DETAILED ACTION
This correspondence is in response to the communications received June 17, 2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Priority documents present in parent application 16/510,686, dated September 2, 2019.
Relevant Prior Art
Earliest ‘opening region’ prior art by same applicant. Kim et al. (US 2017/0288004) Fig. 18, shown below.
The following references that are commonly owned would also read on claims 1-20, to the extent that the Han reference has read on claims 1-20.
Reads on as prior art with valid date. (same assignee) Choi et al. (US 2021/0234122) (US 11,394,006) (US 2022/0393610) Fig. 9, shown below.
Reads on as prior art with valid date. (same assignee) (also Um et al. (US 2020/0176538)) Um et al. (US 11,239,302) Fig. 9, shown below.
Reads on as prior art with valid date. (same assignee) Choi et al. (US 2020/0161582) (US 11,139,451) (US 11,723,230) (US 2022/0020960) Fig. 12, shown below.
Reads on as prior art with valid date. (same assignee) Han et al. (US 10,840,478) Fig. 14, shown below.
Reads on as prior art with valid date. (same assignee) Sung et al. (US 10,541,380) (2020/0127233) (10873053) (2021/0111374) (11456440) (20230014088) (11980050) (20240292652) (20250348165) (12493371) Fig. 7, shown below.
Reads on as prior art with valid date. (same assignee) Choi et al. (US 2020/0119304) (US 10,862,068) (US 11,974,456) Fig. 9, shown below.
Reads on as prior art with valid date. (same assignee) Kang et al. (US 2020/0083475) (US 10,916,588) [<- base references] (US 2021/0143220) (US 11,424,315) (US 2022/0399432) (US 12,013,224) (US 2024/0341144) Fig. 17, shown below.
Applicant’s Claim to Figure Comparison
It is noted that this comparison is merely for the benefit of reviewers of this office action during prosecution, to allow for an understanding of the examiner’s interpretation of the Applicant’s independent claims as compared to disclosed embodiments in Applicant’s Figures. No response or comments are necessary from Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant discloses in Fig. 2A, 3, 13, a display panel (10, ¶ 0075) comprising:
a substrate (100) having an opening (“opening area OA” and “openings 100H”, ¶ 0075) that passes from an upper surface of the substrate to a bottom surface of the substrate (¶ 0078);
a display element layer (200) on the substrate (on 100), the display element layer (200) comprising a pixel circuit (TFT) and a light-emitting diode (OLED/P) electrically connected to the pixel circuit (as shown in Fig. 2A),
wherein the light-emitting diode (OLED part of ‘P’ which is the pixel circuit) and the pixel circuit are located in a display area (DA) at least partially surrounding the opening of the substrate (Fig. 3, OA is surrounded by DA);
an encapsulation layer (300) on the display element layer (200),
the encapsulation layer comprising a first inorganic encapsulation layer (310), a second inorganic encapsulation layer (330), and an organic encapsulation layer (320) between the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers (320 between 310 and 330, ¶ 0120);
a partition wall (see Fig. 13, element 400, ¶ 0151) in a non-display area (NDA) between the opening of the substrate (OA) and the display area (DA);
a first groove (G1) in the non-display area (NDA),
the first groove (G1) being located between the partition wall (400) and the display area (DA) and being defined in a multi-layer (stack of materials defining the groove G1),
wherein the multi-layer comprises a lower layer (“lower insulating layer 250”, ¶ 0129) on the substrate (on 100) and an upper layer (207) on an upper surface of the lower layer (207 ‘on’ upper surface of 250), and
the lower layer (250) comprises an organic insulation material (¶ 0126),
wherein the upper layer comprises:
a first protrusion (overhang of 207) laterally protruding toward the first groove (towards G1) beyond a first point at which a first lateral surface of the lower layer and a bottom surface of the upper layer meet (207 protrudes to G1 past the lateral extent of 250 in that area); and
a second protrusion (overhang of 207, on the other side of G1) laterally protruding toward the first groove beyond a second point at which a second lateral surface of the lower layer and the bottom surface of the upper layer meet (same construction on the other side of the groove with overhang of 270 towards center of G1, past lateral extend of 250),
wherein the first lateral surface and the second lateral surface of the lower layer face each other with the first groove therebetween (cut in 250 at G1, forms walls in 250 that face each other at G1), and the first and second protrusions face each other with the first groove therebetween (protrusion of 270 face each other with G1 in between them).
Regarding claim 2, the Applicant discloses in Fig. 8, the display panel of claim 1, wherein the light-emitting diode comprises a pixel electrode (221), an opposite electrode (223), and an intermediate layer (222, ¶ 0115, Fig. 8) between the pixel electrode and the opposite electrode (222 between 221 and 223), and
wherein at least one organic layer of the intermediate layer extends to the non-display area (one of the 222 extend to NDA) and comprises:
a first portion on an upper surface of the multi-layer (222a);
a second portion (222c) separated from the first portion (222a) and located on a bottom surface of the first groove (222c in bottom of G1, see Fig. 9B); and
a third portion on the upper surface of the multi-layer, wherein the third portion is separated from the first and second portions and is located opposite to the first portion.
Regarding claim 4, the Applicant discloses the display panel of claim 2, wherein the opposite electrode extends to the non-display area and comprises:
a first portion (in Fig. 9B, 223 on 222c in groove) on the first portion of the at least one organic layer (on 222c);
a second portion (portion 223 on 222c in Fig. 9B on 207) separated from the first portion of the opposite electrode and located on the second portion of the at least one organic layer (away from bottom of groove); and
a third portion on the third portion of the at least one organic layer (across the groove 223 on 222c away from previous noted portions), wherein the third portion of the opposite electrode is separated from the first and second portions of the opposite electrode (portion separated across from 223 on 222c on 207).
Regarding claim 5, the Applicant discloses the display panel of claim 1, and in Fig. 10A, wherein the multi-layer further comprises an insulating layer (205) on an upper surface of the upper layer (203/201), wherein:
the insulating layer (205) comprises a first lateral surface (one of 205IE) and a second lateral surface (other of 205IE) that face each other with the first groove therebetween (shown at G1), and
a width between the first lateral surface of the insulating layer and the second lateral surface of the insulating layer (width in G1 at 207IE) is greater than a width between the first protrusion and the second protrusion (greater than width in G1 at 201/203IE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 2020/0110495, also US 11,093,059) in view of Kamiya (US 2014/0264300). It should be noted that the commonly owned prior art of Sung et al. (US 10,541,380) Fig. 7+ would also read to the extend that the Han reference has read on claims 1-20. This is in addition to the references cited in the ‘Relevant Prior Art’ section above, which are commonly owned prior art which would also read on claims 1-20.
Regarding claim 1, the prior art of Han discloses in Figs. 1-7 and 14, a display panel (“display panel 10”, ¶ 0065) comprising:
a substrate (“first base layer 101”, ¶ 0137) having an opening (at area “opening area OA”, ¶ 0062, portion 10H, “first to third openings 10H, 40H, and 50H”, ¶ 0072) that passes from an upper surface of the substrate to a bottom surface of the substrate (10H passes from top boundary of 101 to bottom boundary of 101);
a display element layer (This “display element layer” is interpreted to be the combination of several layers including the shown TFT and OLED elements and their constituent layers, hereinafter referred to as ‘DEL’) on the substrate (on 101),
the display element layer (DEL) comprising a pixel circuit (at least including the ‘TFT’, hereinafter referred to as ‘TFT’) and a light-emitting diode (The “light emitting diode” includes layers “pixel electrode 221”, ¶ 0145, “intermediate layer 222 includes an emission layer”, ¶ 0148, and “opposite electrode 223”, ¶ 0152, hereinafter referred to as ‘LED’) electrically connected to the pixel circuit (LED shown electrically connected to TFT in Fig. 14),
wherein the light-emitting diode (LED) and the pixel circuit (TFT) are located in a display area (DA) at least partially surrounding the opening of the substrate (see Fig. 3, where DA surrounds OA which is where 10H is located);
an encapsulation layer (“encapsulation layer 230”, ¶ 0153) on the display element layer (230 on DEL), the encapsulation layer comprising a first inorganic encapsulation layer (portion 231 of, “first and second inorganic encapsulation layers 231 and 233 and an organic encapsulation layer 232”, ¶ 0153), a second inorganic encapsulation layer (portion 233 of , “first and second inorganic encapsulation layers 231 and 233 and an organic encapsulation layer 232”, ¶ 0153), and an organic encapsulation layer (portion 232 of, “first and second inorganic encapsulation layers 231 and 233 and an organic encapsulation layer 232”, ¶ 0153) between the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers (232 between 231 and 233);
a partition wall (“partition wall 510”, ¶ 0163) in a non-display area (in NDA1) between the opening (10H/OA) of the substrate (of 101) and the display area (DA);
a first groove in the non-display area (“grooves G1”, ¶ 0152, in NDA1),
the first groove (G1) being located between the partition wall (510) and the display area (DA) and being defined in a multi-layer (the multilayer being composed of 103, ¶ 0138, and 201/104, ¶ 0140),
wherein the multi-layer comprises a lower layer on the substrate (103 on 101) and an upper layer (201/104 on 101) on an upper surface of the lower layer (201/104 is ‘on’ 103), and
the lower layer (103) comprises an organic insulation material (“103 may include a polymer resin”, ¶ 0138, which is a type of an “organic layer”, where a secondary reference will be utilized to disclose that the particular material layers are considered to be ‘organic’),
wherein the upper layer (201/104) comprises:
a first protrusion (in Fig. 14, right hand side of protrusion of 201/104 into G1) laterally protruding toward the first groove beyond a first point at which a first lateral surface of the lower layer (right side lateral surface of 103, which is where 103 meets G1) and a bottom surface of the upper layer meet (right side region where 201/104 meets 103 vertically); and
a second protrusion (in Fig. 14, left hand side of protrusion of 201/104 into G1) laterally protruding toward the first groove beyond a second point at which a second lateral surface of the lower layer (left side lateral surface of 103, which is where 103 meets G1) and the bottom surface of the upper layer meet (right side region where 201/104 meets 103 vertically),
wherein the first lateral surface and the second lateral surface of the lower layer face each other with the first groove therebetween (left side and right side faces of 103 in G1, face each other in Fig. 14), and the first and second protrusions face each other (left and right side faces of the protruding portions of 201/104 face each other in G1) with the first groove therebetween (G1 between both noted facing regions).
Han does not explicitly state that, “the lower layer comprises an organic insulation material”, however Han does disclose in ¶ 0138, the various utilized materials, “Each of the first and second base layers 101 and 103 may include a polymer resin. In an embodiment, for example, the first and second base layers 101 and 103 may include a polymer resin such as polyethersulfone (“PES”), polyarylate (“PAR”), polyetherimide (“PEI”), polyethylene naphthalate (“PEN”), polyethylene terephthalate (“PET”), polyphenylene sulfide (“PPS”), polyimide (“PI”), polycarbonate (“PC”), cellulose triacetate (“TAC”), and cellulose acetate propionate (“CAP”). The polymer resin may be transparent.”
Kamiya discloses that “organic polymer resin such as acryl and polyimide”, ¶ 0068.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the feature of, “the lower layer comprises an organic insulation material”, as disclosed by Kamiya in the system of Han, for the purpose of utilizing a readily formable and relatively low temperature structural material useful in display structure formation. (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of Han et al. disclose the display panel of claim 1, and Han discloses in Fig. 14,
wherein the light-emitting diode (The “light emitting diode” includes layers “pixel electrode 221”, ¶ 0145, “intermediate layer 222 includes an emission layer”, ¶ 0148, and “opposite electrode 223”, ¶ 0152, hereinafter referred to as ‘LED’) comprises a pixel electrode (“pixel electrode 221”, ¶ 0145), an opposite electrode (“opposite electrode 223”, ¶ 0152), and an intermediate layer (“intermediate layer 222 includes an emission layer”, ¶ 0148) between the pixel electrode and the opposite electrode (222 between 221 and 223), and
wherein at least one organic layer (“An intermediate layer 222 includes an emission layer. The emission layer may include a polymer or relatively low molecular organic material that emits light”, ¶ 0148) of the intermediate layer extends to the non-display area (portion 222’ is in groove G1 in Fig. 14) and comprises:
a first portion on an upper surface of the multi-layer (right hand side portion of 222 on the overhang of 201/104 at G1, hereinafter referred to as ‘1PIL’);
a second portion separated from the first portion and located on a bottom surface of the first groove (portion of 222’ in G1, separated from aforementioned portion, hereinafter referred to as ‘2PIL’); and
a third portion on the upper surface of the multi-layer (left hand side portion of 222 on the overhang of 201/104 at G1, hereinafter referred to as ‘3PIL’),
wherein the third portion is separated from the first and second portions (left hand side portion of 222 on the overhang of 201/104 at G1, is separated from the right hand side portion of 222 on the overhang of 201/104 at G1, and the 222’ portion in G1) and is located opposite to the first portion (left hand side portion of 222 on the overhang of 201/104 is opposite to right hand side portion of 222 on the overhang of 201/104).
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of Han et al. disclose the display panel of claim 2, and Han discloses in Fig. 14, wherein the first portion of the at least one organic layer (222, ¶ 152) overlaps the pixel electrode (221, ¶ 0152) in the display area (in DA).
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of Han et al. disclose the display panel of claim 2, and Han discloses in Fig. 14, wherein the opposite electrode (223, ¶ 0161) extends to the non-display area (to G1 in NDA1) and comprises:
a first portion (portion of right hand side portion of 223 on 222/1PIL on the overhang of 201/104 at G1, hereinafter referred to as ‘1POL’) on the first portion (1PIL) of the at least one organic layer (of 222, ¶ 0148);
a second portion (portion of 223 in G1, hereinafter referred to as ‘2POL’) separated from the first portion of the opposite electrode (separated from 1POL) and located on the second portion of the at least one organic layer (2POL on 2PIL in G1); and
a third portion (portion of left hand side portion of 223 on 222/1PIL on the overhang of 201/104 at G1, hereinafter referred to as ‘3POL’) on the third portion (3PIL) of the at least one organic layer (of 222, ¶ 0148),
wherein the third portion of the opposite electrode (3POL) is separated from the first (1POL) and second portions (2POL) of the opposite electrode (223, ¶ 0161).
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of Han et al. disclose the display panel of claim 1, and Han discloses further in Fig. 14,
wherein the multi-layer (previously stated in claim 1, “wherein the multi-layer comprises a lower layer on the substrate (103 on 101) and an upper layer (201/104 on 101) on an upper surface of the lower layer (201/104 is ‘on’ 103)”) further comprises an insulating layer (“insulating layer 203”, ¶ 0142) on an upper surface of the upper layer (on 201/104), wherein:
the insulating layer (203) comprises a first lateral surface and a second lateral surface that face each other with the first groove therebetween (as shown in G1, 203 has two facing surfaces across the groove), and
a width between the first lateral surface of the insulating layer and the second lateral surface of the insulating layer (spacing between faces of 203 in G1) is greater than a width between the first protrusion and the second protrusion (spacing between faces of 203 in G1 are wider than the spacing between faces of 201/104 in G1).
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of Han et al. disclose the display panel of claim 5, and Han discloses in Fig. 14, wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer (231, ¶ 0153) extends toward the non-display area (NDA1), and overlaps the first and second lateral surfaces of the lower layer (231 on 103, ¶ 0160), an upper surface (231 indirectly ‘on’ top surface of 201/104 at G1), a lateral surface (231 on sidewalls 201/104 in G1), and a bottom surface of each of the first and second protrusions (231 on under surfaces of overhangs of 201/104 in G1), and the first and second lateral surfaces of the insulating layer (231 indirectly ‘on’ sidewalls of 203).
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of Han et al. disclose the display panel of claim 5, and Han discloses in Fig. 14, wherein a portion of the organic encapsulation layer (“organic encapsulation layer 232”, ¶ 0153) is located between the first lateral surface of the insulating layer and the second lateral surface of the insulating layer (portion of 232 is between portions of 203 at G1).
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of Han et al. disclose the display panel of claim 1, and Han discloses in Fig. 14, wherein a portion of the second inorganic encapsulation layer (portion 233, ¶ 0154) and a portion of the first inorganic encapsulation layer (231, ¶ 0154) are in direct contact with each other on the partition wall (233 directly contacts 231 on 510).
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of Han et al. disclose the display panel of claim 1, and Han discloses in Fig. 14, further comprises a second groove (G2) in the non-display area (NDA1), wherein the second groove (G2) is located between the partition wall (510) and the opening of the substrate (10H/OA of 101) and is defined in the multi-layer (G2 is defined by portions of the components of the multilayer 103, 104/201).
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of Han et al. disclose the display panel of claim 9, and Han discloses in Fig. 14, wherein a portion of the second inorganic encapsulation layer (233, ¶ 0154) and a portion of the first inorganic encapsulation layer (231, ¶ 0154) are in direct contact with each other over the second groove (233 is directly on 231 over G2).
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of Han discloses in Figs. 1-7 and 14, a display device (see title, “Display Device”) comprising:
a display panel (“display panel 10”, ¶ 0065) having a transmission area (area labelled, “opening area OA”, ¶ 0062, portion 10H, “first to third openings 10H, 40H, and 50H”, ¶ 0072), a display area (“display area DA”, ¶ 0062) at least partially surrounding the transmission area (shown at least in Fig. 3), and a non-display area (“non-display area NDA1”, ¶ 0062) between the transmission area and the display area (in Fig. 14, NDA1 can be seen between OA and DA), and a component (“component 20”, ¶ 0073, see Fig. 2) corresponding to the transmission area of the display panel (20 can be inserted into OA of the display panel 10, as is shown in Fig. 2),
wherein the display panel (10) comprises:
a substrate (“first base layer 101”, ¶ 0137) having an opening (portion 10H, “first to third openings 10H, 40H, and 50H”, ¶ 0072) corresponding to the transmission area (10H at area “opening area OA”, ¶ 0062), the opening (10H) passing from an upper surface of the substrate to a bottom surface of the substrate (from top to bottom of 101);
a display element layer (This “display element layer” is interpreted to be the combination of several layers including the shown TFT and OLED elements and their constituent layers, hereinafter referred to as ‘DEL’) on the substrate (on 101), the display element layer comprising a pixel circuit (at least including the ‘TFT’, hereinafter referred to as ‘TFT’) and a light-emitting diode (The “light emitting diode” includes layers “pixel electrode 221”, ¶ 0145, “intermediate layer 222 includes an emission layer”, ¶ 0148, and “opposite electrode 223”, ¶ 0152, hereinafter referred to as ‘LED’) electrically connected to the pixel circuit (LED shown electrically connected to TFT in Fig. 14),
wherein the light-emitting diode (LED) and the pixel circuit (TFT) are located in the display area (in DA);
an encapsulation layer (“encapsulation layer 230”, ¶ 0153) on the display element layer (230 on DEL), the encapsulation layer comprising a first inorganic encapsulation layer (portion 231 of, “first and second inorganic encapsulation layers 231 and 233 and an organic encapsulation layer 232”, ¶ 0153), a second inorganic encapsulation layer (portion 233 of, “first and second inorganic encapsulation layers 231 and 233 and an organic encapsulation layer 232”, ¶ 0153), and an organic encapsulation layer (portion 232 of, “first and second inorganic encapsulation layers 231 and 233 and an organic encapsulation layer 232”, ¶ 0153) between the first and second inorganic encapsulation layers (232 between 231 and 233);
a partition wall (“partition wall 510”, ¶ 0163) in the non-display area (in NDA1);
a first groove (“grooves G1”, ¶ 0152) in the non-display area (in NDA1), the first groove being located between the partition wall and the display area (G1 located between 510 and DA) and being defined in a multi-layer (the multilayer being composed of 103, ¶ 0138, and 201/104, ¶ 0140),
wherein the multi-layer comprises a lower layer on the substrate (103 on 101) and an upper layer (201/104) on an upper surface of the lower layer (on upper surface of 103), and the lower layer comprises an organic insulation material (“103 may include a polymer resin”, ¶ 0138, which is a type of an “organic layer”, where a secondary reference will be utilized to disclose that the particular material layers are considered to be ‘organic’),
wherein the upper layer (201/104) comprises:
a first protrusion laterally protruding toward the first groove beyond a first point at which a first lateral surface of the lower layer and a bottom surface of the upper layer meet (right most portion of 201/104 in G1, where portions of 201/104 extend into G1 past the extend to which 103 does, see Fig. 14); and
a second protrusion laterally protruding toward the first groove beyond a second point at which a second lateral surface of the lower layer and the bottom surface of the upper layer meet (left most portion of 201/104 in G1, where portions of 201/104 extend into G1 past the extend to which 103 does, see Fig. 14),
wherein the first lateral surface and the second lateral surface of the lower layer face each other with the first groove therebetween (left most and right most faces of 103 face each other at G1 with G1 therebetween), and the first and second protrusions face each other with the first groove therebetween (left most and right most surfaces face each other at G1 of 201/104).
Han does not explicitly state that, “the lower layer comprises an organic insulation material”, however Han does disclose in ¶ 0138, the various utilized materials, “Each of the first and second base layers 101 and 103 may include a polymer resin. In an embodiment, for example, the first and second base layers 101 and 103 may include a polymer resin such as polyethersulfone (“PES”), polyarylate (“PAR”), polyetherimide (“PEI”), polyethylene naphthalate (“PEN”), polyethylene terephthalate (“PET”), polyphenylene sulfide (“PPS”), polyimide (“PI”), polycarbonate (“PC”), cellulose triacetate (“TAC”), and cellulose acetate propionate (“CAP”). The polymer resin may be transparent.”
Kamiya discloses that “organic polymer resin such as acryl and polyimide”, ¶ 0068.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the feature of, “the lower layer comprises an organic insulation material”, as disclosed by Kamiya in the system of Han, for the purpose of utilizing a readily formable and relatively low temperature structural material useful in display structure formation. (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of Han et al. disclose the display panel of claim 11, and Han discloses in Fig. 14,
wherein the light-emitting diode (The “light emitting diode” includes layers “pixel electrode 221”, ¶ 0145, “intermediate layer 222 includes an emission layer”, ¶ 0148, and “opposite electrode 223”, ¶ 0152, hereinafter referred to as ‘LED’) comprises a pixel electrode (“pixel electrode 221”, ¶ 0145), an opposite electrode (“opposite electrode 223”, ¶ 0152), and an intermediate layer (“intermediate layer 222 includes an emission layer”, ¶ 0148) between the pixel electrode and the opposite electrode (222 between 221 and 223), and
wherein at least one organic layer (“An intermediate layer 222 includes an emission layer. The emission layer may include a polymer or relatively low molecular organic material that emits light”, ¶ 0148) of the intermediate layer extends to the non-display area (portion 222’ is in groove G1 in Fig. 14) and comprises:
a first portion on an upper surface of the multi-layer (right hand side portion of 222 on the overhang of 201/104 at G1, hereinafter referred to as ‘1PIL’);
a second portion separated from the first portion and located on a bottom surface of the first groove (portion of 222’ in G1, separated from aforementioned portion, hereinafter referred to as ‘2PIL’); and
a third portion on the upper surface of the multi-layer (left hand side portion of 222 on the overhang of 201/104 at G1, hereinafter referred to as ‘3PIL’),
wherein the third portion is separated from the first and second portions (left hand side portion of 222 on the overhang of 201/104 at G1, is separated from the right hand side portion of 222 on the overhang of 201/104 at G1, and the 222’ portion in G1) and is located opposite to the first portion (left hand side portion of 222 on the overhang of 201/104 is opposite to right hand side portion of 222 on the overhang of 201/104).
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of Han et al. disclose the display panel of claim 12, and Han discloses in Fig. 14, wherein the first portion of the at least one organic layer (222, ¶ 152) overlaps the pixel electrode (221, ¶ 0152) in the display area (in DA).
Regarding claim 14, the prior art of Han et al. disclose the display panel of claim 12, and Han discloses in Fig. 14, wherein the opposite electrode (223, ¶ 0161) extends to the non-display area (to G1 in NDA1) and comprises:
a first portion (portion of right hand side portion of 223 on 222/1PIL on the overhang of 201/104 at G1, hereinafter referred to as ‘1POL’) on the first portion (1PIL) of the at least one organic layer (of 222, ¶ 0148);
a second portion (portion of 223 in G1, hereinafter referred to as ‘2POL’) separated from the first portion of the opposite electrode (separated from 1POL) and located on the second portion of the at least one organic layer (2POL on 2PIL in G1); and
a third portion (portion of left hand side portion of 223 on 222/1PIL on the overhang of 201/104 at G1, hereinafter referred to as ‘3POL’) on the third portion (3PIL) of the at least one organic layer (of 222, ¶ 0148),
wherein the third portion of the opposite electrode (3POL) is separated from the first (1POL) and second portions (2POL) of the opposite electrode (223, ¶ 0161).
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of Han et al. disclose the display panel of claim 11, and Han discloses further in Fig. 14,
wherein the multi-layer (previously stated in claim 1, “wherein the multi-layer comprises a lower layer on the substrate (103 on 101) and an upper layer (201/104 on 101) on an upper surface of the lower layer (201/104 is ‘on’ 103)”) further comprises an insulating layer (“insulating layer 203”, ¶ 0142) on an upper surface of the upper layer (on 201/104), wherein:
the insulating layer (203) comprises a first lateral surface and a second lateral surface that face each other with the first groove therebetween (as shown in G1, 203 has two facing surfaces across the groove), and
a width between the first lateral surface of the insulating layer and the second lateral surface of the insulating layer (spacing between faces of 203 in G1) is greater than a width between the first protrusion and the second protrusion (spacing between faces of 203 in G1 are wider than the spacing between faces of 201/104 in G1).
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of Han et al. disclose the display panel of claim 15, and Han discloses in Fig. 14, wherein the first inorganic encapsulation layer (231, ¶ 0153) extends toward the non-display area (NDA1), and overlaps the first and second lateral surfaces of the lower layer (231 on 103, ¶ 0160), an upper surface (231 indirectly ‘on’ top surface of 201/104 at G1), a lateral surface (231 on sidewalls 201/104 in G1), and a bottom surface of each of the first and second protrusions (231 on under surfaces of overhangs of 201/104 in G1), and the first and second lateral surfaces of the insulating layer (231 indirectly ‘on’ sidewalls of 203).
Regarding claim 17, the prior art of Han et al. disclose the display panel of claim 15, and Han discloses in Fig. 14, wherein a portion of the organic encapsulation layer (“organic encapsulation layer 232”, ¶ 0153) is located between the first lateral surface of the insulating layer and the second lateral surface of the insulating layer (portion of 232 is between portions of 203 at G1).
Regarding claim 18, the prior art of Han et al. disclose the display panel of claim 11, and Han discloses in Fig. 14, wherein a portion of the second inorganic encapsulation layer (portion 233, ¶ 0154) and a portion of the first inorganic encapsulation layer (231, ¶ 0154) are in direct contact with each other on the partition wall (233 directly contacts 231 on 510).
Regarding claim 19, the prior art of Han et al. disclose the display panel of claim 11, and Han discloses in Fig. 14, further comprises a second groove (G2) in the non-display area (NDA1),
wherein the second groove (G2) is located between the partition wall (510) and the opening of the substrate (10H/OA of 101) and is defined in the multi-layer (G2 is defined by portions of the components of the multilayer 103, 104/201),
wherein a portion of the second inorganic encapsulation layer (233, ¶ 0154) and a portion of the first inorganic encapsulation layer (231, ¶ 0154) are in direct contact with each other over the second groove (233 is directly on 231 over G2).
Regarding claim 20, the prior art of Han et al. disclose the display panel of claim 11, and Han discloses in Fig. 14, wherein the component comprises a camera, a sensor, a small lamp, or a speaker (“The component 20 may include an electronic element. In an embodiment, for example, the component 20 may include an electronic element that uses light or sound to perform a function, etc. In an embodiment, for example, the electronic element may be a sensor such as an infrared sensor that emits and/or receives light, a camera that receives light and captures an image, a sensor that outputs and senses light or sounds to measure a distance or recognize a fingerprint relative to the display device 1, a relatively small lamp that outputs light, and/or a speaker that outputs sounds. An electronic element that uses light may use light in various wavelength bands such as visible light, infrared light, and ultraviolet light.”, ¶ 0074).
Double Patenting
A non-statutory double patenting rejection was considered against the nearest related prior art from the same Applicant, however, as the Applicant & Inventor search has shown, the related case lack enough key claim features to satisfy the independent claims of the instant application.
Contact Information
/EDUARDO A RODELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893