DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 6/14/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 8-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Re Claim 8, in line 2 “the side surface portion” should be “the (2-1)-th side surface portion” to maintain proper antecedent basis and will be interpreted as such.
Re Claim 9, in lines 2-3 “a portion of an upper surface of the (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode” should be “the portion of the upper surface of the (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode” to maintain proper antecedent basis and will be interpreted as such.
In Re Claims 9-10, they inherit the objection to Claim 8 due to their dependence from Claim 8, while Claim 10 inherits the objection to Claim 9 due to its dependence from Claim 9.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al (US 2020/0219966 A1, hereafter Park).
Re Claim 1, Park discloses a display device (FIG. 9; [0138]-[0146]) comprising:
a plurality of pixels (P; [0084]) disposed in a display area (DA; [0084]);
a (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (1160; [0142]) disposed in a peripheral area (PA; [0142]);
a (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (OE; [0132], by nature of being electrically connected to 1160) disposed in the peripheral area (PA; [0132]) to be spaced apart from the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (1160; [0142]);
a connection electrode (112; [0132]) electrically connecting the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (1160) and the (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (OE; [0145]), and disposed on a layer (110; [0132]) different from the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (1160) and the (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (OE) in a cross-sectional view ([0142]);
a (1-1)-th cladding layer (109; [0139]) covering at least a (1-1)-th side surface portion of the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (1160) facing the (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (OE; [0139], see FIG. Z1 below); and
a (1-2)-th constant voltage electrode (1260; [0142]) disposed on an upper surface of the (1-1)-th cladding layer (109; [0142]) and directly contacting at least a portion of an upper surface of the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (1160; [0142]).
FIG. Z1: Annotated version of FIG. 9 of Park
Re Claim 2, Park discloses the display device according to Claim 1, while further disclosing the device comprises a (1-2)-th cladding layer (113, 115 in PA; [0137]) covering at least a (1-2)-th side surface portion of the (1-2)-th constant voltage electrode (1260, rightmost side; [0142]) disposed on the (1-1)-th cladding layer (109; [0142]).
Re Claim 3, Park discloses the display device according to Claim 2, while further disclosing the device comprises an organic cover layer (110; [0137]) entirely covering the (1-2)-th cladding layer (113, 115 in PA; [0137], covering bottom of).
Re Claim 4, Park discloses the display device according to Claim 3, while further disclosing wherein:
the (1-1)-th cladding layer (109), the (1-2)-th cladding layer (113, 115 in PA), and the organic cover layer (110) form a first dam structure (142; [0126]), and
the first dam structure (142) surrounds the display area (DA) in a plan view ([0126]).
Re Claim 5, Park discloses the display device according to Claim 4, while further disclosing the device comprises:
a second dam structure (141; [0126]) disposed on the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (1160) in a cross-sectional view ([0142]), and
wherein the second dam structure (141) is disposed between the display area (DA) and the first dam structure (142; [0126]) to surround the display area (DA) in a plan view ([0126]).
Re Claim 6, Park discloses the display device according to Claim 5, while further disclosing wherein the (1-2)-th constant voltage electrode (1260) is interposed between the second dam structure (141) and the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (1160) in a cross-sectional view ([0142]).
Re Claim 11, Park discloses the display device according to Claim 1, while further disclosing the device comprises:
an encapsulation layer (130; [0078]) entirely covering the plurality of pixels (P) disposed in the display area (DA; [0078]),
wherein the encapsulation layer (130) includes a first inorganic encapsulation layer (131; [0081]), a second inorganic encapsulation layer (133; [0081]), and an organic encapsulation layer (132; [0081]) interposed between the first inorganic encapsulation layer (131) and the second inorganic encapsulation layer (133; [0081]).
Re Claim 12, Park discloses the display device according to Claim 11, while further disclosing wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer (131) and the second inorganic encapsulation layer (133) directly contact each other in an area between the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (1160) and the (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (OE) in a plan view ([0142], see FIG. Z2 below, when looking at FIG. 9 from above).
FIG. Z2: Annotated version of FIG. 9 of Park
Claims 1, 7-10, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jung et al (US 2024/0206253 A1, hereafter Jung).
Re Claim 1, Jung discloses a display device (FIG. 7; [0081]-[0131]) comprising:
a plurality of pixels (“sub-pixels”; [0053]) disposed in a display area (AA; [0052]);
a (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118c; [0111]) disposed in a peripheral area (NA; [0111]);
a (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118a; [0111]) disposed in the peripheral area (NA; [0111]) to be spaced apart from the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118c; [0111]);
a connection electrode (CNT; [0067]) electrically connecting the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118c) and the (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118a; [0067]), and disposed on a layer different from the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118c) and the (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118a) in a cross-sectional view ([0067]);
a (1-1)-th cladding layer (144; [0087]) covering at least a (1-1)-th side surface portion of the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118c, left side) facing the (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118a; [0095], covering bottom of); and
a (1-2)-th constant voltage electrode (122c; [0111]) disposed on an upper surface of the (1-1)-th cladding layer (144; [0111], on top of) and directly contacting at least a portion of an upper surface of the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118c; [0111]).
Re Claim 7, Jung discloses the display device according to Claim 1, while further disclosing the device comprises:
a (2-1)-th cladding layer (148; [0095]) covering at least a (2-1)-th side surface portion of the (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118a, right side) facing the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118c; [0111]); and
a (2-2)-th constant voltage electrode (122a; [0111]) disposed on an upper surface of the (2-1)-th cladding layer (148; [0111]) and directly contacting at least a portion of an upper surface of the (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118a; [0111]).
Re Claim 8, Jung discloses the display device according to Claim 7, while further disclosing wherein the (2-1)-th cladding layer (148) entirely covers the side surface portion of the (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118a; [0095]).
Re Claim 9, Jung discloses the display device according to Claim 8, while further disclosing wherein the (2-1)-th cladding layer (148) includes an opening (“contact hole” of 148; [0114]) exposing at least a portion of an upper surface of the (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118a; [0114]), and
wherein the (2-2)-th constant voltage electrode (122a) directly contacts the upper surface of the (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118a) exposed by the opening (“contact hole” of 148; [0114]).
Re Claim 10, Jung discloses the display device according to Claim 9, while further disclosing wherein the opening (“contact hole” of 148) is provided in plural ([0114]).
Re Claim 14, Jung discloses a display device (FIG. 7; [0081]-[0131]) comprising:
a plurality of pixels (“sub-pixels”; [0053]) disposed in a display area (AA; [0052]);
a (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118c; [0111]) disposed in a peripheral area (NA; [0111]);
a (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118a; [0111]) disposed in the peripheral area (NA; [0111]) to be spaced apart from the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118c; [0111]);
a connection electrode (CNT; [0067]) electrically connecting the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118c) and the (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118a; [0067]), and disposed on a layer different from the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118c) and the (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118a) in a cross-sectional view ([0067]);
a (1-1)-th cladding layer (144; [0087]) covering at least a (1-1)-th side surface portion of the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118c, left side) facing the (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118a; [0095], covering bottom of); and
a (1-2)-th constant voltage electrode (122c; [0111]) disposed on an upper surface of the (1-1)-th cladding layer (144; [0111], on top of) and directly contacting at least a portion of an upper surface of the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118c; [0111]);
a (1-2)-th cladding layer (146; [0087]) covering at least a (1-2)-th side surface portion of the (1-2)-th constant voltage electrode (122c, left side) disposed on the (1-1)-th cladding layer (144; [0087], covering bottom of); and
a (1-3)-th constant voltage electrode (“additional metal layer”; [0117]) disposed on an upper surface of the (1-2)-th cladding layer (146; [0117]) and directly contacting at least a portion of an upper surface of the (1-2)-th constant voltage electrode (122c; [0117]).
Re Claim 17, Jung discloses the display device according to Claim 14, while further disclosing the device comprises:
a (2-1)-th cladding layer (148; [0095]) covering at least a (2-1)-th side surface portion of the (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118a, right side) facing the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118c; [0111]); and
a (2-2)-th constant voltage electrode (122a; [0111]) disposed on an upper surface of the (2-1)-th cladding layer (148; [0111]) and directly contacting at least a portion of an upper surface of the (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (118a; [0111]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, as applied to Claim 12, in view of Zeng et al (US 2023/0056754 A1, hereafter Zeng).
Re Claim 13, Park discloses the display device according to Claim 12, while further disclosing wherein an area (see FIG. Z3 below) in which an organic insulating material is not interposed between the connection electrode (112) and the first inorganic encapsulation layer (131) is disposed in an area overlapping the connection electrode (112; [0132], see FIG. Z3 below).
Park does not explicitly disclose wherein the area is a CVD area.
However, Zeng teaches a display device (FIG. 2C; [0094]) comprising wherein a first inorganic encapsulation layer (24; [0094]) is formed by CVD ([0094]).
In combination with Park, Park’s “area” can be considered a “CVD area” by nature of the first inorganic encapsulation layer being formed by CVD.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device according to Claim 12 with the limitations taught by Zeng to utilize CVD for the formation of the first inorganic encapsulation layer (Park: 131) as a functionally equivalent means of predictably forming a layer intended to isolate water and oxygen and protect underlying layers as taught by Zeng ([0094]).
FIG. Z3: Annotated version of FIG. 9 of Park
Claims 14-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Jung.
Re Claim 14, Park discloses a display device (FIG. 9; [0138]-[0146]) comprising:
a plurality of pixels (P; [0084]) disposed in a display area (DA; [0084]);
a (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (1160; [0142]) disposed in a peripheral area (PA; [0142]);
a (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (OE; [0132], by nature of being electrically connected to 1160) disposed in the peripheral area (PA; [0132]) to be spaced apart from the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (1160; [0142]);
a connection electrode (112; [0132]) electrically connecting the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (1160) and the (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (OE; [0145]), and disposed on a layer (110; [0132]) different from the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (1160) and the (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (OE) in a cross-sectional view ([0142]);
a (1-1)-th cladding layer (107; [0114]) covering at least a (1-1)-th side surface portion of the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (1160) facing the (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (OE; [0139], see FIG. Z1, covering bottom of); and
a (1-2)-th constant voltage electrode (1260; [0142]) disposed on an upper surface of the (1-1)-th cladding layer (107; [0142]) and directly contacting at least a portion of an upper surface of the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (1160; [0142]);
a (1-2)-th cladding layer (109; [0139]) covering at least a (1-2)-th side surface portion of the (1-2)-th constant voltage electrode (1260, rightmost side; [0142], covering bottom of) disposed on the (1-1)-th cladding layer (107; [0142]).
Park does not explicitly disclose a (1-3)-th constant voltage electrode disposed on an upper surface of the (1-2)-th cladding layer (109) and directly contacting at least a portion of an upper surface of the (1-2)-th constant voltage electrode (1260).
However, Jung discloses a display device (FIG. 7; [0081]-[0131]) comprising a (1-3)-th constant voltage electrode (“additional metal layer”; [0117]) disposed on an upper surface of the (1-2)-th cladding layer (148; [0117]) and directly contacting at least a portion of an upper surface of the (1-2)-th constant voltage electrode (122c; [0117]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the limitations taught by Park with the limitations taught by Jung to include a third metal layer (Jung: “additional metal layer” for the voltage line (Park: 260) as a means of providing the voltage line (Park: 260) on each of the separated insulating layers (provided the bottom insulating layer 109 of Park is similarly formed of two layers) as taught by Jung ([0117]).
Re Claim 15, Park and Jung teach the display device according to Claim 14, while Park further teaches the device comprises an organic cover layer (110; [0137]) entirely covering the (1-2)-th cladding layer (109; [0137]).
Re Claim 16, Park and Jung teach the display device according to Claim 15, while Park further teaches wherein:
the (1-2)-th cladding layer (109) and the organic cover layer (110) form a first dam structure (142; [0126]), and
in a plan view, the first dam structure (142) surrounds the display area (DA; [0126]).
Re Claim 18, Park and Jung teach the display device according to Claim 14, while Park further teaches the device comprises:
an encapsulation layer (130; [0078]) entirely covering the plurality of pixels (P) disposed in the display area (DA; [0078]),
wherein the encapsulation layer (130) includes a first inorganic encapsulation layer (131; [0081]), a second inorganic encapsulation layer (133; [0081]), and an organic encapsulation layer (132; [0081]) interposed between the first inorganic encapsulation layer (131) and the second inorganic encapsulation layer (133; [0081]).
Re Claim 19, Park and Jung teach the display device according to Claim 18, while Park further teaches wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer (131) and the second inorganic encapsulation layer (133) directly contact each other in an area between the (1-1)-th constant voltage electrode (1160) and the (2-1)-th constant voltage electrode (OE) in a plan view ([0142], see FIG. Z2, when looking at FIG. 9 from above).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park and Jung, as applied to Claim 19, further in view of Zeng.
Re Claim 20, Park and Jung teach the display device according to Claim 19, while Park further teaches wherein an area (see FIG. Z3) in which an organic insulating material is not interposed between the connection electrode (112) and the first inorganic encapsulation layer (131) is disposed in an area overlapping the connection electrode (112; [0132], see FIG. Z3).
Park and Jung do not explicitly disclose wherein the area is a CVD area.
However, Zeng teaches a display device (FIG. 2C; [0094]) comprising wherein a first inorganic encapsulation layer (24; [0094]) is formed by CVD ([0094]).
In combination with Park and Jung, Park’s “area” can be considered a “CVD area” by nature of the first inorganic encapsulation layer being formed by CVD.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device according to Claim 19 with the limitations taught by Zeng to utilize CVD for the formation of the first inorganic encapsulation layer (Park: 131) as a functionally equivalent means of predictably forming a layer intended to isolate water and oxygen and protect underlying layers as taught by Zeng ([0094]).
Conclusion
/COLIN RUSSELL MCCUTCHEON/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892