DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1 through 11 in the reply filed on 8/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/17/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9, 10, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cha (US 2025/0107364)
Regarding claim 9.
A display device comprising: a first substrate (fig 6:sub1; [para 0068]) including an open part (fig 6:sop; [para 0080]);
a first barrier insulating layer (fig 6:BIL1; [para 0085]) disposed on the first substrate (fig 6:sub1; [para 0068]) and including a plurality of first contact holes (fig 6:cnt1; [para 0154]);
a plurality of pad parts (fig 6:pad; [para 0117]) disposed on the first barrier insulating layer (fig 6:BIL1; [para 0085]) and inserted into the plurality of first contact holes (fig 6:cnt1; [para 0154]), respectively; a second substrate (fig 6:sub2; [para 0067]) disposed on the plurality of pad parts (fig 6:pad; [para 0117]);
a plurality ([para 0052]) of first connection lines (fig 6:cwl1; [para 0132])disposed on the second substrate (fig 6:sub2; [para 0067]) and connected to the plurality of pad parts (fig 6:pad; [para 0117]), respectively; a flexible film (fig 6:fpcd; [para 0081]) partially inserted into the open part (fig 6:sop; [para 0080]) of the first substrate (fig 6:sub1; [para 0068]) and including a plurality of lead electrodes (fig 6:LDE; [para 0144]);
a plurality of partition walls (fig 6,16:crd; [para 0173]) disposed between adjacent pad parts (fig 6,16:pad; [para 0172]) of the plurality of pad parts (fig 6:pad; [para 0117]) on a lower surface of the first barrier insulating layer (fig 6:BIL1; [para 0085]);
and contact parts (fig 6:ctp; [para 0125]) connecting the pad parts (fig 6:pad; [para 0117]) and the lead electrodes (fig 6:LDE; [para 0144]) to each other in a one-to-one manner between adjacent partition walls (fig 6,16:crd; [para 0173]) of the plurality of partition walls (fig 6,16:crd; [para 0173]).
Regarding claim 10.
Cha teaches the display device of claim 9,
Cha teaches:
a lead electrode of the lead electrodes (fig 6:LDE; [para 0144]) is attached to a lower surface of a pad part of the pad parts (fig 6:pad; [para 0117]) through an adhesive member (fig 16:adm; [para 0144]), and a contact part of the contact parts (fig 6:ctp; [para 0125]) covers a lower surface of the lead electrode (fig 6:LDE; [para 0144]) and the lower surface of the pad part (fig 6:pad; [para 0117]).
Regarding claim 11.
Cha teaches the display device of claim 9,
Cha teaches:
the partition wall (fig 6,16:crd; [para 0173]) includes an organic film made of an acrylic resin, an epoxy resin, a phenolic resin, a polyamide resin, or a polyimide resin ([para 0173]).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized and struck through claim limitations indicate limitations that are not explicitly disclosed in the primary reference, but disclosed in the secondary reference(s).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubota (US 2017/0338246) in view of Leng (US 2020/0321488)
Regarding claim 1.
Kubota teaches:
A display device comprising: a first substrate (fig 5b:110,112,114,116,119; [para 0144]) including an open part (fig 6b);
a first barrier insulating layer (fig 5b:122b; [para 0141]) disposed on the first substrate (fig 4b,6b:124; [para 0053]) and including a first contact hole (fig 6b);
a pad part (fig 5a,6b:138d; [para 0148]) disposed on the first barrier insulating layer (fig 5b:122b; [para 0141]) and inserted into the first contact hole;
a second substrate (fig 4b,6b:142; [para 0059])disposed on the pad part (fig 6b:138d; [para 0148]);
a first connection line (fig 2e,144; [para 0060]) disposed on the second substrate (fig 4b,6b:142; [para 0059])and connected to the pad part (fig 6b:138d; [para 0060]);
a flexible film (fig 5b:106; [para 0145]) partially inserted into the open part of the first substrate (fig 5b:110,112,114,116,119; [para 0144]) and including a lead electrode (fig 5b:108; [para 0148]);
Kubota does not teach the lead electrode is spaced apart from the pad part.
Leng teaches
a flexible film (fig 9:100; [para 0056]) and including a lead electrode (fig 9:J; [para 0090]) spaced apart from the pad part (fig 9:10; [para 0059]) in a plan view;
and a contact part (fig 9:M2; [para 0051]) electrically connecting the pad part (fig 9:10; [para 0059]) and the lead electrode (fig 9:J; [para 0090]) to each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to not directly expose the contact hole and pad in order that it is not directly exposed to the outside, and its side face can be effectively protected from being oxidized and corroded, which in turn can improve the yield
Regarding claim 3.
Kubota in view of Leng teaches the display device of claim 1, further
Leng teaches:
the contact part (fig 9:M2; [para 0051]) covers a lower surface of the first barrier insulating layer (fig 9:ME; [para 0080]) disposed between the lead electrode (fig 9:J; [para 0090]) and the pad part (fig 9:10; [para 0059]).
Regarding claim 4.
Kubota in view of Leng teaches the display device of claim 1, further
Leng teaches:
the contact part (fig 9:M2; [para 0051]) corresponds to a conductive line connecting a center of the lead electrode (fig 9:J; [para 0090]) protruding from the flexible film (fig 9:100; [para 0056]) and a center of the pad part (fig 9:10; [para 0059]) inserted into the first contact hole (fig 9:H1; [para 0059]) to each other.
Regarding claim 5.
Kubota in view of Leng teaches the display device of claim 1, further
Kubota teaches:
the second substrate (fig 4b,6b:142; [para 0059]) includes a second contact hole (fig 6b annotated above) spaced apart from the first contact hole in the plan view (fig 6b annotated above), and the first connection line (fig 2e,144; [para 0060]) is inserted into the second contact hole (fig 6b) to be connected to the pad part (fig 6b:138d; [para 0060]).
Regarding claim 7.
Kubota in view of Leng teaches the display device of claim 1, further
Kubota teaches:
a gate insulating layer (fig 2b,6b:134; [para 0092]) disposed on the second substrate (fig 4b,6b:142; [para 0059]);
a second connection line (fig 2f,6d:148; [para 0060])disposed on the gate insulating layer (fig 2b,6b:134; [para 0092]) and connected to the first connection line (fig 2f,6d:144; [para 0060]);
and an interlayer insulating layer (fig 2f,6b:146; [para 0060]) disposed at a layer between the second connection line (fig 2f,6d:148; [para 0060]) and the first connection line (fig 2f,6d:144; [para 0060]).
Claims 1 through 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Cha (US 2025/0107364) in view of Jang (US 2022/0052079).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Regarding claim 1.
Cha teaches:
A display device comprising:
a first substrate (fig 6:sub1; [para 0068]) including an open part (fig 6:sop; [para 0080]);
a first barrier insulating layer (fig 6:BIL1; [para 0085]) disposed on the first substrate (fig 6:sub1; [para 0068]) and including a first contact hole;
a pad part (fig 6:pad; [para 0080]) disposed on the first barrier insulating layer (fig 6:BIL1; [para 0085]) and inserted into the first contact hole (fig 6:cnt1; [para 0127]);
a second substrate (fig 6:sub2; [para 0070])disposed on the pad part (fig 6:pad; [para 0080]);
a first connection line (fig 6,7:cwl1; [para 0125]) disposed on the second substrate (fig 6:sub2; [para 0070]) and connected to the pad part (fig 6:pad; [para 0080]);
a flexible film (fig 6:fpcb; [para 0081]) partially inserted into the open part (fig 6:sop; [para 0080]) of the first substrate (fig 6:sub1; [para 0068]) and including a lead electrode (fig 6:LDE; [para 0125]) spaced apart from the pad part (fig 6:pad; [para 0080]) ;
and a contact part (fig 6:ctp; [para 0125]) electrically connecting the pad part (fig 6:pad; [para 0080]) and the lead electrode (fig 6:LDE; [para 0125]) to each other.
Cha does not teach the lead electrode spaced apart from the pad part in a plan view.
Jang teaches:
a flexible film (fig 6:FPCB; [para 0137]) partially inserted into the open part (fig 6:sop; [para 0080]) of the first substrate (fig 6:PF; [para 0137]) and including a lead electrode (fig 6:ldl; [para 0147]) spaced apart from the pad part (fig 6:pd1; [para 0137]) in a plan view;
and a contact part (fig 6:mms; [para 054]) electrically connecting the pad part (fig 6:pd1; [para 0154]) and the lead electrode (fig 6:ldl; [para 0154]) to each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to space the lead electrode and contact pad in plan view in order that the pad is not damaged during the etching of the lead (paragraph 147)
Regarding claim 2.
Cha in view of Jang teaches the display device of claim 1,
Cha teaches:
the contact part (fig 6:ctp; [para 0125]) covers a lower surface of the lead electrode (fig 6:LDE; [para 0125]) and a lower surface of the pad part (fig 6:pad; [para 0080]).
Regarding claim 3.
Cha in view of Jang teaches the display device of claim 1,
Cha teaches:
the contact part (fig 6:ctp; [para 0125]) covers a lower surface of the first barrier insulating layer (fig 6:BIL1; [para 0085]) disposed between the lead electrode (fig 6:LDE; [para 0125]) and the pad part (fig 6:pad; [para 0080]).
Regarding claim 4.
Cha in view of Jang teaches the display device of claim 1,
Cha teaches:
the contact part (fig 6:ctp; [para 0125]) corresponds to a conductive line connecting a center of the lead electrode (fig 6:LDE; [para 0125]) protruding from the flexible film (fig 6:fpcb; [para 0081]) and a center of the pad part (fig 6:pad; [para 0080]) inserted into the first contact hole to each other.
Regarding claim 5.
Cha in view of Jang teaches the display device of claim 1,
Cha teaches:
the second substrate (fig 6:sub2; [para 0070]) includes a second contact hole (fig 6:cnt2; [para 0127]) spaced apart from the first contact hole (fig 6:cnt1; [para 0127]) in the plan view (fig 6), and the first connection line (fig 6,7:cwl1; [para 0125]) is inserted into the second contact hole (fig 6:cnt2; [para 0127]) to be connected to the pad part (fig 6:pad; [para 0080]).
Regarding claim 6.
Cha in view of Jang teaches the display device of claim 1,
Cha teaches:
the second substrate (fig 6:sub2; [para 0070]) includes a second contact hole (fig 6:cnt2; [para 0127]) , and the first connection line (fig 6,7:cwl1; [para 0125]) is inserted into the second contact hole (fig 6:cnt2; [para 0127]) to be connected to the pad part (fig 6:pad; [para 0080]).
Jang teaches:
the second substrate (fig 6:ILD; [para 0071]) includes a second contact hole (fig 6:cnt1; [para 0139]) overlapping the first contact hole (fig 6:cnt2; [para 0139]), and the first connection line (fig 6:cwl1; [para 0137]) is inserted into the second contact hole (fig 6:cnt1; [para 0139]) to be connected to the pad part (fig 6:pd1; [para 0137]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the second contact hole to align with the first contact hole in order to minimize the length of the redistribution line and thereby reduce the resistance.
Regarding claim 7.
Cha in view of Jang teaches the display device of claim 1,
Cha teaches:
a gate insulating layer (fig 6:GI; [para 0091]) disposed on the second substrate (fig 6:sub2; [para 0070]);
a second connection line (fig 6:cwl2; [para 0132])disposed on the gate insulating layer (fig 6:sub2; [para 0070]) and connected to the first connection line (fig 6:cwl1; [para 0137]);
and an interlayer insulating layer (fig 7:ILD; [para 0132])disposed at a layer between the second connection line (fig 6:cwl2; [para 0137]) and the first connection line (fig 6:cwl1; [para 0137]).
Regarding claim 8.
Cha in view of Jang teaches the display device of claim 7,
Cha teaches:
a semiconductor region (fig 6:act; [para 0093]) of a transistor (fig 6:tr; [para 0093]) disposed on the second substrate (fig 6:sub2; [para 0070]);
a gate electrode (fig 6:ge; [para 0094]) of the transistor (fig 6:tr; [para 0093]) disposed on the gate insulating layer (fig 6:GI; [para 0091]);
and a connection electrode (fig 6:cne; [para 0096]) disposed on the interlayer insulating layer (fig 7:ILD; [para 0132])and electrically connected to the transistor (fig 6:tr; [para 0093]), wherein the first connection line (fig 6:cwl1; [para 0137]) includes the same material ([para 0125,0096]) as the connection electrode (fig 6:cne; [para 0096]) and is formed in the same process ([para 0133]) as the connection electrode (fig 6:cne; [para 0096]), and the second connection line (fig 6:cwl2; [para 0132]) includes the same material ([para 0132,0094]) as the gate electrode (fig 6:ge; [para 0094]) of the transistor (fig 6:tr; [para 0093]) and is formed in the same process ([para 0133]) as the gate electrode (fig 6:ge; [para 0094]).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Conclusion
/D.J.G/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ANTONIO B CRITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817