DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tung (US 6391698).
With regard to claim 1, Tung teaches, in Figures 1A-1G, a manufacturing method of a semiconductor device, comprising: forming a trench (17) in a semiconductor substrate (11); and forming a gate structure (16, 18) on the semiconductor substrate, wherein the gate structure comprises: a gate electrode (18), wherein a first portion of the gate electrode is disposed in the trench (portion of 18 below the top surface of 16 in the figures), and a second portion of the gate electrode (portion of 18 overlying 16 in the figures) is disposed outside the trench; a first gate oxide layer (18A; column 3, lines 15-20) disposed between the gate electrode and the semiconductor substrate, wherein at least a portion of the first gate oxide layer is disposed in the trench (see figures); and a second gate oxide layer (16) disposed between the second portion of the gate electrode and the semiconductor substrate in a vertical direction (see figures), wherein a thickness of the second gate oxide layer (column 2, lines 60-65) is greater than a thickness of the first gate oxide layer (column 3, lines 15-20).
With regard to claim 2, Tung teaches, in Figures 1A-1G, that a method of forming the gate structure comprises: forming a pad oxide layer (14, 16) on the semiconductor substrate; and performing an etching process to the pad oxide layer and the semiconductor substrate for forming the trench (column 2, line 65 - column 3, line 10), wherein the pad oxide layer is etched to be a patterned oxide layer by the etching process (see Figure 1E).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tung (US 6391698) in view of Kawaguchi (US 2012/0319196).
With regard to claim 3, Tung teaches most of the limitations of this claim, as set forth above with regard to claim 2.
Tung also teaches, in Figures 1A-1G, that the method of forming the gate structure further comprises: forming a gate material layer (18) on the semiconductor substrate after the etching process, wherein the gate material layer is partly formed in the trench and partly formed outside the trench, and the patterned oxide layer (16) is located between the gate material layer and the semiconductor substrate in the vertical direction.
Tung does not explicitly teach performing a patterning process to the gate material layer and the patterned oxide layer, wherein the gate material layer is patterned to be the gate electrode by the patterning process, and the patterned oxide layer is patterned to be the second gate oxide layer by the patterning process.
Kawaguchi teaches, in Figures 6A-7A, performing a patterning process to the gate material layer (122) and the patterned oxide layer (120 formed outside the trench), wherein the gate material layer is patterned to be the gate electrode by the patterning process, and the patterned oxide layer is patterned to be the second gate oxide layer by the patterning process ([0050]), “to increase the dopant concentration only in desired regions without increasing the second conductivity type dopant concentration in the channel region 108 to a level higher than necessary, it is possible to prevent actions like those of parasitic transistors, and it is possible to prevent phenomena such as hump and kink. This enables the subthreshold characteristics of transistor to be improved,” ([0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan at the effective date of filing to combine the method of Tung with the gate patterning process of Kawaguchi to prevent phenomena such as hump and kink, thus enabling the subthreshold characteristics of transistor to be improved.
With regard to claim 4, Tung teaches, in Figures 1A-1G, that the method of forming the gate structure further comprises: forming the first gate oxide layer after the etching process and before the step of forming the gate material layer (column 3, lines 10-20).
With regard to claim 10, Tung teaches most of the limitations of this claim, as set forth above with regard to claim 1.
Tung does not explicitly teach forming a spacer structure on a sidewall of the gate structure, wherein the space structure is located on a sidewall of the second portion of the gate electrode and a sidewall of the second gate oxide layer.
Kawaguchi teaches, in Figures 7A-7B, forming a spacer structure (24) on a sidewall of the gate structure (122), wherein the space structure is located on a sidewall of the second portion of the gate electrode (portion above surface of 102 in the figures) and a sidewall of the second gate oxide layer (120 above surface of 102 in the figures), “to increase the dopant concentration only in desired regions without increasing the second conductivity type dopant concentration in the channel region 108 to a level higher than necessary, it is possible to prevent actions like those of parasitic transistors, and it is possible to prevent phenomena such as hump and kink. This enables the subthreshold characteristics of transistor to be improved,” ([0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan at the effective date of filing to combine the method of Tung with the sidewall spacer of Kawaguchi to prevent phenomena such as hump and kink, thus enabling the subthreshold characteristics of transistor to be improved.
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tung (US 6391698).
With regard to claim 5, Tung teaches most of the limitations of this claim, as set forth above with regard to claim 2.
Tung also teaches, in Figures 1A-1G, forming two drift regions (13A, 13B; each located at either side of the trench) in the semiconductor substrate, wherein a part of each of the two drift regions is removed by the etching process for forming the trench (see Figs 1D-1E), and the two drift regions are located at two opposite sides of the trench in a horizontal direction, respectively (see figures).
Tung does not explicitly teach that the drift regions are formed after the step of forming the pad oxide layer and before the etching process.
It has been held that the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. See Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.). Since there is no evidence in the record of any new or unexpected results stemming from the claimed order of performing process steps, the selection of the claimed order of steps is found to be obvious.
With regard to claim 6, Tung teaches, in Figures 1A-1G, that a bottom of each of the two drift regions is lower than a bottom of the trench in the vertical direction (see figures).
With regard to claim 7, Tung teaches, in Figures 1A-1G, that the first portion of the gate electrode is located between the two drift regions in the horizontal direction, and a portion of the first gate oxide layer is located between the first portion of the gate electrode and each of the two drift regions in the horizontal direction (see figures).
With regard to claim 8, Tung teaches, in Figures 1A-1G, that the second gate oxide layer is located between the second portion of the gate electrode and each of the two drift regions in the vertical direction (see figures).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tung (US 6391698) in view of Yamashita et al. (US 2017/0373183).
With regard to claim 9, Tung teaches most of the limitations of this claim, as set forth above with regard to claim 1.
Tung does not explicitly teach that a first portion of the first gate oxide layer is located in the trench, and a second portion of the first gate oxide layer is located between the second portion of the gate electrode and the second gate oxide layer in the vertical direction.
Yamashita teaches, in Figures 12 and 13, that a first portion (portion of IF3 in the trench) of the first gate oxide layer (IF3) is located in the trench, and a second portion (portion of IF3 overlying IF2 and SR) of the first gate oxide layer is located between the second portion (portion of PF2 overlying GOX1 and SR) of the gate electrode (PF2) and the second gate oxide layer (IF2) in the vertical direction, “to prevent the gate insulating film GOX1 from being broken on the corner parts of the trench TR where the electric field concentration is liable to occur. Thereby, it is possible to improve the reliability of the semiconductor device,” ([0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan at the effective time of filing to combine the method of Tung with the oxide layer formation of Yamashita to improve the reliability of the semiconductor device.
Conclusion
/RAJ R GUPTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893