DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KIM (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0202645, hereinafter referred to as KIM).
As to claim 1, KIM teaches 1. An electronic device comprising: a base layer; at least one transistor comprising a semiconductor pattern on the base layer and a gate electrode on the semiconductor pattern; a connection electrode on the at least one transistor; at least one insulating layer between the semiconductor pattern and the connection electrode; a side light shielding pattern on a same layer as that of the connection electrode; and a light emitting element on the connection electrode and electrically connected to the at least one transistor, wherein the connection electrode passes through the at least one insulating layer and is electrically connected to the semiconductor pattern, and wherein the side light shielding pattern passes through the at least one insulating layer. [see DT, ILD, TLS, BLS, OLED in Fig. 8~10; ¶0069 for example]
As to claim 2, KIM teaches 2. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the side light shielding pattern extends in one direction on a plane, and wherein the semiconductor pattern overlaps the side light shielding pattern when viewed in a direction that defines a plane together with the one direction and crosses the one direction. [see Fig. 8~10]
As to claim 3, KIM teaches 3. The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a lower light shielding pattern located between the base layer and the semiconductor pattern, wherein the at least one transistor overlaps the lower light shielding pattern on a plane. [see Fig. 8~10]
As to claim 4, KIM teaches 4. The electronic device of claim 3, further comprising: a lower insulating layer between the lower light shielding pattern and the semiconductor pattern, wherein the side light shielding pattern overlaps the lower light shielding pattern on a plane and further passes through the lower insulating layer to be in contact with the lower light shielding pattern. [see Fig. 8~10]
As to claim 5, KIM teaches 5. The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a light absorbing pattern on a same layer as that of the semiconductor pattern and comprising a same material as that of the semiconductor pattern, wherein the side light shielding pattern is in contact with the light absorbing pattern. [see Fig. 8~10]
As to claim 6, KIM teaches 6. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the side light shielding pattern comprises a first side pattern and a second side pattern that extend in a first direction on a plane and are spaced from each other in a second direction crossing the first direction with the at least one transistor interposed therebetween on a plane. [see Fig. 8~10]
As to claim 7, KIM teaches 7. The electronic device of claim 6, wherein the at least one transistor overlaps the first side pattern and the second side pattern when viewed in the second direction. [see Fig. 8~10]
As to claim 8, KIM teaches 8. The electronic device of claim 6, further comprising: a first light absorbing pattern and a second light absorbing pattern that are spaced from each other in the second direction with the at least one transistor interposed therebetween, each of the first light absorbing pattern and the second light absorbing pattern extends in the first direction, and are arranged on a same layer as that of the semiconductor pattern, wherein the first side pattern overlaps the first light absorbing pattern and is in contact with the first light absorbing pattern, and the second side pattern overlaps the second light absorbing pattern and is in contact with the second light absorbing pattern. [see Fig. 8~10]
As to claim 9, KIM teaches 9. The electronic device of claim 6, wherein the light emitting element comprises a plurality of light emitting elements, the plurality of light emitting elements comprising: first light emitting elements each configured to emit a light beam having a first color to a first light emitting area; second light emitting elements each configured to emit a light beam having a second color that is different from the first color to a second light emitting area; and third light emitting elements each configured to emit a light beam having a third color that is different from the first color and the second color to a third light emitting area, wherein one first pixel element of the first light emitting elements, two second pixel elements of the second light emitting elements, and one third pixel element of the third light emitting elements are arranged in one pixel group, and wherein the one pixel group is repeatedly arranged along the first direction in one pixel row. [see Fig. 1]
As to claim 10, KIM teaches 10. The electronic device of claim 9, wherein, in the one pixel group, the first light emitting area of the one first pixel element and the third light emitting area of the one third pixel element are spaced from each other in the first direction, and the second light emitting areas of the two second pixel elements are spaced from each other in a direction that crosses the first direction and the second direction with the one third light emitting area interposed therebetween. [see Fig. 1]
As to claim 11, KIM teaches 11. The electronic device of claim 9, wherein the base layer comprises: a component area comprising a transmissive area and an element area; and a main display area adjacent to the component area, and wherein the light emitting elements overlap the element area and the main display area and do not overlap the transmissive area. [see Fig. 4, 5, 11]
As to claim 12, KIM teaches 12. The electronic device of claim 11, wherein a plurality of transmissive areas comprising the transmissive area and a plurality of element areas comprising the element area are arranged in the base layer, and the transmissive areas and the element areas are arranged to cross each other in the second direction inside the component area, and wherein the one pixel row overlaps the element areas. [see Fig. 6]
As to claim 13, KIM teaches 13. The electronic device of claim 12, wherein the first side pattern and the second side pattern are arranged to overlap each of the element areas. [¶0087~0089]
As to claim 14, KIM teaches 14. The electronic device of claim 11, further comprising: first pixel circuits electrically connected to respective ones of the first light emitting elements; second pixel circuits electrically connected to respective ones of the second light emitting elements; and third pixel circuits electrically connected to respective ones of the third light emitting elements, wherein each of the first to third pixel circuits comprises the at least one transistor and the connection electrode, and wherein in the one pixel group, one of the first pixel circuits, one of two of the second pixel circuits, one of the third pixel circuits, and an other one of the two of the second pixel circuits are arranged along the first direction. [see Fig. 1]
As to claim 15, KIM teaches 15. The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: an upper light shielding pattern overlapping at least a portion of the semiconductor pattern on a plane, wherein the light emitting element comprises: a first electrode on the connection electrode and electrically connected to the connection electrode; a light emitting layer on the first electrode; and a second electrode on the light emitting layer, and wherein the upper light shielding pattern is at a same layer as that of the first electrode. [see Fig. 8~9]
As to claim 16, KIM teaches 16. The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: an upper connection electrode located between the connection electrode and the light emitting element and electrically connected between the connection electrode and the light emitting element; and an upper light shielding pattern overlapping at least a portion of the semiconductor pattern on a plane and located at a same layer as that of the upper connection electrode. [see Fig. 8~9]
As to claim 17, KIM teaches 17. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one insulating layer comprises: a first insulating layer located between the semiconductor pattern and the gate electrode; and a second insulating layer located between the gate electrode and the connection electrode, and wherein the side light shielding pattern continuously passes through the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer. [see Fig. 8~9]
As to claim 18, KIM teaches 18. The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: at least one additional transistor comprising an additional semiconductor pattern located between the gate electrode and the connection electrode and an additional gate electrode located between the additional semiconductor pattern and the connection electrode, wherein the at least one insulating layer further comprises: a third insulating layer located between the gate electrode and the additional semiconductor pattern; a fourth insulating layer located between the additional semiconductor pattern and the additional gate electrode; and a fifth insulating layer located between the additional gate electrode and the connection electrode, and wherein the side light shielding pattern continuously passes through the first to fifth insulating layers. [see Fig. 1]
As to claim 19, KIM teaches 19. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the side light shielding pattern comprises a same material as that of the connection electrode. [see Fig. 8~9]
As to claim 20, KIM teaches 20. An electronic device comprising: a pixel circuit comprising at least one transistor comprising semiconductor patterns and a gate electrode on the semiconductor patterns; a light emitting element electrically connected to the pixel circuit; and a side light shielding pattern comprising a first side pattern and a second side pattern that are spaced from each other in one direction with the pixel circuit interposed therebetween on a plane, wherein the semiconductor patterns overlap each of the first side pattern and the second side pattern when viewed in the one direction. [see Fig. 8~9]
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are rejected as explained above.
The prior art made of record in the PTO-892 form and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JAEHWAN OH/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899