wherein the resin fumes comprise acrylic acid (¶ [0110],[0129]).
Regarding claim 3, Seo in view of Wang yields the method of claim 2, and Wang further teaches wherein the resin fumes comprise acrylic acid (¶ [0110],[0129]).
Regarding claim 4, Seo in view of Wang yields the method of claim 1, and Seo further teaches wherein the protective film (1031, or FIG. 2B film 604) comprises a transparent glass (¶ [0137], inherently transparent to function as a display).
Regarding claim 5, Seo in view of Wang yields the method of claim 1, and Seo further teaches wherein the adhering of the protective film (e.g. FIG. 2A,2B film 604) comprises arranging a sealant (605, ¶ [0136]) adjacent to at least one of an edge of the display panel or an edge of the protective film.
Regarding claim 6, Seo discloses a display device (e.g. FIG. 2A,2B,3A,3B,4) comprising:
a display panel comprising a plurality of quantum-dot light emitting devices (1028 at locations of electrodes 1024W, 1024R, 1024G, 1024B ¶ [0013],[0051]-[0052],[0086]-[0089],[0103],[0145]);
a protective film (1031, ¶ [0145] or FIG. 2B film 604, ¶ [0136],[0137]) on the display panel; and
a sealant (605, ¶ [0136]) between the display panel and the protective film and adjacent to edges of the display panel and the protective film.
Seo fails to clearly teach a resin adsorbed on the quantum-dot light emitting devices via resin fumes.
Wang teaches exposing a quantum dot light emitting diode display to acrylic vapor (¶ [0110],[0129]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the device of Seo by exposing the display to acrylic vapor as taught by Wang in order to provide positive aging (Wang ¶ [0004]-[0005],[0038],[0039]) and improve the current efficiency over time (Wang Embodiment 2 ¶ [0120] or Embodiment 5 ¶ [0138]).
Regarding claim 7, Seo in view of Wang yields the display device of claim 6, and Wang further teaches wherein the resin fumes comprise acrylic acid (¶ [0110],[0129]).
Regarding claim 8, Seo in view of Wang yields the display device of claim 7, and Wang further teaches wherein the resin fumes comprise acrylic acid (¶ [0110],[0129]).
Regarding claim 9, Seo in view of Wang yields the display device of claim 6, and Seo further teaches wherein the protective film (1031, or FIG. 2B film 604) comprises a transparent glass (¶ [0137], inherently transparent to function as a display).
Regarding claim 11, Seo discloses a method (as evidenced by final product of FIG. 2A,2B,3A,3B,4) of manufacturing a display device, the method comprising: manufacturing a display panel comprising a plurality of quantum-dot light emitting devices (1028 at locations of electrodes 1024W, 1024R, 1024G, 1024B ¶ [0013],[0051]-[0052],[0086]-[0089],[0103],[0145]), and sealing the display panel with a sealant (605, ¶ [0136]).
Seo fails to clearly teach exposing the display panel to resin fumes.
Wang teaches exposing a quantum dot light emitting diode display to acrylic vapor (¶ [0110],[0129]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the device of Seo by exposing the display to acrylic vapor as taught by Wang in order to provide positive aging (Wang ¶ [0004]-[0005],[0038],[0039]) and improve the current efficiency over time (Wang Embodiment 2 ¶ [0120] or Embodiment 5 ¶ [0138]).
Regarding claim 12, Seo in view of Wang yields the method of claim 11, and Wang further teaches wherein the resin fumes comprise acrylic acid (¶ [0110],[0129]).
Regarding claim 13, Seo in view of Wang yields the method of claim 12, and Wang further teaches wherein the resin fumes comprise acrylic acid (¶ [0110],[0129]).
Regarding claim 14, Seo in view of Wang yields the method of claim 12, wherein the sealing of the display panel comprises adhering a protective film (1031, ¶ [0145] or FIG. 2B film 604, ¶ [0136],[0137]) on the display panel.
Regarding claim 16, although Seo anticipates the display device of claim 15 as discussed above, Seo fails to clearly teach wherein the display panel comprises a resin adsorbed on the quantum-dot light emitting devices via resin fumes.
Wang teaches exposing a quantum dot light emitting diode display to acrylic vapor (¶ [0110],[0129]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have formed the device of Seo by exposing the display to acrylic vapor as taught by Wang in order to provide positive aging (Wang ¶ [0004]-[0005],[0038],[0039]) and improve the current efficiency over time (Wang Embodiment 2 ¶ [0120] or Embodiment 5 ¶ [0138]).
Regarding claim 17, Seo in view of Wang yields the display device of claim 16, and Wang further teaches wherein the resin fumes comprise acrylic acid (¶ [0110],[0129]).
Regarding claim 18, Seo in view of Wang yields the display device of claim 17, and Wang further teaches wherein the resin fumes comprise acrylic acid (¶ [0110],[0129]).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0062749 A1 to Seo et al., “Seo”, in view of US 2024/0341117 A1 to WANG et al., “Wang”, as applied to claims 6 and 16 above, further in view of US 2022/0073818 A1 to ZHANG et al., “Zhang.
Although Seo in view of Wang yields the display device of claim 6 and the display device of claim 16, Seo and Wang fail to clearly teach wherein the quantum-dot light emitting devices each comprise an electron auxiliary layer surface-modified with the resin.
Zhang teaches preparing a quantum-dot light emitting device which includes preparing a quantum-dot light emitting layer (¶ [0062]) and placing in a resin atmosphere (methyl methacrylate ¶ [0063],[0065],[0066],[0011],[0048]) to form an electron auxiliary layer (electron transport layer ¶ [0063]) surface-modified with the resin.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the display or method of making the display of Seo in view of Wang by forming an electron auxiliary (e.g. transport) layer surface-modified with resin as taught by Zhang in order to either facilitate better printing performance for the electron auxiliary/transport layer (Zhang ¶ [0004]-[0006],[0027],[0045]) and/or improve the emission performance (Zhang ¶ [0027],[0068]’s Table 1, ¶ [0069]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2015/0263203 A1 to Lewis et al. teaches a post-deposition process for quantum dots which can change the electron transport properties and significantly modify the lifetime traps which may occur in vapor phase atmosphere (¶ [0043]) and may include acetic acid (¶ [0043]).
/Eric A. Ward/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891