Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 18, 2024 was filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show a selective bottom electrode as described in paragraphs 15 and 18 of the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because figure number 15 is used to refer to views of three different structures. See 37 C.F.R. § 1.84(u) Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitations “a first short side,” “a second short side,” “a first long side,” and “a second long side,” on page 12 line 35 through page 13 line 1. The terms short side and long side are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The term short side and long side are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, the short sides will be interpretated to have the same length that is less the length long sides with the long sides having the same length.
Claim 17 is also rejected for containing the same limitations because claim 17 depends from claim 16.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the second short side,” on page 13 line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes of claim 19, claim 18 which claim 19 depends from, will be treated as depending from claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu (US 2021/0257545).
Regarding Claim 9:
Yu discloses a magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) device, comprising:
a spin orbit torque (SOT) layer (non-metallic heavy metal layer, See figs. 4A, 4B, ref. no. 409, paragraphs 24-25 and 51-52) on a substrate (substrate, See paragraphs 48 and 50);
a magnetic tunneling junction (MTJ) (magnetic tunnel junction, See fig. 4A, ref. no. 402 and paragraphs 50-52) on the SOT layer;
a first doped region (ion implanted region of the non-metallic heavy metal layer adjacent to the top side of the MTJ, See fig. 4B, ref. nos. 411, 412 and paragraph 56) in the SOT layer adjacent to one side of the MTJ; and
a second doped region (ion implanted region of the non-metallic heavy metal layer adjacent to the bottom side of the MTJ, See fig. 4B, ref. nos. 411, 413 and paragraph 56) in the SOT layer adjacent to another side of the MTJ.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2021/0359199) in view of Yu (US 2021/0257545).
Regarding Claim 1:
Lin discloses a method for fabricating a magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) device, comprising:
forming a spin orbit torque (SOT) layer (forming an hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure on an interlayer dielectric with embedded vias on a substrate, See fig. 9, ref. nos. V0, 10, 102, 124A, figs. 11E-11G, ref. no. 10 paragraphs 57, 77-78, 87-88. The examiner notes that the middle region of the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure above the MTJ film stack is being read on a first region in the SOT layer. See fig. 11G, ref. nos. 10, 124) on a substrate (substrate, See fig. 9, ref. no. 102 and paragraph 67);
forming a magnetic tunneling junction (MTJ) (forming the free layer, barrier layer, reference layer, and pinned layer that together operate as a magnetic tunnel junction on the spin orbit torque structure, See fig. 1, ref. nos. 30, 40, 50, 60, figs. 10, 11A, 11B, 11C, ref. no. 100, paragraphs 21 and 82-85) on the SOT layer;
forming a first cap layer (forming a capping layer on the pinned layer, See fig. 1, ref. no. 70, figs. 10, 11A, 11B, 11C, ref. no. 100, paragraphs 35 and 82-85) adjacent to the MTJ;
Lin does not disclose performing an ion implantation process to form a first doped region in the SOT layer.
Yu discloses performing an ion implantation process to form an ion implanted region of a non-metallic heavy metal layer to direct write current under the rectangular magnetic tunnel junction, (See figs. 4A, ref. no. 402, 409, fig. 4B, ref. nos. 409, 411, 412, 413, paragraphs 50-52 and 56-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method for fabricating a magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) device of Lin to include performing an ion implantation process to form an ion implanted region around the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure to direct write current under the magnetic tunnel junction as taught by Yu in order to reduce errors when writing data to the magnetic tunnel junction by inducing a larger spin current density to write the desired data to the magnetic tunnel junction. (The examiner notes that after performing the ion implantation process to form an ion implanted region around the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure the middle region of the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure above the MTJ film stack is doped with non-metal materials.)
Regarding Claim 2:
The combination of Lin and Yu discloses forming a first inter-metal dielectric (IMD) layer (forming interlayer dielectric with embedded vias on the substrate, See Lin fig. 9, ref. nos. V0, 102, 124A, and paragraphs 76-77) on the substrate;
forming the SOT layer (forming the spin orbit torque structure on an interlayer dielectric with embedded vias, See Lin fig. 9, ref. nos. V0, 10, 124A, figs. 11E-11G, ref. no. 10 paragraphs 57, 77-78, 87-88) on the first IMD layer;
forming the first cap layer (forming the capping layer on the pinned layer in the MTJ stack with the MTJ layer stack being located on the spin orbit torque structure, See fig. 1, ref. no. 70, figs. 10, 11A, 11B, 11C, ref. no. 100, paragraphs 35 and 82-85) on the MTJ and the SOT layer;
performing the ion implantation process to form the first doped region in the SOT layer adjacent to the MTJ (performing an ion implantation process to form an ion implanted region of a non-metallic heavy metal layer that directs write current under the rectangular magnetic tunnel junction, See Yu figs. 4A, ref. no. 402, 409, fig. 4B, ref. nos. 409, 411, 412, 413, paragraphs 50-52 and 56-57. The examiner notes that after performing the ion implantation process to form an ion implanted region around the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure the middle region of the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure above the MTJ film stack is doped with non-metal materials and that the middle region of the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure above the MTJ film stack is adjacent to the MTJ film stack.);
forming a second cap layer (forming a dielectric protection layer over the MTJ film stack, See fig. 11D, ref. nos. 100, 103 and paragraph 86) on the first cap layer; and
forming an second IMD layer (forming an interlayer dielectric over the dielectric protection layer, See fig. 12, ref. nos. 103, 124B and paragraph 89) on the second cap layer.
The above stated combination of Lin and Yu does not disclose the magnetic tunnel junction is formed in a shape that has sides.
Yu discloses a rectangular shaped magnetic tunnel junction (See fig. 4A, ref. no. 402, fig. 4B, ref. no. 411, paragraphs 40 and 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method for fabricating a magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) device of Lin and Yu to include a MTJ film stack having a rectangular shape as taught by Yu for ease of fabrication by using a shape commonly used in photolithography.
Regarding Claim 3:
Lin discloses wherein a bottom surface of the second cap layer is lower than a bottom surface of the first cap layer (a bottom surface of the dielectric protection layer is below a bottom surface of the MTJ stack, thus, the bottom surface of the dielectric protection layer is lower than a bottom surface of the capping layer on the top of the MTJ stack, See figs. 11D, 12, ref nos. 100, 103).
Regarding Claim 4:
The combination of Lin and Yu discloses performing the ion implantation process to form a second doped region in the SOT layer (the middle region of the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure below the MTJ film stack, See Lin fig. 11G, ref. nos. 10, 100) adjacent to another side of the MTJ (performing an ion implantation process to form an ion implanted region of a non-metallic heavy metal layer that directs write current under the rectangular magnetic tunnel junction, See Yu figs. 4A, ref. no. 402, 409, fig. 4B, ref. nos. 409, 411, 412, 413, paragraphs 50-52 and 56-57. The examiner notes that after performing the ion implantation process to form an ion implanted region around the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure the middle region of the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure above the MTJ film stack is doped with non-metal materials and that the middle region of the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure below the MTJ film stack is doped with non-metal materials.).
Regarding Claim 5:
The combination of Lin and Yu discloses wherein sidewalls of the second doped region and the first cap layer are aligned (the rectangular shaped MTJ film stack is aligned with the bottom as shown in figure 4B of Yu, See Yu fig. 4B, ref. nos. 411, 413 and paragraphs 56-57).
Regarding Claim 6:
The combination of Lin and Yu discloses wherein first doped region and the second doped region constitute a ring around the MTJ in a top view (the ion implanted region around the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure forms a ring around the MTJ film stack, See Lin fig. 11G, ref. nos. 10, 100, Yu fig. 4B, ref. nos. 412, 413).
Regarding Claim 7:
The above stated combination of Lin and Yu discloses the above stated method for fabricating a magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) device.
The above stated combination of Lin and Yu does not disclose wherein sidewalls of the first doped region and the first cap layer are aligned.
Yu discloses an ion implanted region of a non-metallic heavy metal layer having a straight sidewall aligned a top side of a rectangular shaped magnetic tunnel junction (See fig. 4A, ref. no. 402, fig. 4B, ref. nos. 411, 412 paragraphs 40, 52, and 56-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method for fabricating a magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) device of Lin and Yu to include an ion implanted region of a spin orbit torque structure having a straight sidewall and a rectangular shaped magnetic tunnel junction with the straight sidewall and the top side of the rectangular shape being aligned as taught by Yu for ease of fabrication by using shapes commonly used in photolithography.
Regarding Claim 9:
Lin discloses a magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) device, comprising:
a spin orbit torque (SOT) layer (hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure, See fig. 11G, ref. no. 10, fig. 15, ref. no. 10, paragraphs 56, 60, and 88. The examiner notes that the middle region of the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure above the MTJ film stack is being read on a first region in the SOT layer and the middle region of the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure below the MTJ film stack is being read on a second region in the SOT layer. See fig. 11G, ref. nos. 10, 124) on a substrate (substrate, See fig. 15, ref. no. 102 and paragraph 67);
a magnetic tunneling junction (MTJ) (the free layer, barrier layer, reference layer, and pinned layer that together operate as a magnetic tunnel junction on the spin orbit torque structure, See fig. 1, ref. nos. 30, 40, 50, 60, figs. 15, ref. no. 100, paragraphs 21 and 82-85) on the SOT layer.
Lin does not disclose the magnetic tunnel junction is formed in a shape that has sides, a first doped region in the SOT layer adjacent to one side of the MTJ; and a second doped region in the SOT layer adjacent to another side of the MTJ.
Yu discloses a rectangular shaped magnetic tunnel junction (See fig. 4A, ref. no. 402, fig. 4B, ref. no. 411, paragraphs 40 and 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) device of Lin to include a MTJ film stack having a rectangular shape as taught by Yu for ease of fabrication by using a shape commonly used in photolithography.
The above stated combination of Lin and Yu does not disclose a first doped region in the SOT layer adjacent to one side of the MTJ and a second doped region in the SOT layer adjacent to another side of the MTJ.
Yu discloses an ion implanted regions of a non-metallic heavy metal layer to direct write current under the rectangular magnetic tunnel junction, (See figs. 4A, ref. no. 402, 409, fig. 4B, ref. nos. 409, 411, 412, 413, paragraphs 50-52 and 56-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) device of Lin and Yu to include an ion implanted region around the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure to direct write current under the magnetic tunnel junction as taught by Yu in order to reduce errors when writing data to the magnetic tunnel junction by inducing a larger spin current density to write the desired data to the magnetic tunnel junction. (The examiner notes including an ion implanted region around the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure includes an ion implanted region in the middle region of the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure above the MTJ film stack adjacent to the MTJ film stack and an ion implanted region in the middle region of the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure below the MTJ film stack adjacent to the MTJ film stack.)
Regarding Claim 10:
Lin discloses a first inter-metal dielectric (IMD) layer on the substrate (interlayer dielectric with embedded vias on the substrate, See fig. 15, ref. nos. V0, 102, 124A, and paragraphs 76-77;
the SOT layer on the first IMD layer (the spin orbit torque structure on an interlayer dielectric with embedded vias, See Lin fig. 15, ref. nos. V0, 10, 124A, figs. 11E-11G, ref. no. 10 paragraphs 57, 77-78, 87-88);
a first cap layer adjacent to the MTJ and the SOT layer (a capping layer on the pinned layer in the MTJ stack with the MTJ layer stack being located on the spin orbit torque structure, See fig. 1, ref. no. 70, figs. 15, ref. nos. 10, 100, paragraphs 35 and 82-85);
a second cap layer on the first cap layer (a dielectric protection layer on the sides and over the MTJ stack that includes the capping layer, See fig. 15, ref. nos. 100, 103 and paragraph 89-90); and
a second IMD layer on the second cap layer (an interlayer dielectric over the dielectric protection layer, See fig. 15, ref. nos. 103, 124B and paragraph 89).
Regarding Claim 11:
Yu discloses sidewalls of the first doped region and the first cap layer are aligned (an ion implanted region of a non-metallic heavy metal layer having a straight sidewall aligned a top side of a rectangular shaped magnetic tunnel junction (See fig. 4A, ref. no. 402, fig. 4B, ref. nos. 411, 412 paragraphs 40, 52, and 56-57).
Regarding Claim 12:
Yu discloses sidewalls of the second doped region and the first cap layer are aligned (an ion implanted region of a non-metallic heavy metal layer having a straight sidewall aligned a bottom side of a rectangular shaped magnetic tunnel junction (See fig. 4A, ref. no. 402, fig. 4B, ref. nos. 411, 412 paragraphs 40, 52, and 56-57).
Regarding Claim 13:
Lin discloses wherein a bottom surface of the second cap layer is lower than a bottom surface of the first cap layer (a bottom surface of the dielectric protection layer is below a bottom surface of the MTJ stack, thus, the bottom surface of the dielectric protection layer is lower than a bottom surface of the capping layer on the top of the MTJ stack, See fig. 15, ref nos. 100, 103).
Regarding Claim 14:
The combination of Lin and Yu discloses wherein first doped region and the second doped region constitute a ring around the MTJ in a top view (the ion implanted region around the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure forms a ring around the MTJ film stack, See Lin fig. 11G, ref. nos. 10, 100, Yu fig. 4B, ref. nos. 412, 413).
Regarding Claim 15:
Lin discloses a magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) device, comprising:
a spin orbit torque (SOT) layer (hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure, See fig. 15, ref. no. 10, fig. 11G, ref. no. 10, paragraphs 60, 66, and 88. The examiner notes that the hour glass shape of the spin orbit torque structure has a top recess and a bottom recess in a top view.) on a substrate (substrate, See fig. 15, ref. no. 102 and paragraph 67);
a magnetic tunneling junction (MTJ) (the free layer, barrier layer, reference layer, and pinned layer that together operate as a magnetic tunnel junction on the spin orbit torque structure, See fig. 1, ref. nos. 30, 40, 50, 60, figs. 15, ref. no. 100, paragraphs 21 and 82-85) on the SOT layer.
Lin does not disclose a doped region in the SOT layer to surround the MTJ, wherein doped region comprises a first recess in a top view.
Yu discloses an ion implanted regions of a non-metallic heavy metal layer to direct write current under the rectangular magnetic tunnel junction, See figs. 4A, ref. no. 402, 409, fig. 4B, ref. nos. 409, 411, 412, 413, paragraphs 50-52 and 56-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) device of Lin to include an ion implanted region around the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure to direct write current under the magnetic tunnel junction as taught by Yu in order to reduce errors when writing data to the magnetic tunnel junction by inducing a larger spin current density to write the desired data to the magnetic tunnel junction. (The examiner notes that including an ion implanted region around the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure will include an ion implanted region in the top recess and the bottom recess of hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure.)
Regarding Claim 16:
The above stated combination of Lin and Yu discloses the above stated magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) device.
The above stated combination of Lin and Yu does not disclose wherein the MTJ comprises: a first short side; a second short side; a first long side; and a second long side.
Yu discloses a rectangular shaped magnetic tunnel junction having a first short side (the top side adjacent to the ion implanted region of the non-metallic heavy metal layer 412, See fig. 4A, ref. no. 402, fig. 4B, ref. nos. 411, 412, paragraphs 40 and 52), a second short side (the bottom side adjacent to the ion implanted region of the non-metallic heavy metal layer 413, See fig. 4A, ref. no. 402, fig. 4B, ref. nos. 411, 413, paragraphs 40 and 52), a first long side (the left side, See fig. 4A, ref. no. 402, fig. 4B, ref. no. 411, paragraphs 40 and 52), a second long side (the right side, See fig. 4A, ref. no. 402, fig. 4B, ref. no. 411, paragraphs 40 and 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) device of Lin and Yu to include a magnetic tunnel junction having a rectangular shape as taught by Yu for ease of fabrication by using a shape commonly used in photolithography.
Regarding Claim 17:
The combination of Lin and Yu discloses wherein the first recess (the top recess of the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure, See Lin, fig. 11G, ref. no. 10) faces the first short side (the top side of the rectangular magnetic tunnel junction, See Yu fig. 4B, ref. no. 411).
Regarding Claim 18:
The combination of Lin and Yu discloses wherein the doped region comprises a second recess (the bottom recess of the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure, See fig. 11G, ref. no. 10) in a top view.
Regarding Claim 19:
The combination of Lin and Yu discloses wherein the second recess (the bottom recess of the hour glass shaped spin orbit torque structure, See fig. 11G, ref. no. 10) faces the second short side (the bottom side of the rectangular magnetic tunnel junction, See Yu fig. 4B, ref. no. 411).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2021/0359199) and Yu (US 2021/0257545) in view Yang et al. (CN 116456807 A).
Regarding Claim 8:
The above stated combination of Lin and Yu discloses the above stated method for fabricating a magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) device.
The above stated combination of Lin and Yu does not disclose wherein the ion implantation process comprises a tilt angle ion implantation process.
Yang disclose a tilt angle ion implantation process (See fig. 4 and paragraph n0095).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method for fabricating a magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) device of Lin and Yu to include a tilt angle ion implantation process as taught by Yang in order prevent ion from penetrating through the spin orbit torque structure into layers below the spin orbit torque structure.
Conclusion
/B.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899