DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-11, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 9 and 20, it is not clear to which structure in the specification is the illumination source that further generates a second amount of illumination light and which step in Fig. 14 discloses the step of generating the second set of output signals during the second measurement instance. The light source 110 in the specification is disclosed as providing a first amount of illumination light and specification does not describe a second amount of light. Is there a second light source for the second amount of illumination light? How different is the second amount of light from the first amount of light so that the determination of the parameter based on the first and second sets of output signals is appreciably different from the determination based on only the first set of output signals?
In order to expedite prosecution, it is assumed that the same illumination source provides the second amount, and since the claim language does not specify, the second amount is the same as the first amount and that the language could be interpreted as the measurement system repeating the first measurement instance.
Regarding claim 13, the claim could be interpreted as wherein the measurement system of claim 1 is a spectroscopic ellipsometer, a spectroscopic reflectometer, or a single wavelength ellipsometer or it could be interpreted as the measurement system of claim 1 comprises a spectroscopic ellipsometer, a spectroscopic reflectometer, or a single wavelength ellipsometer in addition to the illumination source, detector, one or more reflective elements.
In order to expedite prosecution, it is assumed that the measurement system of claim 1 which includes the illumination source, detector, one or more reflective elements is a spectroscopic ellipsometer, a spectroscopic reflectometer, or a single wavelength ellipsometer.
The remaining claims, not specifically mentioned, are rejected for incorporating the defects from the base claim by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15, 16, 18-20 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Finarov (2005/0275845).
Regarding claim 1, Finarov discloses a measurement system (400, Fig. 4A, para 0080-0083) comprising: an illumination source (2, para 0052) configured to generate a first amount of illumination light directed to a first measurement site (S) on a surface of a semiconductor wafer (W, para 0082) during a first measurement instance, wherein a first instance of one or more structures under measurement is located at the first measurement site (para 0001, 0009, 0010, “grating”); at least one detector (12) having a planar, two-dimensional surface sensitive to incident light, the at least one detector configured to detect an amount of light collected from the surface of the semiconductor wafer in response to the first amount of illumination light and generate a first set of output signals indicative of the detected light during the first measurement instance (para 0060, 0061, 0083, “photo-detector 12”); one or more reflective optical elements (404) disposed in an optical path between the illumination source and the at least one detector, wherein the optical path is incident on the surface of the semiconductor wafer more than once (para 0082-0084, “mirror 404 oriented to reflect a light beam 83 returned from a measurement spot S on wafer W towards the same spot”); and a computing system (6) configured to determine an estimated value of a parameter of interest characterizing the one or more structures under measurement based at least in part on the first set of output signals (para 0058).
Regarding claim 4, Finarov discloses an optical modulation element (301, Fig. 4A) disposed in the optical path, wherein the optical modulation element is not a portion of the semiconductor wafer (para 0076, a polarizer is a modulation element).
Regarding claim 6, Finarov discloses wherein the one or more structures under measurement include at least one layer of a first material having a first thickness (silicon, para 0009, inherently the wafer has a thickness), and wherein the optical modulation element includes at least one layer of the first material (para 0076, the optical modulation element made of quartz crystal which is silicon) having the first thickness or a second thickness different from the first thickness (the polarizer 301 inherently has a thickness).
Regarding claim 8, Finarov discloses wherein the optical modulation element is any of a planar, bare crystalline silicon substrate, a layer of silicon dioxide deposited over a bare crystalline silicon substrate, and a patterned structure fabricated on a layer of silicon dioxide deposited over a bare crystalline silicon substrate (para 0076, crystals like quartz which is a silicon).
Regarding claim 9, Finarov discloses the illumination source further configured to generate a second amount of illumination light directed to the first measurement site on the surface of the semiconductor wafer during a second measurement instance, the at least one detector further configured to detect an amount of light collected from the surface of the semiconductor wafer in response to the second amount of illumination light and generate a second set of output signals indicative of the detected light during the second measurement instance, wherein the computing system determines the estimated value of the parameter of interest characterizing the one or more structures under measurement based at least in part on the first and second sets of output signals (para 0095, “collecting optical measurement data not only for different wavelengths and different angles of incidence, but also at different azimuth angles, i.e., angle between the incidence plane and the measurement site orientation. This enables using a single compact system to collect maximum useful information for further interpretation of the required optical and geometrical parameters of the measured article”).
Regarding claim 12, Finarov discloses wherein the illumination source is a broadband illumination light source (para 0052).
Regarding claim 13, Finarov discloses wherein the illumination source, detector, one or more reflective elements comprise a spectroscopic ellipsometer, a spectroscopic reflectometer, or a single wavelength ellipsometer (para 0004, 0009, 0052, 0061, 0076, 0077).
Regarding claim 15, Finarov discloses a method comprising: generating a first amount of illumination light by an illumination source (2, Fig. 4A, para 0052); directing the first amount of illumination light to a first measurement site on a surface of a semiconductor wafer (W) during a first measurement instance, wherein a first instance of one or more structures under measurement is located at the first measurement site (para 0001, 0009, 0010); directing an amount of light from the first measurement site back to the surface of the semiconductor wafer during the first measurement instance (para 0082-0084, “mirror 404 oriented to reflect a light beam 83 returned from a measurement spot S on wafer W towards the same spot”); detecting (12) an amount of light collected from the surface of the semiconductor wafer on a detector in response to the first amount of illumination light during the first measurement instance (para 0060, 0061, 0083); generating a first set of output signals indicative of the detected light during the first measurement instance (para 0060, 0061); and determining an estimated value of a parameter of interest characterizing the one or more structures under measurement based at least in part on the first set of output signals (para 0058).
Regarding claim 16, Finarov discloses wherein the amount of light directed from the first measurement site back to the surface of the semiconductor wafer during the first measurement instance is incident to the surface of the semiconductor wafer at the first measurement site (Fig. 1, para 0082, “spherical mirror 404 oriented to reflect a light beam 83 returned from a measurement spot S on wafer W towards the same spot”).
Regarding claim 18, Finarov discloses optically modulating an amount of light in an optical path from the illumination source to the detector during the first measurement instance, wherein the optical modulation is performed by an optical modulation element that is not a portion of the semiconductor wafer (Fig. 4A, para 0076, a polarizer 301 is a modulation element).
Regarding claim 19, Finarov discloses wherein the one or more structures under measurement include at least one layer of a first material having a first thickness (silicon, para 0009, inherently the wafer has a thickness), and wherein the optical modulation element includes at least one layer of the first material (para 0076, the optical modulation element made of quartz crystal which is silicon) having the first thickness or a second thickness different from the first thickness (polarizer 301 inherently has a thickness).
Regarding claim 20, Finarov discloses generating a second amount of illumination light; directing the second amount of illumination light to the first measurement site on the surface of the semiconductor wafer during a second measurement instance; detecting an amount of light collected from the surface of the semiconductor wafer in response to the second amount of illumination light; generating a second set of output signals indicative of the detected light during the second measurement instance; determining the estimated value of the parameter of interest characterizing the one or more structures under measurement based at least in part on the first and second sets of output signals (para 0095, “collecting optical measurement data not only for different wavelengths and different angles of incidence, but also at different azimuth angles, i.e., angle between the incidence plane and the measurement site orientation. This enables using a single compact system to collect maximum useful information for further interpretation of the required optical and geometrical parameters of the measured article”).
Regarding claim 23, Finarov discloses a measurement system (400, Fig. 4A, para 0080-0083) comprising: an illumination source (2, para 0052) configured to generate a first amount of illumination light directed to a first measurement site (S) on a surface of a semiconductor wafer (W, para 0082) during a first measurement instance, wherein a first instance of one or more structures under measurement is located at the first measurement site (para 0001, 0009, 0010, “grating”); at least one detector (12) having a planar, two-dimensional surface sensitive to incident light, the at least one detector configured to detect an amount of light collected from the surface of the semiconductor wafer in response to the first amount of illumination light and generate a first set of output signals indicative of the detected light during the first measurement instance (para 0060, 0061, 0083, “photo-detector 12”); one or more reflective optical elements (404) disposed in an optical path between the illumination source and the at least one detector, wherein the optical path is incident on the surface of the semiconductor wafer more than once (para 0082-0084, “mirror 404 oriented to reflect a light beam 83 returned from a measurement spot S on wafer W towards the same spot”); and a non-transitory, computer-readable medium (inherent to computing system 6) storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to: determine an estimated value of a parameter of interest characterizing the one or more structures under measurement based at least in part on the first set of output signals (para 0058).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 14, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ying et al. (Ying) (2021/0148695).
Regarding claim 1, Ying discloses a measurement system (Fig. 1) comprising: an illumination source (S, para 0018) configured to generate a first amount of illumination light directed to a first measurement site on a surface of a semiconductor wafer during a first measurement instance, wherein a first instance of one or more structures under measurement is located at the first measurement site (para 0018, “at an interface I between the optical element 120 and the thin film 115”); at least one detector (170, 175) having a planar, two-dimensional surface sensitive to incident light, the at least one detector configured to detect an amount of light collected from the surface of the semiconductor wafer in response to the first amount of illumination light and generate a first set of output signals indicative of the detected light during the first measurement instance (para 0035, spectrometer measure intensity of light at different wavelength or frequencies); one or more reflective optical elements (120, para 0018) disposed in an optical path between the illumination source and the at least one detector, wherein the optical path is incident on the surface of the semiconductor wafer more than once (Fig. 1, para 0018, “optical element 120 is configured to totally internally reflect a radiation R from a radiation source S at an interface I between the optical element 120 and the thin film 115 such that evanescent radiation generated at the interface I penetrates the thin film 115”); and a computing system configured to determine an estimated value of a parameter of interest characterizing the one or more structures under measurement based at least in part on the first set of output signals (para 0030, 0035, 0036, “detecting and analyzing the evanescent radiation scattered by the thin film 115 can provide information about geometry of the thin film 115 as well as physical and chemical properties of the thin film 115”).
Regarding claim 3, Ying discloses the one or more reflective optical elements including a planar reflector (120) having a planar reflective surface disposed over the wafer and facing the wafer surface, wherein the planar reflector is positioned in the optical path to direct light from the first measurement site to a second measurement site on the surface of the semiconductor wafer, wherein a second instance of the one or more structures under measurement is located at the second measurement site (Fig. 1, para 0018, 0026).
Regarding claim 14, Ying discloses wherein the one or more structures under measurement includes a critical dimension structure or a thin film structure (para 0030, 0035, 0036, “detecting and analyzing the evanescent radiation scattered by the thin film 115 can provide information about geometry of the thin film 115 as well as physical and chemical properties of the thin film 115”).
Regarding claim 15, Ying discloses a method comprising: generating a first amount of illumination light by an illumination source (S, para 0018); directing the first amount of illumination light to a first measurement site on a surface of a semiconductor wafer during a first measurement instance, wherein a first instance of one or more structures under measurement is located at the first measurement site (para 0018, “at an interface I between the optical element 120 and the thin film 115”); directing an amount of light from the first measurement site back to the surface of the semiconductor wafer during the first measurement instance (Fig. 1, para 0018, “optical element 120 is configured to totally internally reflect a radiation R from a radiation source S at an interface I between the optical element 120 and the thin film 115 such that evanescent radiation generated at the interface I penetrates the thin film 115”); detecting (170, 175) an amount of light collected from the surface of the semiconductor wafer on a detector in response to the first amount of illumination light during the first measurement instance (para 0035, spectrometer measure intensity of light at different wavelength or frequencies); generating a first set of output signals indicative of the detected light during the first measurement instance (para 0035); and determining an estimated value of a parameter of interest characterizing the one or more structures under measurement based at least in part on the first set of output signals (para 0030, detecting and analyzing the evanescent radiation scattered by the thin film 115 can provide information about geometry of the thin film 115 as well as physical and chemical properties of the thin film 115”).
Regarding claim 17, Ying discloses wherein the amount of light directed from the first measurement site back to the surface of the semiconductor wafer during the first measurement instance is incident to the surface of the semiconductor wafer at a second measurement site, wherein a second instance of the one or more structures under measurement is located at the second measurement site (Fig. 1, para 0018, light is internally reflected to different measurement sites).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ying et al. (Ying).
Regarding claim 2, Ying discloses the claimed invention as discussed above. Although Ying does not disclose that the one or more reflective optical elements includes at least two reflective optical elements, and that the at least two reflective optical elements are positioned in the optical path to direct light from the first measurement site back to the first measurement site, Ying discloses optical element 120 which provides a plurality of reflection between the wafer (115) and the optical element (120) directing the light from the first measurement site back to the first measurement site (Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide more than one reflective optical element which are shorter than the optical element 120. The examiner takes an office notice that having two smaller optical element provides an advantage that if there is one of the smaller optical element only that optical element needs to replaced instead of entire one larger optical element.
Regarding claim 23, Ying discloses a measurement system (Fig. 1) comprising: an illumination source (S, para 0018) configured to generate a first amount of illumination light directed to a first measurement site on a surface of a semiconductor wafer during a first measurement instance, wherein a first instance of one or more structures under measurement is located at the first measurement site (para 0018, “at an interface I between the optical element 120 and the thin film 115”); at least one detector (170, 175) having a planar, two-dimensional surface sensitive to incident light, the at least one detector configured to detect an amount of light collected from the surface of the semiconductor wafer in response to the first amount of illumination light and generate a first set of output signals indicative of the detected light during the first measurement instance (para 0035, spectrometer measure intensity of light at different wavelength or frequencies); one or more reflective optical elements (120, para 0018) disposed in an optical path between the illumination source and the at least one detector (Fig. 1), wherein the optical path is incident on the surface of the semiconductor wafer more than once (Fig. 1, para 0018, “optical element 120 is configured to totally internally reflect a radiation R from a radiation source S at an interface I between the optical element 120 and the thin film 115 such that evanescent radiation generated at the interface I penetrates the thin film 115”); and determining an estimated value of a parameter of interest characterizing the one or more structures under measurement based at least in part on the first set of output signals (para 0030, 0035, 0036, detecting and analyzing the evanescent radiation scattered by the thin film 115 can provide information about geometry of the thin film 115 as well as physical and chemical properties of the thin film 115”). Although Ying does not explicitly disclose and a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to determine the parameter of interest, Ying discloses analyzing the detected evanescent radiation to determine the parameter of interest (para 0030, 0035, 0036), and such analysis would require a computer or a processor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions in order to run the programs that analyzes the evanescent radiation.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 10, 11 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finarov.
Regarding claim 5, Finarov discloses the claimed invention as discussed above. Although Finarov does not disclose a modulator positioning subsystem mechanically fixed to a structural element of the measurement system, wherein the modulator positioning subsystem selectively positions the optical modulation element in and out of the optical path, Finarov discloses another optical modulator which is optional (303, para 0076), and since a positioning system which can move an optical element in and out of the optical path is well known in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a positioning subsystem to move the optical modulation element in and out of the optical path as necessary depending on intended use such the optional optical phase retarder 303.
Regarding claim 7, although Finarov does not disclose wherein the second thickness is an integer multiple of the first thickness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a polarizer having a material with a thickness which is an integer multiple of the thickness of the same materials of the structure since determining the best thickness of an element and adjusting the thickness to provide the optimal thickness would not require an undue experimentation to achieve.
Regarding claim 10, although Finarov does not disclose wherein an optical modulation element is disposed in the optical path during the first measurement instance and the optical modulation element is not disposed in the optical path during the second measurement instance, Finarov discloses an optional optical modulator (303, para 0076) and since a positioning system which can move an optical element in and out of the optical path is well known in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a positioning subsystem to move the optical modulation element in and out of the optical path as necessary between the first measurement instance and the second measurement instance such as the optional optical modulation element, phase retarder 303.
Regarding claim 11, Finarov discloses wherein a first optical modulation element (301, Fig. 3, 4, para 0076) is disposed in the optical path during the first measurement instance (para 0076). Although Finarov does not disclose a second optical modulation element is disposed in the optical path during the second measurement instance, wherein the first optical modulation element is different from the second optical modulation element, Finarov discloses in the embodiment of Fig. 3, an optional second optical modulator (303, para 0076) and Finarov discloses second and more measurement instances (para 0095). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide only the first optical modulation element (301) for the first measurement instance and both the first optical modulation element (301) and the second optical modulation element (303) are provided in the second measurement instance in order to collect maximum useful information for further interpretation of the required optical and geometrical parameters of the measured article as taught by Finarov in para 0095.
Regarding claim 22, Finarov discloses optically modulating an amount of light in an optical path from the illumination source to the detector during the first measurement instance (Fig. 4), wherein the optical modulation is performed by a first optical modulation element (301) that is not a portion of the semiconductor wafer (Fig. 4, para 0076); and optically modulating an amount of light in an optical path from the illumination source to the detector during the second measurement instance (para 0095, “collecting optical measurement data not only for different wavelengths and different angles of incidence, but also at different azimuth angles”). Although the embodiment of Fig. 4 does not disclose wherein the optical modulation is performed by a second optical modulation element that is not a portion of the semiconductor wafer, the embodiment of Fig. 3 discloses a second optical modulation element, which is optional (303, Fig. 3, para 0076). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide only the first optical modulation element (301) for the first measurement instance and both the first optical modulation element (301) and the second optical modulation element (303) are provided in the second measurement instance in order to collect maximum useful information for further interpretation of the required optical and geometrical parameters of the measured article as taught by Finarov in para 0095.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 21, Finarov discloses the optical modulation element that is separate from the semiconductor wafer and does not disclose the optical modulation element which is a portion of the semiconductor wafer. Ying et al. discloses the optical modulation element (120) is located on the semiconductor wafer (Fig. 1), but it is not a portion of the semiconductor wafer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Antonelli et al. (10,901,241) discloses a measurement system (100, Fig. 1, col. 4, lines 61-66) comprising: an illumination source (110) configured to generate a first amount of illumination light directed to a first measurement site on a surface of a semiconductor wafer (101) during a first measurement instance, wherein a first instance of one or more structures under measurement is located at the first measurement site (Fig. 1); at least one detector (150) having a planar, two-dimensional surface sensitive to incident light, the at least one detector configured to detect an amount of light collected from the surface of the semiconductor wafer in response to the first amount of illumination light and generate a first set of output signals indicative of the detected light during the first measurement instance (col. 5, line 8-col. 6, line 62); a computing system (160) configured to determine an estimated value of a parameter of interest characterizing the one or more structures under measurement based at least in part on the first set of output signals (col. 14, line 46-col. 15, line 61). However, Antonelli et al. does not disclose one or more reflective optical elements disposed in an optical path between the illumination source and the at least one detector, wherein the optical path is incident on the surface of the semiconductor wafer more than once.
Claim 11 of the copending application, Tan (2025/0105064) is directed to a measurement system comprising an illumination source directed to a first measurement site, wherein one or more structures under measurement is located at the first measurement site (claim 1), at least one detector having a planar, two dimensional surface to detect an amount of light collected from the surface of the semiconductor wafer and generate a first set of output signals (claim 1), one or more reflective optical element between the illumination source and the at least one detector, wherein the optical path is incident on the surface of the wafer more than once (claim 11). However, claim 11 is not directed to a computing system to determine an estimated value of a parameter of interest of one or more structures.
/PETER B KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 February 5, 2026